1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 3 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 2871 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filling taxes made a piece of cake! TurboTax is very easy to use and it helps you with everything. This was my first time using it and I had no trouble whatsoever. Definitely recommend to those who do their own taxes. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always easy I use turbo tax every year. Even when I owned my own business. It's so easy and so fast. Anyone who pays someone to do their taxes for them is a bozo. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this app It saves time for you if you're busy, fast simple easy even for first timers so I'd recommend it for a lot of people, great services helps you and is accurate as well as helps you with questions you need answered as well. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love I filed my family's taxes last year and again this year with Turbo Tax. It is so simple and easy and quick! Not many things are free in life. So take advantage of something that is! January 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 JUST AMAZING SINCE I DID IT MY TAXES LAST YEAR ON TURBO TAX I DON'T EVER WANT TO GO ANYWHERE ELSE TO HAVE THEM PREPARED.SO EASY AND A LEARNING ABILITY FOR ME February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by the real deal inported my info got a good refund and they told me that the irs kicked out my info because my husband had died half way through the year. but with their help I could file for both and I had no idea how yo go about that. January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Satisfied I have used Turbotax for several years now. Turbotax always get me the maximum refund with speed and convenience. I literally filed my taxes on lunch break this year. Thanks guys! February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful...very easy to understand I would recommend turbotax to someone else. February 9, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Help My state taxes keep getting denied and it will not tell me how to fix my problem. It just brings me in to do it all again, so I have no idea what I'm messing up on. February 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by no refund but found the experience satisfying although i did not get a refund i found it to be a great way to complete an onerous task. was unable to print my return doe to computer issues but hope to be able to have one sent to me by turbotax or figure out how to get one. February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent and Easy Turbotax does a great job in guiding somebody who doesnt know about taxes filing their tax. Its quick and easy. Anybody can do this and it does not take a rocket scientist to do. January 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent is the Only word hmm, I never my self did tax returns in my 10 yrs tax filing. I wanted to try this yr and did with Turbo. I feel filing a tax is boring, but with Turbo it was fun as it was Interactive through out the process. I like it... January 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good I've always had good luck with Turbo Tax. The only complaint I have is that this year it keeps saying my state taxes are incomplete and when I go to finish them, it does nothing. January 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FRIGGEN AMAZING turbo tax really made it easy to file taxes! I literally had no idea what i was doing. And that was okay because they did everything for me- :) February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome refund I think this is a very helpful and convenient website to file taxes. I am very impressed and I will definitely without a doubt use rurbo tax to file my taxes for next year also. January 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good refund It will be easier if some words or statements are more clear. Specially for people like me, that do not understand some legal terminoly or from where the City or the goverment take out or calculate the money of your income. January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by federal/state taxes, Got a refund! Not sure why, all the information was entered for the federal taxes, but when finalizing the state taxes, it asked for the same information for employers.And had to enter a former address, too. Didn't quite understand that. Other than that, no problems. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy It only took me 30 minutes after trying to get all my banking numbers to send refund. now that I'm Retired from Military taxes got easier but it was always easy with TurboTax. January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful I was just a little confused one time but that's it because I am a first time filer but the information and steps that where given along the way were very helpful thank you. January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest Tax Return ever! This is the second year I've filed with Turbo Tax. This is the easiest return procedure I've ever used and I will continue to use Turbo Tax in the future. I highly recommend this way to file your state and federal income taxes. January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FEDERAL & STATE RETURNS ARE FREE! Great & easy so you go thur with no problem. Both FEDERAL & STATE Returns are FREE. IT has help for every topic & questions...WALKS YOU THUR EVERY SECTION SO YOU DONT FORGET NOTHING & EXPLAINS EVERYTHING. THANKS FOR YOUR SERVICE TURBO TAX. February 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most simple to use I started to use this service last year and everything was so smooth that I decided to come back this year. Your service did not disappoint again this year!! Thanks so much February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay every year!!! I don't know how many people I've told about Turbo Tax. :) My kids use it and my friends do as well. I don't dread doing my taxes anymore like I use to. It's been a breeze for me since 2007 using Turbo tax. Thank you very much!!! January 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was a breeze All my numbers downloaded by themselves making this not such a bad experience at all. By the time I got to see my refund I was STILL in a good mood. Hard to believe right? February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was easy! use almost every year... it's easy and reliable. February 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super help! TurboTax is fantastic! It was really quick! I will be using it again. February 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank God for TurboTax I love using TurboTax to file my taxes. I've used it for years and have always felt confident when filing through it. I can get it done quick and it is super easy to use! February 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gettin a refund I've been trying to finish my state refund because it says incomplete and when I try to finish it it sends me to weird pages! Too much of a hassle for a $2.00 refund!!! January 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whoa! It was great. The app is slightly buggy or has glitches, but those are improvements I'm sure are being worked. Otherwise it was pretty fast and fairly simply. Good job! January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by first time online file if all goes well with this tax return via turbotax I'd like to thank this compnay. they made it very easy and extremely understandable. i would say to anyone unsure of using this option to go ahead and do so. you should be satisfied January 6, 2016
  • 2016-02-12 T06:33:55.933-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2871, tr_2871
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2015, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.