1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 33 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(180909 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stars to the Tech Support Phone Staff As complex as income tax preparation is, the folks who handle the technical support phone bank deserve enormous credit in their friendly, calm demeanor and quality of suggestions or results toward problem resolution. With so many different options and configurations for personal computer systems, it is extremely difficult to make any program one-size-fits-all. The tech support phone staff seem to be a well-studied group that keeps on top of, and anticipates, what technologies that we, the customers, are using differently each year. Congratulations on a job well done, keep up the good work. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved this i loved this im a first timer and will definitely fo them again with turbotax next year!!!! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Straightforward workflow/clean interface/good help I've used TurboTax for a number of years, and it makes filing both Federal and State returns a snap. I especially like the way that itemized deductions work. Carryover of info from prior years is very useful and time saving. It's pretty easy to knock off filing in about 2 hours with my particular situation, which isn't overly complicated, but I also feel that all details are thoroughly covered. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top of the Line I'm a US third party contractor working overseas and TurboTax hasn''t let me down in 14 years. Some technical difficulties when your in the AE, AA, or AP areas. Did not prevent me from working it to file online. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by great web-accessed product I've used Turbo Tax every year for about 15 years now. The underlying product and all of its knowledge of the tax forms and requirements is fantastic. It's extremely convenient being able to sign in and work on my taxes for a few minutes from whatever computer I'm on, at home, work, desk, laptop, whatever. The only big problem, which Turbo Tax seems to have every year, is figuring out how to get past the "we don't recognize your browser version" obstacle course. Usually you can google it and find out a trick but it's different every year, and every year I have a few hours of scouring the web, trying various tricks, and worrying that Turbo Tax just isn't going to work on my computer this year. I don't know why they don't just hire some good web designers who know how to write browser-independent web pages. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you for making this very stressful night just a little better! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Left it to the last hour but got it done A colleague recommended it...glad I took his advice...although there is a fee for the software...it is really worth it considering the time it saves and the mistakes it helps you avoid...lots of online help to learn terms and tax options April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsomely easy used this program for the last 4 yrs it is totally awesome. be using it again next year. see ya then. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ill-Equipped for Those Living Abroad Living abroad, questions were sometimes asked as if one were living in the US, even after I'd indicated I was living abroad. I then triggered an error on their website trying to indicate where I lived (for sales tax credit attempt) resulting in the webpage noting I lived in state '0' (for having not selected a United State). It then tried to make me enter a state at the review process, and I had to recall where in their several-step process that question was and tediously navigate back to delete that entry. Then they tried to force me to pay then $55 to file the 1040 even though it appeared I would be getting $0 refund from less than $1000 federal income tax. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Review of Turbotax It should be offered to the consumer all thru the program choice of paying the higher amount or the lower amount. Either to itemize or not itemize. When realizing that in spite of credits and deductions amount owed or refunded would not matter either way. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again In addition to continuous reminders about what a good deal TurboTax Deluxe is, I kept encountering conditions that were not covered in the free federal. When I logged in, they automatically started my taxes with the business version at a cost of over $100. When I discovered the cost and inquired about the free Federal version, it took me more than an hour to navigate their screens to finally get to the free version, and they required me to start re-entering my data from scratch -- some kind of punishment as another way to sell their other versions. They won't see me again at Turbotax April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fourth year experience----Excellent as usual Thanks INTUIT! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Using TurboTax Using TurboTax is very simple to use. The fact that previous years information is kept makes filing very fast. I think the system is very well put together. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by REFUND, REALLY?!! YAY!!!!!! I plan to use this service again next year. However, I will start the process in February to allow plenty of time to ask questions and make sure I am doing everything appropriately! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, intuitive and fool proof! April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get it done Find the product that fits your year and get it done... that simple. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relieved to have help! Thanks! I can do this! I'm so happy to have completed this and it's great to be able to stop and save to come back later to finish. Looking over to make sure I entered the right numbers helps too! At least links to tax related questions are available and easy to find. The in app search box is a major plus! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy I enjoyed filling out the taxes it was easy and fast. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why use anything else? For returns that require more than just the basics, TurboTax is simple and throrough. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by last minute filer .... overall, I love turbo tax, I got a late start on it this year waiting for a 1098-T that my school said I wouldn't get until 2015. (still going to fight it# paid in 2014. anyway. Had almost everything finished went to make a few adjustments and its deductible imported my itemized deductions TWICE... it double and I had to manually removed half of the items! The other CON is at the very end finding out I have to pay to file my state taxes and make an ACCOUNT to do this. I don't appreciate all the EXTRA fees to PAY my federal taxes! Extra charge for using a credit card or an extra charge for taking it from your state refund. I finally pushed the button to file, with my blood pressure up, at 11:57pm 4/15/2015. #would have been a wider margin had I not had to CREATE AN ACCOUNT TO PAY ! GEEZ! just take the money! INTUIT shouldn't require an account! OMG, pulling my hair out!~ Don't make me join your club as the last thing I have to do before filing. THIS upset me. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't explain PINS... IP versus E-file PIN Turbo tax is great at walking you "through things," but it failed to prompt me that my wife's IP PIN is different than the E-File PIN. I don't have a lot of experience, so that was very necessary for me to be notified of this difference in order to file ON TIME. For a software that prides itself in being user-friendly, I think it failed in this arena completely. I walked through every part of this software re-checking things, yet it took a google search to explain to me that I needed to "search the turbotax bar" in order to find the section that allowed me to punch in the 6 digit IP PIN, as opposed to the 5 digit e-file PIN. Live and learn. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Didn't get a refund this time but I feel like Turbo Tax worked hard to keep my bill to a minimum. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was an easy return I was able to finish my return in less than 3 hours. It was great and I was only 5 minutes late onto April 16. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative Everything simply explained so it didn't take long to complete. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Software I like TurboTax's' import of last year's information. We are self employed, and are issued 1099s from multiple companies. it helps that they keep the company names and company ID numbers in the database. Saves a lot of work! It is very intuitive and guides me in deductions and savings. MUCH better than the year I used H&R Block! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Program Excellent program. My only complaint is paying extra to e-file state taxes. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mostly Rocked my Refund! Entering most things is a breeze. And carrying over information from year to year and federal to state automatically is a huge time-saver. I used a CPA one year, when things got complicated. The CPA messed my taxes up, and argued with me about the details. Had to amend my return, and go thru an audit (I eventually prevailed, 3 years later) to get it all straightened out. I went back to turbo-tax, and never looked back. Employee stocks seem to be the bane of tax-time. And while I was pleasantly surprised that Turbotax figured out a number of things automatically, I did run into a snag here. The IRS seems bent on preventing employers from providing accurate information to Brokers. And my employer reports some stock profits as regular income, so there's always a lot of cross-referencing and squinting at tea-leaves to come up with the right cost-basis adjustments. Every...single...year. This year, the numbers from ETrade just didn't add up. After some consultation with them, and revised numbers, I got things very close. But still off by 3 cents on several entries. Unfortunately, this triggered one of the automated checks in TurboTax, and it wouldn't let me E-File. At 11:30PM. On April 15th. Fortunately, I was able to get ahold of a consultant at TurboTax (at 11:30PM!), and she helped me get thru it. Disaster averted. Refund on the way. Thanks, Intuit! April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hidden Fees The over all experience was god. Turbo tax walked me through the process, I didn't have to worry about missing anything. It saved me time by pulling information into their application, instead of me having to manually input all the information. I didn't like the fact that Turbo Tax charged me an extra $39, just to have the option of having my fees taken out of my refund. It seems excessive, and it turned me off. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Could not eFILE I spent 30 minutes trying to delete a schedule K1 which kept preventing me from efiling my federal return. Finally, I entered random numbers for trust number and "Void" on the name of the trust for the blank Schedule K1 that TT would not let me efile and it accepted it. What a waste of my time TT. I ended up submitting my return at 12:05 a.m. on 4/16/2015. If I end up with a late penalty for TT I am going to ask for my money back. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast & Easy Overall I was very leased with the efficiency of the service. Everything was straight forward. Anything I didn't understand there was a help tool explaining everything. I wish I have begun using this service years ago. It saved me a lot of money. It also helped me avoiding additional tax preparation fees. I definitely will be e-filing via TurboTax again next year. April 16, 2015
  • 2015-04-24T13:34:08.966-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-33, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_180892, tr_180892
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 31 32 33 34 35 ... 3779 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.