1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 11 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183459 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183454 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not transmit When I tried to transmit, it said there was one more thing to do and I was not able to continue or transmit. Help said to uninstall and reinstall but then when I edited my state, it kept downloading and I could not get past that. Finally, downloaded on an older computer, moved data and was able to transmit. Will look for other software next year. September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie! Great program to work with. Almost spells it out for you. September 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-So Can't find sources of calculations in Mac version (no right clicks) Double-clicking some cells leads to sources, but not always September 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Premier 2014 I was forced to upgrade to Turbo Tax Premier because of K-1 - not happy about that. Software is now close to same price as having my CPA friend prepare my returns for me. Cost of electronic filing has become unacceptable. Used to be $15, then $20 (2012) and then jumped to $40 last year. Hope you enjoyed the extra cash, I won't likely use your product next year. September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great product and super easy to use. I love the review. September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy guidance to creating an accurate return September 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product I have used turbo tax for many years and always efile. Last year was the first year it did not go through. I got online and there were so many people in the same position. I had to print my return and mail it in. The problem was I forgot to sign it. The IRS penalized me ~$400 because the return ended up being late. If it happens again I will be mailing my return every year. September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't make it through tax season without TT TurboTax keeps getting better and better. It amazes me that it generates a 270 page tax return (with all the supporting documents) and I don't feel like I've had to learn the latest tax code inside and out. The step-by-step feature which I used to ignore is now my preferred way of entering data into TT. There still are some glitches. TT kept generating forms that were not relevant to my return and I had to delete them several times to get rid of them (it kept thinking I was an S-corp when I never indicated that I was). So, there is still some work to do. Also, when I needed to update a field on medical insurance premiums, it took a Google search and searching in the community to figure out how to get to the data source. But those annoyances aside, TurboTax is a fabulous product and I highly recommend it to anyone doing their own taxes. September 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Handling of Form 1041 by TurboTax is incomplete Turbo Tax software does not handle form 8912 "Credit to Holders of Tax Credit bonds". Accordingly the return cannot be E-filed. Disappointing that after so many years that Turbo Tax still does not handle preparation of a state income tax return for Kansas for trusts. September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax assistance/preparation The program is very easily followed. turbo tax offers tips and have a great walk through system. It is nor expense and September 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really helpful! I could not figure how to include income (and deductions) from temporarily renting my parking space when it seemed that it should be simple to add the income and deduct the separate condo fee on schedule E, without going into depreciation, etc.(temporary rental). September 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Program - Been Using for Years A great program but have been a bit frustrated for years at having to manually override imported data from Quickbooks ether mis-categorized or mis-calculated. September 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ended WIth a Nice Refund I have used TT for several years and appreciate the clean, clear question/answer format. I like knowing that TT will ask me about all relevant possible situations. For 2014 returns (which I just completed in mid-September), many changes were made causing me to be "upgraded" to Premier for stock sales and then to Home/Business for Schedule C information. I have just received my notice of the 2015 program shipment from TaxAdvantage and am VERY pleased to see that the changes in the Deluxe version have been rolled back to pre-2014 state. I have been very pleased with the Deluxe version; it met my relatively uncomplicated needs well. Thank you, TT, for listening to your customers! September 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2013 Late Return I was really late in filing my 2013 return and my computer got a virus and had to be cleaned out. After I received the computer back, I had issues and you helped me get back where I left off. Thank you so much for all the help. September 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State Taxes error You have a glaring error in Turbo Tax's ability to transfer estimated state taxes paid and actual state taxes paid on the final filing form. I input estimated state taxes paid with dates and amounts and the total on that page was correct. But when my final tax form was printed and filed the amount on LIne 27 of my Illinois tax return was incorrect and did not match my inputs. The program picked up an amount I input on my Filing for Extension with the state of Illinois. At that time I did not know the actual final amount of my estimated payments. That input number keeps overriding the actual amount. September 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny Print size on main screens could be made larger or smaller but on pop-up screens the print was so small that it was difficult to read and it could not be made larger. I suspect this is something your programmers could fix. September 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRS 2014 I have been using TurboTax for10+ years and have trained my sons on how to use it. It makes doing taxes less of chore and the carryover/memory features certainly saves a lot of time. September 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Business Great September 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very thorough however at $104 I will probably hire an accountant next year. Every year Turbo Tax is more expensive. I have yet to figure out how to transfer my last five years on my PC to my MacBook September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth, Quick, Thorough and Accurate Love this product and look forward to using it for years to come. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Software! TurboTax made this return so easy to do. I have a pretty complicated one with several businesses. The hardest part was gathering all my information, but once I had it together, the TurboTax questions made it very simple to plug it all in and put it all together. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great efficient tax preparation I love Turbo Tax and have been using them for over 18 years! Great support and reliability! September 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Review of 2014 H&B for Mac on laptop Most, but not all of calculation program is intuatively written, but some really needs work. For example, the whole filing part is BAD. Not being able to print if no internet is a deal breaker. We live on a boat, travelling the world, and frequently have no internet, but work on taxes during passages. This year has been very difficult. If 2015 is not a stand alone program (including printing), I will probably not buy TurboTax in the future. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbostax Premier Have used it for years. Saves time by eliminating the tasks of re-entering information from past years September 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting through TurboTax What can I say, the PC program works great for filing your taxes, however, when it needs to update, or if you need to purchase additional services, or you want to file your taxes electronically all kinds of problems occur. One thing that annoyed me was when I logged into the webpage, and the site started creating a return independently of the software on the PC. Then when I wanted to continue offline, I had to start again because it was not stored in the PC side of things.Then when I wanted to e-file the returns and add audit defense I had to avoid logging in with my user ID and Pswd, because of a script error, instead making the payment directly. It took over twenty minutes before the software verified that the payment was even made. Updating is another hassle, it seems that every time I initially use the software for the day it has an update to handle first. I know that tax laws and docs change, but I doubt it happens every single day. Anyway, that's my gripe. Hope it helps. Sign Joe Espinal. September 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by late review Could not get to late penalties for Calif return September 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Support OUTSTANDING!!! Thank goodness for Support. If you've never used it and you are having any problems at all I encourage you to use it! When reviewing my return through the software, there were 2 issues I could not figure out that was being cause by one thing. Went through the seek support process and got a call from Jerry in about 10 minutes. He worked with me for at least 45 minutes until we worked it out. Jerry was knowledgeable, personable and professional. He was a Godsend and a lifesaver. Thanks Jerry!!! September 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by You Don't Make It Like You Used To I've used Turbo Tax in the past and liked it. This time I was told I had mistakes, but I wasn't told how to fix them. I had to figure it out by myself. I e-filed my federal return, but when I tried to sign in to pay for my state return, it said my password was wrong. I said I forgot my password and it sent me an e-mail. I reset my password, and it wouldn't let me in. it said the link had timed out. I reset my password, and it said the payment had timed out. It gave me less than 10 minutes. I couldn't get back to the payment screen. I tried "Help" and that didn't work. I reset my password again, and it said I couldn't e-file my federal because I had forms that couldn't be e-filed. It wouldn't let me work on my state. I tried again, got back to my state, and the forms were blank. I finally got back to the real federal return which it said had been e-filed. Then I was able to use the new password and pay for the state. When I first sat down at my computer this morning, I was ready to file my returns, but it took me at least an hour and an insane amount of time, frustration, irritation, and aggravation to accomplish what should have been a simple task. This has been a really big, stupid, mess. I also object to having to pay $24.95 to e-file my state return! I paid for Turbo Tax. Both the federal and state should be free to e-file after that. Instead the price of e-filing the state was higher than last year. I am not happy!!!!! I will be using a tax preparer next year, and I am delighted that I will not have to deal with Turbo Tax!!!!! September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Online 'Help' Rocks This year, for the first time, I was stumped & resorted to the online help which worked out nicely–not at first; but, with just a bit of persistence. It was refreshing. Next year, I plan to guide my wife in the use of TurboTax so she can take over filing her taxes in my eventual absence. September 10, 2015
  • 2015-10-07T11:17:31.842-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183454, tr_183454
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 3832 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.