1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1257 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182852 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182850 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prep like a pro Guided questions and importing of info into applicable categories makes it so easy to use. I did my returns (fed and state) with itemized deductions in less than an hour! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Friend I've been using TurboTax for many years. I love how it saves your information and prompts you to update information. I sometimes don't quite understand what "it's" doing (i.e. I had a loss on an inheritance that my accountant determined had to be staggered over three years' returns, different amounts each year, and TT kept track of it and supplied the proper amounts each year!), but I'm glad it's so clever! I also adore the "It's Deductible" feature, which helps me get the most for my donations. I'm old enough to remember when preparing taxes was SO time consuming and onerous--so much so that we often used an accountant. Though this sounds like a commercial, I actually look forward to doing them on TurboTax--even though I still put it off to April 15 most years. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fairly satisfied The returns were easy to file, user friendly. I wanted the "skip to the individual areas" to be easier to understand. Initially I felt I needed to go through each area but if nothing applies do not go through each sub category. There is no need. The figures in the download of my previous returned seemed different than they should have been, but assumed it was correct since I used Turbo last year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Program That is Easy To Use I have used this program now for several years, and am very satisfied with Turbo Tax. I used to use HR Block's program, but that was much harder to use, and not as user friendly. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good tool but a little confusing at times The tool does cover all aspects of home and business tax filing and makes it easier that using straight forms. Sometimes the software requires that you follow a torturous path to get to the end result. And sometimes it oddly let's you skip an important step that fortunately I have been able to catch. Quite often I have to leave the easy steps and go into the forms to get clarity on the process the software wants me to complete. This is true for the Federal and NJ state returns. Not so much for the NY return. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Helpful Even with detailed and itemized deductions, Turbo Tax got it all sorted without me losing my mind! Helpful and clear for a topic and laws/regulations that are so complex! I'm grateful for TurboTax! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by pretty good generally worthwhile and would use again March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is fine, expense is insane. I just paid over twice my refund to the tax preparation service, and I'm fairly upset about it. Once I realized I did not need the upgrade it said I needed, I tried to go back and take that order back and was not able to do so. Huge waste of money and will probably go elsewhere next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by In general it was very easy to use entering data and finding answers to questions that came up. The Federal return worked fine. This year I had to file a return in a different state as a non-resident. The software had errors for which I couldn't find a work around. Some amounts carried forward from the wrong fields, resulting in incorrect calculations. After several frustrating attempts, I gave up, printed a blank form, filled it out by hand, and filed it by mail. The Federal return was great. Unless I win the lottery, I'll use it again next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used it for years I've used Turbotax for decades, and it seems always to do the job very well ... and to have improved over the years. My taxes are not overly complicated, but I do appreciate the way the software compares this year's return with the previous year (provided you used it last year, too). I wish there were a bit more help available when the software checks for errors: it's not always easy to figure what is missing or where to find the missing piece. But all in all, I am quite pleased, and would recommend this product without reservation. March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive and Difficult to Use I have used TurboTax for many years but forcing me to spend extra to enter my rental expenses and income is not a good value, also finding the place to enter my rental expenses was not intuitive and the search function was useless. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Simple !! Another fine year with Turbo Tax !! Program seemed to run a little slower than in past years. All good !! March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by waynes2014 previous years processing return with turbo tax have been been easily done. this years state return issues required to much time and frustration. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Filing I have used this service for a few years now and highly recommend it. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Refund I have used Turbo Tax for several years now and I am totally pleased with its simplicity and will continue to file thru them. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo tax I bought the deluxe edition. I downloaded it to my computer and it told me I could not use it. I guess my laptop was not new enough but I could use the deluxe from online so it cost me twice as much to get my taxes done. More than that because the state was supposed to be free. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hours Before I Sleep The entire process for both State and Federal returns took about five (5) hours. Found the review process helpful. Overall, quite satisfied. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonky! There were a lot of weird things about the way Turbo Tax acted this year. I could not get back to change things and kept having to go into the forms to make updates. Not cool! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Verified I have been using Turbo Tax for several years. Every year the improvements have been exactly what is needed. The verification process keeps everything on track and speeds the time needed to complete. Even the state refund is so simple now. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Federal, Awful State Love the Federal portion of Turbo Tax. Easy to navigate and clear instructions, which gives me great confidence in the filing. The state returns on the other hand, are not transparent. The same questions appear over and over again, there is no indication of which state forms are being filed upfront, why they are being filed, etc. It would be great if Turbo Tax could give a preview of the State tax forms that are common based on your residency status, what they each present, and what you have to input in each of them. I have very low confidence that my state returns are correct. In addition, it does not do a good job importing prior year data on tax returns. Some questions ask about old return information which I do not need to look up again if Turbo Tax pulled automatically. This would be the only reason I would consider a competitor. Otherwise, fast and easy. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great job! Easiest way to file your income tax returns March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Happy this is my first time using turbo tax. I usually complain about even the smallest things, but its hard to find anything wrong. it was very easy to use. the program guides you through every step and helps you find where certain information is located on your paperwork. I think all companies that prepare taxes for a fee are certainly overcharging, I did it on my own without any problems and I've never done anything like this. cant wait to rub it in my friends face about how little I paid and how much I'm getting back. Will be back next year. Thanks Turbo Tax March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax for year 2014 For an initial attempt using this site, it was ok. I felt that it was a tad laborious; but, it was the first time! I expect next year to be much easier. I was NOT happy about being told half-way through that I needed to upgrade to the 'Deluxe' version, at a much higher price. I felt that I should have been able to use the 'free' version, without any extra's. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got it done! Everything worked really well for us with one exception. We were unable to import our investment 1099b forms into Turbo Tax even though Wells Fargo indicated it was possible. We had to manually enter over 400 transactions. That was a huge hassle. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a pleasant experience. Would recommend. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just easier than other online sites... I have investments and other incomes that I have to report. I tried using TaxAct this year, because it was cheaper and recommended by a friend. An hour of trying to rectify the tax forms sent to me by my investment company with the questions TaxAct was asking me, I jumped ship and headed back to TurboTax. They had all my information stored from last year, and I could even upload my investment info straight from my online account. It was super easy. I'm glad I made the switch. The interface is far superior to the others I've seen and the price is still better than H&R Block. March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by In years past I used the Basic edition. This year I had to upgrade to the Premium edition for the same forms as in the past. I'll shop around next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic TurboTax made filing taxes a lot easier and more convinient that expected. Will be using the system again in the future. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Huge Help Huge help for us young adults relatively new to taxes. Thank you. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax Prep Made Easy Turbo Tax keeps getting better--much easier to use this year. March 29, 2015
  • 2015-08-28T11:38:47.088-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1257, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182850, tr_182850
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.