1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 3 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax was so simple and easy. Even when I struggled at one point, I called and they were so helpful! As a first timer with doing this, I felt confidence through out every step. Thank You Turbo Tax! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much easier than i thought it would be. we have had our taxes filed for us by a CPA for the last 12 years and since my husband passed away in July, i couldn't afford that luxury. I was told about Turbo Tax and tried it.......great product. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by always dependavble i have found turbo tax easy and accurate for about 20 years i first used the deluxe version and as my income and busines grew I now use hoe and business edition turbo tax has always met my tax needs February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fast and simple I have used another online tax company for years. I again went to use it and it was all changed and so hard and not user friendly. so I used this one and it made me very happy so easy and user friendly February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Pleasure! This is the first time I have not used a CPA. It was so easy and quick. I really loved the feedback while we were entering our information. I will let all my family and friends in on this great site. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied! TurboTax made filing my taxes easy as pie. It was just what I hoped for, and quick too. It was double easy in fact. Easy to understand and navigate. I feel confident in the process. Great job TurboTax! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by refund 2014 I had an easy time doing the federal return but I did not want to file my state return through the program. I did get confused with the schools o list since I just graduated high school in June of 2014 March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very easy, even more costly. It's made easy to use for people who aren't naturally detail oriented. However, for people like me, who detail oriented is second nature, it just might not be worth $29.99, but rather $9.99 Good luck. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy [and weirdly fun] This year was my first time filing taxes on my own, and it couldn't have been easier. Every possible question was anticipated. And with the program's casual way of communication, all pressure is off. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Fun Refund Great for people like me who don't have time to sit down and understand everything about taxes. Just answer a series of clear and simple questions, and TurboTax handles the rest and saves you money. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrible Taxes I was a little worried about filing (as it is my first time) but a friend recommended this online service to me and it took a tremendous load off my mind. I will definitely use this again next year! March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund! I have been using turbotax for a few years now and every year you guys make it easier and easier for me to understand and go step by step on what I need to fill out. It's truly a pleasure! Thank you March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Turbo Tax!!! Your program was easy to follow, and simple to understand, and where you have questions there are simple click and read question tabs to help even the least tax savvy individual get a stellar return March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I also prepared my return the old fashioned way, by paper, just to check the calculation and I got the same numbers! I will use again next year and will not double check by preparing paper calculations! April 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Felt Restricted I should view able to view my forms at any time in the process. Everything is restricted until I enter a payment type. I should be able to review my forms at any time to make sure everything looks okay. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome way to save on my taxes i really appreciate the step by step tutorials on turbo tax that allows me to save on my yearly tax preparations. I save hundreds a year by filing my own taxes and just want to say THANK YOU turbo tax!! March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very simple very simple to complete my first return, only thing i would have to say is if you live in florida dont make state tax filing an option I almost paid 30.00 for no reason, other than that excellent!!! April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by There is almost no way to make an error with your return based on the filtering/checking system that is built into the turbo tax user interface. Great product and always a quick to the point experience! March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FAST. EASY. FREE. Did my taxes in 10 minutes! Easy, step by step instructions and easy to manage. I was able to save a copy and print out my taxes in a matter of seconds. I strongly recommend using this software to file! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy for a first-timer! I'm a college student, so I've always had my parents take care of my taxes for me. This year, I used TurboTax for the first time, and it made the process very easy and much less work for my parents. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by sooooo EASY it is one of the most easiest and complete tax preparation that there is out there..I would always recommend it to my co-workers who now uses this too, thanks for makeing tax day a little less stressful April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Process The process was very easy. This was my first time filing taxes and it was easier than I thought. I was going to go to a account but, I am glad I went with Turbo Tax. This filing was easy and simple. March 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Excellent UI The negative that I have is that in order for my state tax to be filed and to pay with my returns it was almost 60 dollars. This should be one service to pay for one time. Not two separate services. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Service I did the federal free edition of intuit tax, I only have 2 W2's, and school. I trusted that intuit would ask me everything and it did. I would gladly come back to use Intuit even for a nominal fee. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy! Actually made filing taxes fun! Super easy to use and understand. I enjoyed that at any point I could go back or click to understand what I was being asked. It takes the tediousness out of filing taxes. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by to many mistakes i fixed mistake it took 11 days to tell me I had not finished after I got email saying I had corrected my mistake and my taxes were filed, I still am not sure my state is filed. I will mail it in myself March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly! TurboTax's format is so reliable and user-friendly. It walks you through step-by-step so the process feels manageable. There are opportunities to learn along the way. The process is simple and safe. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by turbo tax rulz I have always used h&r block.this year they kept throwing up an error even though I knew there wasn't one.they kept trying to get me to pay for help.instead I tried turbo tax and had no problems.awesome April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very friendly Overall I am very happy with how smooth this process was and how user friendly they have made it. Filing for free has helped me through many years and I hope will continue to help me as my life goes on! February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes Turbo tax is pretty self explanatory and easy to use. The only think that I didn't like was that the rates went up to file for State taxes. I actually paid more to file than what I was getting back! March 5, 2015
  • 2015-11-24 T07:59:26.415-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.