TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 387 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Can Do What H&R Block Does I have been doing my own taxes for all my life. I started using Turbo Tax over 20 years ago. Prior to Turbo Tax, like everyone else I use to get all the paper forms, try to remember how to fill the out and then mail them in. With Turbo Tax it was great in helping me fill in the blanks, it actually carried over all the personal information about the family members from the previous year, and guided me through filling in the blanks. It also prevented me from making those silly math errors. As time has passed Turbo Tax has made many improvements to keep up with not only the changes in the tax laws but also in helping in filling out the federal tax form and using this information to fill out the state form as well. E-filing, tracking notification as well as direct deposit of the refund or direct debiting of the tax due from the banking account are all pluses. Now that I am retired Turbo Tax allows me to easily enter manually or even better import all the different types of 1099 forms in (dividends, interests, brokers, etc.). Turbo Tax then fills in all the different government tax forms that are required for me submit. The last step you go through is the review and it is very thorough. It gives me a feeling that what I submit to the federal government is accurate. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great program!! For this 2014 turbo tax Premier. Originally I bought deluxe version at Costco, but because deluxe did not provide Capital gains tax forms this year, I returned deluxe and bought premier. I was supposed to get a $25.00 refund according to what I understood from email etc. However this never came up during the filing of my taxes. Also in the section for paying for e filing of state returns using fed tax refund, the system said I needed to pay $49 for Premier turbo tax; so why was my premier turbo tax not recognized??? ============================== I like turbo tax, it reduces my stress of filing tax returns. I was however unable to upload form from E-Trade? and these had to be entered by me manually?? turbo tax should provide an option for entering data into an excel file manually which turbo tax can read. This would be easier then a line by line manual entry. Also for the schwab forms that were uploaded from online, there were acquired dates that were left blank, these needed to be corrected manually. The problem occurs that stocks that were sold on a sell date, were composed from stocks that were bought on different dates. here the correction, needs to break down the quantity sold into smaller multiple smaller transaction so that the different buy dates can be used. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Different to the point of confusion OK, but still needs work. Not a mess, but in the end of it the review gave me a migraine. I still don't understand the problem, but I jiggled some numbers and checkmarks around and I guess it did the trick. Still baffled about that. ALSO, it gave me the opportunity to get Quicken for free if I did the automatic sign up thing, but, all it did was reroute me to do my tax return again for 2014 (What the...? I just did it! Why is it confusing me some more? The new page it sent me to should have had the 2014 there as being filed with the Feds and the State. What a migraine!) ALSO: Not all tax returns that I have done with Turbo Tax are visible from the program. It is a pain and scarey to wonder what the hecks going on with Turbo Tax records when they have no .. none... zip... idea that I have been a LOYAL customer of Turbo Tax since over a decade ago! Why the messy account maintenance? Get that fixed. ALSO: I am supposed to get a free Quicken program, which would be great since I am trying to start my wife up in a new business. You need to help me with that. ALSO: I am a student, full time, and I didn't get any opportunity to deduct costs. That's all fouled up! What gives? Maybe next year? I pay so much money for things and your program is basically a miss on that for me EACH AND EVERY YEAR. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfactory Software On Schedule K-1, I had entries on lines 1 & 3, Software told me to make two separate K-1 submissions; 1 for line 1 & 1 for line 3. It didn't tell me how to separate all subsequent line entries as to what went with line 1 input and what went with line 3 input. It simply said to follow instructions on K-1 document as received. The instructions on the K-1 said it was a "very difficult process and to consult a tax consultant. Right, after already paying for software. Also problems with state software. Filing jointly on the same form and TT asks me to distribute simple interest, as reported on federal forms, between spouse & myself. Software left the first two line blank and provided the breakdown on lines 3 & 4 as I'd reported on federal input. I tried to simply accept it and continue, but the software insisted something be in lines 1 & 2. I finally had to make the entries on lines 1 & 2 the same as the TT offered on lines 3 & 4 & then deleted lines 3 & 4; very cumbersome. then, also on the state, TT failed to ask how to distribute insurance costs between spouse and myself. For spouse, it only included what was reported on line 5 of 1099-R. Even though I reported that total cost included medicare costs, TT failed to ask if a portion was spouse's medicare. Balance was all included on my input. March 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some hiccups I've been a TurboTax user since about 1983, so I'm basically a fan. It generally gets better and easier to use every year. I'll just mention one area where I always have problems, and one unique to this year (for me). The hiccup this year was the California form 593, sale of business property. The interview process did not ask if I had a 593, although I had previously said I sold the property. I tried help and the forums, but no joy. Eventually I found the form on the forms menu, and filled it out. When I reviewed the taxes, TTax finally asked me about a 593, which of course I had already filled out. The area where I always have problems are somewhat vague interview questions -- there are always a few I'm not sure how to answer. It would really help if TTax explained *why* it is asking, and *how* the answer will be used. As it is, I make my best guess, and sometimes find I am going down a bizarre path that does not apply to me, and I have to go back and change the answer. Or if it doesn't look like I need to change my answer, I wonder if a different answer would nonetheless be better. Oh, here's an example, on the demographic information I'm asked to fill out for this review. It asks if I have kids. I have offspring, but they are adults who have their own families. Do they count as "kids"? April 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I demanded perfection, but didn't get it I have gotten Turbo Tax every year for over 10 years. Each year it gets better. Most years taxes are a pain, but Turbo Tax walks me through it successfully (usually I rate it 4 stars). This year was one of the least successful (1 star). My taxes were very complicated and different from previous years. I used the community, read 3 IRS pubs, 2 Calif guidelines. Even so I am not convinced that I really got the lowest payment I could. The steps to determine whether it was better for me to file married filing separately (MFS) or married filing joint (MFJ) were beyond the 3 days I was willing to dedicate to it. Buried in the What-if worksheet is the note that it is not accurate for community property states. Even after modifying it to what I thought was CA appropriate, it proved too difficult to figure out how to translate that into two returns. Not enough specific information on ESPPs etc. An error in the What-if worksheet also kept me wondering about the accuracy. Our ages in columns 1 2 and 3 were correct, then on column 4 both of us were suddenly the same age. Please continue to work to improve Turbo Tax. (I gave up on trying to reduce our taxes by over $600 with MFS and ended up filing MFJ. Not happy. I also know that after filing, we cannot go back and change MFJ to MFS.) Done for this year. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product but some disappointments I've been using turbo tax for many years now. For several years I got the deluxe instead of the premier which I needed sent to me and always had to get the updates to do my work. This year I finally got the correct one. Seems the needed forms for investments were moved to premier. Overall I do like the product as in the past when I had my work done at a tax preparer, I had to fill out much of the info on a worksheet to deliver to the preparer anyway. I was upset that I had to spend an additional $20 to file my state taxes because I didn't file before the 16th of Feb which I'm not sure was indicated when I got my disc in the mail. Unfortunately, I didn't receive all of the paperwork to file my taxes prior to this date so from the start I had no chance. The initial price I paid for the product was $97 plus the $20 for state. Now the price is $55 plus $20 so I would've saved $40 by waiting until now to get this product. I suspect for next years taxes I will not have this product mailed to me automatically and just wait until I get all my paperwork before using it or doing something else. There appears to be an issue at the end as it indicated I needed to print a form which I couldn't do even though I e-filed my federal and state and had my payments deducted from my checking account. Doesn't make sense. March 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Lot of Work I am writing this review just after getting off the telephone with TT. This call stretched to 52 minutes. I have also been on the telephone with three other reps for an additional 143 minutes (checked my call logs). All were pleasant and courteous and helpful in resolving issues. It all started with a purchase of TT Deluxe as usual for the past fifteen or more years (before TT used Parsons tax program). I received a card stating that an automatic upgrade would occur when loaded. WRONG!! Had to call to make the upgrade happen. Then had to download it and get it up and running. Was advised at that time that the state was included. WRONG!! Then spoke to another rep and was given the incorrect download. Then called back to straighten that out. Once again courteous and pleasant. Just a long time on the phone. Now just got off the phone with the last person to provide support to straighten out an eFile issue. She was pleasant but another hour down the drain. Intuit needs to quit messing with the product except to make it better and more efficient. Next year I will research TT prior to buying it to see if all of the needed forms are in the program I choose and also if anyone says anything about the functionality. In the end all seems to have "come out in the wash" but greatly disappointed. MAYBE a future customer. April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lost some confidence 1. Direct Deposit of refund...TT plugged an "X" in the account number as a placeholder when my financial institution told me to substitute a "5" for the "X" because there is some sort of problem related to the way an "X" is read. TT should know of these issues and identified that concern as part of the quality check along with a recommendation. 2. Health Savings Account step by step...TT did not load my contribution initially...I went into the form view to make sure I got credit for my contribution. Assuming it was user error (which I am not entirely convinced), there should have been a quality check to ensure that my contribution was recorded given the expenses we recorded as distributions. 3. Health step by step should direct user to either family or individual. Initially, TT didn't record our entire distribution because I initially recorded part of the distribution in my wife's heath step by step. Again, this is an error that I found reviewing the forms. 4. The cost to file one state return electronically should be included with the original cost or have a minimal fee. The cost has skyrocketed over the past few years and reminds me of the pricing wisdom that "pigs get fed and hogs get slaughtered." Most of these tax companies load each other's historical tax record and I may shop more carefully next year. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I continue to like using Turbo Tax to do my taxes! The overall rating of using Turbo Tax is Excellent ! The program gathers important information on my past filings and reduces the time it would take to retrieve the information and re enter the data. Calculations are always correct. It shows where the return process stands and compares with your return of the prior year. It allows the use of entry on a form or go through the process of answer the questions. I have used Turbo Tax and Quicken for at least 15 to 20 Years. This year I had to re-enter the K-1 trust form as it did not remember from prior years entry. Not sure why? It allowed me to get through the foreign taxes paid question without making me go through circles( More than one country in an Investment fund by the trust. Minor amount, but no information by trust to definitively answer. The process of electronic filing has gotten better this year as well as the review process when you are done. The up-dating of revisions that were done were more seamless and efficient. The automatic process worked much better this year to pre-order next year Turbo Tax software. I wished that the automatic process would get the next years Quicken version with a break in price. It seams to require me to have to call to see what can be done. I like to upgrade my Quicken as well as get the next years Turbo tax. I am retired. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another tax Year with Turbo-Tax Deluxe I have used Turbo Tax for over 10 years. I most always file in late March because I do not get all my 1099's from the financial institutions until then. Glad I had to wait. Got the e-mail from the New CEO about how they cheaped out and hosed up the Deluxe version. I let them know what I thought about it. I feel sorry for the early filers that got caught up in that. Then I get an e-mail in Feb. that they heard us and they were providing free upgrades. So, I buy it on-line. I try to upgrade and I get errors and it will not let me upgrade for free. So, I call customer service, and I get right thru. Pleasantly surprised because some of the blogs I had read said they waited 4 hours. Glad that was not my case. I get Samatra on the phone... Hands down the friendliest, most helpful, pleasant to talk to, customer service agent I have ever dealt with. And she had me upgraded in less than 5 minutes, I saw it change from Deluxe to Premier while we were on the phone. I suggest everyone send T-Tax an e-mail and tell them to state on the packaging as a caution of what the program DOESN'T do this year that it did last year. It is a shame that they tried to cheap out and angered a bunch of people. They did finally make it right, but what will happen next year. All that said, great program! I just hope they are smart and do not make me change. March 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Preparation Review I've been purchasing and using TurboTax for over 20 years and have enjoyed the process due to easy understanding of entries and time-consuming over manual preparation. However, this year was an awful experience as it proved to be very time consuming due to obvious errors in instructions for certain areas and failure of the procedure to continue as directed; such as: "Continue to State Tax". Even after rebooting, it didn't respond and ( had to get a TurboTax rep to help which was also time-consuming. Then if this problem wasn't bad enough I had to go through literally hours of time to find a way to talk to someone live who could help resolve the problem. The procedure to find answers to problems was ridiculous, time-consuming and not helpful at all. Not sure whether I'll buy Turbo-Tax next year because it sure wasn't worth the money I spent this year to get my taxes done. Last, but not least ... my efile submissions for both Federal and State returns were rejected due to some error I still don't understand and I was advised that the Federal Return was rejected because of errors in the State and that this could be resolved by sending the State via mail instead of efile. Well, that was the end of that because after correcting the State return, there was no further mention of getting a mail-in return, but also through efile again. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but beware of possible problems Everyone who reads any on-line review knows the problems with TurboTax this year due to the fact it changed the version you need to do your taxes. But given that, I was able to buy the correct version and do my taxes. My problem with TurboTax was with the 1099-B form. I filled in the information off the form as requested by TurboTax, but this was really incomplete information and the tax due was calculated to be way too high. The information supplied to me by the institution that sent me the 1099-B included one box with the lines of information that TurboTax wanted. But there is a related form, 8949 that has five subgroups, A, B, C, D, and E. One or more of these subgroups is for what you received for selling securities without the institution that sold the securities for you reporting your cost for those securities. So the cost basis is assumed to be 0 even though other information provided by the institution clearly shows the cost basis. So on the 1099-B, the amount you received is correct, but the cost basis is low due to that 0. That results in a very inaccurate tax calculation. I did not see that in the stop-by-step method TurboTax asked about those 8949 subgroups. Only with a lot of work going back through things did I discover the error in the forms and calculations. This probably took me a day of work to find this problem. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review Generally I quite like turbotax. However, two features this year were absolutely maddening. First, I needing to amend my 2013 return, and right near the end the software has a feature that on the surface seems to allow one to amend a return. So I clicked on this, but it effectively erased by 2014 return - and the many many hours it took to get to that point - and there was no way for me to retrieve the "regular" return. In hindsight, I realize this feature is for someone post-April 2015 to go back and amend their 2014 return, but this is far from clear. "Amend a return" is not a good label for this feature! I lost countless hours of work, and had to restart my return from scratch. The second issue: anything related to buying stock in LLPs, I realize in hindsight, is obscenely complicated. My miniscule amount of shares in KKR easily doubled the time it took to file my return. While much of that is on the government, the support within Turbotax for all the arcane tax form entries related to the LLP tax treatment is miserably lacking - I kept getting stuck in these endless loops where the software was asking me a question that I had no idea how to answer, all for an entry that had $1 or $2 of income. Very frustrating. I would suggest either ramping up the in-software support for this stuff markedly, or dropping support for it entirely. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for basic items; poor for Roth IRA/Rental FMV Turbo Tax, as always, is great at the things everyone experiences, but is not as strong at special rental/investment cases as they should be if they advertise a version called "Investments and Rental Property." 2 BIG issues: 1# Description of FMV or "below FMV" is weak. It only calculates FMV by the county one lives in...so if someone's place is in an upscale area of a huge county like Cook County--Chicago--in IL that also encompasses extremely depressed areas, it is hard to trust the "comparisons." These "comparisons" should be conducted by ZIP CODE or Census tracts, not by county. 2) Although the "answer center" online said that TT would help me calculate my Roth IRA contribution limits for earners in the upper end "phase out" income range, it never did...and I went through every single option with a fine-toothed comb. I had to go to the IRS website myself to calculate my "phase out" limit for my Roth. There is a worksheet for this, as well as a Fidelity website calculator, so there is no reason why a computer tax program cannot also ingest the calculation to help maximize. Yes, these are "first world problem" issues, and I was able to use the online IRS worksheets myself to arrive at my answers, but given that I paid extra for the "investments and rental property" version of TT for these two very reasons, I was less than thrilled. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, could be great I like the product, but you could make it a lot better with a few tweaks. Showing last year's data after you enter this year's data forces you to pull and review last year's return in order to remember how you entered unusual items where if you showed last year's data when you first "visit" an item instead of after, it would improve the experience. Also if you already know an answer to a question for prior years' info, why ask it with no prompt for the previous year data carried forward into this year's return. Specifically you ask for 529 plan contributions life to date and I have to look it up EVERY YEAR I use turbotax and then you show me that I reported $XXX,XXX through 2013 because you transferred last year's info. Don't make me look it up and then have the audacity to show me that it agrees with what I entered last year, just show it to me and ask me if it is right and what this year's amount is that needs to be added to it. Why do I need to look up ten years' data if you already have it???? Your health insurance question for S Corp shareholder with k-1s should be a separate question as it is too easy to miss where to add it and a search does not answer the question. If there are any health care premiums for an S corp shareholder that need to be deducted on line 29, it is always a big deduction so make it easy to find where to enter it. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used for years The step by step approach works well for both new and previous users of the program. While it can be repetitive if you have a simple tax situation, this feature helps to avoid missing things that could help or hurt your situation a lot - the last thing anyone wants is an IRS notice 2 years out that you missed something and owe more in penalties & interest than the tax due. I've used TurboTax for well over a decade,since Parsons Technology sold their tax product to Intuit. I have been quite satisfied. My experience this year was good overall, I did my taxes and all of my children's too. It saved a lot of time by pulling in the information saved from the previous years of taxes saved on my computer and "knew" the status of the education credits so I didn't have to dig through paperwork to figure it out myself. My only real complaint this year was that the program created a Schedule C, even though there was nothing that required it. We had needed a Schedule C the previous tax year for some 1099 income but the program should have picked up that there was no 1099 income and asked it we wanted to delete the Schedule C from this year's return. I ended up going into the Forms view and deleting it there. Luckily that was straightforward, the calculations all checked fine when TurboTax rechecked them. I plan to use TurboTax next year and the years after. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not much improvement year to year Turbo tax does the job, but it's not as good as it could be. There's not much improvement year over year. A few examples, when it comes to rental property, work expense, car expense and and miscellaneous deductions, it seems like there could be a better flow thru those sections. I spend a lot of time entering deductible items subject to 2% AGI limit but in the end each year either barely qualify or don't qualify for the deduction. It would be nice to get a better feel as to how close you are getting to the 2% limit as you enter expenses throughout the interview. As well as which deductions are subject to the 2% limit. The car expense/mileage deductions section could also be a bit more user friendly. It seems like the details of commuting miles, beginning mileage, etc. could all be carried over from the last years return and the whole section made a little clearer. With the rental property section I never got a good feel for how my rental capital loss carryover or disallowed capital loss was calculated or how that was applicable for future years. How did my deprecation work into the calculation. Was it really included? What part of my expenses were disallowed because of my income level. Are there any strategies I could implement to better my deductions? I'm starting to think I could get a better return if I brought my taxes an actual person. February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs improvement for the veteran TurboTax user I have used TurboTax for about 10 years. For parts of the return where I am not sure what I might to enter, the "series of questions" format is good. However, most, almost all, of the segments are very familiar and I know what I need to enter. However, I need to step through 5-10 standard "this is not common" questions just to get to the one I need. And, if I decide to change a value later, I can't get to the ONE question without stepping through those 5-10 other ones AGAIN. So, I will try to flip over to the FORMS mode. However, it is not always smart about what form to put you on. In fact, it will often place you on the FIRST form of the entire return when you flip to the FORMS mode. You have to guess what form or worksheet you were about to answer questions for (Form 8596? Schedule E? How would I know!) Why can't it just flip over to the current form being worked on? Or, at least, remember what form you were on last time you flipped back to EasyStep? Also, when I want to experiment with, for instance, how much an IRA contribution would affect my bottom line? The quickest way is to do it from the Forms view. However, when I change that one number, I can't see the change to my Taxes Due. I have to flip back to EasyStep just to see that. Then back to Forms to change the value again. This is all just to avoid all the questions to get that one value. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems with Affordable Care Act section I am retired and have health conditions that make me ineligible for health insurance outside of the Affordable Care Act. My income is such that we do NOT qualify for any premium credits. However, the HUGE monthly premiums I pay out of pocket should be counted as a medical deduction just as with any regular health insurance policy. TurboTax did NOT want me to enter these premiums in the normal medical deduction section but told me to wait till the health insurance section. All that section did was concentrate on the premium credits, (of which I have none) but did NOT calculate the premiums I paid as deductions. At the very least, the software should recognize when premium credits calculate to $0 and then enter the premiums paid into the medical deductions section or automatically take you to that section to enter the data manually. Also, the State of Iowa section has flaws. Even though I entered Married filling jointly on the federal section, the state of iowa forms/questions mistakenly assumed we were married filling separately. I found no easy way to fix this, as all this information is copied from the federal form, which was correct. Very annoying! Additionally when printing out the completed state forms, the program printed all the federal forms over again. These two problems existed in last year's software as well. Please fix these bugs. Thanks. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good But Frustrating I have been using turbotax/Macintax since 1996. I can't wait for the flat tax to be implemented because filling out these forms is nuts (technical term). Even though I use the auto fill feature for transferring last years info I get carryover data from previous years being inserted as well. I end up reviewing every sheet very carefully for bogus data that needs to be deleted. This year I was able to remove three forms that didn't need to be included but were generated by the auto transfer process. I have found it simpler to select forms and proceed rather than use TT's Easy Step process. A major complaint is the comparison tables provided as a way of letting me know how taxes compare to the rest of the population of taxpayers is way off for retired people. It is meaningless my taxes to everyone else. How about comparing to other retirees? Another major complaint for this year was TT's less than brilliant move to restructure the Deluxe and Premier software. Normal companies would raise their rates (as in cost of living increases) not change what forms are in what packages, etc. As a result I moved to H&R Block software to compare. H&R software has its vagaries as well but I ended up filing via TT when TT offered a refund of $25. Had they not recapitulated I would have moved after 20 years of using TT products. The H&R software resulted in the same results. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and thorough Great software. Have used it for years. Keeps getting easier and easier to use. The one year I didn't use TurboTax, I ended up paying a fortune for about the same level of service. I actually find it easier to use TurboTax than have my accountant do it because I don't have to gather up all of the forms - I can just round them up as I go. I'm not a novice with taxes, but I'm certainly no expert, and it only takes me a couple of hours to complete my return (I do my fiancé's also and his take me an additional hour or so#. I own two homes, split one with my fiancé #so we're each claiming part of the write-off#, I rent the other property out, so have rental income. We have multiple investments. Buy the Premier version and everything is always pretty simple. Occasionally I have to research something, but between the IRS site and TurboTax's, all of the answers are pretty easy to find. Every once in a while you find a bug. Last year, it kept telling me there was an error on my taxes that didn't exist when you went to go back to it. So, I had to file with that error being listed. A little nerve-wracking, but the error was false so it was my only choice. This year, it kept saying "you entered zero profit and zero loss for your farm" or something like that, when I never even went into the farm section #since I don't own a farm#. All-in-all, I recommend TurboTax to everyone. March 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Are you really sure? I have used Turbo Tax for many years now because it was a quick and easy way to prepare my taxes. However, this year my use of Turbo Tax has resulted in additional headaches. The two in particular that was annoying was how after Turbo Tax was prompted to review the taxes for errors, I still had to make corrections and they were errors that Turbo Tax caused due to incorrect value inputs to certain fields such as inputing 0.0001 versus 0. The worst annoyance was after a software update, what I owed to my State tax increased by $500+ dollars. After I had to do a review to see what happened versus Turbo Tax telling me that they had a software error that resulted in an incorrect field completed, I was very upset because if I was to have submitted the taxes prior to getting that software update, I would have filed an incorrect return that could have been bad for me if an audit occurred. I buy Turbo Tax for convenience and ease of use and the trust that it prepared taxes correctly and I was severely disappointed that I felt like I had to do more work this year to prepare my taxes. My experience with using Turbo Tax this year will definitely cause me to reevaluate how I will do my taxes next year since I am looking for convenience and ease of use and Turbo Tax did not do that for me this year. Finally, the trust that Turbo Tax will do it correctly has diminished with me. March 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I am disappointed about using Turbo Tax for 2014 I am very disappointed about my experience with filing taxes using TurboTax for 2014. I've been using Turbot Tax for 10 years and I feel the quality of the software for 2014 has diminished. The Help content is displayed in a very small font and it seems to be more limited than for the previous year. I ran an error check for federal and state taxes without any error. Then when I was going through e-filing of federal and state taxes, it suddenly displayed an error alert that an amount for one box on one of my W-2 form was entered "0.00" and this entry is not valid for e-filing. Given that my W-2 form was exported into Turbo Tax, I would rather expect this error alert to get fired while I was running an error check. It made me very nervous. To be on the safe side, I went back to a Wages section, fixed the entry issue for my W-2 form, re-run an error check for both federal and state taxes and went through e-filing again. I used to buy a Delux version of Turbo Tax but this year's Delux version does not include forms for selling stocks, etc. and I had to buy a Premier version but it is more expensive than the Delux is. I also found that if you want to claim "other income", the Premier version does not include a necessary form and you need to "request" it. It does not explain what the "Other income" is and I was wondering if it means that it requires to buy additional forms. April 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Change is not always good! Okay, a bit harsh maybe. I have been using TT for more years than I care to think about and I have to say this was the worst yet. Although this year for us was rather straight forward , I think the software lacked the guidance and intuition that TT has always been known for. Although not in finance or tax law, but I do hold a post grad degree (with lots of gray hair). I unfortunately found the program to be unfriendly and asked questions assuming preparer has some knowledge of what the program is asking. Several times questions regarding a previous years return was asked as if the information was at my fingertips. Past years of TT seemed to do a much better job integrating past information with new. I found myself asking, well shouldn't the program know this? This ability to communicate with past years of TT is the very reason I continue with TT year after year. WE made it through another year and granted the accuracy of any return is always only as good as the information the taxpayer provides. I hope the promise to return to "how we liked it" along with "guiding" taxpayers through the muck-and-mire will evolve out of the flames and ashes that I am sure Corporate has experienced with this years (2014) product. I suspect TT will loose many loyal customers next year unless they "re-redefine" what works and what does not. Good luck and hope things turn around next year! March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have used turbo tax for many years. I have found it easy to use, and like that it saves all my previous information, even if it is a little big brother/creepy. We moved this past year, and so had to file two state returns. I have had to do this manually in the past (Pre Turbo Tax), and so put the extra money out to buy the extra state form. I found the federal turbo did not "talk" to the state form very well, and the means of entering my state information for Virginia and SC were very different. I was very surprised that there was not an easier explanation via turbo tax to reassure me that I was on the right track... I would say that given the amount of money I paid for the state version, and again for the e-file, you could designate more of your budget to making the language and transition between state taxes more understandable. The only other hiccup I had with the process was with regard to the sale of one house and purchase of the next. I only had a mortgage on the house that I sold, so I only paid interest on one home, but paid taxes on both. I would have expected that it would ask me separately for each home, but it only focused on the firs home. Also, even though I clearly did not have capital gains on this home and said so, it insisted on "upgrading" me free of charge. I sold my home for far less than $500,000, so it took me through an unnecessary transition. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great if you know what you're doing If you already know what tax benefits and deductions you are eligible for and generally where to to put the information Turbo Tax is great. However, if you are not aware of the subtle deductions and exclusions available to you it will miss a lot of them (as will most common tax prep services.) Even when you are aware of deductions and exclusions which you are qualified for Turbo Tax does not always make it easy for you to input the data necessary to obtain these deductions and exclusions. One example is the home health care income exclusion. At no time while filling out your taxes does Turbo Tax even hint that this exists. Even knowing that it existed was of little help. The assistance provided by Turbo Tax was of no help and actually wrong in some cases. It was only by reading IRS Notice 2014-7 with its questions and answers that allowed me to figure out how to get it into Turbo Tax and get the resultant $1700 tax reduction. I've found this to be the case with other things in the past. If you know what you're looking for, Turbo Tax will help get the deductions for it and as much associated deductions as you can. BUT YOU HAVE TO KNOW WHAT YOU'RE LOOKING FOR. If it's any consolation, a friend of mine went to a nationwide tax prep service and told them she wanted this exclusion included with her taxes and was told that it didn't apply until next year when in fact the IRS says it goes back to 2011. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely, Positively "The Best" I have been using the yearly Turbo update for over 20 years. I wouldn't do without it. It is fast and easy to complete and appears to have all tax areas covered. Requires simple input from me - usually "Yes and No" questions or bullets to complete. Takes your last year's return from the system and fills in a lot of basic information in the new form and lets you see what you previously claimed versus the current year. I had different complex forms to complete for two years, and again I was given easy directions to follow. My effort is minimal. It's a winner! It has been improved each year. Hard to believe a competitor could top Turbo Tax. In fact, I cannot think of the name of a competitor at the moment. As far as taking my taxes to a storefront tax service, I would rather stay at home with my feet up on a recliner and the laptop on my lap and be finished in a couple of hours. Plus my one experience with an outside tax preparer was a horror. I had to re-do the tax return. That was pre-Turbo Tax. Also, during the Pre-Turbo Tax years I would sharpen my pencils, get out my calculator and erasers and spend many hours reading IRS instructions and filling out the tax forms. It was a horrible period in history. I dreaded tax time, I dreaded the process, I kept finding reasons not to start, and I was brain-dead when I finished. I love and trust Turbo Tax software. Can you tell that I'm a very happy customer? April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax does the trick. Turbo Tax is only tax preparation software I have ever used. This year the company made an "oopsie" when they decided to delete some features that were previously available to Turbo Tax deluxe users. The company made good on their offer to upgrade customers versions to Premier in an effort to sooth angry purchasers. It will be interesting to see what the company does next year. Turbo Tax is for the most part user friendly. There are 2 options available to users. One guides the user through the process step by step and the other option allows users to choose which forms they would like to work on. I like being able to switch from one method to the other because I like to check to see if certain items are inputted the proper way. A feature that is very useful is the question box that allows users to look up topics that have been posted. I had a question about our Roth IRA's and was able to find the answer by scrolling through the frequently asked questions section. One change I did not like happened when I was finished and wanted to e-file my Federal and snail mail my State taxes. It did not make sense to pay a $24.99 fee for a small State tax refund. However, the program made me e-file my Federal and then go back to the beginning of e-filing before I could finalize my State tax return and print it. Overall, Turbo Tax is easy to use and allows the user to fine tune their tax return to fit their needs. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Tax Software But Not Without Its Quirks! This is an excellent software program for doing taxes. For those who are new to Turbo Tax, or are novices at doing taxes, or require a little hand-holding, this is a great way to do taxes. For the more knowledgeable and advanced tax filers, this is also a great way of doing taxes because they can opt to bypass the simplistic approach/methodology and go straight to the relevant sections and items applicable to them. One area that Turbo Tax excels at is taking a tax filer's information pertaining to Section 179 Property expenses and filling in IRS Form 4562 (Depreciation & Amortization# automatically in an easy way. Like most good software programs there are always a few quirks usually involving more complicated issues and topics. For example, in my opinion they need to redo the "step-by-step" process and/or format when entering/inputting data related to ESPPs, employee business expenses, foreign holdings & accounts, mortgage interest info, and state sales tax matters so that the software is either more logical or reflects reality better. In some cases, the Turbo Tax process or method can be at variance with how a filer would normally handle #fill out# the corresponding traditional IRS forms, though in the end they reach the same outcome/result. While this is good it can also be a little disconcerting for those used to filling out the IRS paperwork the old-fashioned way #by hand). Overall - a good, solid program! March 25, 2015
  • 2015-05-23T12:21:51.310-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-387, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17099, tr_17099
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 385 386 387 388 389 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.