1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 23 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184761 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184759 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Job, Turbo Tax I had used other software before - but will stick to Turbo Tax. help center was great! October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Making confusing tax codes more understandable Very helpful to save your tax refund, log out and come back to work on the return. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hardest version yet!! Entering taxes withheld on stock sale was disallowed last spring.. After extension given, printing the returns for mailing was one confusing mess! October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A challenging experience, but, hopefully worth it October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Used it for years. It has filled my needs nicely and allows for quick transfer of previous data. October 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by My last time using TurboTax I'm done with TurboTax. I've been using this software for 8 years, and this is the last time. I moved from Maryland in 2013, and that year I filed a part-year resident return; I now reside in Colorado. For some reason, Turbotax premier said I still needed to download Maryland, which I did. However, I have no Maryland income, paid no Maryland withholdings, and owe no Maryland tax! Does the software then let me proceed to Colorado, which I do need? Nope... give us $39.99, on top of what the software already cost, and what you'll pay to e-file Colorado. When I go see Jackson-Hewett next year, now you'll know why. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb instructions and process Every year I brace for a big project. The biggest project is gathering supporting documents, otherwise, TurboTax makes the rest easy as long as instructions are read completely and time is devoted to accuracy. Love understanding where the money all goes! Thanks. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great software. Do'nt know what I'd do without it. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! I've loved how, over the years I've used TurboTax, it has gotten easier & easier to use! Thanks for this great program! October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TT and rental property For a beginner with rental properties in two different state. More guidance would be helpful. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth it, with caution I have used Turbo Tax for years, and appreciate that they keep trying to improve the product. One challenge they faced was the need to ask a bunch of questions that don't really fit on any particular line of questioning. For example, the question about whether you had health insurance isn't really a deduction or an income issue. So the question is there, but in a place that seemed illogical. Oh, well. This version of Turbo Tax seemed to have been made more simplistic, and I had to look more carefully to find the areas that were unique to my situation. Thank goodness they have it all in there! October 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doug,'s 2014 tax return. UGH! It is very difficult to pick up where you left off. Also difficult to go back and make changes and corrections later on. i.e. it is hard to find where you want to be without going through the entire program to be where you want to be. It seems to take forever to get trough the entire program. I also had difficulty printing! There was NO indication that the software was running any printer function in the background. Some indication that the program was working in a print mode would be very helpful. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic way to file!! I have used Turbo Tax for years and would never use anything else. Quickest and easiest available!! October 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad to Worse Second year in a row that we couldn't efile because of problems in the Turbo Tax software. There is no one to help. Members of the community discussing the issue are clueless. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple TurboTax was surprisingly simple and very user friendly. I especially liked all the prompts for deductions...there were a few I wouldn't have known about if it hadn't been for the software. Since the service is connected to my electronic W-2 I can continue to use it without any problems! October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Years With Turbotax I have used Turbo tax so many years i cant even remember and I'm very satisfied. I have being doing taxes over 50 years and Turbo Tax saved me 500.00 dollars this year that i would have missed had i not used the step by step approach after i thought i was finished. Love the error analysis. it helps catch things i may have over looked. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Premier Filing was frustrating. Seemed I was tricked into selecting efile for state up front. Had to "back" all the way out and start over. When I did I was not offered a chance to print the state return. I had to go back a second time and to thru before I got the option. October 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy! Not Happy! Tried to get Audit Defense and cannot complete the transaction! Also still don't know if my return was e-filed!!! October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax Business is getting difficult Although the price is getting more and more every year, TurboTax is getting more difficult to use every year. This year was no exception. Some of my 2013 return information didn't transfer. Certain schedules were asked to be completed although I answered "no" to the previous question. I knew the questions weren't applicable to me but the program still wanted information which I didn't know how to answer. These had to do with some schedules related to credits (mainly state). I'd appreciate if Intuit can keep the costs under control for next year and take care of some transfer-from-previous-year issues. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by still find it hard to complete them K-1s on Public LPs. Had 16 and had error on each one. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saving my bacon! Since retirement, I volunteer extensively in my former profession and as a professional, that was deductible. I appreciate the care that TurboTax had in causing me to think through every step to make certain I could demonstrate with documentation that this was deductible. It worked! I have been using TurboTax for over ten years. It works for me. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walks me through a complicated return Helps me every year with complicated returns that include LLCs and Schedule Es. I feel confident I have not missed anything because of the step by step questions. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Came Up Short I've apparently reached a stage where TT is not up to doing the complete job. I would like 1)ability to adjust qualified dividends for Form 1116 2)ability to test whether $ could be saved by not claiming children as dependents so that they could take tuition tax breaks. 3)ability to retrieve numbers from other returns for Form 8615 purposes. On NY return, I had a problem with TT not allowing tuition credit and checking the determining box for it incorrectly. A long session with knowledgeable TT agent on the phone admitted that it was a "limitation". On the bright side, kudos to TT for restoring expected forms to various versions of TT. They're listening. Finally, I'd like more up-front transparency re: State Return cost, state e-filing cost. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Could not tell also from Turbo Tax for situations where extension was filed, and final tax differed (owed less than original projection) if there was a need to file only the final return or if we needed to file an amended return. Suspect the former, but not certain! My return in turbo tax didnt note that I had filed for an extension by mail -- The IRS had cashed my check. so I was certain they had noted my extension! Generally love Turbo Tax!!! Have used it for years! October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice again TurboTax once again made filing easy. The tax code is tremendously complicated for an individual but this program makes it so much easier. What I'd like to see added is a more thorough, but simple, explanation of the return as you go through it. It's very good now but I always have that nagging feeling that I'm missing something because it is so difficult to understand all the deductions. It would help to better compare the details from the previous year's return as opposed to just a total of what was deducted last year, and what caused the differences. All-in-all a great program. Thank you. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Complicated Taxes - Made Easy or Am I Oblivious? We have a fairly complicated return that has gotten more complicated each year - W-2s, 1099-R, investments, dividends, small business, rental properties, etc. I put an awful lot of trust into Turbo Tax, since I end up paying lots of Alternative Minimum Tax and since some of my deductions are reduced due to income levels. I hope and pray that my faith is valued. There was quite a problem at the start of the 2014 return process - I had to get additional disks sent to me, and while the associates were very helpful, I still don't quite know if all of it was correct. I'm most disturbed that I used the software for filing my extension, and then I had to fat-finger in the amount "again" when I actually filed my return. Thank goodness I "caught" that software mistake. I'm filing my taxes but I'm considering taking all of my printouts to a CPA to see if I actually did it all correctly or if I missed anything. I didn't used to feel that way. I look forward to getting back to that point with Turbo Tax... October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I will use another tax program next year. I was in the middle of doing my return and tried to update information, such as simple oil and gas royalties from last years return. I wouldn't let me, and directed me to upgrade to Turbotax business to continue. Very irritating, especially since time was of the essence. Next year, I will be using a different product. October 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by cant believe it didnt include all forms Can't believe that I had to pay $30 extra to get rental forms and that they hadn't fixed this for the updates (I filed an extension). Incredible, given the horrible press Intuit received this past year for this. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrated I started using TurboTax Deluxe in 2002, and have used it every year since. I have always purchased TurboTax Deluxe. I have several rental properties, and I keep track of rental expenses using Quicken Essentials on my Apple Mac. I use spreadsheets to itemize all rental expenses, and spreadsheets for large purchase house improvement items that need to be depreciated. In past years, I only entered rental income and total rental expenses into TurboTax Deluxe so it could process Schedule E. I attached a copy of the rental expenses spreadsheet (for each property) to Schedule E when mailed to IRS. TurboTax Deluxe for 2014 would not allow me to make the two entries I needed (for each rental property) so I could printout Schedule E. I was forced to upgrade to TurboTax Premier and pay an extra $30. Really FRUSTRATED with TurboTax this year. October 12, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T08:05:01.363-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-23, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184759, tr_184759
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 21 22 23 24 25 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.