1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 17 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184763 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184762 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestions The fonts need to be bolder. I have difficulty reading such fine fonts. Also please use a darker color than light blue. I would prefer to be able to go directly to an item i need to edit rather than proceeding through the steps of the sequence. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better this year than ever! I was glad to see that some of the questions that I have already answered in different sections before getting to the point when I input actual tax data, were saved and didn't have to go through pages of answering the same questions over and over (like are you an active participant, did you own your property all year, etc.). Still some I had to watch carefully as I navigated to be sure I didn't forget to answer one as I tried to get to the information I really needed to work on. The reference material for answering questions seemed easier to access this year. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it as usual Will continue to use till I;m older and grayer. thanks October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Very Professional Product! I have only 3 "complaints" and consider them to be minor. 1. The packaging was different this year, so I did not know what level I was buying 2. I found myself with an "error" because I had somehow (I have no idea of how) convinced the program that I had Farm Income. I could not a way to "reverse" that and still do not know how that "error" went away 3. The program told me that I owed about $300 for a "self-employment tax", but I would not tell me why or what that was supposed to be (Medicare???); I still do not know for sure. As I said, I thought that these items were pretty minor and will definitely continue to use the product! October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by You make it easy. Good system to use. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got it all Done I love using this product to do my taxes. The Customer Service help is excellent very detailed on how the steps to follow, the forms to use. The only gotcha is not knowing when you file for an Extension, and the date comes to file (October) you cannot state the use of Direct Debit if you have to pay. You have to mark pay by mail. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hate the upgrades Very disingenuous, you buy Turbo Tax then it nags you throughout for upgrades, first $30 then $10 spent an extra $40 just to see my old information. Then e-file has the Amazon offer inserted like SPAM. Stick to tax forms and sell one decent package that works. Very irritating I have used Turbotax or Macintax since the early 90's. I'm liking it less every year. Jon Hanson October 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great, with One Significant Problem The only problem I encountered, which was significant, was with the data imported from my TD Ameritrade account. Of over 150 transactions, I had to manually enter over 100 of them; I don't know why all the transactions were not imported. And on almost every one of these transactions, the dates of acquisition and/or sale were incorrect, often by a great deal.It was exasperating to have to enter all of these transactions manually. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy I'm a small business owner and I've used Turbo Tax for years, maybe 10 years now. It's always easy, accurate, and thorough to get my taxes done. And that even when I have to pay in when it's over with. Thank you for Turbo Tax! October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Multiple state income tax I have primary house and rental properties in 4 different states. The instruction and interface are not good . your coding seems only consider 2 states , but not more. I always have difficulty for the data entry and the amount do not flow to the right places, need a lot of manual entries . They included tax summary, each state tax credit from other states etc.. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very efficient and time saving tool In general I am happy with TurboTax, I have been using for several years and very helpful to be able to update to the current year. I was upset this year that I was able to buy the product cheaper as a new user, than as a loyal multi-year customer. I did call customer service and get a credit. NOT GOOD treatment of your customer base. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improved over last year I have used TT for the last 10 years+ and after the last couple years of the program being more difficult to use it improved with 2014 and was more logical. Most personal entry forms are easily followed. On my self employed business entry it was usually the same although it often asks for things from last years form it should be able to "pull" forward. Also, business items / auto's that have been disposed of require careful attention to accomplish or complete. K1 entries remain the most perplexing things to enter. My K1 had amounts in about 8 boxes but additional details were required that sometimes I had to contact the issuer or refer to last years filing. I will definitely use the program next year, the import of required information from previous years is very good. I like comparing amounts from the previous years as there are items such as business expenses that could be placed in 2 or more categories that I wish the program provided better direction. I have rated this a 4 ... but probably it should be 4.5.... October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as good as previous issues Automatic imports from previous year had to be hand imported, (look-up from previous year). If I had not checked this my taxes would have been higher than they should have been. Really kind of disappointing from previous years without issue. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Year to year glitches Very frustrated this year because for some reason last year's return was inaccessible to turbotax. I like the feature that lets you view numbers from previous years. It's a good prompt. That said, the customer service people really tried! There were several places that the program wouldn't let me continue. And I knew the information was correct. Even so, I will use TurboTax next year. Thanks, TurboTax! October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and Thorough A good experience. Turbo Tax is ever more user-friendly. I like the year-to-year carry-forward. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST! I have used Turbo Tax since 2000 which is 15 years. I can't say enough good things. Very simple to use. Keep up the good work. October 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rejected return for second year 1) Turbotax still has some work to do to make it easier for overseas filers. Forms 2555 and 1116 are still impossible to fill out using the software and must be overridden (at least by me) to get them right. 2) For the second year in a row, my form has been rejected through efiling. This year it was due to a faulty AGI from 2013, but the AGI is definitely correct. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this, is perfect for me i would be hopelessly lost if had to do this myself and had to do paper things ... have used turbotax for years ... highly recommended it, especially for busy people October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Experience submitting Tax return This is really very efficient way to submit tax return and WIN WIN for all. Thanks for your help October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Indispensable during an IRS exam! When chosen this year for a full two-day IRS "compliance research exam" of a prior year, I was glad to have done my returns on TurboTax. Thanks to TurboTax, I was well organized and able to provide credible backup on tricky calculations related to multiple K-1s, without having to obtain professional representation. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product great product October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Tool, Could use some improvement Easy to use for easy to moderatly complex forms. The deeper you dig the harder it is to determine how to fix erros on certain schedules (can be frustrating). I had to start all over from scratch to fix a section 179 problem, the software wouldn't take me back to the page necessary to update the errors it found. Also suggest that the pwrsonal section be done before the business section so that calculations can be made on the fly. As it is all the business stuff must be entered first and if errors are made it doesn't become apparant tuntil the final checks. October 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings I was doing a much more complicated tax return than normal and had two questions to tech support. Tech support is all rock stars! The extra $100 of "Enhancements" leaves me open to have my taxes done next year at H&R block or trying their software if this approach is still the business strategy next year. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got it done I have been using TurboTax since 1989. I can't imagine doing it any other way. I tried using tax professionals for 2 years but found it to be just as much work to give them all the information so that they can plug it in to a program like TurboTax. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by state return doesn't always work right. It kept going in a circle. Very frustrating. Kept wanting to download but would never actually start!!! October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I elected to have my refund carried over and applied to next years tax. I was offered refund options but had to do a search and go elsewhere to get the refund applied to next year. Why not have that option available where you are instead of having to look elsewhere? October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product I find the product easy to use. Of course, I have used it for twenty years or more. I find it gets better every year. There are still problems with those elusive details that Turbo-tax fills in for you and later they ask you to describe them. On occasion I don't have the vaguest idea where it came from, but I search and find it or in the worst case I put in an innocuous description and it seems to work out fine. The use of foreign earnings deduction could be made a lot easier. Overall, I am very happy with it. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always the best I have used Turbo Tax for several years. It is always reliable and I will never use any other method of filing my taxes. October 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I gestimated just right October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Inch by inch its a cinch Turbo Tax makes a seemingly complex task a simple one. Step by step you are guided with concise explanations and definitions. I will use the software again and again. October 14, 2015
  • 2015-11-27 T12:25:40.644-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-17, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184762, tr_184762
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.