1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1482 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182890 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182875 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cost me money!!! There is an error in the Turbo Tax system that caused an error in my return. I found the error when I printed my return after it was e-filed. When I followed the Turbo Tax review, it showed that Turbo Tax had computed a General Sales Tax, Line 5b on my Schedule A, as $672.00. I accepted this number rather than add up receipts. After I filed my taxes, I printed the return and discovered that Turbo Tax had filled in $33.00 in Line 5a on my Schedule A instead of the $672.00 on Line 5b. This error resulted in a $639.00 mistake in my Total Itemized Deductions Line 40 on my Form 1040. Ultimately, the Turbo Tax mistake computed my Taxable Income, Line 43, as $44,314 when it should have been $43,675. I further believe this error resulted in an over-statement of my tax obligation for 2014. After my return was accepted, I completed an Amended Return and this time Turbo Tax computed a refund of my Federal Taxes instead of taxes owed. Because the original return was e-filed, my checking account will be debited for taxes owed right away. Now I have to file the amended return by mail and it could take up to 5 months for a refund! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy I'd recommend using them! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So fast and easy! It took less than an hour to complete and file my Federal 1040 with Itemized deductions, and State taxes this year. This is my 8th consecutive year to file with Turbo Tax. I love the features of pre-populating my info from last year, and the step by step instructions are very easy to understand. E-filing my returns get me my refunds in about a week or so. It's so fast and easy. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy & accurate! This program assists a regular person to file their own taxes, without having a financial degree. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Turbo Tax is the only way to go. Use to go to a national chain to get taxes done but never got a refund thru them as they input only the info you give them. They never asked about other deductions I may have qualified for. Also they charged 300 percent more on their fees. March 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge price increase! I've used TT for 15 years, but this year the price for the state and federal tax preparation was shocking! It was much higher than i've paid in the past. There has to be cheaper alternatives, which I will definitely be exploring. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - but why now a fee for refund proc? I use this every year, truly enjoy, not over burdensome sticker shock on the total cost however - the refund processing fees seems overly excessive, sorry to say. great experience otherwise, will and do recommend March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PROCESSING FEES - (E FILE) RETURN I have used Turbo Tax for a number of years. This year I decided to put my experience to good use by preparing tax returns for other family members and only the closest of friends. Why pay some professional or tax service hundreds of dollars when I can do it for them? Today, I prepared a tax return for someone other than myself. Turbo Tax charge $ 19.99 + tax for e-filing state returns. I relayed this message to the friend I was preparing the tax returns for so she would be aware that the refund will be $20 less.. In Turbo Tax-payment section, on the very last page I was told that is a $ 34.99 for processing. How fair is that?? Not at all fair to both me and my friend. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund Great better price than H&R blk but have hidden fees when I went to file. said it would be free for federal and 29.99 for state, then at the end cost over $50. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Federal In general, great program. Confused about entering my K-1 1065. Had problems understanding the language on some the errors/corrections at review time. Printing was a nightmare. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovin TurboTax I've used this tax program for several years and find it to be the best on the market. I felt that the Turbo Tax team didn't do a good job of letting us know about what forms each edition contained or were moved to other editions. That being said, I do feel that you went the extra mile to correct the problem. I look forward to using your product next year and hope that it will be clearer as to what is and is not included so I can make a better informed decision on which edition I need. Thank you. March 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not use again The package tries to push you to the more expensive option for very little reason. MA State eFile consent page broken, won't accept my last name March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super EZ I've recommended Turbo Tax to numerous friends, even to those, unlike me, with complicated financial lives. It's especially great for people who have trouble with numbers. :) Wish this existed a long time ago. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE Turbo Tax BUT.... Great program and I'm impressed BUT....all the sales and trying to get us to pay 29.99 for a SIMPLE RETURN is not cool. I am not that savvy with filing taxes so all the extra mumbo jumbo causes me to rethink what I'm doing. IF I needed the extra version to file my taxes, I would definitely pay it because it is worth it in the long run but, since I am only filing a simple return, PLEASE don't cause more confusion with all the sales tactics. Otherwise....you would Rock My Return. THANKS MUCH, Kim March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service The site was very well constructed and very easy to use. I did not second guess the information, which happens to me every year when I file taxes. Also it explained areas very well that have confused me before, this lead to fewer google searches and phone calls to family members to answer my questions March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by first time filer This was the easiest way to file and a lot less expensive than the CPA that I have been using for the past 14 years! I am so excited that I could do this- I feel like I accomplished something... Thank you, TurboTax! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service; dedicated employees I needed help this year due to a change in various different area. The help I got was spot on in every way.I saved money by not having to go to an accountant March 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by COST has skyrocketed!! Until I completed the process I was unaware of the total cost and since I did not choose to e-file there was no backing out. I LOVE THE red warning that indicates that I should e-file to speed the return when TURBO just showed that I owe over 4 grand.- better get your act together. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SUPER easy. Yes. No problemos! Simple and fairly quick. Could be cheaper I guess... but it's fine. :) March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by YOU CAN DO IT! I was a little nervous, had never done my taxes myself before. Turbo tax was amazing. The simple step-by-step process was easy to understand and I actually felt the whole thing was EASIER than working with an accountant. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love TurboTax I've been using TurboTax and It's Deductable for years and have virtually no complaints. I own a small business and the software is still user-friendly enough to allow me to do my annual taxes by myself. The only complaint I have is this: The language is very conversational and reassuring, especially in the online product. It borders on condescending. But, if you don't understand something and you click on a link for an explanation, the text is now dry, technical, and often times beyond my understanding of taxes and accounting. This is when I really need it be the former - basic and in terms that the average person can understand. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bring back TT Deluxe with Capital Gains!! I was very disappointed to be forced to purchase TT Premium just to be able to report capital gains. Bring back TT Deluxe with Capital Gains!! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love My Refund! Love turbo taxt have been using it for the past four years and I will continue to use it for years to come! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by step by step review works for me turbo helps me get all the deductions I can and a refund too March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by pretty easy, Need to start in Feb. super product have been using it for many years March 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Estates and Trusts Each year I have to file a 1041 for an Estate. And each year I have problems. I am required to buy Turbo Tax Business to do this. What should be a fairly simple process is made difficult by your instructions and work-arounds for this return. And by looking at all the questions that others post I am not the only one that has this problem. I use Turbo Tax for my personal return, have for years, and find it easy to use. I do think however that for Estates you could design a program that would work a lot better than the one the you have buried in the Business package. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding Great application to use...takes all the difficulty out of taxes. LOVE IT!!! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Veteran User Says... I've been a solid user of Turbo Tax for over a decade. I used to install the CD-ROM version, then I turned to the download version, but I've switched over to the online version a few years back and I find that it is best because it's accessible on any computer or mobile device with an internet connection. I feel that I am more knowledgeable about tax-related topics such as income, deductions, credits, etc. compared to past practice where I relied on a tax professional to get me through the season. I actually look forward to doing my taxes and I'm able to share my knowledge with family. The only year I was audited by the IRS was when I failed to report a small portion of my income. And in actuality, the audit wasn't bad! It was a simple government letter stating that I needed to report the income that I failed to report. Once I reported the income, audit over! No scary IRS guys knocking at my door! Ever since, I've always been an honest filer and rely on Turbo Tax to organize our tax information. Hasn't failed us yet! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by steps to avoid beginners could be 16 - 18 and being in high school - and claim they are a student but they do not need to fill out the student information portion of the tax program since its a public high school and there are no deductions that apply. it would make it simpler if you had a radial button electing to be a high school student and avoid a lot of the other questions March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but wording issues Specifically the tuition payment states what I have paid but that's not what it's really asking. It's really asking how much was paid IN GENERAL to your university not including student loans. From there it automatically figures out the difference of what you paid out of pocket and grants & scholarships. This should be re-worded to be clearer. Took me 20 minutes and 3 times through the MA state section to figure it out. March 21, 2015
  • 2015-09-02T11:40:25.622-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1482, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182875, tr_182875
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1480 1481 1482 1483 1484 ... 3820 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.