1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.4 out of 5 average

(4.4/5 | 202981 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 6 hours of my life because I had more than 1 w2 IK always end up paying to file my taxis. when its advertized for free.
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I was under the impression that paying extra for this turbotax plan was going to help my file late taxes. Each time I've tried to file the program closes down. I don't know if my card is getting charged each time. I also don't understand why I keep getting an "it looks like we hit a snag" message. Please get the bugs fixed.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible Assistance I was trying to apply a Federal over payment from the prior year as a refund and I entered the amount on the tax return 1040 and the software said it was an error. In my efforts there was no information on how to correct the software error or comment. Totally frustrated by your product.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Have used for over a Decade I have used Turbo Tax from the beginning. I have never had a problem until this year for the 2018 tax year. I could not get my new computer to read the files from the older operating system therefore had to start from scratch. Big negative! First time ever I had to file for an extension. Turbo Tax deactivated my account because I let it sit loo long without activity. I had no idea this would happen. Major problem at the last minute when it was time to file. After years of no problems this year was horrific from start to finish. Enough so I'm not sure I'll use it next year. The gentleman that helped me on the phone was wonderful but 24 - 48 hours for a response cannot help when the post office closes in less than an hour.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sales Director Very easy to use.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2018 Turbotax 2018 Turbo Tax was not as easy or intuitive as previous versions.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useful -- if you're already a tax expert Pros: Turbotax allowed me to complete my tax returns myself Cons: 1) As someone who is not a professional tax preparer, I do not find Turbotax very user-friendly. In particular, the explanations of the interview questions are frequently unhelpful. Typically when I don't understand whether a rule referenced in an interview question applies to me I read the accompanying explanation, which gives one or two examples of when the rule might apply but doesn't give a non-example or any guidelines explaining why it wouldn't; generally my situation doesn't match the example situations, but I'm left wondering if the difference between them is significant enough to disqualify me. Without more information, and without the time to do significant research, I'm left to guess. (Before Intuit publishes Turbotax each year, they should have laypeople read their explanations and give feedback.) In addition, once Smart Check is happening the error messages tend to be written in the (rather opaque) language of the tax form instead of the language of the interview -- something like, "Box 26c (RFQ) requires a value from 0-5" -- and the (presumably non-expert) user must figure out how to interpret this. When this happens I usually have to go to the tax form itself to figure out what's going on, which makes me wonder why I shelled out the money for a program that's supposed to interpret those forms for me. 2) I found the timing of the error checks very peculiar. I prepared returns for both my spouse and me and then ran them both through Smart Check several times; no errors were found. I subsequently went through all the steps to e-file the returns, and was in the process of submitting them. Only then did Turbotax announce that it had found an omission (in both returns) of some information (which it presented to me in a very opaque manner, as I mentioned above, and which I had to puzzle through on the tax form itself). I don't understand why a) Turbotax had failed to ask me for that information (about the taxpayer's spouse's state residency status) in the interview stage, and b) why it had failed to notice that omission during any of the earlier error checks. It was just a stroke of luck that I wasn't submitting at my usual time of 11:58 PM: one trusts that when the Smart Check says the taxes are error-free, that the taxes are error-free. 3) It is annoying to have to enter information from paper forms box-by-box into Turbotax -- there is a huge chance of error, both through mistyping and through mismatches between what boxes are on the form and what fields are on the screen. While Turbotax has the option of importing from banks and brokerage houses, I often find that this function does not work. I would like to see a function added to the program that would use my computer's webcam to scan forms from my financial institutions and transfers the data directly into my tax return. 4) I find it frustrating that there is no way of knowing whether I actually did my taxes correctly. I got a really big refund and my spouse owed a lot of money, and I don't know if that's due to the intricacies of the tax code or because I messed up somewhere; Turbotax didn't find any errors, but that doesn't mean I didn't make any. Turbotax checks my work, but it is limited by what I have inputted: if I did not understand a question correctly, or if I interpreted a tax situation incorrectly, the program won't know that I messed up. I realize that there any computer program is limited by user input, but either a) the program should be more helpful in the way it collects my input, or b) the program should do a better job of educating me as I go through it so that I can do a better job of determining whether I used it correctly, or both. Otherwise, I'm left wanting to take my Turbotax returns to a professional tax preparer to check my work for me, which defeats the whole purpose of using Turbotax. 5) Intuit makes a big deal about how Turbotax is good because it gets users a big refund. I think this is somewhat deceitful: I think what makes a tax program good is whether it results in users submitting a correct return. A big refund doesn't help me if I messed up and have to give it back. By advertising big refunds, Intuit is basically avoiding the question of quality control.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thank you turbotax I appreciated being able to have a one-on-one conversation (live) on the phone with an experienced business tax accountant with over 20 years of experience. She was fantastic. I appreciated how streamlined your system is online and the user friendly clicking and reviewing. Thanks for the difference you make causing successful filings of returns across our great nation. Integrity present!
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stress Reliever I work in Insurance and encourage my clients to use Turbo Tax. It's much easier to navigate the newly required ACA tax information. The process cuts down on errors and the stress that goes along with it. Taxes truly become easy to navigate.
Date published: 2019-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Are The Best I LOVE Turbo's Home & Business. I have used it for years. It is like having my own professional tax consultant who leaves no stone unturned in examining my financial records. If I have a question, I am able to find an answer. If I need an explanation, forms or publications are available. It is user-friendly and, for a few extra dollars, stands by the results. And it takes all the pain out of filing by its e-filing capability. I cannot say enough good things about Intuit and TurboTax.
Date published: 2019-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TurboTax 2018 Application Occasionally after selecting the "Continue" button, the next page would not be what was expected. Selected "Back" and then selected "Continue" again, then the page that was expected would appear. Maybe occurred half a dozen times.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service tURBO tAX WALKS YOU THRU EVERY STEP OF THE WAY AND EXPLAINS ALL THEIR PRODUCTS
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from helped with my refund they were a great help
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Support Service The Live Tax accounts and CPA's are the way to go with ease and confidence of my return being correct.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from efile didn't work Although I efiled before the midnight EDT deadline, it was apparently not available to me when I did it, and I did not realize this until the next morning! Not good, Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Minor issues remain with Guided State Submissions. Had to go to forms but not a huge issue. Access to forms with errors or missing information was good.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesnt Show the Forms during Preparation I had no idea what forms or anything was going to be filed until after I paid. I wont buy the product next year.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not bad I feel like i still need to take a class in order to fully understand all of this...
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboCharged with TurboTax As with each year I have used TurboTax, it was easy to use. An additional great feature is the carry-over feature that allows information from the prior year's filings to be carried over to the current year. Its a time saver because it eliminates having to enter information that has not changed from the previous year.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2018 Morton Return Your software will combine entries and give you a composet value and not allow you to check each specific entry. Also the new tax code is quite different and more info would help with why you get or don't get certain deductions
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cannot e-transfer info from QB Cannot e-transfer QB business file into turbotax. Also the whopper state fee to e-file (higher every year) at the state level and State returns requires more complicated information with little to know explanation from turbotax
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Experience This newest version was to complicated to use and when you entered information in the home business section it duplicated it in the personal section. Even though I caught it getting it fixed was very difficult. Not as easy as the pass years.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEst Just Keeps Getting Better and Better I have used TurboTax for no less than ten years running. IT JUST GETS EASIER and more thorough every year! Help dialogue screens are ALWAYS most helpful; I use the "walk me through my return" option and the interaction gets easier and more effective each year !!!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple and easy! I tried the live help feature and the CPA helped solved my problem. thanks!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A LIFE-SAVER TurboTax made my taxes simple and easy. I know that sounds canned, but it couldn't be more true. I have had a tough year and had to file an extension, and TurboTax even handled that for me!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from used to be great now frustrating. gets stuck a lot used to love but makes a lot of mistakes an its always says using turbotax eh. also gave a email that was not mine!!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple Easy to use. Step by step process and clear instructions. Saving all your work automatically.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hmmmm I filed with TurboTax last year yet this year they didn’t seem to know what I paid I have my taxes done last year , nor many other important details. Then this return was rejected as I was not instructed to around particular numbers in the return. All the while, I was charged for all the upgraded expert services... insert eye roll here. So far it does not feel worth it.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy refund! I had a bad experience with a tax prep service the one and only time I used them. So I was doing my taxes on my own for many years. Discovering TurboTax change my experience to a much more positive one. Wish I had found you sooner!!! I'm not missing deductions. Entry of data is easy. the whole process is less painful. Thank you TurboTax!
Date published: 2019-10-16
  • y_2019, m_10, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70638, tr_132337
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 322ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

* Important Offer Details and Disclosures

TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.

  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed/ for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.

  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.

  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.

  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. For the Assist & Review product, if your return requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. For the Full Service product, the tax expert will sign your return as preparer. Administrative services may be provided by assistants to the tax expert. Payment by federal refund is not available when a tax expert signs your return. On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.

  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.

  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.

  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.

  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.

TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99.

  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Audit Support Guarantee:
  • If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.

  • TurboTax Free Guarantee:
  • $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.

  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).

TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • Installation requirements: Product activation required via Internet. Install on up to 5 of your computers. Download option requires free online Intuit account. You must accept the TurboTax License Agreement to use this product (www.TurboTax.com/softwarelicense). Not for use by paid preparers.

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.

  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2018 TurboTax products.

  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2017 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2017 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.