1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 197569 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Online edition is terrible It's so tiring to have to go back through the interview questions back-and-forth to make changes. I wish there was some sort of an expert mode that would allow me to just update or change my responses in one screen. For example, it's tiring to click into depreciation and then have it asked you do you want to make changes to depreciation? Of course I do why would I click it if I didn't!
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from How about a redo?Yes Been using TurboTax for about 10 years. It hasn't changed or improved over the last decade. Yes, there is the adage, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." However, if it ain't that good, why not fix it, esp with tax reform. If I'm not mistaken, the operating system is still somewhat dos based. I mentioned endless loops. For example this year I tried to complete the Foreign Tax Exemption, but I knew I didn't qualify. Even though I said I didn't want you to consider either of our incomes, still form 2555 was not removed & wouldn't let me move forward. I had to go into form view & delete the form. I mention this for 2 reasons. One, I hope to qualify for Foreign Tax Exemption, so I hope to "fix" that module so it's more understandable. Two, this is not the first time I've gotten into endless loops where I had to "trick" the system by deleting forms or entering negative numbers to get the balance back to zero. I hope with tax reform, TurboTax will take the leap to the 21st century and come out with a redo. I know the launch maybe difficult next year, but that is expected whether you rebuild the system from the ground up or not, and you will be a better platform for the future.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduced Taxes Owed
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Free I was trying to use your "free" service. Then it said you could not file without payment. I paid, and now you are saying you cannot file electronically. I want a refund.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nervous, but was quickly soothed. I was very nervous before i started. I have moved out of the country and usually am able to sit down with an accountant. I am used to handing all my papers over, signing them and not having a single worry. Doing my own taxes for the first time seemed as if it would be easier to climb the Himalayas! I feared making a mistake and getting a penalty...the IRS got Capone, they'd surely get me if i made an error. Within the first 10 minutes, i knew i was afraid in vain. I simply input all my information, answered honestly of course and with two calls for help from an expert, i was able to file my extension and later file. Only glitch was that i had to use chrome when speaking with the Expert Help. They couldn't see something on their end and it helped immediately when i switched off of Safari. Not an inconvinience, just wanted to mention that it was the hardest thing of my whole transaction. The expert help had a good answer to each question i had emailed me documents i could review for more information. I will be back with TurboTax next year... If there is still an IRS to file with.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAAA DAAAAAA Awesome, to say the least. And, I always say the least!
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAAA DAAAAAA awesome, to say the least, and I always say the least!
Date published: 2018-06-15
  • y_2018, m_6, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80266, tr_117269
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.