1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1449 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182606 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I expected I have NEVER had to pay for my state tax forms with TURBO TAX DELUXE. I am thankful the Schedule C was fixed before I loaded my software purchased in December 2014. Had I known that I would have to pay for the State forms I would not have used the software again. I did not realize until it came time to complete the state forms I had to pay 39.99 plus tax for the state forms. At that rate I assume it included the filing fee. It wasn't until I went to file that I was told there was a 24.99 charge for filing on-line. I canceled my on-line filing and mailed the forms instead. Very frustrated. I am very disappointed in my experience this year and will definitely look at other programs next year. At the very least there should have been a name change so that as a Turbo Tax Deluxe user for over eleven years I would not be expecting the exact same forms and filing experiences as in the past. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 tax experience didnt take as long. rather disappointed it didnt get more back but think it was due to 401 k contributions. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by a little disappointed had to return the turbo tax for the more expensive version. Now have to spend extra time and energy to get the refund. The refund should have been applicable at point of sale. I'm busy, and don't appreciate the extra steps imposed upon me by Turbo Tax mistake March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Military Perk!! Great way to make a chore better! March 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Intuit TurboTax Premier 2015 Have been using Turbo Tax software products since 1996, this will be my last year for Intuit Turbo Tax due to the 20% price increased. - LG March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy! Thorough! Trustworthy! I love Turbo Tax. I compile all my information; sit down and work through the process on my time schedule. Turbo Tax saves your work along the way so you can do this in small doses as suits your mood and needs. Turbo Tax files for you also! And I always get a refund! A very efficient and reasonably priced service. I recommend this to anyone. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent 2014 Updates while the platform was far more user friendly compared to previous years, improvements could be made to the navigability between schedule forms and line items within the tax preparation forms. Overall, excellent modifications! March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is Always Worth It! This is my third year filing with Turbotax. I have always found the forms easy to work with, and it lets me do exactly what a tax preparer would do with my information for hundreds less. I believe that since I know my financial in's and out's more than any stranger, I can answer the questions better and always get the best deductions. I always have a glitch or an issue I can't resolve on my own, and I call tech support and someone walks me through it. They're patient, calm under pressure, and always produce a quick and satisfactory outcome. I'm a satisfied repeat customer and I'd recommend TurboTax to anyone. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worried I was a little afraid all the required forms were not going to be available. But then a window popped up and I was able to download the Primer version, that saved the day. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed you are charging for the first state return. Bad move to make with all the competition. Not a good way to improve image. I will not pay to file. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use I have been using turbotax for years and every year is getting much better and easier - March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got it done In general i was very pleased with my experience. However the questions during the Alt Minimum Tax section are very poorly supported, leaving the average tax payer wondering if he filled it out correctly March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotaxuser+5yrs Used this program for years now. I actually do my taxes on my IPad Air in the convenience of my own home. I don't use it for State filing because in CT I can file online through their revenue services div. and its Free. (Its probably the same for most states.) This saves me the additional fee for state filing. Turbotax saves me hundreds of $$ and the time to sit in front of a preparer. I also do my friend's, a TT user who went to a well known preparer to assure accuracy as he had a more complicated scenario this year. They used the exact same forms and the numbers and refund were identical to Turbotax. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This application takes the guess work out of it. There is a logical transgression through the process. I especially like the review process that finds my goofs. The evaluation for audit is a big plus and a great relief. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a piece of unclear directions My husband stopped doing one of his schedule C businesses this year for which I have always taken a mileage deduction. He still uses the vehicle for 2 other of our businesses. It was virtually impossible to get the program to stop using that vehicle for one business. I finally found some directions from a "User" from 2 years ago (and he had spent 3 hours trying to figure it out) that helped. Still don't think it is reported correctly but at least I was able to file my taxes. March 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bizare error Created a K-1 corporation that doesn't exist and I couldn't get rid of it. March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Confusing and Stressful! I thought that I had completed the electronic fling process, but after not getting any feedback on the process I went back into TurboTax and read that I had not filed. This caused me to have to repeat the process. I was surprised by the confusion since I have been using TurboTax for many years and never had any problems before. Now I am wondering if I will be charged twice! March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun! Tried 3 different tax refund companies. TurboTax got the business. I liked how welcoming the program was when I started and made me feel good about using it; something every service should provide. Thank you! March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Watch out for hidden fees! I have used Turbo Tax for several years, but I think I may have to finally switch services next year. I purchased a copy of this product online that claimed the cost included state return and e-file. However, after finishing my return, I discovered the "free e-file" only applied to the federal return. The state return claimed a $19.99 e-file charge. Then, they offer to either charge a credit card or deduct if from your refund...for $40! I chose the credit card option and at checkout I was charged not $19.99, but $24.99. Give me a break! March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by PA Filer Overall it is easy to use and pretty intuitive. I can't understand people that pay someone big bucks to file a simplified return. Turbo Tax asks the questions pretty straight forward and easy to understand. March 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could probably do it faster on paper It seems like every year the product just gets further and further away from being 'easy' to use. I find myself spending more time on the forums trying to find out why the program is behaving in a particular way. My 2 biggest problems this year where; 1) the program incorrectly reports the amount of my previous year's state refund. Just to be clear, I'm importing last years return to start and also importing data from Quicken. So the correct information is available, just not being used my TT. And this is the second year the same problem has existed and not been corrected; 2) the program doesn't prompt for you to import your regular income items. It prompts to import your business income, but never for your personal income. So those 2 items are pretty important. Then there's general wonky performance issues like not being able to click into certain imported fields to adjust them if you've realized the imported data wasn't up to date. Some forms just won't let you edit a value, even though they are supposed to be user entered, it forces you to go back to EasyStep to change it. I think this is the last year for me using this product. There's too many alternatives out there now that are worth of consideration. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier than I thought I always had an accountant do my taxes for years because I did not want the hassle. It turned out to be as straight forward and getting all the documents together to give to an accountant. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super simple Preparing taxes is usually an intimidating process for most people, however, with Turbo tax, the process is made easy. I like that the screen are simplified, allowing you to focus on one thing at a time. No more feeling tensed that you missed something, made a mistake, or just outright confused. The language in the 'tip/hint' boxes are also easy to understand. A newbie to tax preparation would have no issues navigating this software. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Very easy to use, particularly after first year (prior year information automatically downloaded). Very disappointed that the business product does not work for MAC- had to return that version. One desired improvement- can't print a specific form unless you figure out the exact pages of your total return. For example, my full return is over 60 pages- have to figure out exact page number of Schedule A, if for example, you only want to print Schedule A. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Balance Sheet My business is very simple cash basis. Trying to do the balance sheet is difficult, confusing and time consuming. Not because of what a BS is supposed to be, but it is difficult to understand and modify. I understand how they work, but it is hidden in TT. I finally found a response to question that explained how to not submit Balance Sheet. Tried not submitting the BS in the program walk through, but that would not work. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Easy! This program takes you through each step. There's no longer a need to overpay to have someone do your taxes for you. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by much easier with access to financial records took me a second to figure out how to access the foreign tax on the 1099 Div. But I figured it out with only two nautical terms I learned in the Navy, which some would consider profane. The links you have to my financial institutions made a complex return a lot less stressful than I experienced in previous years. There was some ambiguity with regard e-filing to the PINs. Not sure if I needed one or two. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie! The TurboTax Deluxe software was easy and very thorough. And it was quick in performing analyses of the data I entered. Any questions I had were answered through their user-friendly links and query capability. As it took me through all of the steps applicable to my situation, it made me think about what receipts I should keep and annotate this year for next year's submission. TurboTax is a powerful software that lives up to its reputation. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy returns For basic to semi advanced taxes I would greatly recommend this product. It makes entry and calculation easy and fast. I have used TT since 2008 and will continue on til I don't have to do them any more! March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by thanks I had difficulties with the software related to the state and age of my computer so I called customer service and they were extremely helpful and were able to get me up and running right away. March 22, 2015
  • 2015-08-03T11:12:59.498-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1449, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182585, tr_182585
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1447 1448 1449 1450 1451 ... 3813 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.