1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 201381 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I have used turbotax for years and the only time I have hated my tax season was when I have not used them. I will never try and do that again.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from was able to complete glad I could do it!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Lots of Help Best way to file taxes, with lots of guidance and the best built in help. Checks for errors and files electronically. For US citizens living in foreign countries, all of whom have to pay US taxes, please add the ability to pay for Turbo Tax and to pay for Intuit audit protection service with credit cards that have foreign addresses. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I filed Electronically for 2017. It failed! I filed 2017's 1040 electronically, using Premier. The IRS says now that I didn't file !! So I try to e-file again, and your system disallows it! You say you're closed for e-filing for the year 2017. It was YOUR FAULT, not mine. You should allow me to e-file!!
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made complex easy Been using it for years and plan to continue
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent assistance I would recommend this service to everyone. I had several questions this year because my taxes were more complicated due to my parents passing. The four CPA who contacted me were extremely helpful and patient with me. Thank you so very much. We did it!!
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lost soul Confusing and not very helpful. It takes way to long
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from i filed my return a week or two before it was due. I finished it and it was confirmed that it was done. However, I noticed that I never received EITHER refund. I logged back in today to find that it didn't go through. I know that I completed mine so where and how did this fail? Not happy...
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do It Yourself It took a little bit of time to figure it out but it was well worth it. Also getting online help with a 17 year veteran CPA really helped also.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from when you have to change something it's not that easy to get where you want to and sometime info you entered is saved and sometimes you must enter or check again. I had a situation where I got a rmd but wanted part to go to a charity the broker only sent 1 check I returned it and they issued the 2 checks requested then sent a 1099r for the total of the 3 checks and form 5498 to offset the extra money but there is no way to put that offset into turbo tax. you want me to get your product for next year and I would but it probably costs more than when a store has it on sale so why spend the extra money
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Late e-filing A month after I THOUGHT I had e-filed and my return didn't show up, I went back in to turbotax and saw that I had to update the application. What a bummer!!!!!! There could not have been a very big notice that my e-file had not really worked or I would have fixed it. Grrrrrrrrrr :(
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eat what you kill small partnerships... Two things are confusing. Item 1. The grouping of categories in the "step by step" doesn't track the form. For example, "meals" is part of 1065 line 20, but broken out separately during "step by step." Likewise, interest income of a business is handled very differently in "step by step" vs on the form. The summary numbers on the "step by step" page should be the numbers that will go on the form. Item 2. "Special allocations." TurboTax makes it VERY difficult for cases where each partner is silo'ed, eat what you kill, not percentage. I think what should happen is -- -- step 1 -- the "allocations" question should allow the answer "various" rather than forcing a number. -- step 3 -- if the allocations were "various," give me a table. Each row is one item on the K1. Column 1 is the label, for example, "line 20Z Section 199A income" Column 2 is the sum total that must be reached. Column 3 is partner 1, Column 4 is partner 2, etc. Then let me allocate the dollars among the partners, and you can cross-check me in real time to make sure that I have the dollars fully allocated.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall good but I have Quick books online and Turbo Tax business won't talk to QB online> Need to be able to import from QB online to TT business.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The representative that helped me on the phone I don't know her name but she was tremendously helpful and helping me with a situation that I was actually freaking out about. I thought a check was coming in the mail and it was stolen but it wasn't. I didn't do what I was supposed to do cuz I never did it that way before. I always e-file and have never asked for a paper check before. I will never do that again! Thanks to the person that helped me!
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW It was so easy, and I did not have to take the time to do all the calculating I had done when trying to do myself. I felt assured that I was not missing anything. I could not believe that I got over a thousand more back than I had figured. By paying the $19.99 I knew that I had it on file and would not have to be looking through all my papers.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Download version 2017 worked great, glad I used it. only complaint is the high price $119
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Block I had to switch from HR Block's software mid-return this year as it couldn't handle my complicated tax situation in which I sold a property...they wanted to charge a ton more for someone to do it for me. Turbotax had no problem with it!
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Live Self-Employed I used H&R Block, but did Not get the Information & Detailed Help that I got with Turbo Tax Live. Especially Loved the Help I got with Self-Employed. I was able to talk to a Live CPA even After I filed. Can't say enough about Turbo Tax "Live" Self-Employed. Every single CPA I talked to was Very Friendly, Very Patient, Very Thorough and Very Helpful with Extra Information.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MBJ Experience I have used Home and Business for many years. I had so many difficulties, I may not use it again. I believe they had not worked out all the kinks before releasing this newest version. I have the latest version of my iMac 10.14 .4. Turbo Tax is supposed to make your job easier, not harder.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get refund it is a great app to use for busy people
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Screen match not good The screen function page too small. Had to contact help to buy state program. Took a lot of time and not available on East Coast Time. A special offer for you! Send me next years program before you publish and I will point out the problems. I am your average older accounting grad. This can be made better!
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing He help me very fast and easy,
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome process I was pleased with quick process with Turbo tax and the side information tracks were pretty awesome as well. Thanks TurboTax for a smooth tax transition 10+
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from my refund was not filed I was billed and the screen said it went through. when no money was taken by the IRS I logged on to check what was going on and it said pending... why bill me and say congratulations your taxes were filed if they were not filed.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inconsistent UI Besides the inconsistent UI (especially whether 'none of the above' is required or optional, but many others), it will update my forms AFTER I've filed and not tell me what forms were updated, AND, when I've opened a prior year's return just for viewing, will update AND mark it as 'edited'! Even when I've made NO CHANGES!
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Price It cost more to file my taxes then what my refund total was. That's just ridiculous. I had to put the cost of the service on a credit card just so I could file. You guys make it easy file, no complaint there whatsoever. It would just be nice if it was more affordable. Especially since I didn't have anything special with my taxes. Pretty straight forward
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good, but could be better As above, AND the help request got me into an unhelpful and frustrating circuit, asking for a sign in, and then not letting me ask the question
Date published: 2019-05-14
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70231, tr_131134
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 116ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.