TurboTax Basic

Step-by-step guidance

Why use TurboTax Basic?

  • Personalized
    to you

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Step-by-step guidance

    We'll walk you through your income taxes step by step and give you tax tips and coaching along the way, so you don't miss a thing.

  • Transfer last year's info

    Get a big head start by automatically importing your info from last year's
    TurboTax return.

  • Automatic
    W-2 import

    Save time and avoid mistakes—let us import your W-2
    from over a million
    participating companies.

  • Answers as
    you go

    Free U.S.-based product support and easy-to-understand answers
    online 24/7.

  • Deductions
    for children

    We'll find tax-saving credits like the Child Care Credit, Earned Income Credit (EIC), and child tax credit.

All TurboTax Basic
CD/Download features

All TurboTax products are easy to use & guaranteed accurate
  • Automatic W-2 import

    Save time and avoid mistakes—let us import your W-2 from over a million
    participating companies.

  • Step-by-step guidance

    We'll walk you through your income taxes step by step and give you tax tips and coaching along the way, so you don't miss
    a thing.

  • Deductions for children

    We'll find tax-saving credits like the Child Care Credit, Earned Income Credit (EIC), and child
    tax credit.

    Deductions for children
  • Transfer last year's info

    Get a big head start by automatically importing your info from last year's
    TurboTax return.

  • No tax knowledge needed

    We'll ask you easy questions about your year and fill in the right tax forms
    for you.

  • Personalized to your unique situation

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Thousands of error checks

    You won't miss a thing, we'll double-check your tax return for accuracy before you file.

  • Finish your state
    return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily.
    (Fees may apply*)

    Finish your state <br class="cgmt-visible-md" />return faster
  • Go at your own pace—
    no appointment necessary

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can always pick up where you left off.

  • Up-to-date with the latest tax laws

    When tax laws change, TurboTax changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state
    tax forms.

  • Your information is secure

    We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated
    Privacy Team.

    Your information is secure
  • See your tax refund in real time

    We display and update your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where
    you stand.

  • Free federal e-file for your fastest possible tax refund*

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal e-file is included.

  • No money out of pocket

    Skip the trip to your wallet. We can conveniently deduct any TurboTax preparation fees from your federal tax refund and have the remaining balance deposited directly into your bank account. Additional fees may apply.

  • Your tax refund, your way

    Choose to receive your tax refund by check or direct deposit to your
    bank account.

  • Answers as you go

    Free U.S.-based product support and easy-to-understand answers
    online 24/7.

    Answers as you go
Narrow your results
Select all that apply to find reviewers similar to you.
Own a business
Student
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EZ Tax return Doing my Taxes with Turbo Tax is like playing a word game on the internet. Easy.
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplest and most reliable Tax Software Why pay more to tax companies. This software is as good as it gets. Like your personal Assistance guiding you. Tax return software for Dummies :)
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax I like the ease of use. The help menu is great. Input for investment transactions is especially easy to use.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product to Use I have used Turbo Tax in the past. With all of the new tax changes and codes, tool was easy to use.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turbo tax really helped me out when I needed to send a late tax return! really appreciate their help
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love turbo tax fast and easy to use. best ever. it's better than sliced bread.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like Turbo Tax Turbo Tax was easy to use. It walked me through my taxes with ease. I've used Turbo for over 10 years and will continue to use it as long as I live.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turbo Tax Turbo Tax makes filing taxes very easy and will walk you through each process.
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Turbo Tax I like that they ask questions so you don't miss anything.
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I felt skeptical, but fell in love I don't know too much about all the tax benefits and programs that exist, all of which Turbo tax not only taught me- but made sure was applied to ensure I got the maximum refund I can get. I came in skeptical, but I am grateful I bought the product.
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax saves money Turbo Tax is very good; much nicer than having to pay 10x more for a CPA
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LoVe iT Very easy to use,I highly recommended, I have been using it for 10+ years
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for my needs Its been easy to use every year and the guide is helpful to follow
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good Turbo tax is very fast and trust. I used turbo tax erery year since 5years ago. Tubos tax is really convenience and confident for every tax year.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tax Prep program TurboTax was thorough in assisting me in completing our taxes. Its step by step process helped in gathering and entering all wages, interests, and deductions. Importing the previous year's vital information was an asset in the preparation process.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good user friendly fast & efficient easy to use. I recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax worked fine I was confused occasionally but mostly it was smooth.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Mostly easy. Some areas there was trouble importing data. Got it done.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works very well works very well, turbo tax works every year, easy, peasy...!!!
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TUrbo Tax is great Have used for years. will continue to do so. it is great
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like Turbo Tax Turbo Tax is easy to use and is a thorough tax program. Makes doing your taxes easy and fast.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use Turbo Tax from the beginning I have Use Turbo Tax from the beginning and have the greatest experience .
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the efficently of this program After several years of using this product i will continue to use this. It is so clear and easy to follow directions and achieve a great result.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK if you have no complicated tax issues OK if you do not have any tax complicated issues. I did not use Turbo Tax for 1997 and 1998 due to tax complications.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TURBOTAX - My Tax Auditor TT gives me confidence that I will not miss any entry while entering my taxes.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always depend on TurboTax to get it right TurboTax has been exceptional year after year after year.
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job well Have been using for years. This year was a breeze
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problems with trying to E-file. Attempts to set up password failed many times. Could not E-file, have to send by mail. Have been a customer for many years using Quicken for my banking and Turbo Tax for income tax filing. This phone call procedure is not professional, trying to sell a Medical alert while I'm trying to resolve password issues. Sorry but I'm not pleased!!!!
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Year after year.. Quick, Easy and Fun! Have used TT for over 20 years now! Loved it then.. still do!
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is Great Turbo Tax gives you all the information you need to file quickly and easily.
Date published: 2020-04-22
  • y_2020, m_5, d_29, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_795
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2019, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 203ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Narrow your results
Select all that apply to find reviewers similar to you.
Own a business
Student
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EZ Tax return Doing my Taxes with Turbo Tax is like playing a word game on the internet. Easy.
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplest and most reliable Tax Software Why pay more to tax companies. This software is as good as it gets. Like your personal Assistance guiding you. Tax return software for Dummies :)
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax I like the ease of use. The help menu is great. Input for investment transactions is especially easy to use.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product to Use I have used Turbo Tax in the past. With all of the new tax changes and codes, tool was easy to use.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turbo tax really helped me out when I needed to send a late tax return! really appreciate their help
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love turbo tax fast and easy to use. best ever. it's better than sliced bread.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like Turbo Tax Turbo Tax was easy to use. It walked me through my taxes with ease. I've used Turbo for over 10 years and will continue to use it as long as I live.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turbo Tax Turbo Tax makes filing taxes very easy and will walk you through each process.
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Turbo Tax I like that they ask questions so you don't miss anything.
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I felt skeptical, but fell in love I don't know too much about all the tax benefits and programs that exist, all of which Turbo tax not only taught me- but made sure was applied to ensure I got the maximum refund I can get. I came in skeptical, but I am grateful I bought the product.
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax saves money Turbo Tax is very good; much nicer than having to pay 10x more for a CPA
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LoVe iT Very easy to use,I highly recommended, I have been using it for 10+ years
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for my needs Its been easy to use every year and the guide is helpful to follow
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good Turbo tax is very fast and trust. I used turbo tax erery year since 5years ago. Tubos tax is really convenience and confident for every tax year.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tax Prep program TurboTax was thorough in assisting me in completing our taxes. Its step by step process helped in gathering and entering all wages, interests, and deductions. Importing the previous year's vital information was an asset in the preparation process.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good user friendly fast & efficient easy to use. I recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax worked fine I was confused occasionally but mostly it was smooth.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Mostly easy. Some areas there was trouble importing data. Got it done.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works very well works very well, turbo tax works every year, easy, peasy...!!!
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TUrbo Tax is great Have used for years. will continue to do so. it is great
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like Turbo Tax Turbo Tax is easy to use and is a thorough tax program. Makes doing your taxes easy and fast.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use Turbo Tax from the beginning I have Use Turbo Tax from the beginning and have the greatest experience .
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the efficently of this program After several years of using this product i will continue to use this. It is so clear and easy to follow directions and achieve a great result.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK if you have no complicated tax issues OK if you do not have any tax complicated issues. I did not use Turbo Tax for 1997 and 1998 due to tax complications.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TURBOTAX - My Tax Auditor TT gives me confidence that I will not miss any entry while entering my taxes.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always depend on TurboTax to get it right TurboTax has been exceptional year after year after year.
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job well Have been using for years. This year was a breeze
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problems with trying to E-file. Attempts to set up password failed many times. Could not E-file, have to send by mail. Have been a customer for many years using Quicken for my banking and Turbo Tax for income tax filing. This phone call procedure is not professional, trying to sell a Medical alert while I'm trying to resolve password issues. Sorry but I'm not pleased!!!!
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Year after year.. Quick, Easy and Fun! Have used TT for over 20 years now! Loved it then.. still do!
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is Great Turbo Tax gives you all the information you need to file quickly and easily.
Date published: 2020-04-22
  • y_2020, m_5, d_29, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_795
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2019, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 28ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
1040U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Schedule 1Additional Income and Adjustments to Income
Schedule 2Tax
Schedule 3Non-refundable Credits
Schedule AItemized Deductions
Schedule BInterest and Dividend Income
Schedule CCovers miscellaneous income and some related expenses (1099-MISC)
Schedule DCapital Gains and Losses
Schedule ESupplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule EICEarned Income Credit
Schedule SESelf-Employment Tax
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Form 982Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form 1040-ESEstimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-VPayment Vouchers
Form 1040XAmended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-AHealth Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1098Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-CContributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-EStudent Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-TTuition Statement
Form 1099-AAcquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-BProceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 1099-CCancellation of Debt
Form 1099-DIVDividends and Distributions
Form 1099-GCertain Government Payments
Form 1099-INTInterest Income
Form 1099-KPayment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISCMiscellaneous Income
Form 1099-OIDOriginal Issue Discount
Form 1099-QPayments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-RDistributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1099-SADistributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMTAMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 1310Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 2106Employee Business Expenses
Form 2120Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210-FUnderpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2210/2210AIUnderpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 2439Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 2441Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555Foreign Earned Income
Form 3115Application for Change in Accounting Method
Form 3468Investment Credit
Form 3800General Business Credit
Form 3903Moving Expenses
Form 4136Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4137Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4255Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4506Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4562Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684Casualties and Theft
Form 4797Sales of Business Property
Form 4835Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 4852Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 4952/AMTAMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695Residential Energy Credits
Form 6198At-Risk Limitations
Form 6251Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 6252Installment Sale Income
Form 6781Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8283Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8332Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced or Separated Parents
Form 8379Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8396Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8453U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Form 8582/AMT/CRPassive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8586Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8606Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615Tax for Certain Children Who Have Unearned Income
Form 8801Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8822Change of Address
Form 8824Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8829Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8834Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8857Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8859Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8862Information to Claim Certain Refundable Credits After Disallowance
Form 8863Education Credits
Form 8880Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8881Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8888Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 8889Health Savings Account
Form 8903Domestic Production Activities Deduction
Form 8910Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8919Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8941Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Form 8949Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Form 8958Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8962Premium Tax Credit
Form 8995Qualified Business Income Deduction Simplified Computation
Form 8995-AQualified Business Income Deduction
Form 9465Installment Agreement Request
Form 14039Identity Theft Affidavit
Form SS-4Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-2GCertain Gambling Winnings
Form W-4Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Schedule 8812Child Tax Credit
Schedule FProfit or Loss from Farming
Schedule HHousehold Employment Taxes
Schedule JIncome Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Schedule RCredit for Elderly or Disabled
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041)Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065)Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S)Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2019 software installed on a Windows computer. Product activation required via Internet. Install and activate on up to five of your computers. Download option requires free online Intuit account.

NOTE: As of January 14, 2020, Microsoft will no longer provide security updates or support for PCs running
Windows 7. Learn More. This means computers will be more vulnerable to security risks and viruses. To avoid these
risks, Microsoft recommends upgrading to Windows 10.

Processor
  • Pentium 4 or later/Athlon or later.
Monitor
  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.
Operating Systems
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
RAM
  • 2 GB or more recommended.
Hard Disk Space
  • 1 GB for TurboTax (plus up to 4.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 if not
    already installed).
Third Party Software
  • Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 (included with TurboTax Installer)
Internet Connection
  • 1 Mbps modem (Broadband connection highly recommended). Required for product updates.
Printer
  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

Administrative rights required




Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2019 software installed on a Mac computer. Product activation required via Internet. Install and activate on up to five of your computers. Download option requires free online Intuit account.

Processor
  • Multi-core Intel Processor with
    64-bit required.
Monitor
  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.
Operating Systems
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13 or later.
RAM
  • 2 GB or more recommended.
Hard Disk Space
  • 1 GB for TurboTax
Internet Connection
  • 1 Mbps modem (Broadband connection highly recommended). Required for product updates.
Printer
  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer.
Technical Support

What customers are saying about
TurboTax Basic CD/Download

  • Bob’s Review

    I have used TurboTax for at least 20 years and would never go back to the old way of paying someone to do it
    for me."

    Bob276 -
    Weston Lakes, TX

  • Perfect every year!

    "I've been using TurboTax for years. It walks you through everything and makes what would have been an hours-long process quick and easy."

    nursenancy923 -
    Orlando, FL

  • Intuitive Program

    "This is the first time I have filed my tax return with software. It took me less time than going to the accountant's office at a fraction of
    the cost."

    RHF001 -
    New York


*Actual customer testimonials. Photos are illustrative only.

View all product reviews

Get your maximum tax
refund — guaranteed

  • We search
    over
    350
    tax deductions

    We find every tax deduction and credit you qualify for to get you the biggest tax refund, guaranteed.

  • We double-check
    your
    tax return

    We run through thousands of error checks and double-check your tax returns as you go to help make sure there are
    no mistakes.

  • 100% accurate calculations

    Our calculations are 100% accurate so your taxes will be done right, guaranteed,
    or we'll pay you any
    IRS penalties.



Curious if TurboTax CD/Download is right
for you?


Compare it side-by-side with
TurboTax Online.

Product activation required via Internet.
Install and activate
on up to five of your computers. Download option requires
free online Intuit account.

Note: Microsoft no longer provides security updates or
support for PCs running Windows 7. This means computers
will
be more vulnerable
to security risks and viruses. To avoid
these risks, Microsoft
recommends upgrading to
Windows 10.
Learn More