1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 135103 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't take long. Got more back, it found credits i didn't know I had.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2018 Returns My wife should have had a contribution for self only over 55 of $4,450. Turbo tax identified contribution of $4,400. When I adjusted to $4,400. turbo tax identified amount as $4,350. I moved back to original. I would suggest a summary of changes from previous year. Would have been helpful especially this year!
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrated with on-line version I ended up using the online version instead of the downloadable desktop version that I had previously used for the last 7 years. As I found out from customer support later, because of this decision I did not have online access to the data from my prior years. In addition, I was unable to access the actual 1040 forms until just prior to submission when I was able to view and print them. Most importantly, I was unable to edit any data directly on the forms. In addition, at some point TurboTax determined that I may be subject to an underpayment penalty which made no sense to me. After three calls to customer support, I finally found someone who was able to track down how the application made that decision and correct a value I mistakenly input to a confusing question. Furthermore I did not appreciate the frequent pop-ups suggesting I spend more money to buy additional services of little interest to me. Bottom line, I suggest making it obvious what the pros and cons are for the online vs desktop versions and provide a fallback to a downloadable desktop version that is smart enough to determine the complexity of your situation and advise you of the $ implications prior to payment.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TurboTax Premier Online Ok, this was my first experience with the on-line version. In sum, I don't like it. Main reason is it confines you to the interview, you can't access the form(s) directly to enter data. So, you really don't know where you are or if the forms are accurate until you pay and can see then see the actual forms. Of course, you still can't modify the form(s) directly, but instead must delve back into the interview swamp and puzzle your way thru it to find how to make the corrected entry in the form. Very cumbersome, and may not be worth the $20 saved over the download version. Also, if you have home mortgage interest on a refinanced loan and used any of the loan for other than home improvements or original balance, be prepared for a struggle to get it right. The interview was ok, but then the "review" scuttled the correct interest figure, and I had to go back into the interview to correct it. The subsequent review went fine, so go figure. Your mileage may vary.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was Not As Satisfied as the year prior I liked the fact that Turbo Tax was easy to use so much so that this is now my 5th year using Turbo Tax. I didn't like the fact that I was forced to buy Turbo Tax Deluxe So I could File the Information about my Children's Child Care. I felt as though I was being penalized for filing information that I have the right to file as a parent all because the form is not available for the non deluxe version which in previous years was not the case. I do not feel I should be penalized for this. I was also unhappy with the fact that turbo tax states not only do I have to pay for it to get my tax break/ access to the tax form but it is "39.99" but what is not clear is the fact that you are not paying just 39.99 you are paying it twice once for state and once for federal. Turbo Tax was appealing to me due to the fact that I could file for free and as a single income parent of 2 I felt it was better then paying a cpa to do the job I could do myself. now that I am being forced to pay 79.99 for features I didn't want just so I can have access to a child care tax break form make me question if I should use turbo tax again.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor Even with a doubling of the standard deduction, I'm receiving much less than last year even when nothing has changed. No questions were asked about my stock losses being carried forward from the previous year, and my interest payments were entered 3 times!!! lowering my refund every time. Wasn't allowed to go back and correct
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as happy as past years I had to upgrade to the Deluxe version because I had a Schedule 1 which I could not find in my own return as I had reviewed it multiple times. Pretty upset I had to pay for an upgrade this year and it couldn't explain exactly to me why I had a Schedule 1 in my 2018 return.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Easy,but wish it was less for recent grads! This was my first year filing without a CPA and as a recent grad it was a bit intimidating. TurboTax online made it very simple, but WATCH for the hidden fee at the end for taking their fee/paying with your refund! I caught it just in time to opt for a no-charge credit card payment. TurboTax really shouldn't automatically charge for the Student Loan & Tuition form for possible tax credit, otherwise would've been free (and probably received more applicants through them).
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Math! The portions on sales tax deductions and foreign tax credits were confusing this year.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good, but also glitchy Overall, it's a good product for filing taxes on one's own. However, some parts are pretty glitchy. For example, I needed to delete something I added in the investment section, and the delete button did not work properly. It simply would not delete. Also, while I was told I would be asked about certain things later (scholarships not reported on the 1098-T), I never was. I also had to search for the 1098-T page, because it was not listed with the rest of the income/deductions. I experienced similar difficulties last year, though I can see there were marked improvements in the program this year. Hopefully next time they will properly implement everything before tax season. As an aside, I also thought the upgrade to premium was way too expensive. I use Robinhood for investing, and although I literally made pennies in profit, I still had to pay $45 for the upgrade in order to properly report. The cost in these upgrades should be scaled or something, to make them more fair. I did not get good use out of that service, but I'm still obligated to use it.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fee to steep I had a $44 dollar schedule 3 deduction that required me to pay $39.99. The fee is disproportional to the amount I saved from the deduction.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unexpected All was well until I reached an unexpected screen that says "Upgrade Now. The Free Edition doesn't handle Schedule 3. You have nonrefundable credits." I have a very simple return and I am disappointed.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Next Year Suggestions One recurring problem is that CT permits deductions for interest from federal securities, but the "pull-down" to select your state does not include CT.... so it has to be added manually. I am also concerned you have stated that a upgrade to Mojave is required for 2019. There are continuing problems with this release which may force me to use a competitors product. There is no reason to require this revision of the Mac OS!
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes me glad I'm not an accountant. I would definitely use Turbo Tax again. Their software was very helpful, I would probably have owed money had I not used this product (or paid my CPA $65 more.) Took me about 2.5 hours (Star Wars: A New Hope and credits and long enough for my wife to get annoyed with the menu music.) Asked for several annoying confirmations AT THE END, like last year's AGI and mine and my spouse's driver's license numbers. . . you already got my shoe size, pick a number you already have. Overall, pretty straightforward and user friendly, lots of "helps" available if you're confused or "fuzzy" on particulars. Claimed stuff I didn't know I could. Literally went from owing money to getting a refund.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed. I have used TurboTax for 5 years now, and my previous 4 years were a breeze. This year, however, around every corner I find a hidden fee. They forced us to needlessly upgrade, and once we got to the end, we noticed the hundreds of extra dollars they tried to tack on for dumb stuff. You have to be very careful with TurboTax's fine print, or you will pay for a lot of dumb fees. We had to backtrack a bit to remove fees that they are now charging for things that used to be free. Absolutely ridiculous.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for first time users Very useful for simple returns. Very detailed step by step guides. I use turbotax every year
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beasted Will continue using turbotax for future filings.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easier than I thought This was a great opportunity for us to do our taxes as our previous helper passed away. We were scared to do it alone but with all the explanations and help, the walk through was easy and we finished with confidence.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Stress Tax Prep User friendly, straight forward and well organized.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to File Turbo Tax is so easy, step by step through the whole process. Thank you!
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! So So EASY!!! I have been using this program for the last 4 years or so and it is simply the best for people with little tax knowledge. Thanks for all the help!
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good!, so close to great Cheaper than a CPA, with less pressure and more flexibility. However, I wish it would not ask me what I did in previous years(e.g. Did you use form ####, did you claim credit XYZ). I could have completed this in half the time (3.5 hours) had TurboTax looked at the returns I filed with them last year.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unexpected Expenses I have been using TurboTax for 5 years now. I've always used the FREE file method, well to get a deduction that I qualified for I had to upgrade to Deluxe and was charged a 39.99 fee for both Federal and State when I shouldn't be charged for having extra credits. With the 80.00 charge for Deluxe, I was charged another 39.99 for paying with my return. If you say it's free, it should be completely free for EVERYTHING and EVERY DEDUCTION.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple and painless so easy a caveman can do it
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be simpler I've used Turbo Tax for many years and each year it gets faster and easier! I highly recommend it to family, friends and anyone who needs help doing their taxes.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Returns Made Easy This is my second time filing with turbotax and I feel confident about filing because of this process. I also feel that I'm learning more about how taxes work, the purpose of returns and deductions, as well as getting the most money back.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why is TurboTax always changing I hate the constantly changing interface year over year. I have used Turbotax for 20 years. No you didn't make it better, just unfamiliar. Why cant I back out of an upgrade. I thought I had a lot of stock sales so I allowed the upgade. Then when I realized I didn't need it I couldn't back out. Not exactly Free, Free, Free.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and EASY!! this was quick and easy , I will be filing with turbo tax every year
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review 2019 I was scared at first about filing online, but it was relatively easy. I was done with everything in 1 hour and 15 minutes
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool Turbo tax was easy to use. Found the most deductions for me possible and easy to e-file return.
Date published: 2019-02-19
  • y_2019, m_2, d_23, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_49706, tr_77970
  • loc_, sid_TT_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.