1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183573 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183538 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy Peasy! I use Turbo Tax every year. It's so easy. I really like the new graphics this year. I think it gets easier to use it every time. And who wants to have to labor over their taxes - ugh! October 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 efiling hang up I have had this happen before. There is a script error on the credit card screen. VERY frustrating!!!!! October 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Good software but needs improvement I found it beneficial to use TurboTax Home and Business this year for my 2014 tax returns. However, the program would not let me upload attachments to the e-filed returns. In this case, this was needed to give appropriate explanation to the IRS and prevent confusion and potential audit risk. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Love Turbo Tax. the 1099 MISC was in 2 places. Got me confused. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Incredible Software, Service, and Expertise I was skeptical about using Turbo Tax, My tax attorney and accountant had been collaborating on my family's taxes for over 20 years, and there were so many compications. My hired experts would ask me to dig up information for weeks during the preparation. Despite all my friends' recommendations to use Turbo Tax, I was certain that my taxes were more complicated than any pre-packaged program could handle. This year, I finally gave in and tried TurboTax, and I couldn't be happier. It's a simple, step-by-step approach, and when I got stuck, a simple phone call to Turbo Tax experts cleared things up quickly. There is no waiting on the phone when you call. If their queue is long, you can give them your number and they will call you back within a relatively short period of time (my wait times for Turbo Tax consultants to call me were usually less than a minute, and never longer than 3 minutes, even in the height of tax filing season). Turbo Tax populates your state(s) income tax forms from the data you gave it for your federal return. It works smoothly, and I challenge anyone who claims it is easier to have your taxes prepared by an outside accountant. I'm a recent convert, but I'll be a permanent one. I had some complicated life events this year that made things about the tax laws difficult for me to understand. My customer service representative on that particular phone call asked me for permission to look at my return-in-progress, and together, we worked on it and solved some of the issues I was having with how to report certain things. He was in NY, and I was in CA, and we might as well have been sitting next to each other at the same desk. (I had to first agree to letting him see my return-in-progress before he could see it, to protect my privacy, of course). This tool makes the interaction with TT experts a phenomenal experience. Hint: I recommend using the downloadable version of the software, rather than the online version. October 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 Used Turbo Tax for Years I'm not sure my filing status was right this year.... I am retired and am receiving a pension but am also working part time. My current employer does not have a retirement plan and Turbo Tax showed me as being covered by my current employer with a retirement plan so none of my IRA contributions were deductible. I will be researching this over this fall and find out if it was wrong or if I understood this wrong. October 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Done... Most improvement i've seen in many years. Thanks for all the explanations provided. Would like to see a publication written by your staff address insights into farm tax preparation. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Sweet Able to do my deceased mothers return with the help of having last years return as a template to remember everything. October 8, 2015
  • 2015-10-09T12:21:56.437-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183538, tr_183538
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 3833 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.