1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1258 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181876 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by great! USE IT! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Filing with Turbo Tax TurboTax is a great program and an excellent tool for filing your taxes! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as pie thought the Healthcare Marketplace stuff would be awful, but you made it SO EASY. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good at some things Needs to be more transparent and give the user more control of process. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TT is good overall, as usual, but downgrading the Deluxe edition was definitely a huge mistake. A price adjustment may be in order, but a 50% increase (to get the deleted function in Premier) is uncalled for. As a result of the change I also got a copy of H&R and was using them in parallel. H&R opens in flash vs. TT. Some of the TT delay is apparently due to the checking for updates, but I would rather have faster opening and less frequent updates. TT is also much slower switching between step-by-step and forms modes. My last criticism has to do with Form 1116. TT has a very detailed description of how it works internally in order to have the forms in the correct sequence for e-filing with the IRS. As a former programmer, it seems to me that a lot of this could/should be programmed into the product (eg. prompting the user to insure that the 1116's are created in the correct order). All of that said, I will probably sticking with TT for next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and quick Have used TurboTax for years, for myself and my father. Very logical, easy to follow process. Good number of checkpoints along the way to be certain the info is right. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as pie Makes a ridiculously complicated tax process as simple as it can. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great way to do taxes fast and very easy. not a problem with any steps. Great cause you don't have to leave home. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Makes it easy I used the walkthrough/guided approach. I have used TurboTax for more than a decade. Rock solid, consistent product that continues to make refinements. I used it on Windows platforms initially and have used it on Mac platforms since about 2007. I always use the local product installation as opposed to the online version. Also, I always purchase the "deluxe" version for both federal and state returns. Every year there is small glitch or two at the end (usually with a worksheet that wants a particular $0.00 or a blank entry). Overall the process is ridiculously easy (compared to doing it by hand). For folks that use other compatible products like Quicken, it is almost a no-brainer to use TurboTax. My returns are not overly completed but do involve an number of forms and schedules for itemized deductions; small contract work; retirement distributions, etc. The layout of the guided process makes this easy and quick to do. I do wish the cost of e-filing the state returns was lower. Every year I debate about whether to e-file my state return or print it out. Most years I print it, some years I e-file my state return. This year the cost was $25 for PA -- that is high IMO. If the state e-file cost was $10 to $15, I wouldn't blink an eye. March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Verb-O I am disappointed in this year's TurboTax. It should have the most cutting edge bells and whistles if working with people's taxes - important! Had to start my whole return over again because once you start you cannot simply import last year's taxes, if you hadn't realized they weren't already in there. Confusing passwords with saving files. Also confusing was the verbiage about charitable contribution carryovers. Maybe I was just anxious for a refund and hoping, because TurboTax doesn't state its purpose as "Filing Your Taxes," so much as "Calculating Your Refund." Also, I thought I was going to get a physical disc to do taxes on, but now that I think of it, - that probly would not load last year's taxes either. p.s. Don't ask me why my tax file, when I tried to save the entire thing as a pdf, was 650 pages and crashed Adobe. On, now- to try to complete the final filing submission of my mere 93 pages. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick & Easy Much improved over earlier versions. The step by step process was quick and for the most part well explained. The only questions lacking a succinct answer were in the education section where the suggestion was to input educational expenses to offset gains in a state sponsored tuition program but no navigation existed to get you there. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Owed Big-time Very easy to use Turbo Tax, but price of software is becoming very expensive March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by best tax outcome not guaranteed with this software I have been a long-time TurboTax Basic software user. I generally do my taxes by hand first and then use the software mainly as an e-filing vehicle. Prior years' Basic software served my purposes for completing and filing the auxiliary forms/schedules I use. The 2014 year's version of the software forced an automatic upgrade to Deluxe from Basic just to itemize deductions. When I initially balked at this upgrade, my file switched automatically from itemizing deductions to the standard deduction which was a net negative outcome for me. After seeing my file switched to the standard deduction, I then installed the upgrade to Deluxe, however, my return did not automatically switch back to itemizing deductions despite re-entering my deductions. Not until the summary screen was I presented with a manual selection option to go back to itemizing deductions. Very clunky software, not user-friendly, no guarantee of best tax outcome contrary to claims. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but costly Turbo tax is very user friendly and I always feel like I haven't missed any areas when filing my taxes. But, the cost seems to keep going up and up. It should have gone down some now that you can just sign up online and Turbo Tax doesn't have to make CD's, booklets, boxes, ship to stores, etc. I also think it's a shame that you have to pay so much more to file your state taxes using the same program. Perhaps I'll have to try a less costly option next year!! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 TTreview Everything went well again this year with Turbo Tax. I did not purchase the right version at the store because TT made a change for small business schedule C. I need to upgrade to home and business. It was easy online. I would like Federal and one state efile included in the price. It would also be great if I could pay additional IRS or state via credit card. I did get a IRS refund but had to pay a small amount for the state. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a Good Experience I like that everything is guided and explanations are offered to help clarify every topic. It would be nice to be able to leave one topic to fix something and then easily return to where I was without having to click through all options again. I know this poses major programming issues so the site really does work well considering the complexity of things. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistent-Met Expectations TN - I don't need to file a TN state return. I'd like this same program w/o that section. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Correcting an error Kathryn from the Help Center was amazing. After I spent a great deal of time trying to update one entry, she had me e-mail her a protected copy of my return and after checking it she told me what to do by clicking on forms. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by still problematic questions on 1098T, W2 My w2 included tuition in line 1, above and beyond the tax free tuition benefit of $5250 provided tax free by my employer. When trying to determine how to enter this additional amount, your questions do not work well. For the third year I had to enter the forms mode to check the 8863, 8863 page 2(hard to get to), tuition wkst, 1098T, etc to see that all was correct. When the 1098T numbers do not match actual bills/payments, the questions are very poor and do not lead to the correct entries. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by product The change to Home and Business was not advertise and for us who one had one small ideal. I don't believe it was fair. Plus I have been getting it fall years automatic but found it $20.00 cheaper in Walmart. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unfair extra charge: works well Incredible that the 2014 version does dividends but then charges $30 extra if you sold any of the shares that provide those dividends. One has then already done enough work and spent money on the first version that there is little choice but to pay up but something to keep in mind for the 2015 tax year filing. For the rest minor issues but it works as usual. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good program. Have always liked TurboTax. I have used TurboTax since 2008 and each year it gets easier and better. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it going! Turbo tax is very thorough, yet is easy enough that anyone can use it. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes it easy to figure things out! Excellent service and explains anything you don't understand as well as gives you options every step along the way. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always glad to be done! Brokerage downloads should be made to recognize zero for cost basis on investments. All option sales which expire worthless must now be corrected to show a zero cost basis. The brokerage 1099 shows zero, but the program is assuming a positive amount. For active option traders, this results in significant time to manually enter cost basis for each transaction. Also, the number of purchase/sale transactions needs to be increased. Simply increase the number of digits allowed in the software for both number of trades and totals for purchase cost and proceeds. This will make Turbo Tax viable for even the most active stock and option traders. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Saved - exited - returned I had to click on State Review to actually file my state taxes. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Cheesy! After 10+ years of using Turbo Tax, it continues to be easy to file my taxes. Wish I could see the forms fill in as I enter my tax info, but that is not a problem. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed that Schedules C, D, E and F were removed from TurboTax Deluxe. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by product hb 21014 The product information is misguiding as premier states rental property but home and business also should include rental to avoid confusion. I'm customer since 1989 and there are so many user ID's. Please keep all the records under one user ID so easy for us to access in case of any amendments needed later on. Please respond. Support staff was very good solved the problems in innovative view. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE TURBO TAX! I have used Turbo Tax for 8 years, always safe, accurate returns and quick refunds! March 29, 2015
  • 2015-05-22T14:15:47.573-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1258, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181876, tr_181876
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 ... 3799 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.