1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 30 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(121974 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax return mostly but not all easy Heard about how you skipped some features in certain versions (for 2014) of TurboTax, and you apparently eventually "got it." Do not do that again! There's always H&R Block, TaxAct, etc.! Almost every tax situation is anticipated. Only weakness is in handling complicated taxation of partnerships and royalty trusts. (Especially when I got a 1099 Misc from brokerage and instructions by mail from trust for the same royalty.) As for navigation, you walked me through data entry very well, but I found it hard to figure out how to change something later (such as when I discovered an error or got corrected data from brokerages); when user wants to adjust something already entered, you should explain at once how to do this. Downloading from brokerages requires hight vigilance; I ended up with duplicate data downloads when I had (for example) "Schwab" in one place and "SCHWAB" elsewhere; a computer is still a dumb machine and needs to be "taught" about such details. After writing all this, a snag: No way to continue after "Preview my review"!!! How about "All Done" or "I"m done with review!" Another snag: You say my nickname is too short. I keep entering a longer and longer one, and you keep telling me it's too short!!!!!!!!!!!!!! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I have used TurboTax for a number of years, and wish I had had access to it earlier in my life. It makes filing my taxes sooo easy. Thanks. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another point. You don't allow for partial refund, leaving $$ towards next year's return. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Federal Download from TD Ameritrade not correct. I had to delete all the data and reenter. March 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst Turbo Tax experience ever had!!! I have used Turbo tax for at least 20 years. This has been the most difficult problematic tax experience EVER!!! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Easy to use, answer questions, filing electronically, great all around! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Making it Easy Turbo Tax makes it easy to meet all IRS tax filing requirements with great references and tools. Long time user of Turbo Tax. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy to see that TT stepped up and did the right thing in regards to the free upgrade and returning to the original features of the deluxe version March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax Planning I would like to see a feature added that would allow upload of completed current year tax info into a tax planning model for next year based on current year tax law plus whatever is indexed to inflation. This could be similar to the current feature that uploads last year's tax data into the current year program. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy can't understand why anyone wouldn't use i So easy I just enjoy getting into tax mode. Sigh of relief and off to plan spending my refund. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Less Than 2 Hours If it hadn't been for searching the house to get all my papers together I could have been done sooner! It is easier than filling out the old 1040's and mailing and waiting. I guess that's why I am a repeat "repeat customer". Recommended for everyone. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by using turbo tax Need help to transfer info from iCloud. Just didn't get to transfer the info. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy! Overall, I really like turbo tax. Super user friendly. In areas, I was unsure of, Turbo Tax explained it in a manner I could understand. THANK YOU!!!!! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doing my Duty Love Turbo Tax! March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost completely above board When they give the option to pay by having the amount deducted from your tax return, they don't make it abundantly clear that this will end up costing you more because of the fee that comes with that process. I went very far down that road before I discovered the fee and had to back track to pay by credit card instead. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The software application worked as intended The software application worked as intended. I did not have any issues with entering data into the application. I had a few new items to enter this year, so I had the opportunity to see that the software application was properly designed for a user who had one or more atypical income sources. It appears the software engineering team did a good job on coding a couple of the little used or lesser used use cases that relatively few users will need to utilize. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just like Christmas Just as a child fully and completely believes that a fat man with flying reindeer can fit down their brick chimney, I still believe their is magic involved with St. Turbo Tax. It must be magic for them to help so many people in just one night (April 14). I enjoy filing my taxes online each year. Turbo tax stores all my previous information and makes it a breeze. No matter how difficult my situation may seem, or how many changes I have had in my life through the year, turbo tax always seems to cover every base. I usually start off thinking... "great, I am going to end up having to call and talk to customer service to explain my impossible situation", and then, magic. Their easy step process seems to ask me the very question I had, and provides the very answers I needed. Wow, thank you Santa. If you are paying anyone else, it is simply a waste of your time and money. Their step by step process is witty, light humored, and super easy to understand. There is never a confusing question, and they make the overwhelming process a simple one by wording their choices for common man such as I. Options are greater than any tax accountant could ever offer. March 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 Additional Fees??? I live in IL / work in MO, and my STL city tax does not transfer automatically to the credit for taxes paid to other states/munis. Also, I efiled my returns, was rejected because of no IP PIN, then I had to search to find where I entered it. Perhaps some up-front questions to determine if you were a victim of ID theft and where to enter the IRS generated PIN. After I was rejected, I got the IRS PIN, found where to enter, then found that Turbo Tax charges went from $59 for Federal to $79 for Federal - what's the deal on that? March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use! I have been filing our taxes using Turbo Tax for almost 10 years. I am not a CPA, so I have always been nervous that I might miss something, but Turbo Tax is so thorough and walks you through everything. I've come to trust the process and now feel confident filing our taxes. I would recommend Turbo Tax to all of my friends/family. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Once I finally figured out which version to purchase, it was very easy to finish our taxes. Very thorough. March 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by spent way to much time on phone with your staff correcting you software problems! you should be paying me for using your product. the staff was just great March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Have used Turbo Tax for years. It's so easy to do with supportive information available just by clicking. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent for couple sor individuals who do not have complicated returns. Useful to have package agreements with investment firms in order to import information that would be difficult for the average individual to understand. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Switched to the online version! Great Decision I have used TurboTax for 20+ years, I finally switched to the online version, great decision, easier than ever, and I like the fact they will save all of my info online. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love using Turbo Tax Once the investment items in the software were updated and installed it did what I needed done. I found it easier to use than previous years. It is also nice that you now have a pdf version to save. Easy to look things up. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally good but if I had to go back to edit something, the steps I went through after were not always the ones that I went through the first time. I'd like better navigation - directly to a point and then right back to where I was. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to do I use turbo tax for years no problems March 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by had to input all my info again instead of pulling that info. not user friendly. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 review I like that TurboTax is quick and reminds me of potential savings throughout the process. However I am a little saddened by the cost of services now. $84.99 (after $20 USAA rebate) is more than I've ever paid and seems a little high when compared to others. Next year you can bet I will be much more selective before filing with TurboTax. H&R Block offered me many extras to move from you, as did several others, but I am loyal and hope it pays off in the long run. March 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as user friendly as in the past. Starting to get expensive. At one tine the state returns included in he federal return. now e-file is extra.This program is getting close to what a CPA charges. After all, taxes are all about having the right documentation. The program is not backwords compatible with the past tax returns. (will not open old files for comparison). March 26, 2015
  • 2015-03-28T11:55:55.745-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-30, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_121547, tr_121547
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 28 29 30 31 32 ... 2498 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.