1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 197603 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of submission I liked that it asked me questions that I simply had to answer. It was very user friendly and help to streamline an otherwise difficult task.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reassurance: Did It Right! I felt more secure, and got immediate answers to my questions on a side bar. This was the easiest tax process I have ever done, and I have used TURBO tax for many years.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ok More explanation as to why im forced to upgrade my package while im doing my taxes. And i especially would have appreciated a number to contact a representative in case of questions. Thank You
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great program, but... The best program out there. But the MISC-99 screen review often asks for information, but does not make it clear when there is more than one MISC-99 to be corrected.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Service Overall satisfied, but I have spent the same amount (Approximately) for the past several years, and had a personal CPA do all the work, The value is not all that great, but it was easy to use
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from live system did not work I was instructed that I couldn't speak to an expert for 4 days. I was under the impression the support was "live"
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Experience Excellent experience. Work on making the review forms easier to work with. I did not realize I had the ability to scroll down and look at the form.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better then H&R I went to H&R to check to see if they could do better. Sadly, the folks working there are not experts. I walked out after a few min there. I like that TurboTax also offers tax coverage just encase you get turbotax IRS audit protection. The only difficulty I had was deleting my state tax. I've been overseas for 10 years, so I didn't need that. I had to go into the form view and delete it there for it to give me the option to delete it in the application.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely helpful the help tabs are great and very helpful
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The woman I spoke to on the phone was super helpful and super nice. I just wish it didn't cost so much. I'm ending up getting 86 bucks back because TurboTax costed me 219. Crazy! That's more than when I used to use the old guy at H and R Block that my parents use. I do TurboTax because customer service is great, but the cost will be a big factor for me for next year. I also don't understand why it costs 40 to do state return :(
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for basic stuff In general TurboTax is good, but it is not very well suited for things that are off the normal path. An example is the calculation of the foreign withhoding tax credit where TT is reducing the amount that can be credited for things that are clearly not related to the foreign income. There are also other quirks, why does TT think that I have farm income when I have stated that I have none (it does not affect the calculations, but it adds noise in the tax return).
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I actually got back more than I expected! TurboTax puts you in charge of your own refund and breaks it down to what you are entitled to. I definitely learned I received more tax breaks for things I thought I wouldn't otherwise be compensated for
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor support I never received an indication from TurboTax last year or this year that I was using the wrong program for an S Corp and as a result had to take an extension and will be fined because my S Corp 1120S return was late.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Time consuming Turbo Tax should ask most questions up front and not during the step by step system/(or work on selected tasks ), because it waste a lot of time re-answering the same irrelevant questions while reviewing, redoing, correcting or adding numbers.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I will use it again and have enjoyed using it. Just wish there was a little help to answer some questions that just have to much legal talk for me to know what I'm doing.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 taxes I would like to see the dual screens of previous years taxes while entering current year.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dissatisfied with So Called Live product I paid extra for Live with the expectation that I would be able to get advice in real time, only to be told it would be two days before I received a response. I feel I was overcharged for a service that did not work. I would not recommend this product to any friends or colleagues.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So difficult I couldn't get it filed in time my first year filing medical, etc. and didn't know what to do. Not as user friendly as prior years.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018, after I filed for extension by mail I send a form by mail to IRS for an extension (Form 4868). and then I collected all data I needed to file my Taxes 1040 of 2018, with TURBO TAX. It was very easy to introduce manually all the forms that I have, like 199's etc. Turbo Tax had the right questions for completing all forms
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Online edition is terrible It's so tiring to have to go back through the interview questions back-and-forth to make changes. I wish there was some sort of an expert mode that would allow me to just update or change my responses in one screen. For example, it's tiring to click into depreciation and then have it asked you do you want to make changes to depreciation? Of course I do why would I click it if I didn't!
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind I've used TurboTax the past few years. I usually do it on my phone, using SnapTax, but this year I did it on my computer. I like that as long as I have my documents from each of the places I've dealt with over the past year, then I can confidently click through the process and know that I have done everything I need to do. If I forget or lose a form, that's on me, so no problems with TurboTax there. If I have an extra document that they didn't ask for, I just search it on the sidebar and they can take me straight to that form. Intuit also has the possibility of pulling records straight from some employers and services, making it even easier to complete my taxes, because they can fill my forms automatically. At the end of the process when I was looking at my return, I can click through a series of regular-language questions that help me understand exactly how everything was calculated. I end the experience feeling very confident about my filing.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from How about a redo?Yes Been using TurboTax for about 10 years. It hasn't changed or improved over the last decade. Yes, there is the adage, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." However, if it ain't that good, why not fix it, esp with tax reform. If I'm not mistaken, the operating system is still somewhat dos based. I mentioned endless loops. For example this year I tried to complete the Foreign Tax Exemption, but I knew I didn't qualify. Even though I said I didn't want you to consider either of our incomes, still form 2555 was not removed & wouldn't let me move forward. I had to go into form view & delete the form. I mention this for 2 reasons. One, I hope to qualify for Foreign Tax Exemption, so I hope to "fix" that module so it's more understandable. Two, this is not the first time I've gotten into endless loops where I had to "trick" the system by deleting forms or entering negative numbers to get the balance back to zero. I hope with tax reform, TurboTax will take the leap to the 21st century and come out with a redo. I know the launch maybe difficult next year, but that is expected whether you rebuild the system from the ground up or not, and you will be a better platform for the future.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduced Taxes Owed
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Free I was trying to use your "free" service. Then it said you could not file without payment. I paid, and now you are saying you cannot file electronically. I want a refund.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nervous, but was quickly soothed. I was very nervous before i started. I have moved out of the country and usually am able to sit down with an accountant. I am used to handing all my papers over, signing them and not having a single worry. Doing my own taxes for the first time seemed as if it would be easier to climb the Himalayas! I feared making a mistake and getting a penalty...the IRS got Capone, they'd surely get me if i made an error. Within the first 10 minutes, i knew i was afraid in vain. I simply input all my information, answered honestly of course and with two calls for help from an expert, i was able to file my extension and later file. Only glitch was that i had to use chrome when speaking with the Expert Help. They couldn't see something on their end and it helped immediately when i switched off of Safari. Not an inconvinience, just wanted to mention that it was the hardest thing of my whole transaction. The expert help had a good answer to each question i had emailed me documents i could review for more information. I will be back with TurboTax next year... If there is still an IRS to file with.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAAA DAAAAAA Awesome, to say the least. And, I always say the least!
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAAA DAAAAAA awesome, to say the least, and I always say the least!
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & efficient have to answer non pertinent questions but then perhaps I would have misses something if didn't do these
Date published: 2018-06-15
  • y_2018, m_6, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80279, tr_117298
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.