1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 7 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay Turbo Tax makes filing your own returns so simple. I hate paying people to do something that I am capable of doing myself, but it would not be possible without Turbo Tax! I highly recommend it :) April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by A bit disappointed Product is friendly and easy to use however, it calculates high and then subtracts if you don't use the expensive level. My state dropped like a rock. And I could not go back to see the numbers for the ad. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First timer I actually enjoyed TurboTax's method of quickly getting things done and in a way that makes my life as a busy worker easier by making it quick and efficient. I shall be using TurboTax next time to be sure! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slight Confusion but great Experience An excellent service where you are directed step by step through all the procedures necessary to evaluate your tax return. I highly recommend this product to others even if it's the free version. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience!! We have FOREVER used and accountant to do our taxes. This was a big leap for us - to use turbo tax, and we are very pleased. It is also very empowering to do one's taxes. Thank you for making is so simple! March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund made easy Even though I wasn't lucky to receive a refund it was great that I could complete our taxes without having to pay someone other than the IRS :-(. I have used Turbo Tax for years and will continue to do so. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5/5 would use again So much easier to use than the paper they give you. There is no confusion and it's a perfect program for filing your first time. Thank you Turbo Tax, no need to tear my hair out trying to file the old way. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by painless!!! this was so simple, I am a dummy with these tax sites, but when i was confused i just clicked the ? mark, and it was explained with no further delay. Took maybe 8 mins to complete whole process!! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is super easy I have been using Turbo Tax for a while now. They are pretty great for someone who just needs their W-2 filed. I don't know anything about taxes so really this is my best option. Would use again. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Duper Easy Every year I have to file not only my form, but also those of my 2 single sons. They give me all their pertinent paperwork & literally, a few minutes later, their returns are finished! Uber easy! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, efficient, effective... I've used TurboTax for several years and always felt confident that the program(s) would provide us with the best tax prep software at the most reasonable cost. You didn't disappoint me this year....again! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Steps as Usual I love using turbo tax! I love that the program was free this year as stated, last year it charged me $60 for a program that was supposed to be free. No real issues with this software. Thank you! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience I have had complex reviews in the past 20 or so years that I have used TurboTax and all were submitted flawlessly. This year my tax situation vastly simplified and I used the FREE version without an issue. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by what can i say, but 'awesome' This was my first time using TurboTax and I can't believe I never used it before. It was not only painless, but dare I say, enjoyable, knowing that the step-by-step guidelines walked me through everything! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made it super easy I am a freshman in college and this was my first time filing taxes and turbotax made it very easy and simple for me and made it very helpful because without it I would be so lost. Thank you and great work! March 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by WHY I do not understand why my 2013 refund is the same as the 2014 refund. I made 2,000 more and paid more taxes so I don't understand why there is no more money. Why is there no explanation of this situation? March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax= Terrific I was nervous about doing my own taxes. Their system is so user friendly, fast, and easy. It's like having your own personal CPA, aiming to get you the biggest possible refund, only with way better prices! April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Is The Way To Go Even though you have to type in all the personal data TurboTax has had on you for the past 10 years, its still a fast and secure way to get your state and federal returns finished and those refunds coming. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax It's a good service, but stopped working on my phone and I couldn't get it to continue. I kept getting an error message. I was able to sign in on the computer and finish, but that was somewhat frustrating. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finished in Time This is my first time using Turbo Tax. I was really surprised at how easy it was. It was also very helpful when I needed questions answered even directing me to IRS and state contact information. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy & Free This is the third year I've used TurboTax online to file my taxes. I'm a high school student and don't make a lot of money, so I need all my refunds coming to me. Turbo Tax is so simple and FREE. March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to do I was not looking to do this but you made is pretty easy. please make it easier to go back to check the previous page. it would make me feel better if I could go back without the fear of losing everything. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by happy Was very pleased with Turbo Tax. Was extremely happy didn't have to pay for this service. I work extremely hard for my dollars as I'm sure everyone does but it is nice that things are still free. Thank you April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes it simple to file taxes I've used Turbo tax now for the past few years. Not only does it make a difficult, complicated task very simple, but each year, the instructions become clearer and the added help more effective. Thank you! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So simple 10/10, Will use again next year. Made it very easy, and filing didn't take long at all. I even learned some things! And by god, compared to H&R Block, I gladly paid the $30 fee to file state. FREE Federal! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Awesome to Use! This was my first time trying to file my taxes and this site made it so easy! I feel like a pro and not a bit nervous about whether I made a mistake or not. I will tell all my friends and family. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always looks out for me on deductions I have been using TurboTax for at least 10 years. Have no reason to try any other place. I also have gotten all my family members to use TurboTax and they love it just as much as myself. Thank You TurboTax March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Refund x 2 I have used Turbo Tax for several years. It has improved every year, but this year it has really improved. It is quick and accurate. It can upload a lot of information that I used to have to key in myself. April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Used to be great, now every useful feature is blocked behind layers of spam and minor conveniences are held for ransom..... or else you have to do parts of it over and over. classic strongarmming April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Service TurboTax is thorough, accurate and trustworthy. Not only that, federal tax preparation is free. There are pop-ups offering deluxe service, but I for one did not mind. These are important to most taxpayers. March 16, 2015
  • 2015-12-01 T09:59:05.641-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.