1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.4 out of 5 average

(4.4/5 | 202073 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review Costs a little more, but worth it.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Filing Have used Turbotax for both personal and business tax preparation for many years. The software makes it easy to prepare your taxes.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from AGI, 5 Digit PIN, JUST E-FILE 3 times now I have Tried to E-FIle and was rejected. AGI the first time, 5 digit pin the last 2 times, why? I just want to file my Taxes in the allotted time. Help is non-existent unless you want to be upsold. Just want to file my taxes.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turboxtax is an excellent tool to use, I've used it for the past 4 years and have had no problems.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use Tried the other popular tax preparation software and found it cumbersome. Tried Turbo Tax and am amazed at how easy and accurate it is. I'm an accountant and used to just fill out the tax forms. The problem was having to lookup the tax laws and figuring out how to apply them hoping I was correct.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful As my taxes become more complicated I have difficulty understanding the guidance provided. Intuit should offer multiple explanations/more definitions to help the ordinary tapayer fill it out correctly. Still a good tool, but not as easy to use as in the past
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good for person not doing a lot of corporate taxes Very good overall tax program. Tracks depreciation and carryovers, NOL and contribution carryovers. This program helps you avoid mistakes .
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from make extension form avalilable Bought TurboTax software, if the first thing I want to do is to fill out an extension form, I can not. Your form always has the water mark of "do not file" in the shade unless I spent a lot of time to start the routine information. Every year I have to go on line to print the extension form instead of getting it from TurboTax. Please make this convenient change to support your client. Thanks.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy Turbo Tax is the best program out there. We had a complicated issue this year with our business, one of our partners left, but turbo tax handled the situation with only a few headaches.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still good but not prefect there is a glitch in NYS step-by-step requiring attachments when there are already there. Can't file without attachment and files it's taking are not what is saved.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used TurboTax for years I have used TurboTax Premier for many, many years. Makes doing the return easy and great tech support
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Stuff Liked the process especially through T.R. Price discounts.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The CPA who called me was very courteous and helpful. I appreciate her efforts with some unusual problems.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my tax review what a powerful piece of software. In my past years I worked as a salesman and client coordinator for Dynatax and you would not believe the problems we had getting the software correct each year. Accountants loved us and hated us!
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taxes filed I have used turbo tax, personal and business programs for several years and love it. Very easy to use.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick & Easy Used for over 20 years. Have seen nothing better.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The screens concerning health care coverage were a bit obscure. A dependent with no income and on Obamacare for four months out of the year, did not receive a Form 1095 of any variety A,B, or C. It took considerable time and energy to discover I should have answered NO to the query re: health care insurance in TT. In as much a the dependent was required to apply for coverage through the Marketplace it seemed natural to answer the query "yes" not knowing that the coverage was placed through Blue Cross as an independent provider to the Marketplace. This topic did not need to be so cryptic. My motto: Eschew Obfuscation.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for what matters most The behind the scenes calculations and research is what matters most. Difficult sometimes when making changes to have to go back through so many screens. Would appreciate more explanation of how itemized deductions are now limited and the standard is better for us. These are minor issues.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Good As It Gets Overall the questions and directions along with occasional comments and suggestions make TT one of the easiest, if not the easiest ways to do your own tax returns. However if you have a specific question clicking the help link usually takes you to the Intuit homepage. Typing my questions in Google search yielded way better results with minimum hassle.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO SIMPLE AND EASY NOTHING I DIDN'T LIKE. TURBO TAX IS AWESOME!! TAKES THE WORRY AND DREAD OUT OF FILING YOUR TAXES.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I learn so much I feel like turbotax gets better and better every year. This year was my first time filing for an extension which was a complete breeze. There is a lot of information integration which makes it super simple so I don't have to feel like a data entry clerk.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tax app as always! I've been using turbotax for more than 12 years now.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Basically forced to pay deluxe Next time I'm going to H&R Block and having someone do this for me. Not only do I have to do it myself but this site nickel and dimes you for everything. Was forced to pay for Deluxe just because I filed for a tax extension while I was out of the country. I had to essentially pay an extra $30 from Plus to file my taxes for an extra E DOCUMENT. Total nonsense. I will pay someone the same $60 next year and not have my time wasted doing it myself.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even Better Even better this year with clearer deduction fields, faast calculations, and easy to change any amounts already placed.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent experience First time doing my taxes alone was pretty scary, but what a breeze Turbotax is to use. You can go back and check items, it will tell you where you have an error! Fabulous Experience, highly recommend!
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best way to file I have used TurboTax to file my returns through the years. It seems to get easier and more intuitive so I will continue using it in the future. Thank you!
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Good, some minor issues Had much difficulty because transitions were not smooth. Had to repeat so much if I went back to change something. Did not upload my previous year Turbo Tax files even though they are all still on the computer.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BALANCE SHEET EVERY YEAR I USE TURBO TAX, SAME ISSUES. BALANCE SHEET DOESN'T BALANCE AND NO HELP WITH FINDING OUT WHY.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient My CPA was excellent.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great software product. Great product at a reasonable price. I have been using Turbo Tax for business for 6 years now and have no problem.
Date published: 2019-09-10
  • y_2019, m_9, d_16, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70401, tr_131633
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

* Important Offer Details and Disclosures

TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.

  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed/ for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.

  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.

  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.

  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. For the Assist & Review product, if your return requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. For the Full Service product, the tax expert will sign your return as preparer. Payment by federal refund is not available when a tax expert signs your return. On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.

  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.

  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.

  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.

  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.

TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99.

  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.

  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.

  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.

  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.

  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.