1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 198130 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not happy I filed my taxes the first day that I was able to. It told me that the State wasn't ready and that it would file when the State was ready. Never filed it.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful I need assist in y unemployment, tax return , and they give me the rigth info and help e go true all my taxes, excellent.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from eFile I submitted several times and was rejected due to a mis-matched AGI from prior year (2016). However, when I called in to TT and talked to a very helpful person they said to just enter zero in the AGI due to the timing of my 2016 return being filed via paper. Hoping this fixes the issue. A more explicit message about the AGI failure would have avoided a call to TT.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from organized User friendly, great explanations, and easy access forward or backward through screens. Pop up information boxes were helpful. I feel for my 59 bucks the state taxes should be included and not another 49 bucks. No way to downgrade back to basic package once I had upgraded to Deluxe which I am not sure I really needed. Loved being able to add info electronically and work at my own pace.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from printing not so great Once Turbo Tax rocked with everything! Seems now Turbo Tax itself is still great but the printing is a pain in the rear now! You did something funky with the printer functions and I do not like it!
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made Filing a Breeze TurboTax made filing both state and federal taxes very easy. I've been a user of this product for several years. What I like most is that TurboTax transfers a lot of data from the previous tax year to help make filing go a lot faster.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Service! Amazing service! Have used Turbotax the past four years with no problems.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used Tubo Tax for as long as it exist! My late husband, who was a CPA and an international tax expert, did not like doing our personal return. When he did, it took him "forever". I initiated using Tubotax and he was extremely pleased with the end product.The first two years,he verified the forms and figures to make sure all was correct and then enjoyed the reprieve.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ruined my Extension I tried to file an extension through Turbo Tax. I filed it on April 17th. I received a message from Turbo Tax 2 days later saying my extension was rejected. When I phoned, all the tech could say was "I'm sorry". It was too late to file. Tech could not explain why my extension was rejected.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Be Careful Which Platform You Download Was not aware I had ordered online desktop version vs cloud versions of prior years. The desktop version didn't have access to my prior years. Later going back to work on my return, it was missing so I contacted Intuit who helped locate my desktop version after one hour it was missing again one week later. This time I used the cloud and reenterd all information.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Wasted printing documents and saving info to file folders twice. Have to hand correct tax documents info, that was input correctly. Overrides are not available to repair. What a shame!
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review Turbo tax is awesome! I love it and it help get me through a tough jam. I am sold on turbo tax. The only thing that is missing is when you have a question about an item. Other than that, I am sold on Turbo tax. Thank you, Happy Client.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought I had filed my taxes I like the turbotax filing but for folks like me that think they have completed the process but haven't, it would be nice to receive a text or email that the filing process is not completed. I thought is was transmitted 4-4-2018. I just transmitted it today 8-7-2018!
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Been using Turbotax forever
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally submitted those pesky taxes1 I highly recommend the product and will use it again!
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from why two websites?? Infuriating web architecture! The dual-website login accounts: https://myturbotax.intuit.com https://accounts.intuit.com/ especially after so many years! This issue makes me very worried about my privacy and security!! Amy Januskis
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo tax is the best This service is well worth every penny. Thank God for this service.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from EXPENSIVE I use Turbo Tax because my files are saved with them. For ease of use. It cost me $150+ to file my taxes (disclosed in the fine print). That is how much I would have paid a live human to do them for me! Im a little sick, like I've been duped. YUCK
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expert Help REALLY Helpful That's a great feature of using TurboTax. When I got stuck, the expert helped me figure it out quickly.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Program and People The program is easy to use and works very well, it froze once and when I contacted customer service they were very helpful and kind and solved my issue quickly.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy I had some trouble filing but I was able to use the live chat and read the directions. Very helpful.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Less and less transparent I've used Turbo Tax from just about the beginning. Recently I moved to the online version but I find there's less support and transparency than when I purchased the software. My particular annoyance is that it's more and more difficult to get to actual forms, which is sometimes necessary to get a full understanding of what information is requested. You need a well labeled button that says go to form for the immediate form and to view forms for the whole return as its being developed. Plus side, I needed technical help because of a glitch that checked 2 boxes that I'm certain I didn't check (again, ability to see the form might have prevented the problem). The rep I worked with was very helpful, said she needed a follow up and would call back and did so with the solution. Don't know if I will continue with TT next year.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and easy service We use turbo tax due to its accuracy for all of our deductions with medical, children, donations and many more. With our busy lifestlye and light bookkeeping, turbo tax aides us in filing a strong, legit return without questioning of getting an audit. Out of the 8 years we've been married filing jointly, turbo tax has been solid for us and will continue to use them.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to trransmitt I have pre printed forms, but no way to attach to files.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I was utterly petrified to do my taxes! I totally feel like a pro and am extraordinary happy I finally delved into something that was causing an extreme amount of stressed! I am confident with this whole program. Thank you, Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Great It took me awhile but it got me through the stress of moving from NY to VA.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done Gets the job done.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you! This amazing software just made my difficult return such a breeze and helped me find additional items I would have missed prior
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Time Saver and Money Saver There is no question that TurboTax saves me a lot of time (by properly updating all required forms) and money (from using a paid preparer). Its weaknesses are that every year I spend a lot of time making K-1s fit into its formats and correcting entries for my state taxes. It is a necessity, but still has its opportunities for improvement.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to do any type of review All I want to do is review my return and obtain a copy of page 1 of my 1040. This can not be done. I have to print out the document, then scan it in order to be able to use this document for my purposes. What a pain. Why can't I just save a copy of page 1 electronically? Very frustrating product to use as you can not deviate at all from their process to get you to the end where you are prompted for more services that they want to sell you.
Date published: 2018-08-05
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80451, tr_117630
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.