TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 387 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17765 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Losing its edge Turbo Tax is sliding downhill. 1. Had to buy the upgraded edition to import from financial management. 2. Error correction does not help you understand what form you are in. 3. If I entered data incorrectly, very difficult to find where that data is stored 4. No undo function 5. Reviewing a section requires you re-answer all the questions (does not show your last entry) 6. Filing for states is overly expensive. Can understand paying a fair price for states, but why a separate filing fee? (considering your cost is nothing to transmit) 7. Too expensive to deduct filing fees from return.- Just don't offer it. Overall very disappointed. Will research other tax software next year. Why stay with Turbo-tax? Extra fees are now worse than the airlines. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Streamlined Process I have been using turbo tax since 2001and have seen the many changes that have improved the product through out the years. This year I enjoyed the ease of importing employee stock sales. I also truly value all the numerous deductions I would never have remembered or considered for our rental property turbo tax prompts for where completing the individual tax forms. If I had to give a comment for something I feel could be improved upon, it would have to be the viewing of the step by step and individual form screen. It would be much easier to be able to see what forms if any are missing information without having to leave the viewing screen each time it needed to be viewed. Thanks again for a great product and another stress free tax year. Chris March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Points of Note The checklist items on the questions don't often transfer from the previous year's return and should already be known by the software, like whether points are being spread over the life of the loan. There should be an "undo" feature throughout the product in case of errors to assist in restoring the pre-error state without having to do it manually, which risks inconsistencies. Why the question did I receive a state or local refund last year? The software should know and default based on the previous year's return. Have a fast-fill feature that recognizes all the areas filled out in last year's return and creates a personalized assisted navigation directly to each area for those folks whose tax situations are mostly consistent from year to year. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax! I have been using TurboTax for a while and I like the fact that we can download bank statements, transaction statements, etc. Some key things that need to be addressed: 1. Some errors really bog you down. I currently have an error with my Merrill Lynch GNMA account becuase the adjustment amount is 0.00. I can't get around this. I have checked online via Merrill Lynch and TurboTax with no answers. I emailed my financial advisor but if he can't help me, I will not be able to eFile. I have just wasted about 2 hrs trying to figure this out. 2. There should be some form of support via email or telephone with TurboTax. I saw a lot of things online but no answers to my problem. 3. There should also be an automatica sales tax calculator. Thnaks Sharif April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy on Me! Turbo Tax takes you through every section of the return and explains what you are to do there. Terms used are highlighted so you can click on them and get a full explanation of what you are doing on that page or deciding about in that area. I really love the way they fill in a lot of my information for me when I have used their program before. I also love the way they show me what I had last year as compared with this year because it lets me think about why they are the same or different and so makes me more confident that my numbers this year are correct--or, alerts me to check my numbers for an error. I also appreciate the way they let me know if I have any red flags for audit. I've tried other programs, but Turbo Tax is the best in my opinion! March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Opinion Initial information on how to handle 1099-K was not clear. After spending way to much time looking at the help forum and then finally getting to the right IRS publication this was resolved. The bottom line is there should have been some better info on this topic in particular ones from AIRBNB that clarified that if it was from short term rentals and rentals were for your residence and less than 15 days of rental, nothing needed to be done with it. For other rental situations beyond that then refer to IRS publication 527. Secondly for capital gains on sell of stocks and for dividends it would be nice to have some info explaining the tax rate and the fact that they are subject to an additional 0.038% tax both dependant on filing status and income. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good Turbotax is nice in that it takes all the tedium out of the tax process. I don't have any situation that is complicated enough to merit having a professional do it, but I don't want to fill out all the forms myself. Turbotax is nice for that type of user. One bad thing I noticed this year was that I qualified for an energy credit that it did not give me through the step-by-step guidance. I had to manually edit the form to get it. It wasn't really that hard though, and the software let me do what I wanted. In summary, as long as you understand your tax situation and it's not too complicated, TurboTax is a good time saver. It's not a replacement for understanding what your tax situation is, but it allows you to avoid having to hire a tax adviser. February 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TT IS VERY GOOD, BUT... I have been using TT for at least 20 years. I am very unhappy and disappointed with TT for removing features from the Deluxe version which caused me to have to upgrade to the Premier version of TT. I read the CEO/President's reasoning that it was done, in part, to bring the online/free version and the purchased version in line with each other. Well, TT could have just as easily added to the online/free version rather than take away from the purchased version. Nobody is accepting that excuse. We all know that it's about the money. This will cause me to seriously analyze the other available tax software for a possible move to one of them, as will many of your loyal customers do. I think TT has made a serious mistake with their change this year. February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax: Can't Miss in Complex Situations TurboTax gets better every year. TT's Interview does a great job of teasing out required information without becoming overwhelming. Should the user wish to learn exactly what TT's nosy questions are driving at, TT's Forms view shows how the numeric details work. If that weren't enough, TT makes supporting data sheets available for most data entries, quite helpful for records retention. However, IMHO TT has become too expensive for use every year. New tax payers can use TT once to learn how their life-long Sisyphean struggle with tax authorities is going to play out. In subsequent years of stability in their situations and the tax laws, they can refer to the TT example but fill out current forms by hand or use less expensive competitive products. March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well it worked In many ways, TurboTax is a great product, but I would have been furious if I had to pay for the Premier version. I use options when I trade, and I had a miserable experience trying to match my buys and sells with TurboTax. My broker's statement had the trades grouped by company. TurboTax had them in entirely random order. There were trades that the broker reported to the IRS and others that they didn't report but that I needed to report. In my tax documents, the two types of trades were separate - in TurboTax they were all jumbled together. It took me hours to match my documentation with TurboTax. Help is virtually non-existent especially in reporting option trades. One user suggested mailing in my brokerage form rather than dealing with TurboTax. April 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This system if completely flawed. I will never use this service again. Your system says that one state submission is free and then when i go to submit I'm hit with a $25 fee. I don't think so. I'm not even getting much back from my state returns, so you basically took all the money I was recieving. Thank you for this. I thought actually going to find someone to pay and do my taxes was going to be a nightmare but honestly I can't imagine anything more complicated and ridiculous as this. My taxes aren't even complicated and still I had issues. I will be telling everyone not to use this ever again and you definitely won't be seeing a penny from me. Also, you require to put one star which is overreaching in my opinion. If I could give negative I would. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by From a standalone & dialup perspective I mostly used the Step-by-Step. Charity Deductions: It would be much easier if the name list was in alpha order (as it is in Forms Mode). Print Area: It works but is a disaster. Screen instructions never say that the PDF/Program must be used. Instead, they lead one to believe that it is done from the Turbo Program, itself. I'm still not sure I have all the printouts necessary to send to the Feds & MD. Estimated Tax: I could not find a way to access this portion (as I have been in previous years) w/o going to the Forms Mode. Forms Mode Color Coding (used mainly when making corrections): You, very nicely, color code the specific entry points. Yet, I have not been able to find what the different colors (e.g., pink, blue) mean, except by trial & error. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trusty Tax Tool is Loosing it's Lustre I have used Turbo Tax for more than 10 years and found it to be cost effective, easy to use and a great way to do my taxes. I was *** EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED *** to see the new tiered offering. I have basic Schedule D stock and mutual fund transactions that in previous years were handled in the mid-tier product which used to cost my $29.99 at Staples Now, you get basically a 1040EZ for10 bucks or shell out $75+ to purchase the Premier package. Sorry, I'm not interested in State tax (most states already have that for free on the web anyhow) and I don't need phone support. I think the folks at Intuit really need to rethink their product offerings because the only thing that's likely to keep me using their product next year is the 5-year history feature. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by WHY YOU MAY LOSE ME AS A CUSTOMER I have no issues with your product whatsoever...I want to keep using it. However, every year you come very close to losing me with all your incremental expenses done in a covert manner. I DO NOT APPRECIATE IT! CHARGE ME UP FRONT AND LET ME MAKE THE DECISION. This year I assume you got enough negative feedback from your MANIPULATIVE strategy of forcing upgrades to DELUXE for Schedules C, D, E so you offered refunds. That has saved you in my mind and consequently I will give you another shot next year. But I assure you that your costs are beginning to outweigh the benefits. Please make your pricing and marketing as upfront and awesome as your product. It really rubs people the wrong way. Paying $60/year is already beginning to seem not worth the price. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can you follow Directions? It's that Easy What could be easier. Follow the prompts and Turbo Tax will take you through the entire process. Just plug in the numbers or information that pertains to your situation. You can't go wrong. It does all your calculations so you don't have to worry about math mistakes. When you are finished Turbo Tax will check your return for errors and prompt you so you can correct them. Then all you have to do is E-File your returns, and sit back knowing you did your tax returns yourself. But, if you tell family members how easy it was they'll be wanting you to do their taxes. Just tell them where they can go buy it so they can do it their selves. Turbo-Tax has a product that's just right for you no matter how complicated. Try it yourself--Don't just take my word! April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by There were only 2 aspects of the program that I thought were not as good as they could have been. The first was entering my W-2s. I had made a mistake, so I clicked on the back button. Then when I wanted to continue, thinking it would bring up the W-2 I had backed out of, it skipped that W-2 and went to the next one. I had to go to the income page, select the W-2 to "edit" before I could re-enter the information. The other was trying to print out the return for mailing to the state. I had to bring up the PDF preview copy and print my return from that because nothing printed when I clicked on the "print return" button in turbo-tax. Maybe in your opinion everyone should e-file, but in my world, paying $25 to e-file to get a $55 refund is unacceptable. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wish I had used it earlier I love the level of detail of Turbo Tax. It shows what deductions you missed and by how much. It walks you through everything, if you want. Two problems I wish they'd fix: (1# It keeps reminding me that I didn't file a state tax return. However, I live in Texas where there is no state income tax and Turbo Tax knows that, but keeps reminding me anyway. At the point where it determined I did not need to file it, it should have set some flag so that it did not keep reminding me and #2) when I jump back a bit to change something, I can't go back to where I leftoff and pickup from there. I must step through every step from where I jumped back to to where I left off originally. I don't like that feature. I will use Turbo Tax next year and probably forever. March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable and fairly easy to navigate For the first time in many years of using Turbo Tax I had to call customer service because the payment process would not work to purchase the 2nd state I needed, then again when I was efiling and requested to pay by credit card. Both times the service representatives were extremely helpful, patient and determined to fix the problem. They stayed with me on the phone until it was resolved. I think TB is a fairly easy program to use (I use Premier) but sometimes find it difficult when I want to go back and review a specific area. It is easy to find the broad topics but not as easy to find very specific areas within the topics. Also some errors are very confusing as to how to fix them. The Help online is somewhat "helpful" and I eventually figure it out. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Seriously? All good again this year, I've lost track how long I've been doing my taxes this way; for sure from the time Intuit was free of Windows oversight. It's a great way to do your taxes, BUT... My company gives everybody stock stuff. Just a little, just a few RSU's. We cannot just get the bonus as cash, we cannot decline the bloody things, we get RSUs and all the tax complexities that go with them. And now Turbo Tax has decided it wants it's pound of flesh as well; in the future we'll have to pay again for the 'Turbo Tax Pro Business Stock Market Professional Guy' or some such thing; an add-on. The add-on they have included this year, but will be slicing off so we can pay an additional fee next year. I think I feel the heavy hand of Microsoft at work... February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old time user I have been using TurboTax since 2004. Since I am still using it you can see I am pretty pleased with it. I like: -ability to import from previous years, and from Quicken (I am a Quicken fan too), and ADP -the ability to both just answer questions AND go back and enter directly into forms. -save to PDF is really useful I dislike: -long startup: this seems stupid since it is just going to ask me to install updates, which will be another long wait -cost. I don't like paying $20 to file state when I could mail it for less than $1, and I don't like that you have moved investment income to premier which will cost me an extra $20 for the product next year (the free upgrade was just for this year right?) Would love: -export function (to FAFSA in particular) February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've been using TurboTax for years and love it -- very user friendly. I have just one suggestion regarding an item that came up for the first time this year for me -- I disposed of rental property. When the user marks the check-box that he/she sold the rental property in the tax year Turbotax should, somewhere in the interview dialog for that particular rental property, automatically bring the user to a series of screens which reference a 1099-S and which walk the user through the sale of the property. Currently your program treats the sale of the property as just another entry in the property's asset section and it is not all that intuitively obvious that it is here the user should handle the information regarding the property's sale. My view, anyway. April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2014 taxes Too many sections assumed and calculated normal treatment when a simple additional question or two would have divined a more accurate set of data. For example, with stock treatment, the assumption was that it was a personal simple same day buy-sell and no other questions were asked about the sale. A simple set of questions regarding the type of stock and company plan would have allowed a more in-depth treatment. This oversight of the program nearly cost me an additional $9000 in taxes due instead of the rightful $5000 back. Because of this, I will not be using this program in the future but will take my taxes to a professional. Also because of this oversight, I'm now questioning the veracity of past returns that were prepared with the help of Turbo Tax. March 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rough experience this year If your return is complicated just download the software rather than using the on-line version. Once I started with the on-line version it was very difficult to import my 2013 filing info into the return that I had started on-line. I am going to have to go back through everything and probably file an amended return. Technical support was not as good as in previous years. The on-line version steered me unnecessarily into attempting to establish a new IP PIN through IRS which was a whole extra set of problems, headaches and delays that in the end I didn't need to do. The on-line version demanded that I needed a new six digit PIN - I didn't - but it took hours to figure that out and get the information I needed to use my existing PIN. Big waste of time. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Software The software is easy to install and easy to use. I was able to get my taxes completed and e-filed in just a couple of hours. Most of that time was spent in just organizing my own paperwork. "It's Deductible" is extremely helpful because we do a considerable amount of donating items to charities. "It's Deductible" makes it easy to calculate the value of the donated items and enter them properly on the tax forms. The only criticism that I have is that there were a couple of items that I spent time looking up. After researching and entering the information, I found on a later screen that there was a large dollar amount that had to be met for the information to matter. It would have saved me some time if those dollar amounts were shown on an earlier screen. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Always TurboTax was great as always, and the step-by-step process makes it really easy without worrying about having to fill out any forms. In fact, you don't even see them until they're filled out at the end. The layout is great. You can choose to individually work in separate parts of the return on your own or be guided using the step-by-step process. I was able to go back and forth between the two. I had missed a couple items on my Federal return and was able to go back and change them, then pick up with the "guide me through the process" at the appropriate spot. Con: my income types did not change from last year, but this year, Intuit decided I needed Premiere rather than the Deluxe version of Turbotax, but I was on the verge of that, anyway. Not a big deal. April 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great in Past not so much now! TT changed the way their CD's are set up. The Deluxe version does not contain all the forms from last year and you have to upgrade to the Premier Cd to get them. Also the CD I purchased had a "bug" that when you tried to download the State forms it go caught in a "loop" and you could not continue. After about an hour I found a question and a "fix" online in TT Q & A section. TT also kept trying to sell me the State forms for $39+ over and over again but it should have been included with the CD I bought from Best Buy, as shown on the box. I did finally get the forms I needed for free but it was a hassle. I have used TT for well over 15 years and will now have to look for a different option next year unless they change and go back to their past practices. April 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Review I have used Turbo Tax for 15+ years, and, obviously have been very happy with the process and result. I would be remiss if I didn't tell you that this year the use of the software was very disappointing! I was completely unable to bring over the 2013 tax information to my 2014. I am assuming that it was because of the fact that I downloaded the software first. In the past I have used a CD (with the exception of 2013) to install the program on my computer. Please help me find out if I am the problem or if there have been changes that made this process so hard. I'm not a novice to tax work, so I don't think that's the problem. I would like to get a response to my review, because I am considering using other software programs for my 2015 return. Thank you. October 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problems I noticed The state portion seemed to be a lot less helpful than last year's. It invited me to file a Florida return in addition to my resident WI return, but, to my knowledge, FL does not have state income tax (even though my income rental property is in FL). Also, the interview for WI seemed to leave much more to my own knowledge than last year. I actually felt the state was not a whole lot more helpful than if I had gone and got hardcopy forms & instructions and done it myself. Now that I have filed it, I will definitely have to go back and look it over carefully. Also, the process for paying for state e-file is 80% broken. I actually had to make a phone call and talk to a sales rep who, after a long wait, did get the job done and gave me $2 off for the long wait. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 I have been using TurboTax since the 1990s (20+ years). So far, not been audited. (knock on wood) I have rentals, but not a business. Still, I need the "Investments and Rental Property" (formerly Premiere) level of the software. Outstanding software, esp. when e-filing was introduced a number of years ago. Refunds arrive in about 2 weeks on average. I will continue to use TurboTax in the future. My only complaint, and it's nitpicking, is that when I delete, say a financial institution that paid me interest, I can't undelete it. One year, I discovered the next night, that I did indeed have a statement from them. Not hard to re-enter that financial institution, but it would be nice to be able to look at a list of deleted entries and undelete it. Still 5 stars. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience TTax is as easy as going to an accountant -- and cheaper. Your accountant can do no better than the information you provide -- and if that is a shoebox full of paper you will pay dearly. And many things may not even be in the shoebox! With TTax you are prompted for the information required in each section and enter the data. You can download a LOT of things these days making even that much easier. I have challenged accountants to show me how much they can save me compared to TTax and, to date, only one found anything and that savings was FAR less than the fee he would have charged. (Wow -- he found a $15 deduction I forgot to key in.) I have been a TTax user since the first year and have been satisfied every year. I fully intend to use it again next year. March 30, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T07:44:39.319-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-387, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17765, tr_17765
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 385 386 387 388 389 ... 405 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.