1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbotax excellent product. easier to use than the previous ones I paid for
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple I appreciate the ability to file my own taxes and save the cost of paying someone to do it for me.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST DIY TAX PROGRAM AVAILABLE THERE IS NO BETTER ONLINE PROGRAM THAT IS AS USER FRIENDLY AMD UP TO DATE LIKE TURBO TAX :-)
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome This engine transform doing taxes in a super simple process!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful time filing I filed my own Taxes and turbo tax was very helpful with all the drop down information windows..Thank You
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice and easy Filing was nice and easy. Just one thing, wished turbo tax said we needed previous year's agi to submit. Made me do my tax kinda late.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ezy Pezy $30 for filing state tax return is a lot of money when unemployed and when it represents 25% of the refund.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from frustrated had to spend a second night of several hrs redoing my filing because it was not saved the first time. I requested a call back under the help section and never received one
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Resource TurboTax was a great resource for me. It was my first time filing on my own and TurboTax walked me through each step. Greatly recommend.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well for simple tax return Overall it was easy to use and I was successful in submitting my simple tax return. The only problem keeping this from 5 stars was several steps I would enter data and it would go back and make me do it again. Unsure why.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love Easy! I hate doing taxes and being terrified of the IRS. Turbo tax took away all the anxiety and made it so easy! I will be a devoted customer from now on! And they were so very encouraging!!!!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Application It there are links to State pages, it would be nice if there was a link to the page. Other than that, this is a very nifty application. Just take your time and read the entire page you are entering information on.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Experience Turbo Tax is always helpful and easy to use. The service insures that every possible option is checked.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Enough For Me This is my go to for filing taxes. I needed to file an extension this year and was stressing over how complicated I expected it to be. The process, through TurboTax, was anything but complicated and eased any worries I had.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and well instructed This was my first time using TurboTax and it was so simple. Much cheaper than going to HR block or an accountant. I highly recommend for anyone to use.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy! Turbo Tax makes doing your taxes easy and simple! Yes there is still a lot of information needed to file however Turbo Tax is so organized I can pick back up right where I left off!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Count down to due date I love turbotax. It is safe, easy, fast, and even encouraging! Taxes are really stressful, but TurboTax makes it as painless as possible. Even a bit fun!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not really free Turbotax works fine, but the free version still costs $65 to file your taxes.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Time Saver Uploading PDF files to extract personal info, 1095 info, etc. is a huge time saver. Thanks Turbo tax.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Did not know how to do tax filing but was made easy thank you
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax 2016 I was late in filing - lost my husband last December and when the question about ...did anyone pass away... I clicked yes, clicked my husband's name ...and cried for days. Coming back to it today - and it wasn't too difficult at all.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from free is never free I've used TT for years, but over the past few there has been more and more random, unexpected, or hidden fees and complications in doing my taxes on this website. This will be my last year using it as there are numerous other companies offering similar or better services without the fees. Goodbye and good riddance!!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty easy to use It was a pretty positive experience for me.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hated the Experience! I've used Turbo Tax for the past few years after E-filing got too complicated. Turbo Tax was very easy at the time. Now they have made so many changes to try to make filing simple, that it's too complicated. I'm not sure if my return is always corre
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy Very user friendly - plenty of explanations for each step.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome service thanks for making it easy & FREE!~
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supercalifragilistic I love this software because it is easy to use. Does all the matching for me and transmits forms electronically.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy but with hiccups Overall very straightforward and simple. Only issue I had was that I had to wait to upgrade to PLUS until the very end before filing, forcing me to go back and review and edit what I needed to. Was also hard to find out where to get PLUS. Seemed to be very counter intuitive to wait until the very end to purchase the service. Would rather buy upfront to utilize all of its features prior to filling out my return to save time.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy Your service was so easy and helpful and very detailed! I will be using Turbo Tax again next year!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have not use Turbo Tax in some years and it is a pleasant experience they have made it very easy and time efficient .
Date published: 2017-10-15
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43694, tr_45906
  • loc_, sid_100_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.