1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 1256 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181892 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocky Refund Very easy and helpful. Completed my taxes in about an hour!! March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Form 8606 Flaw Conversions of IRAs To Roths did not initially produce Form 8606, thereby incorrectly reporting all the conversion as taxable. Turbotax did not pick up info from 2013 Turbotax return. This would have cost me an extra $12,000 in taxes and was cleared up through phone advice from a Turbotax expert, the phone number for which I could find only through Google, not on the Turbotax site. Also, the Virginia state return is primitive. It could use a refresh. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved how everything was explained. Felt reassuring to know it was right. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used it the last 5 years, expect to use it the next 20. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fairly Straighforward for "Vanilla" Return All in all, a good way to self-prepare a return that doesn't have few, if any, 'non-standard' situations. There were a couple of questions which could be interpreted in different ways, so some investigation was required to determine what was being requested. Not too difficult, though. At least my wife and I are still speaking to each other after completing the return. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you TurboTax made filing simple and easy for me! I was nervous about filing at first but now I would definitely go back to the beginning and click the green smiley face! March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tax file 2014 My dependents have to file their own return. Needs to be a way to auto populate parents and siblings return information into each tax return. Better explanation of 1098-T is needed. Where and how it should be recorded with children that file a separate tax return. Should be tax tips/questions that will help with filing the best way for dependents that must file separately. How to determine the best way to file (for example: should the child claim themselves and the parent file as head of household or should parent claim child). What is the best tax scenario for the tax payer. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Updates What kind of software forces you to update but there's always an error? Turbo Tax does!!! I bought the 2014 Deluxe software to file my taxes, and half through my deductions I get an error message. Turbo Tax informs me I need to update the software, and I did, and the error still comes back. What is that about? This is a first and maybe the last experience for me with Turbo Tax. Never again!!!! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product Some North Carolina forms were not supported, especially ones for renewable energy tax credit for systems such as geothermal, solar, wind, etc. The interview should at least ask the question and then point you in the right direction to find the forms necessary. If turbo tax sells you the state tax program, it should be complete or a discount and a caveat should be displayed before purchase. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I'd like to have the options early on to look at last years return, the actual not a "turbotax" page. As we move through the process I'd like the actual tax doc to popup filled in, just like you were filling it in at the kitchen table. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Efficient Tax preparation I do not need the Business Section. I am responsible only for Personal taxes at this time. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by makes it so easy I've been using Turbo Tax for years, hooked by the transfer of previous year records, download of data, its search for all the necessary information and possible problems and deductions, etc., etc. In this first year of retirement, I thought I might have to go to a tax professional to help with the new factors -- withdrawal from retirement accounts, Social Security, etc. -- but that too was handled effortlessly, with a lot of advice about arcane rules that increased my confidence. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the changes this year! Fantastic online service that I recommend to many. I always caution high school students and senior citizens to be sure they are using Freedom Edition instead of Free Edition to save themselves the $30 for State filing. Thanks again for an improved product. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo tax review In general was happy with Turbo Tax. One item that I did not like: After reopening turbo tax, was prompted to allow updates to tax forms. I allowed this each time requested. However, after update, it did not take me to where I left off previously in my return, it took me to beginning, as if I was starting a new return. I then had to locate where I left off. Also, several times I switched to the step process to review a previously complete area. After review of that area, I went back to steps to proceed when I had left off, and it would not expand to all top areas, and it was necessary to go back through previously completed topics. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy for non drama tax situation I think they improved it from last year because I remember not being able to easily navigate to see some aspects of the deductions last year. This year went much smoother! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use Took me all of 30 minutes to file my return with the free edition. Everything was in layman's terms and easy to understand March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TT Premium Review While you still get access to the Schedule C forms in TurboTax 2014 Premium, in the 2013 Premium TT I had the step by step instructions that came with it. I just looked up the form from last year's return and plugged in the numbers accordingly.The software conveniently wants me to upgrade for a nominal fee to have the Business Edition for step by step instructions. As soon as H&R Block gets their product in better shape I will be switching. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall, strong program with good info..challenge are fees - makes me wonder if using a CPA would be a better deal - in the end..cost me $104.00 in fees + cost of Turbo Tax federal of $50 + state cost of $24.99 plus my time. 30 min with an accountant might be $150-175 so come out ahead to do that rather than use TurboTax. Maybe you should rethink? (and there was an issue with Turbo Tax with my state this year so that does NOT instill confidence although I have had no issues in years past). March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by got turbo tax deluxe, downloaded it and started doing my taxes, in the middle of doing my taxes, i found out I needed turbo tax premier investments upgrade, not good turbo tax, it cost me xtra $32.44 March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The review make me not want to use this product March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All good wasn't sure about a corrected W2 with only one box re-reported. But clicking the help feature explained to overwrite the box value, and not post a second W2. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by What State Refund? Imagine a $27 state return and Turbo Tax wants to charge $29.99 for it! I will send it in the mail! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax for Partnership LLC I had to jump through a lot of hoops to get ahold of a PC just to use the software. Even though that was a bear, the program is easy to use and my taxes were done quickly! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrifically Easy I have used Turbo Tax for many years. I find that it is easy to navigate and allows me to get my taxes down quickly. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently the best I've used Turbo Tax for years and years and can't imagine any other way to do my taxes. It's wonderful to have all last years info brought forward so quickly and the ability to go out and grab data from key businesses is priceless. I's like to see better pricing on charity valuation programs and state filing as it isn't really cost effective for us small guys, but recommend Turbo Tax without reservation. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Turbo tax is easy to use and it walks you through everything step by step. If you use it every year, it compares your results from the previous year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Doing Each year Turbo Tax is getting easier to do, can't ask for anything then that. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I tried for 4 hours to fix 2 problems with my return that would not efile before asking for help---so I wasted 4 hours. Your tax expert helped me in 10 minutes. One problem was deleting a form that was carried over from a previous year that was no longer needed and one of my K1's had a mistake your agent recognized immediately. DO NOT BE TOO PROUD TO ASK AN EXPERT AND GET THE HELP YOU PAID FOR! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Been using for years I.ve been using Turbo Tax since the '90's and would not change. Had a couple small security issues this year due to IE default which doesn't work on my PC correctly. Would like to change default browser to Google March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRS and Peace of Mind? Awesome! Easy load of prior year Quick and easy selection of relevant areas Easy to understand questions Easy format to submit answers March 29, 2015
  • 2015-05-23T12:54:02.600-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1256, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181877, tr_181877
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 ... 3799 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.