1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1256 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182858 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182852 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by user for over ten years I use it only because I am familiar. Next year will try different software, since TT tends to have gaps and areas where I still feel like I am guessing how best to handle or interpret. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Up Grade Easy as ever to navigate. Not happy I had to up grade to premier this year, for estate K-1 reporting. That's why the four star rating. . I should not have to up grade when I do not own a business. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best E-Filing is Turbo Tax Turbo Tax insures that nothing is missed for your deductions. It guides you step-by-step and this has been very helpful to me over the last few years. I believe it's the same software used by professional tax companies and CPAs because I have found things that were missed when I compared the two. I highly recommend Turbo Tax to everyone. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confused on what turbotax version I needed After TurboTax upgraded my version from Deluxe to Home and Business (for free!), the program proceeded to quiz me on the business forms I would need. The program suggested that, if I had an S-corporation with a Schedule K-1, I would need a different Turbo version, namely TurboTax Business. The only problem was that I wasn't filing my business tax return. I was filing my personal tax return. The wording in this section needs to be clarified. Another section where the wording should be clarified is the Payment selection section to pay the State filing fee. It is not at all clear that, if you pay the State filing fee via credit card, you can avoid paying an additional $34. This becomes clear only after you select the credit card option. I wonder how many people select the bank draft payment option without ever realizing they could avoid paying the extra $34. Other than those two complaints, TurboTax is a phenomenal product and service. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome refund guidance! I love Turbo Tax for filing taxes because it is easy to read and follow even if you aren't a tax accountant! Awesome product! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Ever I've been using TurboTax for almost a decade now and the product improves every year. I've never had an issue and refunds (if any) are timely and instructions are generally quite clear. I would recommend it to anyone. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by PeaRefund I have used turbo Tax for over 10 years. The cost this year is much higher than in prior years. I will not use Turbo Tax in the future if the cost continue to increase. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome and Easy I have a regular W-2, a side business, and my wife is an independent contractor. In one weekend afternoon I can start, complete, and submit my taxes for the year. I love it. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest Return So Far Either I am getting better or you have improved your software. I think it is your software. I have been using Turbo Tax since 1994 or earlier, and have never finished my taxes so fast with no problems. Great job, thanks, John March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by made tax preparation doable! I've used it the last few years and will continue to use it and recommend it to friends March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product I've used TurboTax for 15 years. It continues to be a sound product that makes tax preparation bearable! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great software I have been a Turbo Tax user for more than 5 years and have always been a satisfied customer. My return is always accurate, filing is easy and the help information is easy to access. Keep up the good work! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use. just answer questions and done! i have used turbo tax since 2003 and have found it very helpful and easy to file my tax returns with ease just by answering questions March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really, really good, but..... I indicated that I disposed of a business car and then tried to undo that selection by following the directions displayed. The change did not travel through all the forms and I had to manually delete a form that the error check said was incomplete. No other trouble. I have used TurboTax since inception & will next year March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Timer Filing - Successful! I hesitated and postponed preparing my return since the past several years we've had a professional prepare them. I am now single and a homeowner as well as donated a TON of household items while downsizing to the new place. This program made the journey comfortable and it was reassuring to know that no stone was left unturned, including me now working from home (deductible too). March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Refund Experience I've been using Turbo Tax for several years and love it. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted, reliable product I've used TurboTax for 18 years, and trust it for accuracy and reliability. I particularly appreciate how it utilizes my tax return information from previous years, so that I don't have to search for that information. (When I have checked, it's been accurate.) I will use it again next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nearly flawless, but almost costly In past years I have used an account that we stuck with when I founded a corporation 15 yrs ago. Last I decided I would try it myself with TurboTax because my accountant just didn't seem very "energetic" about helping me. Overall, I had a very positive experience and came out better than I would have with a more expensive accountant. All of the information I would have had to enter into a worksheet for the account, I just entered into TurboTax. The only problem was with my wife's royalty income. She co-authored a text book many years ago and still receives royalties via 1099-MISC. Using Turbotax's advice, she would have been filing a Schedule C and upgrading to Home and Business edition. This is not a business, just residual income, but I had to force TurboTax to see this. It could have been a costly mistake, resulting in penalties, as it was not adding in this income correctly. If TurboTax can just take in residual royalties into account #not consider it a business#, it would have worked flawlessly. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by never had trouble until today have always used TURBO TAX, transferred info from last year, I put my last years AGI ( it was already prefilled by TURBO TAX) double checked that it was correct, and still IRS declined due to having an incorrect Electronic Pin, will have to file by regular mail March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by TaxFreedom & Direct Deposit Changes The fee for direct deposit of the refunds is a major negative and the change to the tax freedom for filing state returns is very disappointing especially since I did not receive any emails notifying me of these changes. I will be reconsidering the software I purchase next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It seems that IRS gets harder but TT gets easier I have used Turbo Tax for many years and am thrilled with it. As I mentioned above, you make it easier to consider all the steps and what each line means. But not providing last year's amounts and in some cases the actual accounts from last year allows us to overlook a comparison what we have done this year as regards to last. But for the record I have used Turbo Tax for many years and plan to do so again. The challenge is that it seems that the IRS wants more information, (E.g, asking us to look up some of the information that was not needed last year was sad., Never before and my amounts are so low! But TT makes it easier and it gets easier each year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Eaxy Quick and easy to fill out. Great guide thru. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Very easy to use and quick. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy Easy to use, safe, and accurate. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filing Online I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years. I have always bought the CD and installed on my PC. This year I thought I would try the online version. What I like: No local disk storage needed. Logical flow through form. Help menus very informative and detailed. What I didn't like: Repetitiveness: I always triple check my return and being asked if I had any other incomes/deductions/etc. was a bit repetitive. Improvements: First time through ... sure you gotta cover all the basis. If user has already completed information then there should be some type of list to pick out options that either need redone or rereviewed. Thank you development staff at Turbot Tax your work is much appreciated and makes filing taxes a little less difficult. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your software made a difficult job much easier. March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hardest time figuring out how to a apply discount! I spent over 30 minutes trying to figure out how to apply a discount. I have Vanguard and Capital One and I would log out and log back in...different ways and it wasn't working! So, I tried eBates and that didn't work either. I finally gave up and decided to pay the full price. It had already taken me about 3 hours to do my taxes. It was ridiculous! I had a right to a discount and I didn't even get it. I looked for an answer in online threads and online support....and lots of people are having the same problems. So frustrating! Fix that for next year please. If you offer discounts, honor them. Make it quick and easy to apply them...the discount part is not user friendly at all. I got so frustrated. I picked Turbo Tax because of the discount. I almost decided to leave TurboTax....but I had already spent 3 hrs on it. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by slammed it home It seemed a lot easier this year than in past years.good work people. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by it worked beautifully for years, but now - yuck! two problems this year: 1) I must file schedule D, so i'm caught up in the problem of buying Premiere, not Deluxe. paid $99 online, after paying $55 at Best guy...how is a $25 refund going to even this out? 2) having bought the premiere edition, it's still not loading CT state edition, so I spent 45 minutes going through CT Dept of Revenue to figure out how to file on my own. TurboTax has worked beautifully for many many year, this year it's annoying. March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loses data after required update Almost every time I start it, it tells me I need to update it. It does not allow me to skip this step. When I update, it forgets all the data I had already entered. When I e-filed federal and state returns, both were rejected. The message was cryptic "R0000-902-01 - Taxpayer TIN in the Return Header must not be the same as a TIN of a previously accepted electronic return for the same type and tax period indicated in the tax return." March 29, 2015
  • 2015-08-29T11:29:35.817-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1256, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182852, tr_182852
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.