TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 334 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17322 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some undesired changes I always love using Turbo Tax, but this year there were a few unhelpful changes. First, and you already know about this, we don't like that we had to buy Premier instead of Deluxe just because we have investments. And if we need Schedule D, at a very simple level, we don't see why we need to go "up" a product. Also, when we filed and were asked about backing up to iCloud, we would prefer to back it all up to our own computer, but that option was not offered. Why not? April 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Two steps backward from last year I have a small music business and the Premier edition has always sereved my needs. This year I was pushed toward a higher level needlessly. I also encountered several areas where I had to research on my own when TurboTax should have guided me as in the past. It took me twice the time to do my taxes this years with basically the same stuff. Why? I also had a lot of trouble getting things to print out because it kept hanging up. Then suddenly things began to work. Why? April 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Feel cheated by Intuit marketing practices I have been cheated twice: (1) I bought an advance copy from Intuit email advertisement in the belief it would be cheaper. The same version was actually $20 cheaper when it came onto the shelves at Costco. (2) The copy I had to buy was "Premier" because I needed Schedule D. I am sure those schedules were with Deluxe last year. Total: $40 extra charge. And then there was the charge for filing my state taxes electronically. Will be looking at alternatives next year. March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Longtime TurboTax'er I purchased the usual Deluxe version, not knowing it would not do investments as previously. Intuit kindly provide me the new "Premier" version and state (CO) download programs. I have just finished filing. I had assumed since I received the state download that e-filing my CO return was also free...not the case! I had to pay $19.95 to file the state return. I still like the ease of using TurboTax; but, will do some serious soul searching before doing my 2015 returns. February 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend Turbo Tax Even though turbo tax has had some issues with this version (2014), it still is good at explaining the various tax laws and how it pertains to your situation. The downloads and updates seem to take longer than necessary, and the form I need to file my state tax was not available. We'll see how long I have to wait before they become available. I still recommend the product and they have publicly admitted to their deficiencies this year and are working to correct them. February 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and Bad I purchased what I thought was the same Deluxe version which has the State tax forms included. This Deluxe version did not have it so I had to pay the premium to get it. Additionally, the addition of Schedule D was given "free" as a separate download, but should have been included in this version. Next year, I will be more wary of the version and I am buying and consider other vendors that can supply a similar product at a lower cost. I have been using TT since 2002. April 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It does your taxes I've used TurboTax for years, but not last year. Not only did I have to pay to upgrade (when everyone else got it for free), but it would only import last year's file. Why can't it import from previous years? I had to re-type all the basic stuff, like address and kids' names. The user interface is still clunky .. the "next" button is ALWAYS just far enough down the page that you have to scroll on EVERY page to advance, even though most questions don't pertain to you. April 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Last Turbo Tax worked well. This year was poor. I was unable to file my daughter's return because it rejected an employer federal ID number which was accepted last year. On my return it kept asking for information for a worksheet that appeared to be nonexistent and kept me from filing electronically. Also on my SC return it improperly overstated my tax payments when transferring and there was no way to correct. I am very displeased with my 2014 Turbo Tax experience. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lets make next year better for Turbo Tax Turbo Tax worked very hard to take care of all my problems that I encountered with the different version issues that Turbo Tax generated this year. I can see Turbo tax losing some market share due to the MAJOR corporate mistake. I have been using Turbo Tax for more than 10 years. I can't believe all the time I wasted trying to get everything to work. All the employees worked very hard to fix my issues caused by the Corporate office. Please get it right for next year. March 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not including Sch D Investment data in Deluxe vers Very unhappy with this year's version, I have used TurboTax over 10 years. This may be my last, Cost of 2 State is to high, cost of filing in state to high, Poor interface with issues on E Filling, was not specific what issue and line needed attention. Told I need to print and mail Maryland but hard to get final version not draft to print, again per interface. You need to look at earlier version and stop trying to get every last dollar you can get form your customer. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by More info The covered/not covered madness from IRS needs some help from Turbo Tax. I needed more specific instructions on how to deal with this one. Made many mistakes and had to go back and repair them, then couldn't delete the errors and duplications. Please make this part of it easier. We all make mistakes and have to go back and fix them - why not have a way to delete the errors and clean it up. I ended up with a form full of zeros just to get the devil filed. Thank you... March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfaction since 1982 Every year, Turbotax seems to get better. The guidance and review are wonderful. The first year I used it (1982), I TOOK IT ALONG TO THE CPA WHO WAS DOING MY TAXES. I QUERIED THREE DIFFERENT ITEMS HE HAD WRITTEN, WHEREUPON HE ASKED WHERE I HAD GOTTEN THE DATA. I SHOWED HIM MY TURBOTAX RETURN, AND HE WAS AMAZED, ADMITTING THAT HE HAD MADE THREE ERRORS. From then on I have only used Turbotax, and my children use it as well, also doing the state returns where they live. February 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is slipping and costing me money My Rental and Royalty entries got cross linked and I had to start over. The errors were fixed but the Error check would not allow me to file my taxes electronically. I got tired and entered minimal information to get the thing filed, losing money along the way. Doing this cost me over $100. If the problem is not fixed next year I will dump Turbo Tax for another product. This is the second time in ten years that Turbo Tax has let me down. They won't get a third chance. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst Turbotax Experience to Date Up until this year, Turbotax has been a problem-free helper in getting my taxes done. I have used Turbotax for a number of years (I can't count how many). I have NEVER had to call in to get phone help. This year was much more problematic. I'm assuming that it's because of the fiasco that you guys have experienced this tax season. I will definitely try Turbotax again next year but if the problems continue, I will certainly consider other options for the following year. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some Glitches in 2014 Version Should allow the search function to call up every step of the tax process, not just the main headings. Also allow adjustments to the deeper deductions areas even if those were bypassed or answered no before. I had to delete all data entered in a previously completed section and start from scratch to get to a question I needed to reconsider. Sometimes you think of other things when starting your tax return, and you should be able to locate that specific section easily. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Deluxe Thanks for fixing the mess with my need for the capital gains and the free upgrade to the Premier edition. I have done my returns for many years with TURBO TAX DELUXE and I hope to continue for many more. I actually enjoy doing my taxes with your product. Next year I will try to read the back of the box more carefully to see my needs. I would appreciate some help with It'sDeductibe so I can get it to download to my return. Thanks for all the good years of TURBOTAXING. March 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by TurboTax Premier - NOT IN MARYLAND As a user of TTax since 1988, I was very displeased to learn that I could not claim a Maryland tax "CREDIT" because TurboTax does not support the form. I have to efile (Maryland mandatory requirement) to claim the credit. However, due to non-support by TTax, I cannot complete my Maryland return nor can I efile it. TTax was a waste of money as I now have to find another tax prep program that will handle this situation or have my Maryland return prepared professionally. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go Turbo! As a long-term, satisfied TurboTax user, I recommend it frequently. But sometimes a prompt can be nerve-wracking. Here's one from this year: Check This Entry: Other Income Statement: Other taxable income for the taxpayer-1 must be entered. There is a entry box labeled Line 17 (a). I clicked on HELP and received this response, as had many others, some as long as two months ago: "Sorry.... This question has yet to be answered. Be the first to answer and add it below." March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as previous years This year's version seemed prone to crashing on my MAC. It would search and search for updates and then just "spin". I had to force quit my computer several times and restart to make it work. Also, I had a question about a specific addition on my state return. TurboTax's information was so generic that I had to research state websites to get the answers I needed. If I'm paying for instructions for my state return, why did I have to go find the instructions on my own? March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Highlights A couple of times I needed to go back to a previous section of the software and check information. When I tried to return to the place I was at prior to jumping back, it didn't take me to the same page. Usually had to start the section from the beginning. I would really like to see an option for just printing the pages required for paper filing. Appears it will only give you the entire package and then you have to deselect those pages you don't need. A bit confusing. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Tax Helper Very easy to walk through preparing and filing tax forms. I spent about 2 to 3 hours clicking through all the forms and entering amounts as asked. i like how last years information is available and carried into this years forms. I have used Turbo Tax for the last 5 years and it is so much easier than picking up all the information and going to the local tax store. I used to work for a national tax preperation company and this is so much easier and most likely cheaper. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it done! Easy to follow menus helped to get through the exercise. Only issue was with Schedule D worksheet - for investment-types over 50 lines long, only 50 lines would display for review and editing, though all totals were retained and details did print later. On printouts of Forms 8949, all investments of a letter-type were grouped together, and not sub-totaled by investment account, making review more difficult. Otherwise, everything else went very well. Good job, as usual! March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2015 Highs and Lows The program is simple and easy to use. Similar to the thousands who commented previously, the sudden change that required upgrading to Premier because of investments was poorly thought out. There should have been some indication that Premier was now required since the back of the Deluxe box had the same check marks as previous years. I appreciated the offer to return the extra fee paid, but the experience was disappointing, especially after 10+ years of using TurboTax. February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was great until... I hadn't put it the recipient name and address on three 1099Rs. Turbo tax caught two of the errors, but didn't catch the third instance, even though I re-checked for errors. Both returns kicked back at me for e-filing. Also, Turbo tax is great for straightforward returns, but for more complex issues the preparer had better have a good idea of how their finished return should look. After you've used Turbo Tax or other tax prep software, the step by step is awfully slow. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still Easy To Use Still believe this is the best software for personal taxes, even including business if you buy the appropriate version. I was especially disappointed that there was no indication upfront that Premier would not include investment handling. The approach of not telling you until you received the annual automatic copy was not a wise marketing decision and almost made me return it and go to another supplier. The only thing that saved the day was the offer of a free upgrade. March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too much secrecy Didn't like the lack of notification about changes to the product. I was also told I could not get my upgrade refund if I filed an extension rather than file by deadline. There are some holes in the estimated taxes for 2015 section: 1) there should be a calculation for estimated AMT rather than jut a box to input your own estimate and 2) there should be a calculation to determine the minimum estimated tax payment needed each quarter to avoid a penalty for underpayment. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rocks! I am filing a Schedule E for the first time this year and was going to hire an accountant after using Turbo Tax for several years. After I got everything together, I realized it would actually be more efficient to do the return myself. Turbo Tax gave me the support I needed and was easy to follow. I was able to duplicate all calculations (except for AMT) with ease. I saved a few dollars and learned more about the tax laws for vacation rentals. Thanks to all at TurboTax April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by disenchanted Although I have used TurboTax for many years, this will be the last. By the time the software is purchased, state filing fees & fees for deduction of fees from refund are paid, it simply isn't worth it. Additionally, there were several spots that caused difficulties. Last year I completed the form with no problems. This year, with exactly the same income/deductions, there were several points of frustration & delay. It doesn't seem as user friendly as in previous years. April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Blah Here I am ready to efile and bam I get hit with account ID and password - why not get all the information up front?? When you say I can print it doesn't print it just shows me the pdf file?? there is very little to no processing information up front. I don't always know what when, how, why, etc. the only thing that has kept me is the pdf file - paged correctly. I can always find things. but frustration at the end of the process will make me look for a cpa next. year. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like your tax program I need the program with investments and stocks, so this year I had to buy your premier program. In the past this was included in the deluxe program. I did not need a lot of fancy stuff as our life is not big investments and stocks like many people. I guess it worked, but the extra $30 for the program almost changed my mind. Thanks for a useful product and program, but seems like every time you turn around the costs increase, while our salaries stay the same. Thanks. ALF April 13, 2015
  • 2015-09-03T12:16:43.292-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-334, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17322, tr_17322
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 332 333 334 335 336 ... 395 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.