1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 21 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184759 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184754 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have used turbo Tax for 13 years now. My tax needs also grow with age. Before I can understand all the forms and their supporting forms and schedules. Now, the tax laws have become so complicated, without the help of such a software program, there is no way I can do the tax myself. Just one little complain this year (2014). When I want to save the return or open some of the supportive forms, a empty square appear. It just happened this year. All the previous years were good. Thank you very much for such a good product. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smitty's Refund I Have been using TurboTax ever since it was launched and I really like it. October 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Save Your Return! I accidentally did not save my 2013 return. There was no way to retrieve it, which is a gross deficiency on Intuit's part. Then, there was no way to use all, or even part, of my 2012 return to provide data on donation recipients, income sources, etc. so these all had to be entered on my 2014 form. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by this was too easy October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quite good TurboTax is quite good for MANY tax situations. We live overseas and it handled that quite easily. If you go through the interview in order, it works best. If you have to jump around, you often have to answer the same question each time. I usually save versions of the return as I go along and print them out, so I can answer the questions the same each time. You used to be able to select any form you received and enter the data, now only some forms do this. It was easier than going through the interview for many of the forms you get. October 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by CONFUSED Entered w-2 info showing $14,342 that was added to $17,307. October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Premier I'm a long time TT user. Each year the program gets better. It is nice to depend on Intuit to keep up with the IRS for a lot less $ than a tax accountant. October 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Review I have used Turbo Tax for 15+ years, and, obviously have been very happy with the process and result. I would be remiss if I didn't tell you that this year the use of the software was very disappointing! I was completely unable to bring over the 2013 tax information to my 2014. I am assuming that it was because of the fact that I downloaded the software first. In the past I have used a CD (with the exception of 2013) to install the program on my computer. Please help me find out if I am the problem or if there have been changes that made this process so hard. I'm not a novice to tax work, so I don't think that's the problem. I would like to get a response to my review, because I am considering using other software programs for my 2015 return. Thank you. October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Know what is deductible Doing your own taxes with this tool helps you to understand your deductibles. Previously I was using a CPA and was not made aware of some of the small things that would have increased my deductions. October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PRAISE FOR Tax Advisor ELIZABETH WAGES in Georgia My wife and I have used Turbotax for our tax prep for years and really l iike it. But we were unable to Efile our 2014 Federal Tax using Turbotax due to "problem with a form" w no other specific details. Yesterday 10/12/15, we spoke with Turbo tax's Tax Advisor ELIZABETH WAGES in Georgia who advised us to create a DIAGNOSTIC COPY of our return. Today we appreciated call as promised by Ms Wages- VERY knowledgable & helpful! . She had reviewed diagnostic copy & our returns on Turbotax & identified problem as " a W2 form from Insurance Co with ZERO in Box1 for wages". So she advised us to delete that W2 form from our tax return & WOW! we were able to Efile our 2014 Federal tax in less than 15min!! She also provided us other helpful excellent info eg re E filing process/pros and cons Versus paper filing etc. THANK YOU Ms WAGES for your FABULOUS help! and thank you Turbotax for your awesome tax tool. Sincerely , Jim October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accurate with Stellar Support I have been using TurboTax for many years now. Both desktop and online version. With each version I have found the system has improved. My most recent return exposed an error with the health insurance tab, but a call to tech support resolved it completely. My hat off to you, TurboTax Team. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped Keep the Stress Level Down I have liked Turbo Tax for a lot of years now. At first I had returns prepared by a live professional and TurboTax. THe finished information was always close enough to allow me to switch completely to TurboTax without trepidation! October 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by TurboTax is missing the fact that Mediciaid waiver payments are NOT subject to federal tax. The IRS released Notice 2014-7 in January of 2014. There is no option included in TurboTax to enter that. Please correct this! October 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This program lacks explanations and helps in many areas. Leaves you to hunt in various locations. Does not prompt for explanation statements. I fill them out because I know they are required but I have to look them up in forms mode. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use; very comprehensive I've used TurboTax for between 15 & 20 years and will use nothing else. It works so easy and seems to have everything covered. October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Of great help except for foreign taxes refund Great as long as you do no try declaring foreign taxes. Although TurboTax has all the fields in its web form for the declaration of foreign taxes (IRS form 1116), which is good, you are left with very few contextual help. It is really hard to figure out what is supposed to be entered in fields such as "definitely related expenses" or "non definitely related deductions", and many other fields even crazier. For some of them, it might be very uncommon to enter values, but some others must filled in. There is no way to guess about that... October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised to the level of detail and efficiency The HSA section needs attention to simplify. General question, what HSA contribution did the taxpayer make in or for 2014. What payments did the Taxpayer make from the HSA and have the background calculations made by TurboTax October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Program improved over 2013 What I liked. Ease of correcting the errors found in the review. Development of the list of deductions. It will be helpful for RY2015. Yearly comparison data. It supported the data I thought would have a high impact on my Estimated Tax when it was calculated in April. My "KIDS" are all adults...married. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made taxes less taxing This is my second year using TurboTax for my personal taxes and I am liking it! My taxes are currently pretty straightforward right now as I have one employer and not a lot of fancy investments so I cannot comment on how the program would work for those with more complex situations or who are self-employed (which I may be soon). I like that I could easily stop and start again. I like that I did not have to pay any fees till ready to file (also liked the $10-20 discounts that I got through my credit union's website). I liked the "extra info" explanation boxes which answered my questions 85-90% of the time. The program is user-friendly and uses straightforward language with a bit of humor thrown in. Also liked the ease of filing an extension. If I have any misgivings is that I miss the re-assurance of a "real person" reviewing my taxes and tax situation for items or issues I might not be aware of; but, that said, the 'real people' accountants I have worked with in the past have not always caught everything either…and are substantially more costly. I figured that since I had to gather up and crunch the numbers for an accountant to plug into a program, I may as well do it myself. So far, so good. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and dare I say.... kinda fun. This is least painless tax filing I've ever been a part of. Beautiful, intuitive (get it? Intuit?) site. The help/search function was smooth. The only snag I hit was when it came to filing in several states... we are both self-employed and receive contracts all over the country. I am still not totally clear that I have to file separate returns for each state. Exhausting and expensive.... Maybe a discount for multiple states? Overall, though, a very positive experience. The most boring video game ever.... not bad at all :) October 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problem with Affordable Healthcare filing This is the first year I've had a problem with TurboTax. My income changed during the year, and that changed my eligibility for APTC with the Affordable Healthcare Act. TurboTax could not handle this situation, and I was forced to file by mail. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Gets Better Pretty difficult to make a mistake as the software walks you through every situation. If you've prepared returns from the forms before, sometimes you keep looking to enter data in the forms but don't have to. The thing I like the most is that Turbo Tax puts all the information in the right form in the right place! It is also easy to edit or change things. I prepared returns for three others besides myself (one in another state) and once you purchase an additional State form you don't have to purchase again for additional returns in the same state. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Return Used Turbo Tax for several years. Ease of use and complete review makes it awfully hard to forget something that should be included. October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can't Do Without It. What can I say. Even though it has its shortcomings for overseas filers, because of the ever-changing status of our tax code, I don't think an ordinary human can cope with it without a program such as TurboTax. I've been using it faithfully for years and have complained in the past about your inattention to overseas filers, to no avail.The shortcomings still exist. Here's the problem: I file a joint return with my wife. All of her earned iincome is foreign earned income and is not reported on a W-2 form. The first thing TurboTax asks for is information from her W-2. If I give her income information as though it came on a W-2, when the program realizes that we need to file a Form 2555 (Foreign Earned Income) it once again asks for the same information. If I put it on the 2555, the amount, is shown as DOUBLE the actual amount! I've figured a workaround but short of that I'd be paying taxes based on twice her actual income! Once again I ask, PLEASE FIX.or at least make it clear how to handle this not uncommon situation for many overseas filers. (I wanted to send a photo along with this review, but I couldn't find one which showed me pulling my hair out in frustration with this shortcoming of TurboTax .) October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by thanks much better than paper! at the end, I did not know that I only had one chance to print out and now can't figure out how to do it. Though I might be able to down the road October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by the product is easy to follow, even for someone like me with limited computer experience October 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Deluuxe 2014 Have used TurboTax for years and never had a problem. Disappointed that I was charged $40.00 to upgrade to Business version just so I could add some business deductions. This was always included in the Deluxe version before. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Software Great software!. I've been using this software since 2001, and every year its better and easier to use. Thanks!! October 13, 2015
  • 2015-11-24 T09:15:44.367-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-21, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184754, tr_184754
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.