1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 25 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184761 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184761 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Home office deduction not included in the Premier I can not claim the simple home office deduction using the Premier package as before. This year Turbo tax required me to buy the Home & Business package for that which is quite expensive, not worth the cost. October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The process was simple but with tax law changes continually targeting the middle class worker, a refund appears to be in the past. October 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have been a user of this program for over 20 years, this was the first problem year and the worst year for the program. As it started out, the Premier version was incomplete and was later modified online to include capitol gains. The Premier version always included this feature. After the upgrade it was very difficult to access information after entry and finalize the return. I had 22 entries for stock transactions and at the final check it continued to ask me to input cost information for each item on the worksheets, yet the work sheets did not have sufficient information on each individual item to fill in the requested information...yet if you went back into the program under files and forms each worksheet was in fact complete with all information. This prevented me from filing electronically and I have doubts about the correctness of my return. I may consider a different tax program next year, very disappointing. October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Home and Business Keeps track of tradional iras ,and Roth Iras. October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Go My Rerun I met one problem this year. I filed an extension in April, and pay the tax I owed to INS, and typed into TurboTax. but somehow, at the begging, the software didn't update count in the amount I paid, said I still owe that much, which made me very very frustrated. Until later on, I kept changing the amount I paid with extension, from 0 to a bigger number several times, finally the software responded. Then I keyed in the real amount I paid, got the final numbers correct. October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a great product I've used for years. October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My thoughts on 2014 Turbo Tax I had a 1099-B that proved to be quite an education. My broker and turbo-Tax were no help. Finally got everything figured out, entered the info into Turbo Tax, checked it, and then Turbo-Tax changed the values. Don't understand why the values were changed, and no they weren't rounded-off. Also had similar problem on Schedule B, entered a value from my 1099-INT, checked the value later, it appeared as entered, and then value was changed. Filed with discrepancies because I was tired of playing games and I'm talking one dollar amounts, but still different than 1099's. October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resource for average taxpayer I'll buy it again October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All good. Best way to file Excellent . Been using Turbo for years October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Home & Business Having the software walk through home, educational & business information is a good way to get "regular" & special forms filled in correctly. Having prior year's info in the program is a plus. After spending over $100 for the program, it's irritating to be dunned for an $25 to eFile state return. What is it, a "dealer conveyance fee?" October 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turb booooo Turbo tax kept improving each year & getting easier, except this year, trying to figure out where I put rental info. in was very time consuming, you just couldn't pick a spot to go back to revisit, you had to go through a series of questions each time! I probably won't be coming back next year. This is my 1st time doing a rental, so, maybe it's me, it was a pain, and I've been using your product for a long time. October 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by More frustrating than last year Overall useful but more difficult to use and frustrating without being able to easily call Turbo Tax for help. When doing the final review I got an error for Schedule K-1 S Corporation. The form didn't show up in the federal form list but did show up in California. The error was no name entered. (I didn't have any K-1s this year but have in previous years). When I checked the data source for the missing field it was for the federal form which wasn't listed. I checked the K-1 section of the federal return and suspiciously the step by step asked if I wanted to update, I clicked it and got the blank name with no option to delete the form. Eventually I filled in Form Error No Schedule K-1. When I did this and went back to the step by step in the federal form it allowed me to delete the form. The software should work better than this. It should not start a form until you fill something in and in any case should allow you to see and delete the form if it is started and generates an error. The other annoying error was in the Hawaii state return. I got errors for not filling in the Hawaii Tax ID number even though I checked the box for "Check this box if this business is located outside Hawaii, is no longer in existence, or the Hawaii Tax I.D. number is not available. It did this for 3 rental properties outside Hawaii. The was very annoying and I finally just had to let it go with the error in the review. October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by makes taxes logical Program stepped me through taxes but I had some income I had forgot about so I skipped over and came back when I had the numbers to put in. It took e a little time to find where the farm income was when I came back. October 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience this year First, as everyone found out later, all the features in the deluxe version changed making certain forms require an upgrade. Since I had previously filed for an extension, I was no longer eligible for the free upgrade by the time I performed my taxes, so the overall cost was higher than if I had bought the Home and Business by itself. Next, the package indicated a $19.99 efile but I was charged $25. I have used turbotax for years and this is definitely the last. October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could be better October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really Great except one big hole Again this year ... the is not button to push to enter one Schedule C and then have the program break it into 2 separate Schedule C's for a husband and wife doing business together. The IRS allows this as a "qualified joint venture". But the program make you break every thing in half and enter two entire Schedule C's. It took me longer to break out the Schedule C into two Schedule C's and fill out two forms and then make sure it balances .... than to do the rest of the form. Please, Please, Please add this option next year. October 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by The program was overall less friendly than the prior years There is nothing that sets turbo tax away from other tax prep software October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Product Very easy to use, walks through each step, help screens very detailed. I would like to have a copy of the program on my computer, its very disconcerting to have everything Cloud based, but, so far no problems with security. October 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The problems with the 2014 turbo tax, what wasn't included in what people usually use, the security breach concerns. Who's running things these days. Can we trust Turbo Tax after all these years? $$$$ to you vs a great product for it's consumers? Hmmmm Guess we will see next year. October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trusty TurboTax Generally have had great experiences with Turbo Tax for the past five or six years. My only comment/concern/hope for improvement next year is that it didn't automatically transfer the health insurance info from Fed to state return, which we did assumed would happen (shame on us, though, for assuming....) And, while completing federal and before beginning state tax, the state refund tally at the top appeared to assume taxpayer had health insurance for a while, then suddenly (in our case, after entering a few thousand of personal income which barely made a dent in federal taxes) projected state refund jetted to a tax owed of a thousand more....with no explanation of why. Had we not carefully reviewed the state forms we may not have caught this, and would have thought we owed state taxes. It would seem that the information could transfer pretty easily, no? October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE TURBO TAX - IT'S A SNAP TO DO YOUR TAXES I have been using Turbo Tax for years and it keeps getting better and better. Why spend hundreds with a tax firm when you can do it so reasonably in the privacy of your own home. October 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rental sales needs work I stopped renting my second house in 2013 so I had NO rental income in 2014 when I sold it. Turbotax kept telling me to delete the rental because I had no rental income. It would not allow me to put in the sale with no income. So I had to fudge 1 day of rental to show income so It wouldn't toss me out. I would think that this wouldn't be such an unusual thing. Paid extra for Premier and it only gave me grief. Dave October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Turbo Tax Have used this software for years...it gets better every year. Would not used anything else !!!! October 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by difficult to use multiple states October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got through the day Allowed me to find deductions and credits I was unaware of. Very helpful and easy to use. October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Turbo Tax is a good product and easy to use. I'm an accountant and ex-tax return preparer. I like that Turbo Tax walks me through the questions to optimize my refund and the software is easy to navigate. October 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful, but... You'd have to be a CPA and/or a glutton for punishment to try to file taxes without an app like this. Sometimes I get frustrated trying to find a place to put a certain figure, but a search usually gets me there. I think it would be EXTREMELY helpful if TurboTax offered a worksheet or checklist to help you get all your records together before you start. For small business, it'd be nice to have a list of expense categories. Then I would know in advance how to track my expenses. I'm happy to no longer be self-employed--paying taxes 4 times a year is the pits! October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You kept it simple! I usually feel overwhelmed when doing my taxes but TurboTax walks you through it. You have to get all the information/data collected to have someone else do it anyways, why not do it yourself? October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax review I am a long time user of Turbo Tax, it is very easy to use October 11, 2015
  • 2015-11-26 T17:06:14.462-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-25, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184761, tr_184761
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 23 24 25 26 27 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.