1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 200930 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I will never use turbo tax again when you don't have agi tt is lost. file you state but you can't . No help
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple I liked using Turbo tax and the simple ease of filling in the information and when possible using the automated fill in. With the new tax changes it would have been nice to have those things pointed out. It would provide confidence. The main thing I appreciated is having the live CPA review which enabled me to plan for next years filing and changes that I can make in preparing.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tax Maven I've been a TurboxTax user for eight years and there's so much about it that I really like, it gets better every year. The price is steep if you don't make a lot of money and even if you do you don't want to waste it. Consider a standard price for all products.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Same as the last six years! Sure makes a painful process as painless as possible...
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great as always Used Turbotax for nearly 20 years and this year was definitely the best. One improvement request: Giving some idea how much in itemized deductions I would need to bother with filling out all the charities etc. My state doesn't count those charitable deductions but as it turned out, half way through adding them in I saw my refund rise.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage Trash that charged me $100 for what I used to get for free. Will not use again, and I've been using Turbotax for a decade or more
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Processing very slow & errors preventing e-filing Very disappointed this year and may be last one I do my own taxes with it after 20yrs or more. The errors at the end when ready to e-file kept popping up at payment time and not recognizing my software any longer as already paid for. Not entirely convinced there were not other errors as testing with itemized and changing variables that should have made a difference had zero impact after a certain point which is concerning thus stuck with standard this year despite fact on paper I am confident it should have been itemized.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Statutory employee / problem My son, a statutory employee, received a Form W-2 (commission income) and a Form 1099-MISC (expense reimbursement stipend) from his "employer." Your step by step instructions resulted in the program preparing two Schedule C's, one for each form. Worse, the Schedule C for the Form 1099-MISC resulted in the program calculating a self-employment tax for the gross amount of the expense reimbursement. When a Form 1099 is entered, there should be an option to flag it as pertaining to the same Schedule C as the Form W-2, and there should be an option to record it as an offset to expenses.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Revisiting a form Entering info is easy but no easy way to jump to where you want to go without going through all the preceding pages.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Miss Consider using another product for your tax software... My taxes were rejected because I didn't include my unique taxpayer ID (PIN) in my return. How did I miss including the PIN? Because the prompt to add the PIN is not part of TurboTax - it has to be added manually. Thanks for nothing TurboTax!
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very easy to use wish they would have imported my donation to charities so I would not have to write the same ones each year. Last year they had them listed much easier
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not up to Normal Long term users (> 10 years). While it still got the job done, a lot of the automated data pulls did not work this year, especially the captcha parts. This forced a lot of manual searching and entry that was not needed.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Premier I was going on vacation and requested for funds to be withdrawn from my account on the due date. After making my payment, Turbo Tax did not file my tax return. I did not discover this until after I returned and after the deadline. Will not use this product again.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish they had a Suggestion box Some questions are unclear and need to be re-written. A way to pass on feedback would be excellent! If you can claim the foreign earned income exclusion, TT asks if you were in the US FOR ANY REASON during the tax year. If you say yes, it asks how many of those days were business - you can't put zero! Minimum value is 1. Even if you were on vacation whole time.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience First time filing taxes (I’m 18). Overall was a great experience. Will definitely use Turbo Tax in the future and will recommend anyone willing to listen, to do the same
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax FOREVER Been a faithful user since 1995. I used it for business too with Quickbooks. There are others out there, but why change. Like we say down South, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good But Frustrated 1. Turbo Tax Business does not work with my MACBook Pro computer. 2. Totally frustrated with trying to purchase Audit Defense in the File stage. I learned that this part was not working at all and has been changed. You should have the software programed to update by removing this feature. I'm using the Home & Business disc purchased from Costco.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time user First time using turbotax business. Fairly easy to use but received an error printing forms in PDF format when ready to efile. Not sure why or what additional forms it was trying to print. Search on error was not very helpful since is implied this error was only related to 2017 version.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Returning to TURBO TAX Because of the Turbo Tax Home & Business easy to use software and guidance I hope to use Turbo Tax again in 2019.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistently better every year!! I began using TurboTax over 25 years ago. And year by year it goes easier and smoother. My 2018 returns were e-filed in one hour, start to finish! My needs are simple and straightforward, which puts me a group of 180 million tax paying US citizens? This was my 5th year using TurboTax.com. You can’t go wrong with Intuit & TurboTax!
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took A While! Easy enough to use. I can’t remember how long I’ve been using TurboTax!
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Help! Turbo Tax always responded quickly when I needed help or had questions.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible product I had to call and go through 3 people before getting to someone who had a clue how to fix the issue of being unable to get back to my return after I had printed it. You have to click on Add A State to get back to the return. This is not intuitive at all. And now when I try to e-file it keeps rejecting because it says the AGI doesn't match even though it does match what IRS has on my transcript for 2017. So, now I have to print even though I paid for the ability to e-file. Please refund my money and cancel my account.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As always, generaly a good experience Turbo Tax makes the tax preparation process so much easier than trying to do it by yourself. In that regard it is a great help. There are a couple of things, though, that presented difficulties in using the product this year. The instructions for getting help did not seem to match the links and buttons on the screen. It seemed that often the instructions said to look for a button or link on the screen, but there was no matching item on the help page. Very frustrating. Also, somehow I got into a path that thought I had farm income. I have no idea how that happened. It insisted I corrected the farm income errors. I finally had to delete the farm income Schedule F directly.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had Frustrating Problems This Year I efiled my federal return smoothly. Page gave me option to do state efile later. Did not warn that I would not be able to efile state tax until the federal tax form efiled was approved as accepted. This caused anxiety provoking wait. There was a a NY form that did not apply to me -- ny 119 to reconcile payment of a specific tax. Despite selecting No, in response to initial question about whether the situation was relevant to me, turbo tax flagged blank fields on NY 119 as a problem when reviewing my state tax record. This also blocked my filing my state taxes even though the form was NOT relevant for me.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from concerned I completed my taxes on Saturday, April 13 (or so I believed). I thought I went through all of the processes. However, never saw any response that there was any receipt of my completed taxes. So, I looked at my returns today, just now...all information was there, however, they had never been submitted...so, I redid what I thought I had done. Now, I am going to get a penalty for late taxes. Can you help, please?
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy, loved my CPA This must be at least my 10th year using Turbotax and it just keeps getting better. Especially love the ability to add states, "itsdeductible", and the CPA review.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New LLC I can not say enough about how easy it was to do our taxes, even with all of the new tax changes, and the start of a new business on top of it all. The help from start to finish was exceptional, and the audit at the end put my mind at ease. During the review, my EA walked me through quarterly tax coupons; something that was daunting at best, but now I feel confident. Even though our taxes have become more complicated, I feel good about continuing to use Turbo Tax for years to come.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As always...easy After waiting until the last day for Mass, I was able to get my taxes finished fast and easy even though I had additional things happen in 2018. Thank you Turbotax!!!
Date published: 2019-04-17
  • y_2019, m_4, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70090, tr_130684
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 168ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.