1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1688 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184771 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184766 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Added fees I went to turbo tax from my state portal for free filing. Wound up paying nearly $60 in additional fees I could find no way to opt out of. First, despite the info at the state portal, I had to pay $28 in fees to file state taxes. Then somehow, despite my checking no each time, I got opted into turbo tax plus for an additional $29.99 which I didn't want. I could find no place during the tax preparation to opt out of turbo tax plus. Turbo tax says review fees to opt out - where is this present during the tax preparation!?!? And really, clear my return and start over?!? Fix your software. Thanks turbo tax. I have one W-2, am single, have no dependents and you just charged me $60 for free filing. Not next year. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SuperAsAlways When it was determined that my wife's temporary consulting assignment prior to being hired full time by her employer was considered business related, Turbo tax added the necessary upgrade at no cost. It really makes me feel they want their customers to be successful with minimal hassle. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Service Great tax prep. Been using the service for a few years and haven't had a problem yet. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service This is a great service, we filed our taxes in a matter of hours, paid, and were done before we knew it. It guided us through the whole process in easy to use and understand steps. We have used it before, and will continue to use it going forward. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by HR Block VS Turbo Tax We went to HR Block for the first time and they told us we needed to pay them $120 plus we owed the IRS $429. Instead, we went home, went online to Turbo Tax, and Turbo Tax told us we owed the same for the IRS. We weren't happy about it but were glad that the two of us we able to do it ourselves and did it correctly just like HR Block. So, we decided to save $120 and we did it ourselves. Thanks Turbo Tax! March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and thorough.Even with business . We have used Turbo Tax for about 8 years and have never had an issue. One thing we love the most is that you basically just answer questions one at a time without this 'scary' form in front of you. If you forget a supporting document or can't complete the task, then you simply finish when you can. The best part is that you don't have to pay for another visit to a tax preparer. We highly recommend it for any independent business. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Moneyback All in all I am satisfied with Turbotax, but there are some things that could be a little easier to navigate. Mainly when there was a problem filing my state tax. I am still not sure I completed it correctly. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best way to file taxes I love Turbotax! I have been using this service for more than a decade and it is always a breeze. The software leads your through taxes step by step and helps check to make sure you get the most of your refund. Turbotax takes the stress away from filing my taxes. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got a little confused Was a little confused by the terminology but muddled through. Having info imported helped a lot since nit much changed from last year I could compare and make sure I was on the right track. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smart Check needs help TurboTax does a great job of leading through the process and providing detailed information when required. That is, right up to the "Smart Check". "Smart Check" seems to be a feature that checks for holes that the program failed to deal with. When I thought I was all done, it came up with two forms that needed a cell filled in - no explanation, no resources or references. So, while the initial experience was good, the finish was not. I'll still use TurboTax again, but I hope that deal with this issue. In googling my issues, I see there are a lot of people having trouble with "Smart Check". March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by smooth transition Quick and to the point March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mighty Smooth! TurboTax is an excellent product for most folks! No real need to seek professional advice especially when your income and expenses are not complex!! I love managing my own taxes from home!! Thank you for constantly improving an already great product!! I've used you before and I'll use you again!! :) March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO EASY!!! Every year I get so nervous about filing my taxes. But Turbo Tax is so easy and walks you through every detail of the entire process. I felt confident going in that whether I owed money or would receive a refund, Turbo Tax would provide a thorough analysis of all my entries. This year I got a refund, and am thrilled! The user-friendliness and peace of mind is well worth the software cost. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Triumph Again I've been a TurboTax faithful since it first became available. Automatically handling my tax situation for that particular year, and providing links to necessary Publications has always been a strength. A little confusing when it shows the full amount of a Mortgage points deduction ($7500ish) when it is only going to allow $260ish deduction since the points are spread out over the loan. It does the calculation properly, and gives the correct deduction, but shows the total amount on the summary page. This theme carries over into other categories of deductions too. Also, if I have a charity contribution on my W-2, TT handles the deduction, but I would like it to appear on the summary page. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesomeness Thanks TurboTax. You make my life easier by enabling me to fill out and file my taxes from the comfort of home. You ask questions about things I can get deductions for that I never would have thought of on my own March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service My 5th year using very easy to use I will continue to use the products. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax: Can't Miss in Complex Situations TurboTax gets better every year. TT's Interview does a great job of teasing out required information without becoming overwhelming. Should the user wish to learn exactly what TT's nosy questions are driving at, TT's Forms view shows how the numeric details work. If that weren't enough, TT makes supporting data sheets available for most data entries, quite helpful for records retention. However, IMHO TT has become too expensive for use every year. New tax payers can use TT once to learn how their life-long Sisyphean struggle with tax authorities is going to play out. In subsequent years of stability in their situations and the tax laws, they can refer to the TT example but fill out current forms by hand or use less expensive competitive products. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience! i've only ever NOT used TurboTax one year of filing and I regretted it as soon as I started. Never will I EVER use anyone but TurboTax in the future! March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A forever Turbo user - not as good as in the past. I have used TurboTax since the first year it was on the market. It was very frustrating this time to be unable to see the forms until I had paid and even then unable to the very end to see ANY forms! Not impressive Turbo Tax. I want to see how you are arriving at my refund or tax due. I would rather pay up front for a product online that I can use and seeing the forms - should be user friendly! Also, Turbo had some erroneous information concerning my state refund(?) from last year - I didn't get a state refund last year and have the printed TurboTax forms to prove it!! Otherwise the experience was ok. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally friendly I would recommend this, and do, to everyone. It's very easy to use and easy to understand. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Turbo Tax is the go-to software for me. Easily imports prior year's tax and personal info and then walks me through the various sections. This year was the first year I filed state taxes and I felt like some of the sections could have had additional links to click on for further information. Overall, Turbo Tax offers a great product. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2015 This area whereby IRA withdrawal affects that as well as taxable SS could be explained better so I can expect the change in tax due. March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Another year filed Have used delux in past years. Required to use premium due to rental property. Deduction for cost thru bank is excessive, so used a credit card. Would not use anyone's software if I could e-file on my own. It cost me nearly $100 to file using your software!! March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slow - anything but turbo I understand that it's peak filing season and everybody and their brother is on this site, but the load times for the pages were so long I folded an entire load of laundry waiting for one page to come up. I had to reload web pages several times and sometimes they came up as not available. I'm tech savvy and have a high-end machine, so I know it wasn't a problem on my end. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continued Smooth Ride Another filing experience that remains consistent with previous years. Import from prior year's data goes smoothly, saving much time and taking advantage of previous experience. I appreciate the questions raised looking for changing situations and opportunities. My current small business is pretty simple, but the tools do allow me to consider the impact of more complex situations. IMHO, the package still easily justifies its cost. March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by State Filing was a complete pain and not FREE The state section only copied over the federal information but did not do a detailed walk through as it has done in previous years. There was no section to deduct education fund contributions and I had to manually enter last year's state refund as "other". Additionally, state filing has always been free. This year there was a charge. Not a good way to treat loyal customers. I will be looking at other options in the future. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long-time user I have used Turbo Tax for many years. 2 years ago I doubted my abilities and went to a professional. I still bought Turbo Tax and entered everything just to see how we compared. I caught her on some major omissions in my final. I think I would have seen it just by the experience I had by using Turbo Tax so long but having prepared my own tax for comparison made me run back to Turbo Tax the next year. I felt she should have paid me that year. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast and straightforward Overall my experience was nearly flawless, with some small nits: The 529 Plan Carryover really should be plucked from the previous year's TurboTax. Instead, I have to refer back to my tax notes from the previous year. Towards the end of my State return (Oregon), I received some JavaScript error popups with the typical human unreadable and highly technical error codes. Thankfully, I knew enough to press the Okay button to simply continue onward. A close paper inspection of my State return indicated everything was good. March 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by NJ state return for partial year residence defects The NJ partial state return was a nightmare. Please test your software. Issues: there is no explanation for the user what "Gain or Loss From Property Disposition" is, nor is there an opportunity for the user to locate where this $ amount comes from. In the section where the user fixes their return and the user is walked through the Part-Year Resident Return form to allocate Interest Income, the system does not highlight nor otherwise indicate to the user what field the system is prompting the user to enter. The order of the fields was random, it would first be field #1 in an upper section, then jump to field #2 in a completely different section of the form. The use has no indication in either the text prompt provided nor visually on the form displayed below of which field exactly the system refers to. Example use case: The user has multiple interest and dividend income from their Federal Tax Return. When the user has completed all forms and the system reviews their entries and indicates there are items to fix, the user clicks the "Fix my Entries" button. From there, the system will visually display to the user exactly which field the user should enter a value for. Another issue is that once the field was entered, there was absolutely no way for the user to modify the value without deleting the review. The system should allow the user to review the form and make any adjustments needed. Turbo tax used to have software that worked correctly. Seems your testing has been seriously underfunded this year. March 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T09:57:47.644-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1688, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184766, tr_184766
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1686 1687 1688 1689 1690 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.