1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 3 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 2863 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes done easy!! Such an easy program!! I entered and filed my returns (both federal and state) within an hours time! Any questions I needed answered were taken care of with the ease of a click of the mouse!! January 20, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Help My state taxes keep getting denied and it will not tell me how to fix my problem. It just brings me in to do it all again, so I have no idea what I'm messing up on. February 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by always gets me the most!!! I love turbo tax . when you pay a very small fee, you can call and actually talk to a real person who can answer any question you may have... not to mention they are very nice and helpful...Thank you turbo tax. January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome program For inexperienced "tax preparer" every step of the waylt confident because od the step by step instructions. This is my 2nd year doing my taxes with Turbo & I will stay with them in the future. Thanks Turbo Tax January 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Immediately rejected The program was very simple and explanatory but as soon as I submitted my returns, they were rejected. Then, when I tried to fix it the link or whatever never to me to the appropriate steps. January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great help I could not get my refund to finish out so i called and got a young lady to walk thru it with me and we got it filed. She was very kind and patient with this old lady. Thank you for hiring such wonderful people. January 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy to use. TurboTax is the best! I'd recommend TurboTax to anybody that can answer a few questions and type in a few numbers. The W-2 import feature is awesome and so are all of the other great and easy ways TurboTax uses to make taxes a breeze. January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 Helped me big time! Very helpful and quick way to do your return easy. February 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 great job TurboTax. Great job and easy to follow. February 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by i love this site! i really love how simple it is. they really do give you everything that they can and there is so much help on this website. taxes does easy and simple. you can really trust this website. February 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great way of filing taxes I loved filing my taxes with turbotax because it was simple and easy and saved me a lot of time February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by i love TurboTax!!! I love TurboTax its so easy and simple, it makes my life easier I can get my taxes done fast and with ease. I would recommend this to anyone I ever come into contact with hands down!!. February 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Return Overall the 5 years I've been using turbo tax I've had no issues.. This year is the first year I've been asked about bunch of stupid questions and won't let me go futrure until I do stuff January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 the help was awesome Keep up the good work TurboTax. February 9, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sad Made 6 times more than my friends at the same job and I'm getting less than half of what they're getting back. February 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kind of iffy. Easy to learn how to do your taxes right and they lead you step by step on how to do it. Not to bad for my first time filing without help from someone. Would defiantly recommend this site to someone who was filing. January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy and simple This was very easy process and i will do my taxes with turbo taxes every year. I reccommend anyone to give turbo tax a try. I will never pay anyone to do my taxes when i can them myself. January 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by no refund but found the experience satisfying although i did not get a refund i found it to be a great way to complete an onerous task. was unable to print my return doe to computer issues but hope to be able to have one sent to me by turbotax or figure out how to get one. February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome love it! many years doing this and I was just alerted my state was rejected and I read that i would be walked through the correction. i"m grateful for the alert of an error on my part February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked my refund It didn't take me very long to get them filed! Didn't have to sit in no office to get them done. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breezed through my refund!! It was a breeze getting through the process!! The "guide me" feature makes it super easy and most of my info was already saved from last year's return. I definitely recommended my family and friends to use turbo tax!! January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FEDERAL & STATE RETURNS ARE FREE! Great & easy so you go thur with no problem. Both FEDERAL & STATE Returns are FREE. IT has help for every topic & questions...WALKS YOU THUR EVERY SECTION SO YOU DONT FORGET NOTHING & EXPLAINS EVERYTHING. THANKS FOR YOUR SERVICE TURBO TAX. February 7, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Refund2016 Everytime I keep clicking on the app that says that it's rejected it keeps coming back and running me into a loop and keep clicking on the rejected and it keeps taking me back and it doesn't tell me how to quick fix it February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Turbo tax guides me each step of the way. It is an excellent program. My grandad used it professionally for years in his tax business. We have been using it in our family ever since. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund mania!!!! Turbo tax guides you through each step! It's so effortless. I'm not extremely good with all of these numbers, and I was sure of what it all meant, thanks to turbo tax! Rockin website! January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filed for Free Love the fact that I could do the Federal, State and City tax all on one site and not have to pay a cent. This was just awesome. Everyone who has a simple return should use TURBO TAX January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filling taxes made a piece of cake! TurboTax is very easy to use and it helps you with everything. This was my first time using it and I had no trouble whatsoever. Definitely recommend to those who do their own taxes. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This is the first time I filled my taxes myself and this was awesomely easy.I look forward to next year! February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love I filed my family's taxes last year and again this year with Turbo Tax. It is so simple and easy and quick! Not many things are free in life. So take advantage of something that is! January 16, 2016
  • 2016-02-11 T06:43:16.056-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2863, tr_2863
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2015, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.