TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 334 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable Product While I found the software as easy to use as in past years, I was disappointed to learn that I could no longer use the Deluxe version to do my taxes as I did last year and had to buy the new Premier version although no major changes occurred in my tax situation in 2014. I was annoyed since I didn't realize I needed the Premier version until I brought the Deluxe version home. It would have helped if intuit had provided a sales information phone number either on line or on the packaging. April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another easy tax return process Another tax return process done, thanks to TurboTax. Walked me through everything again. This year I had a Form K-1 for Partnerships to include. Without TurboTax, it would have taken all day. I was somewhat disappointed in having to "upgrade" this year (and pay more) for the Premier version with no real changes in my tax year. Intuit should have warned their loyal customers in advance instead of springing it on them at the retail outlets with no warning (or at least from I could tell). April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I did my taxes first with the premier update and then my daughter's taxes. I found some changes in the Step by Step I didn't like. Some of the explanations were just not extensive enough ie. should explain more about the reason for the health information questions. The Help Center was very poor. It should have been called Q&A since it was based on customer inputs which were not always right and mostly not to the point. My advice would be to use the simplest version of TurboTax for you needs. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Chat I have been using Turbo Tax awhile now and although I am no tax expert,,, this program has made filing my taxes a relatively stress free process. Most people who do taxes use programs similar to turbo tax. I was having a tax attorney do my taxes and decided to try using turbo tax and discovered 3 mistakes my attorney had made on my previous year taxes which resulted in him refiling those and me getting back $3000. So overall I would highly recommend it and the e-filing is fast and easy! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax longer than I can remember and have ALWAYS liked the ease of filing my taxes and getting fast refunds but, the past couple years have been getting frustrating with added costs for the "premium" package to file with investment income. Also, why is it cheaper to buy the product at any of the local big box stores than directly from Turbo Tax? I'll probably continue to use your product but will definitely start looking at alternatives should the price continue to rise. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 33 years of success with TurboTax I have used TurboTax to file my taxes since 1982. It has made a very complicated process possible and saved untold $thousand in tax preparation expense. Over the years I have used both step by step and forms methods. We rent a room out in our house. I have found TurboTax does not support the split out of expenses against the rental income and otherwise deductable expense such as Mortgage Interest and Property Taxes. I would hope this special scenario would be address in future releases. March 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent for refunds, user interface needs work I'd recommend getting some more people to test out the interface before you deploy it to the customers. Some of the controls aren't exactly intuitive and there are several pages where I'd go back and delete information (so that it doesn't show up on the screen) just so that it would pop up later on during the return. If something gets deleted, just delete it out of the system. It's really confusing to make a mistake, quickly delete some information, just to see it pop up somewhere else. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by $20 to eFile State??? I LOVE Turbo Tax, and won't use anything else, but COME ON Turbo Tax, IF I am getting less than $20 back from State, WHY would I pay that much to eFile, AND if I OWE $$ Why on EARTH would I pay even more to eFile. If you can write software to translate onto my tax forms what I am being credited for by donating a shirt to the goodwill, you certainly can write in to the programming that I NOT be offered the "opportunity" to eFile and pay even more money!! Think about the logic there?!?!?! March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product Works well and is well worth the money but every year something that should be very simple always seems to fall through the cracks. This year it is in the charitable deductions. It allows and actually suggests using "VARIOUS" when there are multiple donations to the same charity at multiple times. Then in the review it indicates that "VARIOUS" is not allowed and you must go back and put the date in for each donation. Various should not be allowed as a choice when in the deductions area. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Pain is Gone I'm still concerned that your Mint program will require more at regular intervals than it would normally would to make my last-minute preparations for my next 1040. Will I be allowing (and Mint using) my checking account to be accessed? Will Mint want to access my brokerage account? Does Mint have the sophistication of Quicken? Quicken takes so much time to set up that I purchased, then removed it from my PC because the learning curve was too complex for someone not using it constantly. March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax needs improvements Printing of the forms is painful - many times the forms get cut off in the middle of the page. Employee Stock Purchase plans - when companies are spun off, Turbotax can't calculate. It does not even allow you to enter the proper name for the company stock. Does not seem to handle the capital loss in ESP very well. Charging for the electronic filing of the state tax forms does not make sense, after having purchased the SW Does even allow you to e-mail the forms directly from yahoo mail. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased Costumer We have used Turbo Tax for the last five years and have always been pleased. It does take time to get your taxes prepared yourself. However, it is so much easier having all the information filed at home and easy to reach, rather than having to gather it all to take to someone else (which in reality is just as time consuming!). We have had a few specialty cases in our taxes and Turbo Tax has always managed to be the right fit! We will continue to use this software; I see no reason to not! April 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by quality sliding software needs to be more intuitive in interview questions based on my turbo tax history from last years return. to many times i had to go to IRS.gov to get an answer, that really was not that complex or unusual of a question. going to specific tax forms from interview screens was not very easy. been using product for over 15 years and the quality of software in handling my tax situation effectively seems to get worse each year, and i don't really have that complex of a tax situation. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great software, one complaint The software is great. With that being said, I had to recharacterize a Roth contribution last year and TurboTax instructions got confusing. When I called Vanguard, my investment firm, to follow those instructions, I apparently did not use phrases that they recognized. I realize there are times to consult a tax advisor; but I did not think this was one of them. TurboTax might want to use more precise language when asking a company to call an outside firm as per their instructions. Thanks. March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs more explanation for first time house owner when entering my stock statements that was sold for covering taxes by brokerage company there was not enough help available straight. I find it in the turbo tax help statements. Also it was not clear what box in form 1099 matches turbo tax form. Multiple situation [esp based on brokerage i chose] should be explained in the help document The fees i had to enter for initial buying houses is not so clearly explained. I could not match my HUD statements to the items in the turbo tax forms. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Moderately OK I did my taxes this year in short segments on my iMac. on two occasions, I saved my work and when I returned I had lost it. When I made it to the federal review, a certain form, line and column had been left blank. The exact same thing happened during the state review. In each case, I could not access 'FORMS', either through the Icon or the drop down menu. First, when I answer all of your questions, why is there an incomplete form, and second, the obvious, how do I get to it to correct. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost 20 years audit free! I have been using TurboTax for over 25 years. The US edition, the German edition, the online edition for my older kids. In all the years I filed with TurboTax I was never audited! I only used tax accountants to help me 4 times over the past 25 years and was not only audited but had to pay back-taxes because my taxes where filed incorrectly! I will stick with TurboTax. Do yourself a favor and switch to TurboTax! ...and no, I don't have to any investments in TurboTax, perhaps I should! February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peezy Lemon Squeezy! Overall, I really like this product. First time I upgraded to Premium due to newly acquired stocks. I was able to finish in under a couple of hours since I always review everything twice before going to the next section. Have used Turbo Tax for close to 10 years now. However, this year, I received a 1099 after I had already filed and gotten accepted by federal and state. So now I have to file a 1040X. Will shall see how easy this will be using Turbo Tax? I blame Charles Schwab for this. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Major issue, easy as pie I have done this process for several years and it has always been safe, complete and easy to follow from beginning to end--when the forms are sent in to the feds and state folks for processing. Sometimes things are complex in the returns and, at least now, they seem more straight forward ("simple"), but I have never been lost in the process of completing the required info to complete my necessary, legal, financial obligation. It works and it is as easy as can be (for a federal process!!) March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Year in the Books I like the fact that you stay on top of all the new tax laws. The software is user friendly with the exception of sometimes trying to correct errors on a form you don't need for the current tax year. I discovered going in and deleting the form works but not sure if it is the correct way to do it. Still having trouble trying to get my AMT credit when it asks for information from Form 6521 which hasn't been used for several years. I have $9600 that I still can't figure out how to collect. February 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax ehh Again I TT this year for likely my 10th time. Bought another state and data would NOT transfer automatically. I repaired program to hit a fatal error, I removed the program and re-installed and the same non transfer of federal worksheet persisted. Then after entering all the data manually on my 2nd state worksheet, paying for efiling the data again said it needed to pull from the Federal worksheet, but couldn't. Doesn't someone quality check this software???? This year I'm getting a refund! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by One thing that has always bothered me with TurboTax. When you enter information in the "Pick the items myself" section, when you are done filling out an item it returns you to the top of the page and you have to scroll back down to where you just finished. It would be better to return you to the spot on the page where you just finished so you could continue with the next item in line. I almost missed entering my sales tax because of this, which would have cost me several thousand dollars! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by trubotax deluxe fed + state I have been a loyal member of TurboTax deluxe for years - as you can see. After transferring the details from 2013 tax year to file 2014 taxes, the app said that I have to upgrade to premier to do that and that it will be done as a free upgrade. Is this going to change to a chargeable upgrade? If so, I have to really think of other options. I am not sure why you have decided to take this option away from deluxe version and will not subscribe to such a change. Your loyal turbotax deluxe user. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PREMIER COULD HAVE ADVISED UP FRONT THAT THERE WOULD BE TWO SCREENS TO INPUT STOCK SALES. ONE FOR LONG AND ANOTHER FOR SHORT SALES REQUIRED. OLD FORMAT LET YOU ENTER INFO AND BROKE IT OUT AS REQUIRED. SECOND YEAR IN A ROW THAT FORM 1116 IS DIFFICULT. AS YOU DO THE CALCULATIONS, WHY CAN YOU NOT SUPPLY THE SUPPORTING INFO IF IT IS NEEDED FOR A PARTICULAR LINE OR AT LEAST DIRECT US TO WERE WE MIGHT FIND THE INFO. IF FORM 1116 IS NOT CORRECTED NEXT YEAR I WILL LOOK FOR ANOTHER PROGRAM TO DO MY TAXES. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charge for e-filing (STATE) I have used turbotax for about 12 years i filed for my Father in Law, one of my son and my self. we mailed all for years. My father in lay died 5 years ago, now iprepare my single sons tax and mine..We started e-filing 3 years ago and e-files all, My sons went thru free and state i paid for, now i files the first the first return and paid. WHY ??? As i read the fine print i should be able to file 3 sets, federal and State with free e-file.. I also use Quicken for 20 years and Quick-books. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Refund I have been using Turbo Tax for 5+ years and it's very user-friendly. This year I found the services that required a connection to the Internet - such as upgrading to Premier - did not work and I had to call a number during a certain time. The available phone call-in should be later during tax season. Also, I would have purchased the Premier all along if I saw the cover clearly. I found the new cover to be confusing. All in all, I'm happy but I think you need some upgrades for next year. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was quite impressed with my refund I have used TurboTax for several years now as I like to see for myself how I progress and understand what goes where. TurboTax is very easy to follow; if you have a question, it's easy to find answers or guidelines via the search box. I mentioned that some codes were not explained how to enter. Say 81 in 1099 r. I took me awhile to come up that it should be 8 and the second code 1. I hope I got all right filing my excess IRA contribution. Other than that, I had a very positive experience. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I love using turbotax. I am comfortable with the program I don't need guidance very often. But: When "doing it yourself" in deductions and completing a section, the prompt should return to the next item on the main page. all fields in deductions and sub-worksheets should show the amount last years column just like the main deduction page. Showing what was donated last year in the breakout boxes helps to determine amounts to look for this year like holiday donations to different charities. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Down I have mentioned this every year for the last few years and nothing ever gets done to improve it. I find that when indexing through income or deduction groups that as I end one catagory I am automatically moved to the top position in the listing. Then to get to the next catagory I manually have to scroll down to the next catagory. If the next catagory automatically appeared at the top of the column instead of the bottom of the catagory it would be a whole lot easier to advance trhough them. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets easier every year. Perhaps refining the process of "creating" K-1's vs. entering information from a "received" K-1. Also a statement clarifying reporting "income" via a K-1 which is different than reporting "principal" (such as non-taxable income from closing an estate). It took me quite awhile to figure it out when a simple statement clarifying the difference would have made it much simpler. It's really an IRS problem, but clarifying it in Turbo would have helped. Other than that, thanks for a great product! April 13, 2015
  • 2015-04-24T13:00:18.917-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-334, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_16991, tr_16991
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 332 333 334 335 336 ... 387 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.