1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1256 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184770 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184766 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by sucked in might as well high a professional. TT has gone way up in price. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beat the deadline The only problem was I could not locate my 2013 return. I opened 2012 but turbo tax did not recognize it. Had to type in all of the information before proceeding. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not fair The fees are outrageous for the filings for both state and federal in todays electronic age. I will not use this again, if I have to pay so much next year! I might as well hire a tax person with those types of fees! This is especially bad for the poor person (me) who is doing this on my own because I CAN'T AFFORD A TAX PERSON. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great As Always Have been using the software for my taxes for more years than I can count and, guess obviously, have been doing so because the software is accurate, always available on a timely basis, makes a sometimes difficult task easier than one would anticipate and particularly user friendly. Electronic filing has never been rejected, never been audited and direct deposit to my bank account of any refund has always been relatively quick. However, they could be a tad slower (lol) with direct electronic withdrawal of tax balance due. Highly recommend using TurboTax annually even for the more difficult scenarios such as K1 forms relative to REIT income and sales. March 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Expensive Too Expensive! Why do I pay $34 to file a CA return when I know I owe nothing since I'm military living and earning income out of state? Other programs do just as much and are cheaper this will probably be my last yr with Turbo Tax. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome having a little problem getting irs to accept March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, Easy and Stress free! Turbo Tax has been my go to for taxes for the past few years. They continue to provide fast, easy, and valuable service while maximizing the money I get in a return. Any questions I had were answered. I will continue to use Turbo Tax in the future and I would recommend it to anyone in the military. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by program glitch Iowa state tax interview questions did not pose necessary questions to properly allocate income for part-year residence status of spouse. Needed to go into Forms and correct manually. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had to pay but it was easy doing paperwork. I keep trying other sites to do my income tax but I always come back to Intuit. They really have the easiest way to do your own taxes with good help guides. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amend tax return You filed my tax return in Texas and I cant't amend an error because you have me in ALABAMA! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FABULOUS! Best and easiest way to do taxes! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No More Accountants After using TurboTax, I don't think I'll ever use an accountant or tax filing company again. TurboTax cost less than an accountant. TurboTax took less time to use than an accountant. TurboTax got my refund faster than an accountant. Though TurboTax didn't make a mistake on my return, I would assume TurboTax has less of a chance of making a mistake than an accountant would. Accountants are human and TurboTax isn't. TurboTax isn't tired when its filling out my taxes. TurboTax doesn't have to manually look up a tax law. TurboTax doesn't have to do one tax return at a time. TurboTax, simply put, is better. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Refund I really like the program. Very helpful. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Turbo Tax very simple to use sometimes repeated itself. Overall great will use again March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by couldn't change the start of residency box (worksheets) March 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Change is not always good! Okay, a bit harsh maybe. I have been using TT for more years than I care to think about and I have to say this was the worst yet. Although this year for us was rather straight forward , I think the software lacked the guidance and intuition that TT has always been known for. Although not in finance or tax law, but I do hold a post grad degree (with lots of gray hair). I unfortunately found the program to be unfriendly and asked questions assuming preparer has some knowledge of what the program is asking. Several times questions regarding a previous years return was asked as if the information was at my fingertips. Past years of TT seemed to do a much better job integrating past information with new. I found myself asking, well shouldn't the program know this? This ability to communicate with past years of TT is the very reason I continue with TT year after year. WE made it through another year and granted the accuracy of any return is always only as good as the information the taxpayer provides. I hope the promise to return to "how we liked it" along with "guiding" taxpayers through the muck-and-mire will evolve out of the flames and ashes that I am sure Corporate has experienced with this years (2014) product. I suspect TT will loose many loyal customers next year unless they "re-redefine" what works and what does not. Good luck and hope things turn around next year! March 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by turbo tax business The assets does not let you enter a 2014 purchase date. When you do the return review it corrects it then it makes your balance sheet out of balances because it automatically puts in the acquired date as 1/1/2015. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works Overall, though it took me a few hours to complete, dig for docs and verify, I am relieved that it is over and filed. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Use this tool and save money on tax professionals Very easy to use, informative and educational. For a tax novice like myself to file taxes with confidence at a reduced cost this is awesome. And I got the Audit insurance package. Hope I dont get any audits but if I do I will like to see what my insurance gets me. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not planning to use Turbo Tax next year The IRS sent me a letter that stating that they detected an error and that I actually owed on my taxes vs the refund I was expecting. This was very disappointing to me of course. I went in to Turbo Tax and corrected my taxes with the information as the IRS pointed out. All the way through, the site indicated that I did not get a refund but it never indicated that I owed $. If I didn't pay close attention I don't think I would have realized that I owed. What that means is that if you initially make an error indicating that you will get a return and then correct it, the program will not show you as owing a tax penalty, it will continue to show $0. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Getting the pin number It took me 2 weeks to get the Pin number for the pervious year there must be a better way March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by great help with understanding paper work.more if on getting best refund March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Program performed as expected. Some questions but I suggest you return to former package. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good product can be even better Certainly makes filing less of a headache -but it can be improved! It would be nice to have a work sheet on common categories available on 1/1/2014 so that I can input income and expense figures as they come in during the year until 12/31/2014. Then when I file in 2015, TurboTax can extract the needed figures from the worksheet and my 2013 return seamlessly. I would thus have to focus only on exceptions. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Filing Been using TurboTax for 7 years to file my taxes, it's easy and pretty straightforward. When you have uncommon income (consulting work) other versions are presented. I wasn't sure if I needed the Business upgrade, but we got a higher deduction, so worth the extra cost. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get taxes done right year after year. Some years are complicated, others easy. This year was ugly. I had a Roth conversion, rental property conversion, 3 jobs, unemployment, capital gains, moving expenses and more. TurboTax got it done. I always use TurboTax and buy the CD (not the online way). If you aren't sure which version you need, you can always upgrade. The interviews are excellent, but some topics require additional research for your situation. If you need lots of handholding get a real person. If you are a control freak like me, do it yourself with TurboTax. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and bad This year one thing was better. In the past, the portion of my small business income that was reported on a 1099 was not separated out on schedule C--always wanted to add it again, effectively doubling it. That did not happen this year. Unfortunately, I could not transfer the information from last year's return and had to enter it manually all over again, even though the last several years are supposedly stored on my computer. It also appears that we will be paying extra for doing the business forms in the future. I will be checking out other software and may jump ship. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Intuitive, Creative and Smooth I found the process very straightforward and in-detail. Extremely helpful user interface and a very smooth way of filling your returns! I would recommend this to everyone who is looking to reduce the complexities or the one who is filing it for the first time like I did! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FanTAXtic! First time doing your taxes? Procrastinated until the last minute? TurboTax makes it easy and worry free. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress-free way to do taxes Turbotax really is easy to use, and it is helpful to use this tax preparation program in consecutive years. You can sign in and add donations as you make them throughout the year; then they are all there when you do your taxes. The incorporation of "It's deductible" is extremely helpful for the items donated. My items were worth more than I would have valued them. March 31, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T09:55:34.312-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1256, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184766, tr_184766
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.