1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.4 out of 5 average

(4.4/5 | 201836 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Live Tax advice was not useful at all When my efiling didn't go through during transmitting, No error reason was shown. I couldn't figure out what was the cause. I had paid for the filing. So I went through the live tax advice. The person who responded went through the filing process with me and she couldn't figure out the reason for the error in filing as well. She suggested trying different browsers etc, but at the end told me to wait for a day and try again later as the cause could be heavy https traffic. It didn't make much sense to me. I had to browse through my tax return and do a little bit of trial and error and then figured out the cause myself and was able to file it successfully. I felt I overpaid as I didn't get any help nor the software gave me any clue as to what was wrong.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund Help Very thorough in asking me about the tax scenarios fitting my filing needs.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I cannot read less than 18 pt type without magnifying. most forms from top companies offer magnification on screen. Also, faint grey type (as on this form) may be "modern" but is otherwise just plain dumb and adds to the difficulty. Sorry. I know your company do better.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Like the name "Turbo Tax" I have been using Turbo Tax for many years.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Need to track Information Need "Snapshot" or quick summary to verify that all has been included. It is not easy to enter the state penalty interest amelioration without AGI, so user needs to backtrack from final printed return. Far too many screens. For examples, questions on RMD could be on a single screen, natural disaster disbursements and repayments should need only one screen, at least for most taxpayers.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbo tax is very easy to do and track and gives many suggestions and options
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, Easy I continue to use Turbo tax because it is helpful to have the software take me through all items. and even to pull in last year's tax info. So much easier than entering things over and over.
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy professional service! for 99.99999 of people, easier and cheaper than an accountant service!
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Program but Terrible Support I have been a TurboTax user for over 20 years. So I am quite familiar with its structure and the way that it works. With the tax changes this year I was looking forward to seeing how the modifications would be. As in previous years, I used the program to walk me through the various areas of my return and I was very pleased with the simplicity of the process.I completed my Federal and State return and then e-filed them. After completing the filing I saved the file and planned to come back the next day and print & save documents. When I came back the next day and tried to start TurboTax, I received Error 70001, which stopped the program from starting. I went to the community site and tried all of the things that were suggested: reboot computer, full virus scan, reinstall TurboTax software, etc. and none of these worked. I then found out that this is the only technical support available for TurboTax, No online chat, no phone numbers, No way to have any human interaction. So I posted a question on the community, indicating all of the things I had already done. I received a response the next day indication that this was a "Spontaneous connectivity issues that typically resolves itself" and then it gave me instructions to do all the things that I had already done. After 2 days, this "spontaneous connectivity issue" has not resolved itself. I am extremely disappointed in the complete lack of support. It is clear that the responder to my post simply pasted in the standard message without even looking at my post and the things I had already done. I tend to procrastinate with my taxes, so I don't normally have time to wait days or weeks or longer for "spontaneous connectivity issues" to resolve themselves. I was fortunate that I completed my taxes this year before I had an issue. Next year I'll be looking for new tax software that actually has real customer support.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for me every year... I often file late, and Turbo Tax doesn't care. I get no sour faces, I just get a tax sheet done. I could never sort through all this on my own, because I now am a homeowner.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It Took Forever I felt that this version was more complicated and less friendly than previous versions. It took considerably longer than in the past. I was left wondering whether I would purchase next year's version or not. The 'On-Line Help' "SCHEDULED" me for a call back a week later. As of today, I still have not received it because it 's due date is tomorrow. Needs restructured.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed the assistance of a very helpful lady from Mississippi. The pgm help screen could not give me what I needed.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax I have used TurboTax for years now. It is easy and fast. I have a simple return so I can do it on my own. I have never been audited. I will continue to use TurboTax as long as I am able to figure things out on my own. Great Service!
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hidden fees It would be nice if Turbotax were up front about costs. The real price is only provided after you've gone through the whole process of entering all your information. After paying $100 for a straightforward tax return, I'm wishing I'd gone to a tax professional instead.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from you need to add more spaces for more rentals on schedule E.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Windows 7 Compatibility Noticed that T-Tax will not support Windows 7 next year, because of Microsoft's actions. Many of us have computers that work very well running on Windows 7 and are nowhere near end-of-life. T-tax needs to reconsider this action else I find other tax software.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but talks like an IRS instruction I've been using TurboTax for many years. Its easy and quick in tax filing terms. As my taxes have become more complicated, there are some sections that give instructions like the IRS. It would be nice to get a more plain language in these areas.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better with Federal than State I am self employed and live in a state with state and local income tax and local business taxes also. Turbo tax worked more smoothly for me on the federal return; its one consistently annoying feature is reviewing or changing previous entries--often one must start a category all over to change one number. The flag and forms options help somewhat with that. The program instructed me to deduct medicare premiums as a business expense, which I did, but much later asked me to enter the information on the SSA 1099--I assumed, wrongly, that the program would know not to double count. On State/Local, the program offered no option to refund or apply the MCTMT overpayment, also balked at printing a UBT form that cannot be filed electronically.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Have used Turbo Tax for many years. Very good product and goes through every situation possible. Sometimes more than needed, but thats a good thing. Overall a very good product. More than satisfied.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turbotax expensive I expect I will search for lower-cost method for filing taxes. TurboTax is expensive and expects user to pony up fee for all kinds of things.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience My experience with turbo tax was fabulous. I was reluctant to use Live Help, however, Live Help consultants helped through the steps and I was able to make progress on complicated foreign income, foreign tax credit etc. Overall, it was a great experience.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly, but also Sophisticated! I've used TT for so long now, seems like an old familiar blanket! Soft, fuzzy, just right to let you relax! Actually had to use the online "live human" assistance (needed to buy a second state program) & it was actually a very pleasant experience. Had a nice little "chit-chat" with the tech! Sort of fun, actually (& I'm not a "touchy-feely, emo" kind of guy!).
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund Turbo Tax is easy to use and free or very affordable and I love the guidance.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NJ tax return erreneous entries YOUR Software duplicated my business income entry and would not allow me to correct. It transmitted wrong return. before I was allowed to correct. cost me $12000 extra tax that I have to do a manual amended return. I have used Turbo tax for the past 10 years.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hi, thanks for asking. I would like to see one purchase price (including eFiling of States). There is an extraordinary annoyance at the end of using TurboTax that I assimilate to the airlines, who, after buying a flight and getting to the airport, the whole process is slowed by having to pay a baggage fee. I'm sure you recognize what I mean. Why not let people pay the State eFiling up front? We all know we need to file State returns. The frustration is not being provided an opportunity to pay for everything in one transaction. A suggestion is to make it easier for customers who auto-renew (like I have for many years) and ask them if they want eFiling their State to be automatically included in their upcoming year's renewal. I hope the comment helps. Providing this option would make this customer much happier.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to file deceased return Early on, the software asked if I was filing for someone that was deceased. But then then software kept saying "Did YOU have..." or "What were YOUR deductions". Filing paperwork for a deceased person is hard enough. Remove the extra mental hurdle of having to translate for everyone.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2018 Product was a challenge TurboTax has been fantastic up until this year. I spent hours on the phone with tech support never to have my issue solved. I ended up manually filing some returns. Very disappointed
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Critique This year the Q&A was confusing because of the Form 2106 not applicable. Yet, the Q&A asks these questions regarding Business Expenses only to discover at the end, none of the expenses are deductible. 1. I believe your Q&A should have notified you that Unreimbursed Employee Business Expenses are no longer deductible unless you meet one of the three requirements that classify you as a “Statutory Employee”, then list those. 2. Your live agents should be better equipped with the changes to provide an educated answer when asked this question- Can a person who receive a W2 form from an Employer where Federal Income and Social Security Taxes are withheld file Schedule C? I was told by several of your agents and question sent in, that I could not and referred me to several IRS Publications that did not quite provide a definitive answer. Further researched on my own provided the answer- “Statutory Employee” receiving a W2 can claim business expenses on Schedule C although bob 13 is not check. 3. TT should have provided this option if box 13 on the W2 is not check with the Declaration Form one needs to fill out to avoid any penalty should one get audit down the line. My situation might have been unique, but I noticed doing a google search, that it was not but everyone was getting the same answer. I work from home full-time as a contractor through a Contracting Agency (Company A) but by service is dedicated to one Company (Company B) who provided me with a Laptop and supplies that must be returned to Company B once my assignment is over. I earned 100% of my income working from my Office at Home and incurred the following unreimbursed expenses in 2018 that were reported on Form 2016 in 2017. Use of personal car to go to various locations to perform certain tasks for Company B Travel out of area for Company B assignments Must provide my own Cell Phone, Internet Access at home, separate phone line, etc., etc. Company A provided a W2 Form with box 13 uncheck although I fall under the Statutory Employee where IRS agree and so is a Tax Attorney I contacted. I believe TT should have provided that option to file Schedule C with the declaration form.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TT needs to work on translating IRS TT seems to forget that lay people using their product aren't CPAs and use the software because they can't understand a lot of the IRS guidance. Example: Form 1116 uses jargon not easily penetrated, but instead of using plain English to explain it, TT repeats the jargon. Over time, TT has improved the user's ability to navigate selectively on the federal return but not so much on the state return (not mine, anyway). It forces me to walk back through every bit of EasyStep if I have just one change to make. Come on! You can do better than that.
Date published: 2019-08-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70348, tr_131474
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 90ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.