TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 387 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy for So Many Years I have used this software for many years and really appreciate how easy it it to use, especially since it will import previous years data so that you don't have to start form scratch each year (saves alot of time#. I also like the step-by-step approach it uses to ensure that each question is asked/answered to complete each form without the user needing to find a specific form or try to read the instructions on the various forms, converting IRS language to easy to understand user instructions. Althogh used more this year than in the past, the search bar was a great source for me to look up additional information on a particular area and see questions and answers previously captured to help clarify the answer. The e-file feature really helps when you are finishing taxes at the last minute and don't have time to locate a post office that is open at midnight #if they exist anymore). Whether you owe or are getting a refund, this tool gives me the confidence that my taxes are being done right without paying huge fees to a tax service or CPA. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but with some flaws I will always continue to use TurboTax it is very easy. However, some of the questions are misleading and caused me to go out to the web/TurboTax customer support and ask a question only to find out that when I answered NO to the question, I should have answered Yes to allow me to fill out a section of the form. Also, I just paid $70 and you really do NOT get free State, because you have to pay an additional $19.99 to e-file it. That was a bit frustrating. Also the section about how much you can contribute to a ROTH does not support all actions. What if I already contributed to a ROTH and just want to enter the amount? You have to say Yes I want to contribute. Well no I don't want to contribute again, I just want to enter the amount I did already contribute. And, the total amount I can contribute is not accurately stated on the comments for my income range. Intuit should fix this, and also have TurboTax tell me what my income rage allows for and tell me how much I over-contributed based on my age/income rage. Other wise, it works great. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good.... BUT....... I am an H&R Block (TAXCUT) convert, I've used that product for well over 20 years, was converted to TURBO TAX in the last 2 years. TAXCUT is a better more thorough tool, the interface is not as "easy" the first time through but once you are familiar with it it's easier #I do taxes for my kids returns - total of 5 returns in our house#. The KEY issues I have are related to the outrageous fees associated with the e-filing and credit card payment option. E-filing should NOT be more than $5! Regarding the credit card fees, is the taxpayer #me# paying the "markup" fee that would normally be paid by the merchant #Intuit# to the credit card company? OR MUCH WORSE, is this a way for INTUIT to get more money from me the taxpayer who has purchased your product??? I purchase your product to avoid paying an accountant to process my taxes and SAVE money. As a result, I am sensitive to ANY and all costs associated with this process. Would have been a 5 STAR EXCELLENT rating if the pricing on these two items can be addressed..... Thank-you - Jerry April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not As Good As In The Past But Still Worth It Overall, Turbotax is still working well for us. However, there were several issues this year. First, ESPPs were not handled in a straightforward manner as in past years. You had to know that the stock sale had to be handled in a special manner. This wasted a lot of time. In addition, one of the special state tax credits couldn't be handled automatically - it required an override which meant we had to mail the state return rather than file electronically. Finally, the state interview is painful because you can't dive in anywhere you want - you have to start from the beginning every time. So, if there's a change or addition you need to make near the end of the interview, you have to go through the entire interview instead of being able to jump there in a few clicks like on the federal form. (Perhaps you can from the topics window, but I like the way you can do it when doing the federal return.) The best part is that we had to call for help and we got a call back after only 20 minutes on April 14. And, even better, she was able to help us! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally convenient As usual, tax preparation was easy with this software with a few exceptions: - In the past it was possible to import security purchase and sale information from my financial institution using TurboTax Deluxe which was a great convenience. This year I had to purchase Premier for this feature. As far as I could tell this was the only Premier feature that I needed; everything else could be done with Deluxe. Please consider returning the data import feature to Deluxe. - When following the step-by-step procedure, the instructions regarding allocation of tax-free interest and dividends to states seem to be inconsistent. During the error analysis phase I must go back and input the required data because those questions had been bypassed by the program. I know that the data is needed but did not get the opportunity to input until the error analysis phase. This has been a chronic problem with TurboTax as long as I can remember. - Please make clear that to print my return for filing by mail it is necessary to exit the program and print from memory. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New rental property owner I was able to get excellent help the 3 times I called in. The wait was longer than I liked. I did not know that I would be paying an additional amount for tax representation and submission of state tax as well as submitting my own rental credit forms. I will use this program again if I am not audited. I remember using this software in the past and it was simpler to navigate backward and forward through the screens as working on the return. I miss this option. Now it is still possible to return to former parts but my CD required me to scroll through everything in each section to return to one particular part. I feel pretty confident that things are correct, but some explanation would be helpful - for instance - how much Social security income is exempt? Also how can I qualify for a working family credit of $9 when I am retired? I like having the ability to learn as you go and would love more help in doing so. Thank you for your product! I'm sure I'll get better at using it (2nd year in a row) and you will continue to make improvements too! March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still too many annoyances I'm one of the Costco "Deluxe" purchasers, but the free upgrade to Premier went smoothly. Hope Deluxe is back up to snuff next year w/o the confusion. I was totally hosed by Healthcare Reform (so-called), as I had to pay back every cent that made it "affordable"; just a slightly lower income would have limited this amount by thousands of dollars. My biggest peeve remains those darned "K-1" forms, as the difference between "Jr.", "JR." and "JR" kept me from filing for hours while I tried to reconcile this trivial matter. Also, codes that do NOT show up on K1s or my Interactive Broker worksheet file similarly drove me nuts as TT kept demanding them. I tried putting "Unknown" down, which worked until the bitter end; then I was trying anything that would allow filing to proceed. Happens EVERY year. (One year I literally had no choice but to DELETE an entire K1 just to get past the TT Cops!) Finally, 25 bucks for state e-file seems awfully high to me. Next year might be time to check out Block or TaxAct since they apparently do fine with previous TT info. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prettty Easy To Use I would like you to: - allow a "note to self" to be attached to any data entry page. This would remind me to change something - allow spelling change to organizations donated to. As is, I have to delete the entire entry to fix a typographical error - For screens that are mostly empty or where all data is entered towards the left or middle, put the Continue/Next button in the center of its row instead of all the way to the right. - I'm into the FILE section and have no idea where I enter info about paying my tax bill by direct withdrawal from my bank account. - In the Answer Exchange, I queried "Where do I deduct my safety deposit box expense?" The response by TurboTaxLorieS was to "enter the expense for these fees under Deductions and Credits > Misc. Expenses." I'm using TT Premier for 2014 and there is no Misc. Expenses field on the D&C page. Then I entered it under Other Deductible Expenses which said it was not deductible because of the 2% rule. TurboTaxHeatherW1 said to enter it under D&C Retirement & Investments which worked without error messages. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as good as past years. I have always rated Turbo Tax as a five star in the past four years. However, the Schedule D problem should never have happened. Thanks for giving me the free upgrade to solve that problem. I had three areas that were problems and could never get through to a live person for help. One was the inability to change my answer to a "yes" about receiving monthly payments from my retirement account. Another was that the summary of my Michigan state return showed that no pension money was deducted from my taxable income as allowed. However, a review of the actual tax forms had the correct deduction of pension money and so were correct. Finally, Turbo Tax calculated that I owed the state $14 in interest and $142 penalty for not having enough tax withheld though the year. The state instructions said interest was owed but no penalty was because I had had a refund last year. Fortunately, I could choose to opt out of Turbo Tax figuring the penalty and allow the state to complete that particular form. That allowed me to still finish and E-file my taxes through Turbo Tax. March 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Useful Program Overall, I like the program a lot. However, I did encounter a few problems and the program could be fine-tuned to correct them. I am reimbursed within the year for my Medicare premiums, but the program automatically includes the premium cost from my SSA 1099 in the medical itemized deductions. I was told I could enter it as a negative amount in the medical insurance section to correct this, but it didn't work. Instead, in the instructions, it would be simpler if you simply included Medicare premiums as a type of health insurance premium that could be deducted. I need this program because I have investments. However, the program did not carry over the amount of exempt interest dividends from my 1099-DIV to the NYS exempt interest page. There should be a question that asks from which states the dividends are exempt and the amount from each state so they can be carried over onto the state returns. Also very helpful, the program determines whether you must pay the Alternative Minimum Tax, an incomprehensible feat for the average person to attempt on their own. April 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Premier 2014 CD version I was frustrated this year with ambiguity of some questions and lack of references to previous tax year (i.e. 'last year this info was found on line __ of your Federal return"). In addition, I did not get as many answers to the questions I posted to the community and those there were not entirely relevant. This year also lacked the ability to review certain figures ahead of time that would be used on the final result (i.e. NYS amount vs Federal) If I were an expert I wouldn't need T.T. This was my 3rd year using the product. Year 1 was new and confusing; year 2 I sailed along because there were so many references to where the info was 'found last year' so I had a frame of reference. This year started to wear me out: i.e. 'Do they mean the amount of money I paid in 2014 for 2013 or do they mean the amount of 2013 taxes paid? - which can only be determined in 2014 when you complete your taxes" Please do a better job next year in design, clarifying what info you need and where to find it, and finally, in your accountant people answering community questions. Thank you. May 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK. This beats the effort of actually filling out all of these forms. It says something that filing your taxes is so difficult that you have to pay someone to do it or use software. 1) Filing your state tax should be free for every state. If you pay for a product such as turbotax deluxe, part of the deluxe should be that you then also don't have to pay to file electronically for a state. Intuit could think of this as a national service. 2) This doesn't integrate with all of the companies that I have mutual funds with, so I have to manually enter these. case in point Oakmark funds. 3) Some of the error messages are not helpful. For example, when you install the software one message actually says "< one minute left." Error messages should use words, not symbols. 4) I can never figure out New York State taxes, especially for part year income. Anything that you can do to make that easier will greatly help. 5) This year the charitable deductions don't record when cash donations were made. So if you made multiple donations, you have to add all of these together first. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tax Prep Experience TurboTax works well and is relatively easy to use if you there are no hiccups. However, it's easy to lose your way if you have to go back and fix something. I ran into issues identifying the 1099 data that was downloaded from institutions where we had multiple accounts. All of the 1099 entries identified primary person as the owner and gave all the records the same institutional name. It made it very difficult to go back and check the data and almost impossible to identify the record associated with a corrected 1099-DIV that came later. I was finally able to come up with an educated guess after looking at the download list. The information I need was there. The account number needs to be next to the institution name. I should mention that none of the copies of the 1099-DIV had the numbers that were downloaded. The other issue I had was that I needed to file an amended federal return but not one for the state since I hadn't filed that one yet. When I checked the amended return box I also got one for the state and it took me quite a while to figure out how to get rid of it. March 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spoiled an Excellent Relationship I have been a Turbo Tax user for almost as many years as there has been a Turbo Tax. I have always gotten what I paid for. With my wife and I being retired, on Social Security, a homeowner and no state taxes the process was always a slam dunk. This year, that changed. We have mineral rights on a piece of property in Texas that pays us a small amount of money each year. We get a 1099 MISC. We handle it as income. Turbo Tax Basic will no longer handle that. Additionally, because our 1099 MISC describes the payment as a royalty, one of the instructions in Turbo Tax kept pushing toward a Schedule C requirement. We are not a business. I spent over 3 hours mostly on hold trying to resolve the issue. I would have returned the software if I could have but I could not get my money back since the package was opened. After being upgraded to Deluxe and then to Premier and then a chat with one of your tax experts the problem was resolved and I could do my EASY taxes. I guess next year it will be some other tax program or I'll go back to doing paper forms after more than 20 some odd years. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Improvement Right Up To The End The look and feel is improved for 2014. Let's hope it stays that way for 2015. Access to Forms and navigation tools are excellent. But when it comes to printing, you are lead to believe you can select only certain import forms, but too often you can't uncheck Worksheets, and something called "Smart Worksheets" don't even show up until you hit Print. A 20 page return becomes an 82 page print job, costing you time, ink, paper and patience. Lastly, if you've been getting by with the Deluxe version, but you sell a mutual fund or stock next year, it may cost you more for the Premier package. Why? Well, there's an extra form, extra worksheets for each transaction, and plenty of Smart Worksheets overseeing everything. You'd better be an active trader or small business person before the upgrade becomes worth it. If you're retired, or a bum, it probably won't be. I've used TurboTax since Year One, save for one year when they no longer ran on DOS. I'm flippin' coins as to whether I'll be back at nearly double the price. It's a real Love Hate thing, as if paying taxes weren't enough! March 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Latest version was challenging I've used Turbo Tax for many years. A couple of years ago, I found a deal on HR Block software and hated it. I quickly bought TT for that tax year and won't do that again. TT is much better overall. Given that I consider myself a fairly seasoned user, I was surprised that I had trouble with the software this year. I entered my full return but wasn't ready to submit. I closed my computer and then didn't go back to it for a week. When I went back into the software, my file was gone and I had to re-enter all of my information. I've never had this happen before. This happened to me more than once for my 2014 taxes. Also, even when my information was there, for some reason, it always made me look like I needed to re-enter. Instead of showing my summary of my income, it brought me back to the get started page for it. It was unsettling as I didn't want to have to re-enter my information again. So - overall, I love TT. For some reason, I experienced some challenges this year. I was able to file my return without issue and made sure to save a copy. Next year, I'd like a refund please ;-) April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Use in Texas All the screens in the tax interview were very easy to use and having used Turbo Tax last year made filing this year even easier. From this standpoint Turbo Tax is Great! A recommendation, I almost did not take the time to work through all the medical deduction information because I did not have enough last year and this year was much the same. That would have been a big mistake because my wife turned 65 in 2014 which meant the deduction threshold was 7.5% and not 10%. I just happened to do a little more digging. If this could be highlighted in the interview process, it might help someone. I did not like the fact that the capital gains loss forms are a part of the Premium package. It was nice that it was free this year, but in future years if it is not included in the deluxe edition, it could be a deal breaker for me from a cost stand point. In states like Texas, I don't need the state returns, make some trade offs. The reason for a 4 star rating instead of 5 stars was due to cost and requiring the Premium Edition to complete my taxes. Great Product, it's getting pricey though. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did the job fast, logically, right The interview format made it easy to input the numbers without having any special tax vocabulary. When I got to the reveiew stage it was easy to flip between the interview answers and the tax forms. This made it easy to double check the impact and accuracy of interview answers and to verify that each tax form line actually did reflect 100% of the raw data I'd gathered for input ---- e.g. that I'd not overlooked a big contribution in a list of charities. The data import feature from my investment custodians was a life saver. As a retired IRS employee I take pride in delivering a complete and accurate return. I'd be one distracted dude right now if TurboTax and they hadn't teamed up to transmit pages and pages of mind numbing numbers into dozens of highly precise boxes. Also especially welcomed the effortless data transfer to my State return and the way Turbo Tax adjusted for the State's different treatment of some credits and deductions. I signed off on the final package with satisfaction and confidence. As I have for more than 10 years of gradually increasingly complex returns. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Observations on 2014 TAX February 7, 2015 Greetings! As in year’s past I used Intuit’s Turbo Tax Premier to prepare my 2014 taxes. I have the following observations: 1. I know this was probably done for security reasons, but isn’t it possible for the program to save the password once it is entered to obviate the need to sign-in each time the program is launched? 2. One of the first options when starting the program is to import personal information from the previous year. I was unable to import last year’s personal information. Where is my 2013 information saved? Or did I forget to save it last year? 3. In the past, maybe back in 2012 it was possible to burn a copy of the tax statement but I have not seen that options available in the past couple years. 4. On filing this year’s statement electronically I was given two options. I used the AGI from last year’s statement but the IRS denied my submission. I subsequently used the phone number provided to reach the IRS and obtained a PIN and my 2014 tax was accepted. ALL IS WELL THAT ENDS WELL! Your response is greatly appreciated, Very truly yours, Colonboy February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great improvements over the last few years I have been using Turbo Tax every year for state and federal taxes since 2001. Each year they have made vast improvements. While it is a little unnerving to answer questions and not see the tax forms as you do this, it is easy to bring up these forms and then compare them with my previous year forms that I have saved. I find the current version very flexible in that I can move around and make changes quite easily. For example, the first time I went through, I did not show any contributions to and IRA. Then I got a late W-2 form and I was able to add this easily and then modify my return to show an IRA deduction as well. Using Turbo Tax along with Its Deductible makes it easy for me to track non-cash deductions during the year and then they get easily loaded into Turbo Tax as I prepare the return. I like the real-time feed back on the status of my refund or taxes owed to the federal and the state. I hope next year's version is just as easy to use, although I may have a wrinkle as I move from one state to another. I will need to file two state returns as partial year resident of each. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Friendly for the most part In general, TurboTax, which I've used for years, makes completing our return fast and is user-friendly. The Guide Me option takes you through each section step-by-step with explanations and suggestions based on your situation. As long as you've kept complete records, you should have no problem filing your federal return. On the other hand, the state return always leaves me feeling just a bit less confident. I'm never sure whether I need to complete additions/subtractions from income based on what the program tells me, and I would like to have to option to print out the Federal return for review before starting the state portion. Still, I've never had any trouble with the state return, but I always wonder whether I'm paying a bit more than necessary to the state. I love the e-filing capability and the ability to pay my taxes when due out of my bank account automatically. I also love being able to use It's Deductible to help with charitable donations. Overall, I love TurboTax and plan to continue using it. It makes our somewhat difficult return much easier (and cheaper!) to prepare. April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for the most part, but.... While answering the questions about a 1099B for myself, in the middle of the questions it asked about my wife - who had nothing similar. Some of the questions were far less than clear. If I had not been very familair with the process and the forms being built, I probably would not have answered what I needed to. TT would not allow me to enter some of the fields that it demanded -number of shares sold for a stock 'sale' of a worthless stock for example. The bad news is that once you trip over a bug, everything else is suspect. The good news is that you can usually find some way around it, often by direct entry on the tax form or worksheet itself. Not good for the faint of heart or novice though. Again this year, I was not able to view any forms that I hadn't already answered questions about. And in some cases forms that should have been partially done still did not appear in the forms view. Early in the year when you'd like to create a test return and fill in some ballpark amounts directly on tax forms to plan for that last estimated tax payment, the option is simply not available. April 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Form 8949 Problems I imported 1099-B information from my brokerage firm. Much of the cost basis information was incorrect. These were all stocks which were defined as "Long term transactions reported on Forms 1099-B showing basis reported to IRS"- thus they were in Part II, with a code (D). When I tried to make the corrections on the 1099-B worksheet, for the adjustment amount (8b), it said the amount could not be negative. For the Adjustment code, which needed to be (B), it said only C, D, or W were valid. So I ended up going to Form 8949 directly and doing overrides for the code in (f) and the adjustment in (g). This appeared to work, and gave me the final correct 8949 forms. When I ran the error check, it showed an "error" for every override I did, saying it then made it difficult to properly evaluate for errors. I couldn't find a way to make the 1099-B worksheet work, even filling in the various adjustments, correct amounts, etc in various ways. I'm sure there's a way, but you sure don't make it very easy. So I ended up with a tax return full of "errors", giving me no confidence of the final product. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Been Using TurboTax for Ten Years I've been using TurboTax and Quicken for more than ten years. The good news is that the step-by-step walk through is still the best way to make sure you picked up everything. The old "Jump to Forms" is gone; you can very easily jump to specific locations (whenever a new 1099 arrives in the mail, for example). I try and do a first run-through (using estimates) before December 31st so that I have an idea about my tax situation while I can still make changes. Putting in estimates and then changing them when you get the final information is easy, and the "Review" process will make sure you update anything you mark "estimated." I still don't like a direct import from Quicken; I want to go over the information I enter into TurboTax so I don't let it transfer/load automatically. I do an export (into an Excel file) of everything from Quicken so I can review and summarize the data, then import the numbers as I do the TurboTax walk-through. I always find things I haven't coded correctly in Quicken so this ensures I check the data before I enter it. Maybe belt and suspenders, but it works for me. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filed by a professional My wife entered our data and did a review after she had finished. I am a licensed CPA and file returns for others professionally. We have used Tuirbo Tax for some time. I did not like how the review process flips you through the Step-by-Step data-entry process. For me, I just wanted to review completed forms. Toggling back and forth took extra time and was frustrating for me and added too much time. Also we are residents of Tennessee; however only I had Virginia-source income. My wife happened to enter her data as the "taxpayer" and my data as the "spouse". The package forced us to switch the data in order for me to file a Virginia Non-Resident income tax return to correctly file in VA for my income only. There should be an option within the Virginia module to allow for the "spouse's" income to be reflected on the Non-Resident return rather than an automatic default to the "taxpayer". This needs to be clarified when either entering the data at the Federal level or an option in the VA module to allow for designating the Spouse's income for a "Married, filing separate" option in Virginia. April 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed this year. I bought the 'premier' version of the program because I have rental properties in two different states. In early 2014 I sold one of the properties and I checked that box in the program. I went completely through the program putting the rquested data and when I got to the end I noticed at no time did the program ask me where the information was about the sale and I had a big tax due balance. I knew something was wrong so I went back through the steps looking for what I had missed. Nothing. I went to the IRS to see how they would deal with the situation and got my answer. Because the property had been our home for 10 of the 12 years we owned it it was considered a home sale not a rental sale. I finally found the section in Turbo that addressed this situation and filled in the data. I think Turbo should have asked the questions knowing I had sold property. I have been using Turbo Tax for many years and I have moved many many times, selling 10 homes, but I will say this was my worst experance with your product. I will think twice next year before I think about whose program to use for my tax return. March 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Obamacare Glitch I will have to file an amended return because there was nothing that stopped me from filing my original return - even though I had checked (in the Interview Mode) that I would fill in the Obamacare information later. There should have been an Error Report Stop Warning for that information not being filled in when I checked the Yes Box that we had medical insurance through Healthcare.gov., and the return should have not been able to be e-filed until those screens were completed. I still have not received my 1095-A forms from the government, but after calling them 5 times, I got the information that is needed to fill in the Obamacare screens in Turbo Tax. My amended return has to be mailed (it can't be e-filed# so this will delay my refund by "16 to 20 weeks" according to the government website. Had the programming been complete to begin with, and stopped me from e-filing my return until the Obamacare information screens were completed, my refund would probably be in the bank by next week #the first of April). Now, it will be 4 to 5 MONTHS until the refund is in the bank. I Am Not A Happy Camper! March 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected More From TT Premium Like most users with 1099-B transactions, I was forced to upgrade to TT Premium after years of using Deluxe. Consequently, I expected a much more sophisticated interface, but that was not the case. New 2014 IRS regs require brokers to report bond premium amortization amounts, which are deductible from interest. However, if entered as Box 11 bond amortization, TT can't distinguish between taxable and tax-exempt bond amortization so it prorates the amount between the two. If the amortization applies only to tax-exempt bonds, it's necessary to create two separate 1099-INT forms for each brokerage so that the deduction is applied to Form 1040 line 8b--not to Schedule B. Very klugey! Also, my printed state return (DC) includes copies of a number of federal forms that have not been required to be attached for years. This makes for many unnecessary pages in the print file. On the other hand, nothing is mentioned about the 1099-R form that *is* required to be attached. I truly hope the 2015 version makes it simpler and more intuitive to enter tax-exempt bond premium amortization and accrued interest paid. March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to understand I followed the instructions to "edit" those stock trading for the employee NQSO. The calculation was correct and Turbo Tax was able to calculated the additional differences between what was traded with the broker and the FMV from the company. However an error message keep coming up at the WKS and stated that "the value reported on Part III, line 5C (reported on 1099 B from broker) should not be greater than the gross sale price (value of the FMV from the company." Of course they are different since your system already smart enough to figure those difference as the additional short term income that was NOT reported on the W2 from. Because of these error messages i was NOT able to do eFile. I had to go back and manually put in the numbers of those stock option trade and take the differences between the values from the broker and the FMV from the company. Then no more error messages and I was able to submit eFile. Turbo Tax needs to fit this bug for next year! HR Block software does not have this issue according to my friend who uses their software. Thank you! Otherwise everything is very user friendly! April 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Trust in Intuit is Shaken, cont'd! (I got cut-off by your software ...) Re: Removal of traditional Forms and Schedules (e.g. C, D, E, etc) from TTax Deluxe version G'Mgr Sasan Goodarzi's explanation in his "Apologies" email of 01/23/2015 was particularly lame and unsatisfactory. Further, Sasan's follow-up email(s) leave me thinking that Intuit is reneging on his offer to give $25 back. To complete my 2014 Taxes, I purchased a copy of the Premier "Investments & Rental Property" version for 2014 from CostCo. I have just completed my 2014 Federal return, which I e-Filed. I have not attempted to apply for the rebate. So, we will see how that goes? Also, was the included State return, in the Premier version, supposed to include free e-filing of the first State return? Your advertising sure seems to suggest that it does. When I had progressed to filing the State (I did my Mom's taxes on TTax this year) the program wanted to charge me $24.99, Not the $19.99 shown on the Premier's back label. IF your company now places Maximizing $$$ over product quality and customer loyalty ... I will find a new tax software. Please respond. Thank you, WYOMan April 13, 2015
  • 2015-08-01T10:51:31.505-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-387, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17244, tr_17244
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 385 386 387 388 389 ... 393 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.