1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 25 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182854 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182852 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Personal and Small Business I have used Turbo Tax for years, but this year it has cost me more time and effort than it should have. The update I downloaded on tax day caused my laptop to crash. I would log on and it would freeze. I was fortunate that my mother also had Turbo Tax and I was able to finish my taxes. I was so unhappy with this program and all the extra work it required to get my pc working again that I am not sure I will use Turbo Tax next year. May 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by drove me crazy Have used turbo for a few years now. This year has been a nightmare. May not ever use again. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as pie lst time filer with turbo and relatively easy. Only got confused when it reported missing information. Eventually got it. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better late then never... I love Turbo Tax because I can do it myself..it is easy and I love the Audit Defence option. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by rocked my refund thank you I would always go to some one else thinking it would be too hard. I now feel like a tax advisor May 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not appear to handle State allocation correct Painless but does not allow detailed access to the state allocation process. Filing late, but am going to redo that return on a more sophisticated package to see if I am correct. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by continuity from previous year is great. Still confusing because of complexity of tax laws; I don't think you can make it any simpler. May 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very buggy when I tried to file 4 state returs I have used Turbotax for over 5 years. When my filing was simple, Turbotax seemed fine. However, this year, I worked partly in Mississippi even though I am a PA resident. My husband iis a part-time resident of Georgia and Maryland. We file a joint federal return PROBLEMS and SUGGESTIONS 1) When I enter my and my husband's data, Turbotax does not diligently attribute income to my husband or me (I know the program asks for the owner of the income, but it does not maintain it). For example, when I file PA as "married and separate," it keeps on including my husband's interest income no matter how many times I tell the program that the income is my husband's. In addition, the program says I receive a credit from Georgia, when I never received any income from GA. In addition, Turbotax "forgot" to include my capital gains in my PA return. I only realize this by ONLY entering MY data in Turbotax, and compared the PA return with the PA return from the file that had my and my husband's data. (2) I am the principal filer. When I started to fill out the MD return, it recommended that we file as "joint, married" and as "nonresident." This is wrong. MD law recommends that my husband file MD as "married but separate." If we want to file as "married joint," there is a complicated way of doing it that Turbotax does not alert you too (see Maryland Administrative Release 3). Why doesn't Turbotax allow me to switch the principal filer and spouse order without having to reenter all the data? That way, I could file as "part-year resident" and not as "non-resident." Again, my husband is a part-year resident of MD. (3) When I go back to recheck a completed section, why does Turbotax make me answer the same question before I can advance a page. Please remember my earlier answers. In addition, when I check a box under dividends, for example, and then I revisit the section, why does Turbotax forget that I already checked a box. (4) I filed an extension payment to Maryland. I entered my husband's data only, and completed the MD and GA sections. However, when I try to file, it erroneously removed my extension amount after I press to “FILE”. I corrected this by entering my husband’s data only, and completed the MD section ONLY, but not the GA section. Weird. (5) Sometimes I do not have internet connection when I want to work on my taxes. Turbotax requires you to check for updates and update EVERY time you begin work. That is extremely painful. I should have the option to update at a later time, and still be able to work on my taxes when I want to. (6) I tried to find a phone number on the Turbotax website to seek costumer support. It was just not there. I had to google “phone numbers for Turbotax” to finally get a phone number (888 777 3066). I talked to someone there, who was great about giving me a refund. In addition, I would highly recommend that you provide an email for customer and technical support requests. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shazaam!! Thanks Turbo Tax for providing free tax filing and making it so easy to do and getting me the most refund. The walk through steps are great and easy to understand. Great job Turbo Tax!! Looking forward to doing 2015 taxes with you. Thanks again. Shane Gover May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 Premier 5.10.15 A terrific product in every respect! Intuitive. I call Support twice, once for technical support with TT and the other time to talk with a Tax Assistant. BOTH calls were very clear, to the point! May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use It was all easy. I had previously disliked this program because it saved the forms in a proprietary format. Now it exports to PDF which is good. May 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of foreign income report Once again it simplifies the process even with 100% overseas income. Thank you. May 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Importing data from one form to another is useful. It is convenient for the users that TurboTax can import data from various sources, either from external institutions, or from tax returns of previous years, or from federal forms to state forms. May 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by tax time Must include the business parts and schedules like 2013. May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than sliced bread! I've used Turbo Tax for several years and it is so easy to follow and file. I tried going to Block once but they asked me the exact same questions and charged me a fortune. I've never gone back. Turbo Tax is for me! May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Application This is an excellent product; I will utilize every year. Thanks a bunch! May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! I use this every year and it just keeps getting better. I love the fact it imports all my info from the previous year to speed up a job I don't like doing anyways... May 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad bugs in the program When at the review tab, after the review is done I'm getting the feedback as "looks like you're not done with health insurance". When going to health insurance, it asks for personal information. I have tripple checked all of the personal information. Even re entered, one by one. But still have the issue. I personally think this is a software issue. One since we have been living abroad for last 5 years and do not enter anything on US health insurance (never had since we moved) and also none of our personal information has changed. Please help me out. This is very frustrating. Had to Force a file function without using the review function oi turbo tax. May 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some Improvements Needed I had problems with transferring information from QB to TT. I ended up having to enter some stuff by hand. Just couldn't get a couple of numbers to fall into the right place. I also do not like the balance sheet part of it. Luckily for me I am really small, but the numbers need to flow more smoothly. I do not see why I should have to make changes manually. I took a lot of time to do tax mapping and would have expected this to work in a more smooth fashion. May 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could Offer Better Advice I have used Turbo Tax for years and it is pretty simple. But it would be great if it offered a bit better guidance on possible ededuuctions. I also use the Small Business version which is not very user friendly. I hope they look into using more spreadsheets for data input, it would make preparation of the K-1's much simpler. I'll use Turbo Tax again but they need to think about how the product can be improved! Don't get complacent! May 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need better direct access features Turbo Tax's strong point has always been it's interview-style approach to taxes. This works well, but completely falls apart when you want to correct one number. Let's say you estimated your healthcare costs (Personal & Small Biz) and then want to go back and correct it. It is almost impossible to find the right place to do this. There are similar examples. What TT needs is a way to quickly and easily address each line of detail without forcing you back to the underlying forms. In short, a much more robust navigation facility. May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! I would recommend this tax service to anyone in my network. The service has gotten me a great refund for two years running! Thanks again for the wonderful service! May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax I love using Turbo Tax online. You have all my information for many years. I don't have to worry about getting the new software every year. May 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good as it always is May 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbotax has gone downhill This year I purchased Turbotax Premier as I have done in past years with not too many issues. They diminished the capabilities of Premier this year forcing me to upgrade to Business which I really don't need and never have. I complete the sections as instructed only to get errors that need addressing at the end of the return. This is not unexpected, however, the software is broken and does not allow the errors to be fixed forcing you into a continuous loop of frustration. Finally after dealing with multiple such software bugs in different areas, I begin transmitting my returns only to be stopped once again by a new error that they found on my federal return AFTER they had given the go-ahead to file, and now informing me that I will have to mail my return because it is ineligible for electronic filing. What gives?!? How was this not flagged when I was entering this information, and then later in the federal review? Experiencing these errors makes me wonder how many other bugs there are that did not catch problems, or improper advice on how to enter information, or bad calculations the software has made. It may look glossy and professional, but it is anything but, and needs much more testing before being released to the public. Lastly, I hate the fact that I have to log into my account in order to use my desktop software which I specifically purchased to avoid having my information online. Bad bad bad. Turbotax has gone seriously downhill and I am going to be very reluctant to use it again in the years ahead. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best You are a fool not to use this program. This is my third year using it and it only gets better May 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by JR CPA Don't mind paying for quality services I receive or pay fairly when decide to purchase anything worth parting with my money for...but I would have started with Home and Business upgrade if e file costs were disclosed. I was a bit taken back by the fact I was not able to print all my work and was not told in advance that was an immanent conclusion to all my hard work...other than that, I was impressed again with the Turbo Tax software! May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! This software has helped me and saved me $$$ for several years now. It is so easy. I can't imagine anyone wasting their hard earned dollars on taking all their info to a CPA or tax preparer and having someone else do it for them. May 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inaccurate tax due calculation Using 2013 quarterly tax due figures (3 quarters) total of $7314.00 and what you indicated the payment on line 65 the sum of$10852.00 resulted in an under payment of $3718.00 with non payment penalty and interest it amounts to $3744.44. How do you explain that? What about your 100% accurate guarantee? How does that work? May 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Update issues 1. The insurance subsidy was showing I had to pay a big penalty midway through my return. I almost stopped and went to a tax pro for help as my state info was saying I would not owe the penalty. I had to wait until the very end of my return to find I did not have to pay a penalty. 2. There was an error in the program that would not let me enter the appropriate information and the software was not corrected until May. As I had already paid to file before finding this information I was forced to file for an extension. It also was very difficult to find the information as to when the software correction would happen. I have used Turbo Tax for about 10 years and this is the first time I have had issues with getting my taxes finished. May 9, 2015
  • 2015-08-29T11:28:16.652-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-25, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182852, tr_182852
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 23 24 25 26 27 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.