TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings - Page 61 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 2828 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Reviews This Year At error check, I got a message saying that "Schedule B: State ID exempt-int div-2 must be entered." Why - it was Zero! I went back to the 1099 I thought I was having a problem with and edited it to see if that would solve the problem, but it didn't. So I deleted it and did it over. This apparently fixed the problem because I was able to file, but on the Income list it didn't list the title of the broker even though I typed it in the correct box. This is the first time I ever had a problem with TurboTax in the 14 years I've used it, so I was disappointed and frustrated. February 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but still needs work for military members I ran into an issue using Turbo Tax with the sale of our home this past year. Turbo Tax did not know about the military exception to having to reside in a home for 2 of the past 5 years to be eligible for capital gains exclusion. Specifically, "if you rented the home to others because you were on 'qualified extended duty' with the military you can 'suspend' that period of time in the capital gains calculation for 'the last five years' timeframe. But, a suspension period can't be more than 10 years." The program did not allow for entering this information correctly. January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use This is a great product which is easy to use and understand, very comprehensively walks through your financial situation and addresses areas relevant to your tax profile. I like the examples of similar types of items (for example, when discussing student book and equipment expenses, there are specific examples of the kinds of expenses that are mandatory purchases and those that are not). The one thing I felt could be improved is when a dialogue box opens and asks for information that was missing from a downloaded 1099 form, there is no help feature to explain what should be in the box, or when the EIN for my employer was "too long" (even though it was downloaded from my employer's site), there was no explanation of what the issue might be. Other than those minor nits, everything was very clear and understandable. All in all, this is a great product. February 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by In general, the product is easy to use due to the way prior years data pre-populates the current year so only changes need to be entered. However, it was not at all clear how the MRD issue pertains to, or needs to be responded to, for a defined benefit pension plan. I would expect that a simple question to define the type of pension plan would be sufficient for the product to make a determination on how to handle the amounts. Also, the process for entering information on medical expenses was cumbersome. Presenting a list of potential medical expenses and allowing the user to choose which to enter would have been quicker to deal with. February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best UI/UX on the internet Give whomever designed and coded the TurboTax frontend a highfive and a raise (although I'm sure the backend systems are the by-product of geniuses at work). Never in all my history of using web applications have I come across a better looking and easy to use service. You've somehow managed to make the (pre-TurboTax) "expected miserable experience" of filing taxes a complete breeze. To top it off, I'm using a minimal browser with security minded extensions that block scripts and generally make most sites load rather poorly. Not yours! Keep up the great work TurboTax! January 16, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by more expensive less service Geez guys, never before have I had to manually enter my W2. And there has been no change to my employer. Plus I had to spend half of my state return for you to file my state taxes for me. what is that all about? Finally, I had to have an upgraded service to file one additional income type. Ended up paying almost $100 to file state and federal with you. And the worst part about it was that I couldn't tell what my final bill was until I committed to filing with you - you just kept saying 'that will cost more...add this additional amount to your fee. Next year I'm using someone else January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as a cake walk! Using Turbo Tax is like doing a cake walk, just keep walking thru each section and you get the $cake$ at the end! Really, its that easy! I had some questions while filing and all I had to do was type the question in the search bar and bingo there were the answers! It guilds you thru the entire process, if you miss something it will tell you and direct you back to double check your answer or add something you may have forgotten. Once you have filed with Turbo Tax, the next year your info is already in the system and you can just add new info or delete old info, its that easy and turbo quick! Thanks Turbo Tax for making filing taxes so easy! February 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Preparation Time takes no longer than if you sat with an Accountant or Tax Preparer. Downfall: If you log out to return and complete, instead of continuing where you left off, program brings back to the beginning. I found that unnecessary since there is a time where everything is reviewed. This causes a waste of time This is my second or third time using Turbo Tax, so I don't remember having to take the additional time reviewing again all the steps when returning to complete the process. Also, I do not remember having to pay an additional fee for service to have my refund sent direct deposit to my back.. February 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as confident this year as in previous years I have used TurboTax for MANY years and this year is the first one in which I don't feel as confident as I have in past years. The reason is because of stock sales that my husband did during 2015. They are long term ESPP sales and while TurboTax KNOWS what those are and sure has a lot of info about them, the pages to enter all that info tend to freeze up with "fix errors before proceeding" messages. Even after checking and double checking, I just needed to save and quit and come back again. All in all a FABULOUSLY easy program to use. Seems this stock sales area is just finicky, I guess. January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Provided Exceptional Support I encountered a problem where Turbo Tax Premier was not accounting for all of my entered taxes paid from my 1099-R due to Partial Year Residency Status in two states. Technical support personnel spent over 2 hours on the phone with me to resolve the problem. When not able to immediately fix the problem, they promptly called me back to provide a status update and let me know what they were going to do to correct the problem. Within a few days the problem was fixed and was able to file with no issues. I really appreciate the extra help the Shirley from Tech Support provided on Case # 413969047. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't have done it without you I am grateful every year for the hep Turbo Tax provides. There are almost always a few issues I wouldn't know how to resolve. Y'all know the answers to the questions I have. I did have to pay to upgrade this year for the sale of a home, but ended up and didn't need to include the sale on my return because we took a loss on the sale. However, I wouldn't have known that had it not be for the upgrade and wouldn't have known how to file that particular tax situation without your help. So, its worth the extra cash to have the help. Besides, they take it out the return. So, I'll probably never miss it. January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Like Having Your Very Own Tax Advisor! I've filed my yearly taxes using TurboTax Services several times now. Because of some investments, we selected the Premier option. I've been very impressed with the TurboTax product for several reasons: the program guides you through questions in order to maximize your potential refund, the secure data import option (allows for your employer/investment institutions to provide your tax information quickly and easily), and clearly stated questions. During the process to file my taxes, I was never confused or concerned that I missed something. Thank you, TurboTax, for simplifying the tax filing process! January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier Every Year This is the fourth year that I have used Turbo Tax and I love it more every year. The first couple of years I would buy the Tax Software at my local Walmart and found it very easy to use. The last two years I have purchased it online which saved me MONEY! I love how all of the personal information is filled out when you log in and they always check just to make sure key information is the same. I love the simple Yes or No questions that guide you through the process. Loved the 2015 addition of HUMOR. I don't think I have ever laughed while doing taxes. (About my 14 year old paying for his own expenses) February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Fast Refunds I am a 71 year old female. I have been using "My Turbo Tax" to do my taxes for the last several years. I used to have a popular tax company do my taxes for me, and I paid them $300 each year. The man that did my taxes the last time said he did it part-time, so I asked him how hard it was to learn how to do it. He told me he used something called "Turbo Tax", and anybody could do it. I asked him where he found it and he said on the internet. I bought my first Turbo Tax in 2004, and the rest is history. Thank you Turbo Tax, for making my life easier, and letting me keep more of my hard earned money. January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by ZERO STRESS I have been using TurboTax for at least 7 years. I first signed up when we had seriously complicated filings to submit, and I had filed extensions to procrastinate because I simply could not manage the information. I was SCARED. Me, a full grown human of sound mind. I finally tried TurboTax after searching for a tax lawyer online in my desperation. I gave it a try (it costs nothing to enter data) and within a few days it was... done. Magically. Without stress and with plenty of pointers, tips and explanations. TurboTax has simply become better over the years, to the point that I actually look forward to tax filings. I should go open that champagne now to celebrate another easy year. February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Assistance -- Thank you! Awesome assistance from the initial "tech support" to my transfer to "tax support" (sorry but not sure of the actual department names) to the tax advice department (specifically, Linda E.). I received honest research from each individual and when initial analysis did not find a fix, I was promptly transferred to the next department/individual. Eventually I was transferred to Linda E. We walked through the situation together and she looked at what might be causing the problem. We made the necessary adjustments and eventually refiled. I'm glad to say that our state tax was finally accepted! Thank you =) January 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax review I usually use Turbo Tax since it is complete and guides me through the process of completing a return. This year, since I am retired and have limited income, some items changed and I confusedly had entered information that had no effect on my tax return. I ended up calling the help line and got Chris who walked me through those changes I needed to make and explained items I was confused on. That is by far the nicest feature since you actually get to talk to a real person who knows what he is talking about. Thanks, Turbo Tax and Chris...you both made a what is normally a hated tax filing day a great one. January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by YOU SHOULD BE USING TURBOTAX!!! As a stay at home military wife and mother of three with total oversight of what happens in this house... I don't feel comfortable leaving my taxing fate to someone behind a desk in an awkward cubicle set up. TurboTax gives me the comfort of knowing I'm making the best filing decisions for me and my family by basically holding my hand and walking me through each and every possible tax situation for my circumstance. I get a year-to-year comparison of my tax filings and it's really super easy. I'm pretty sure my 9-year old could do our taxes with TurboTax! I've been using them for over 5 years now and unless some other tax filing software can magically tell my future or help me shed those stingy 5lbs from the holidays, then there's no way I'm switching! -Happy Filing Y'all!!! February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is awesome In a few years, I have had nothing but issues with the outside tax preparation places who's only goal is to get you in and out within 45 minutes and then charge you stupid amounts of money for basically doing nothing. If you have kept good track of your financials including taxes, medical, donations and other income, you should use TurboTax. It has very easy to understand explanations for each item in the return. There leaves little room for misunderstanding. And if you just pay for the federal and state software, it is at least 1/3cheaper than going to H&R Block or other places. I would recommend it everytime. January 22, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by OK, but payment at end was a little shady I have been using TurboTax for many years and have been generally happy with the service. Like you, I am in the business to make money but I have to say the additional charges for the "pay using the federal return" was a little misleading and shady (you know it is as well). I get it that software development is expensive and I honor the process but your "exit through the gift shop charges may and do apply" method should be more clear. My guess (and yours) is that people at this stage are just done with it and want to move on. Well played TurboTax, I'm sure over a large sample set you make a lot of money using that tactic. January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 35 and first time doing taxes myself I have been too scared to do my taxes because of having to do long forms. I have student loans, rental property, a home, car depreciation value, you name it. Someone recommended the program to me so I decided I would try it. I found it was very easy to use in spite of my tricky situations and it had answers to all my questions right in front of me. It was even easier to use than it is to explain my life to my tax lady. And I got more back. I would recommend this to anyone. I see unintelligent people using this program all the time and if they can do it, so can you. If I can do it with the mess my taxes are, you can too! January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The turbotax is second to none! I have been using turbotax for around a decade. It is a great tool for filing taxes. Turbtax makes a complex tax code easy to navigate. Twenty years ago I went to H&R block to have my taxes prepared. The man behind the desk asked simple questions and entered my answers into his pc which then calculated my taxes. The process seemed simple enough so from then on I used the booklets and completed my own taxes. That was back when things were simple in my life. Now as a homeowner, a father, and an investor I would be pulling my hair out if I had to use the booklets and try to determine which additional forms I needed. Thanks Turbtax for making it easy. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo, baby! Turbo Tax has done it again! I have cruised through the process of filing my taxes in no time, and I even sold a house this year! Turbo Tax makes it easy and enjoyable (?!) to do my taxes with the easy-on-the-eyes fonts and graphics with soothing colors and fun images. I love how all my information from last year pops up and saves me lots of time and frustration typing in all of my personal information, and it's great to have a record of previous figures available to me. Now that my taxes are prepared and on their way to the IRS, I am on my way to enjoy a beautiful day of snowshoeing! Thanks, Turbo Tax! See ya next year! January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Provides relief!! I just finished my taxes, and it was quick, easy and painless! I had several deductions to make, but the program helps you thru them all; it also reminds you or offers you several deduction potentials (most I had never heard of). While I didn't get to use most of them, it is good to know they were offered and checked in on. Very easy to pay, got both federal and state done in little time....very happy! Plus they put up the info that was entered from the previous year with them, so for someone like me that basically has the same things to enter every year, it is great to have that to compare to so I can avoid missing anything. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth Sailing! I'll try and keep it as simple as TurboTax did for my taxes. I was filing my taxes with an automated program through H&R Block (Last year I filed in person with them). My attempted refund this year was more complicated (in terms of program intuitiveness compared to TurboTax), lower (refund), and actually showed an outrageous discrepancy in income for my state return (about a $30,000 difference) which blew me away since it imported my information from my Federal return. I logged on to TurboTax and while it cost me a little more, I actually am still receiving a higher refund above and beyond what I'm paying TurboTax than if I filed for free at H&R Block which was impressive. I got a better product, a higher refund and ultimately a better experience. After all that, I was more than happy to agree to this survey. If you haven't given this program a try and you haven't filed your taxes, I'd certainly recommend it as I know I'll be back here again next year. Happy filing! February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Use every year I use it every year to make sure my info is carried forward each year. The information is clear and straightforward. Most all questions are answered pretty quickly. To be honest, a few years ago TurboTax was only mediocre. The explanations were often confusing or not helpful. Also I had to chug through a lot of screens and options that didn't apply to my situation. TurboTax has improved each year and honestly this is their best year. I got my taxes done in under a couple hours for a joint household with multiple sources of income. And I did it with two children 2 and under running around, yelling, and vying for my attention. January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty Easy... I've used TT in the past but decided to use a CPA last year due to the sell of a rental property. I wasn't sure I was capturing any losses correctly and wanted a professional to review my taxes. This year was pretty clean and decided to give TT another try. This year's version, to me, seemed more helpful and an easier step by step process then previous versions. I had one form that it didn't cover, or maybe I just missed, which was the 1099G for entering last years state tax return as income for federal taxation. It's a ridiculous concept to tax your tax return but is anyone really surprise? If my situation stays the same I will use TT in the future for sure. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Help line Rocks! Everything was going along swimmingly. It was even easier this year than last with Turbo tax importing our W-2's and other documents automatically. Then I hit a snag, by accident I started a form on Idenity theft that wasn't letting me complete and file. Dejectedly, I hit the help button thinking this would take days to sort out. In ten minutes I had a phone call from Nikki, very helpful - especially since my father-in-law was just starting to tell what had the makings of a very long story. In less than five minutes she had it all sorted out and my taxes were filed! Easy format, quick and painless, and great help when I mess it up. Couldn't ask for more. January 31, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfied with upcharges I had a very simple return that I needed to file and I was forced to upgrade to the premier package even though I was taking standard deduction and only had 1 extra form (sch D from carryover losses). Why should the inclusion of such a basic item result in an upcharge? I was already in the package that included itemized deductions and wasn't able to use that. It looks like maybe Turbotax should consider switching to a system that bases the price on the number of forms or complexity instead of a rudimentary setup that assumes a return is complex due to a single item, such as capital carryover. For this reason, I am going to probably use a different service next year. January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax makes filing easy I have been using TurboTax to prepare and e-file my tax returns for several years now. I have had some fairly complicated returns including capital losses and capital gains, and I am one of those people who itemizes my deductions every year. TurboTax remembers last year's tax situation and pre-populates some of the information from the prior year. It's easy to update and add new information and extremely easy to e-file. The only thing that I wish was a little bit easier was looking up my state's sales tax rate (that's the one thing that's not built in and not intuitive). On the whole, however, I wish everything else in life was as easy as doing my taxes with TurboTax. January 25, 2016
  • 2016-02-11 T06:28:32.585-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-61, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2828, tr_2828
  • loc_en_US, sid_400_2015, prod, sort_default
<<prev 59 60 61 62 63 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.