1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 25 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181431 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is amazing. takes a few minutes - but its worth it. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes Taxes Easy I've used Turbo Tax for years. It makes tax preparations easy and almost painless (except for the paying part). It's comprehensive and reliable. I trust that my taxes are correct (as long as my input is correct). I was disappointed this year that Intuit eliminated certain forms from the version I'd used for years without telling anyone, but to their credit they upgraded me to the program I needed at no cost this year. I will continue to use Turbo Tax because I find it easy to use and I trust it gets my taxes right. April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to Contact You Some things simply don't work in Turbo Tax and it is near impossible to find a phone contact number. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't use anything else... Improved, now provides more direction on filing state taxes when married filing joint, but due to military, spouse has different state of residency. April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrated with the 2014 Premier edition I was very frustrated this year with this version of TurboTax. In the 30+ years that I have been using TurboTax, I have never had so much trouble in entering my data and having it transfer properly. Especially had difficulty with Its Deductible and importing the data. The extra info that Form 8283 required was just about impossible to correct. Also, all overrides came up as errors but only because you apparently can't use overrides if you are filing electronically. There should be a question about filing electronically - I think there was one near the end of completing info. If you answer NO then overrides should not continue to come up as errors. They could be shown once to give the preparer the opportunity to correct them. My federal return claimed numerous errors - they were all related to overrides concerning my non-cash charitable contributions. The overrides were the only way that I could get the info required onto the 8283 form. Your program showed those errors on the review of the Federal tax return and again on the final review after completing my State tax return. Also, when the mention of errors comes up the only option is to review the errors - you can't say to skip them. I took the time nearly at every place I was having problems to give feedback naming the location and explaining my problem. On your feedback requested I could not tell if the page or screen view that I was on would be known to you. Having said all this, I have used your program for I think over 30+ years, with very few problems. I remember that the first year that I used It was a wonderful experience. My returns have grown more complicated. This is the first time that I have had major problems with your program. I hope that my comments will help you improve your program for 2015. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to do yourself April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and detailed interview The questions are designed to help bring out all of the details of your return, yet still easy to understand and follow in order to get the maximum refund allowed by law. April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mr Fernandez I liked the online service but seriously I would stick to the software. I can do more taxes from family members and the online service is only for one person. The software is 80 dlls and the online service was 185 .. big difference April 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not handle stock trades well Very poor and inadequate handling of wash sales, short sales or stock trades multiple brokers. I had to buy another software program and figure out how to integrate those forms with TurboTax. This has been going on for years with TurboTax. Inexcusable. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Time User of Turbo With Turbo Tax I know we addressed every deduction and credit available to me for the tax year.The yearly comparisons help me make adjustments and plan for next year's tax situation. The online filing and the online definitions of terms is also useful in the program April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Deductions and Homeowners Deluxe Your steps to fix return did not work in my case. Only errors that showed up were related to when to withdraw money to pay my taxes! Because your program created errors on my return. If you cost me a penalty I will be very angry. April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Can't be any more complex An example of my annoyance. With foreign income, the software accepts a certain types of entry for state, zip code, employer's Id etc which have to be fictitious. As for example, UK does not have 'states', 'zip codes' and banks there do not have 'ID recognized by IRS'. But having accepted certain 'fake' entries (suggested by your experts) it shows up those as errors and makes it impossible to satisfy the software and reach the end for filing. It is downright stupid and wastage of my valuable time to sort out. Ask you software guys to change the program to make it remember the entries accepted during the main preparation and not to flag those as errors at the end. What is the use of using this software if the program is so dumb and does not help the poor tax preparer to overcome this problem not of his creation? Very unfortunate. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Award for Most Improved! previously the site would not be clear which taxes were being filed and before you knew it you paid for Federal and State tax (very expensive). this year I noticed additional confirmations to ensure the customer is aware of what they are filing and purchasing. Now I don't feel bamboozled. I feel like my complaints from previous years have been heard, accepted, and addressed. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by cood software Very good program even for someone not great on the computer. The fact that you can leave and come back to the sane place in the return is good. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and Easy I am elated to be finished ~ I had to keep going back to get information and this took a lot of time for me ~ I can't see very well ~ next year I will have all this information on the computer. April 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by No discount Signed up with my employer, due to was promissed discount. However after completing tax returnes was charged full price and no discount were given. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy We have used Turbo Tax for years and will continue to do so. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So much better than HR Block At first I signed up with HR Block. I had used them the previous year and thought it would be easier. It was so frustrating I called them to cancel the process and get my money back. I switched over to Turbo Tax and so happy I did. My refund ended up being much higher. Mostly due to how much easier it is to use Turbo Tax if you run a business. The whole system flows smoothly and makes sense. I'll be sticking with Turbo Tax as long as they keep up the good work. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time tax filing was a breeze! I really enjoyed filing with turbotax. It was extremely easy and saved me from having to hire an accountant. Simple details made the process comfortable such as the site responding in a conversational way to your provided answers. For example, when you input your address, the site responds "We're from San Diego by the way." Nice touch! April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy When I return to a section to review or make corrections, I wish it would keep my yes/no selections. Would be nice if I could purchased from Turbo Tax an accordion folder labeled in the order of each section within Turbo Tax. This would keep paperwork organized when preparing to do taxes each year. April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1st time user Had hard time on working out business mileage. Since I quit using vehicle before years end, program assumed I sold or got rid of vehicle, Did neither- I retired- quit working. Couldn't find way to achieve that status April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Done! Alleluia! Alleluia!! I was petrified to use a computer based tax program. The last time I had personally done my taxes was in 1999. My best friend kept telling me I would have no problem since I had done taxes for over 30 years. And she is a CPA. She finally convinced me and I am so glad she did. I understand the process and your product is so simple and easy to use. Once I started actually working on my taxes (April 13), I was able to relax and get them done in less than 8 hours. And I own a business. Whew! I had done all the work for the past 12 months and I got to reap the benefits. Thanks for an easy to understand system that provides excellent support when you are stuck. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does all the work for you April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprise refund amount I had no problems at all doing my taxes! I have been using Turbotax for the last 20+ years! It gets easier every year. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I rather use turbotax verses going anywhere quick easy and willing to walk you through the steps if you have any issues April 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Software...couple of glitches If you list your home office business use as less than 100%, the TurboTax worksheet for IRS Form 8829 incorrectly calculates the depreciation limit and makes the allowable depreciation artificially low by not allowing the full net income from your schedule C, plus or minus appropriate adjustments. TTax calculation worksheet needs to be rewritten for this to correctly calculate the allowable depreciation limit for the home office deduction. Turbo tax will NOT allow you to efile your taxes if you make any manual override corrections on any of the tax forms, so I could not initially efile my taxes and had to get a tax professional to efile an extension request (because Turbo Tax will not even allow efiling an extension request if you have an entry that is manually overridden on a tax form)-- VERY FRUSTRATING! Otherwise, I've had pretty good success with the software, other than a couple of times where the data from a correction did not carry through to make corrections on all necessary data fields, until I went back through and figured another way to work through the problem and get it fixed. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and quick! As always, simple to use and quick! I'm only bummed I didn't get a refund, but I can't blame that on Turbo Tax. =) April 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Next year may need something more expen$ive TT Deluxe used to do everything I needed. Standard forms 1040, Sch ABCD. It asked me to upgrade to premier for rental and stocks? Deluxe used to handle it just fine. Good thing people complained, and I got the free upgrade after patching TT. I'll be checking a little closer next year, because I know it will cost closer to $100, instead of $50. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by they made it really easy with their explanations, FAQs and other info! April 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy I was very disappointed. Previously I bought turbotax and downloaded CD to my computer. This way you payed for federal return and got a free state return. This year I decided to prepare my taxes on line and after I filled out everything I was charged for both federal and state returns even though I could not e-file state. My only options were to pay and file or erase all information put into my state return and begin over. I will not do this again and probably won't use turbotax next year because of this. I have used TurboTax for several years but I was very dissatisfied this year. April 17, 2015
  • 2015-05-03T14:07:27.131-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-25, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181369, tr_181369
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 23 24 25 26 27 ... 3788 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.