1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.4 out of 5 average

(4.4/5 | 201574 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TurboTax for Business TurboTax for Business is full of bugs and the tech support people aren't trained on it.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used turbotax for many many years. I give my full confidence to the program. This program designed for people they are honest and just need help to finish their tax return.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Problems Took a lunch break and after returning to work on Turbotax it didn't go back to were I left off. Brought me back to personal info. Home office info did not carry over from last years return, had to reenter all the information again. And it did not ask me for information (such as Barter account expenses, supplies, web etc). I wasted hours trying to find and enter information. I've used Turbotax for years. This was one of the worst glitches I've had. Not sure that I'll use TT again next year.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An overall "Okay" Experience Overall, Turbotax is a helpful program and cost effective, at first. I found that along the way, in order to ensure my taxes were done correctly, I had to pay extra, and then more, and more and more, until finally - when advertised as "$0" it was almost $150 to file. I had to file my return late due to a bug in the program that would NOT let me continue moving forward. I could not access customer service line, or online representatives, and basically had to start my return all over again. This was not a 5 minute process, rather, over an hour. So I became delayed in the process of filing, and now I feel as though I've had a bad experience - once again - with filing my taxes.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Service! Earl did a wonderful job answering all my questions. He even helped me file electronically and was extremely patient as I walked through the process. Great job!
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better stronger faster i used a downloaded software because efile is no longer available for last years return. come file time was still encouraging me to efile. obviously shouldn't waste my time and confuse people like that. anytime one clicks for more info it brings us to your website question page instead of the exact info we need, seems lazy starting my return there should have been an option to login to your website and transfer my info to save time.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filing Pros!! I really like TurboTax. I have used it for years and will continue. Brings in last years forms and allows easy update. I had an issue this year with my K-1's and their Team fixed the problem and made it easy to file. I will definitely use them next year !!
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous and Easy! Turbo tax is so easy to use! I was able to fill out everything efficiently. I originally wanted to file by mail and had some issues with the IRS not receiving it. 8 weeks later I called Turbo Tax and the representative helped me go back and e-file at no additional cost. Great customer service, and we got it sent! Thanks Turbo tax!
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from State E-file didn't work State E-file took my money but wouldn't e-file. The help line would not unlock and insisted on access to my computer. Need to contest the credit card charge.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax We have been using turbo tax for over 10 years. The transfer of our previous tax return information is quick and easy which saves time. We can also do other family members and keep the information year to year.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is starting to fail me This doesn't take into consideration a prior year refund or payments that actually did effect the tax year that is being worked. Also, it's not so friendly when needed to go back to delete or adjust entries made.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous It is the best way to efile your return. Look no further for a solution to your filing needs.
Date published: 2019-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Have used Turbo Tax for a few years..Easy to use and you are able to call up your past forms so no need to keep a file.
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible Terrible experience this year, I have never owed taxes before and turbo tax always helped me get my biggest refund, all of sudden this year I owe over $4K this is simply ridiculous, I am using a professional next year, you have let me down!
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from harder than necessary I had finished everything and was exploring if i needed to file the foreign earned income exemption. As it turned out I didn't, but had already experimented with filling it out to see if the app would correctly handle the info, which it did not/i input it unnecessarily ...any way, deleting the form/removing the inputed info was very problematic. it took over an hour before the app would erase the document. the propmts from the app didn't work at all even after repeated attempts to do as prompted. It was really frustrating. In the end I succeeded, I hope. Really could have used better programing around this issue....
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes Filing Easier overall a good app for filing your taxes
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got R Done !!! Excellent program, easy to follow and understand the verbiage.
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best way to do your taxes I've been using TurboTax since 1998. It seems to get better every year. I don't need a CPA.
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing, helpful and so easy to use GREAT TOOL and VERY USER-FRIENDLY!!!
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Partially incomplete While we found the questions to be overly intrusive sometimes we understand the reasons for them. Our biggest complaint was the absence of a question on whether we filed the form for an extension ( which we had done in March ) - so we had to state that we filed estimated taxes.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting Health insurance area was a little confusing, but did figure it out.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & Fast This program walk you right through everything. I have been using it for about 3 years and love it!
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, fast, complete, reliable. I've been doing my tax returns with Turbo Tax for about as many years as they've been out. It really simplifies everything because of all the guidance provided and all the potential forms are there.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Deceiving Paid over $130 to file my taxes when all I selected was the $49.99 option. Just expect to pay more than what think just to give the government documents they are requesting from you or else you go to jail.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Deluxe Good product. Reliable and straightforward data entry. Good explanations.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2018 return This is a great and easy way to file and keep track of your filing annually. Ive used turbo tax since 2013. the only thing i dont like is the forced upgrades for specific modifications to my tax information. I would rather apply these myself manually but the program only allows you to input with the choice and charge of an upgrade.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engineer I enjoy the ease of filing but do not like the deduction forms because it is hard to see the whole form.
Date published: 2019-06-12
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70276, tr_131295
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 101ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.