TurboTax Basic Online
Customer Ratings - Page 219 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by i didnt have to get off my couch! I have always be anxious about filing my own taxes. I have heard from everyone that Turbo Tax is the best way to file taxes.. you dont have to leave the house anymore and go sit and wait at a company for them to finally talk to you. ive always had to wait 35 40 min just to sit down with the worker filing my taxes. Turbo Tax is way easier than doing anything else, it's also 100X cheaper than any other filing company, you dont have to pay anything if you dont want to, it's all free.. if you want some extra stuff that will help in the long run, its real cheap and they'll just take it out of you total federal rufund whenever you get it. January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 3rd year of turbotax I love turbotax, and I will continue to use it, but this year I had to deselect the turbo tax Plus option twice, but it still added it on. I was running out of time, so I reluctantly pressed "accept." I'm sure it was an error, but as someone who makes well below the poverty level, $30 is a lot of money. I am glad because turbotax got me even MORE money this year than usual, so I'm still very happy with my service. Just watch out for that TurboTax Plus. It kept popping up, despite saying I didn't want it. But thanks, as per usual, tubotax team. You really do make taxes simple and very fast. I will continue to use turbotax in the future. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Improved! What an improvement from prior years! I would definitely trust my family members with using this software for simple tax returns. I have even completed my complicated return with TurboTax - however, I have been a professional tax preparer for years and learned with traditional forms so I knew what the calculations should approximately be and what I was looking for in my return as far as credits and depreciation. Yet, the software got the job done with minimal cost. Nice to work with and made my tax session go smoothly. Remember with the more complicated returns, go for the more deluxe edition so it could give you extra guidance and support. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Worth it I am not unique in my opinion of doing taxes, I am not the only one who has delayed doing them. I have used TurboTax in past years and never had any problems but I still don't feel comfortable doing them. I wasn't sure how this year's was going to go but it went beautifully (so far). I really debated about whether to upgrade to the plus but I'm so glad I did. I'm really glad that next year when this horrid time comes about, my information will be organized and I took a step forward in confidence in filing this year. It was so worth spending just a little extra so that I feel comfortable with what I filed and what I will receive in my return. February 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Annoyed Again I love turbo tax because it is fast and easy. But I always have to pay that audit defense charge! I never click it, then i get to the agreement form and it has it listed as other fees. I go back and undo it and it never drops off. I use thier help button and it list the steps I already did. It still shows. You really have no choice not to do it. It happened last year too. Same thing I remember declining the offer then it is in the fine print. I undo and it is still only listed in the fine print of the aggreement form. I don't need audit defense. I make no money and don't deduct much and everything is filed! I dont' want to pay more money!!!!!!! March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect Although I love Turbo Tax because it's fast and user-friendly, sometimes questions are asked in different ways from one screen to the next. For example, some pages have a lot of options, a question that asked if you qualify for any of these options, and then a button for "yes" or "no." Other pages have a number of checkboxes to choose and you need to select "None of the above" instead of a button choosing "no." It's not a huge quibble, but everything is so user-friendly that the inconsistency was surprising. I was also a little annoyed that I had to pay to use all of my information from last year as a returning customer. It seemed like a trick. January 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by slightly dismapyed I could not access previous years returns, even though I have paid to do so, because my email had changed and their was no way to edit, without signing in, a vicious cycle and your security questions did not match true answers so I was locked out. I attempted several times and kept getting oops doesn't match. I should know what the answers are, not you. I started fresh with a new account, you weren't able to import my w2 and I feel like I paid too much in taxes compared to last year but I had to go with what you came up with. so in past years I would have given a 5 star rating today because it took 3 hours and I feel uncertain, you only get a 3 star. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noice! I did my taxes for the first time on my own this year, usually my dad does them. He was getting to them late this year so I just went ahead and did mine and I chose Turbo Tax. I must say this is very easy to use. It guides you through every little step and shouldn't take you any time at all if they were as simple as mine are. I did have a correction to be made to my taxes after I already filed. I realized i forgot to add a W-2 form! I didn't know what to do so I got back on to Turbo Tax and they guided me through everything yet again. When the guide was done I just printed the correction form and did what it said to. Smooth sailings. Will use again next year! March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My refund processing was very smooth I really love Turbotax i have been doing my tax returns with Turbotax since 2011....... I've never had any issues with them since i have been using them.......Turbotax is very easy and convenient to process your taxes if you don t want to do your taxes with an organization that promises you a $50 or $100 advance, yet it only cost you $29.99 to do your federal and state tax return Turbotax is the way to go..........It is so awesome and it guides you through the whole thing..........I suggest anyone who is looking to file a standard or/joint return to give them a try........I am just as average person in the struggle like everybody else,,.,,,,,,, smooches... January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd time was a charm : ) This was the second time I used Turbo and it is much easier than 5yrs ago. I noticed the changes, more user friendly. Really liked it. I did not use it for a few years because I thought it was lengthy and questions got me tired. Results are great this time. Saved me tax preps $100.00 fee. I also noticed there were questions JW or H&R did not ask and did not get me he most. Encouraged by my family member who told me about uniform credits that health care workers could use but not by JW or H&R, made me think why did they not review these with me. I realized I have not had my refund maximized by paying $100.00 fee tax preps. I will spread the good Turbo word. February 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decent Experience While it was nice to have my federal done for free, my state was $27.99, which I thought to be ridiculous. I decided to go with it, anyway, and figured that was that. However, when reviewing my total return near the end, I noticed that TurboTax PLUS made its way on there, even though I continually selected "No" for purchasing it. I could not remove it from the list, no matter what I did, so I had to pay $57.98 out of my refund for both things, which was somewhat irritating. Also, some of the questions were vague in their asking. For instance, when it asked if I was a student, it was not being specific as to if I was a student at all, or just a college student. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusty Turbo Each year you have made my tax filing experience easier. I know you had some problems with hackers this year and I saw this on the news. I briefly considered going with H&R Block but since I've had no problems with you I decided to trust you once more. I'm so happy I did. You made this the easiest year for filing my taxes. I lost my ex husband to a massive heart attack in January and my mind has not been very clear to say the least, so I dreaded having to deal with anything that made me think too hard. You eased my burden. I've been filing with you since 2007 I believe as a "single" status and you have yet to disappoint. Thank you, thank you, thank you! God Bless. March 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Blew H&R Block Out Of The Water! As a first time user of TurboTax and being 19 I was completely nervous. I kept thinking that somehow I would mess it up and not understand most parts but as I started I realized how well they explained and made it simple! Some parts tho in my opinion weren't very clarified as i would like them to be. For example I had no idea what the Kentucky Single Member LLC Individually Owned LLET Return was and when I clicked on the "what's this" It really didn't help me at all. I was hoping it would straight out tell me that it was for business owners only. Took me like thirty minutes and looking it up on google to find my answer. But besides that I think it was wonderful. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by "WOW"! ...All Done! :-) TurboTax did most everything automatically... Did most all my calculations and threw in some credits for me I didn't even know existed! Ability to import your information was time-savingly priceless, as well as its SIMULTANIOUS work on primary parts of BOTH your Fed & State returns, expediting the State completion. Guided me most all the way... One Item it missed / failed to correct I only knew to look for from past tax experience AND 4 IRS pros pouring over their computers for 10+ mins in a past year! Only fault: pricing TOTALS for combined product selections / utilization & option to back out should've been at an earlier point in the process than the end pages. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy To Follow Along!!!! I have been using TurboTax for a VERY long time. I have tried filing at my local community college, H&R Block, even hired an accountant to file for me. I have found it more convenient to use TurboTax. I have full control over everything I entered in. If I don't understand what its asking, no problem. I just click the little button next to the box and it gives me the explanation I need to further understand what it is requesting and why. LOVE that feature! I recommend TurboTax to EVERYONE! I greatly APPRECIATE the FREE for both state and federal (at least for myself.) That's a perk in it self! Why pay to have anyone else do it, when you could get it done for FREE? January 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beware of hidden FEES They advertise free filing, but as you go along, fees get added on. I filed a VERY simple tax return. I made under $2,000 in 2014. My first state tax return was only $2, because I made so little, and my other state return was $49 and that was basically a tax credit. If I would have known that I was paying $27.99 to file for EACH state, I would have never chose that option. Then! at the very end, TurboTax added on another fee that brought my total up to $100.00 What the HECK!!! I have been a loyal customer to TurboTax for about 10 years now. This is an unsatisfactory way to treat loyal customers. I expected to only pay $27.99 for my taxes today. I'm disappointed. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and easy layout. I enjoyed using the online Turbo Tax, the layout is easy to follow and questions are very easy to answer. My tax return has two things, W-2 and student loan interest paid and all of this information was added easily, I compared Turbo Tax with other local walk-in tax services and the fees were high, I chose Turbo Tax, mostly because I took my time and I didn't feel rushed to "hurry up so the next guy could get in" as the walk-in local services. I am glad I found Turbo Tax and I suggest to everyone I know, who feels like their Tax filing is dreaded, no wait lines, there is no nickel-and-diming on the refund or added fees on taxes owed. Its easy to follow and relaxed. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got way more than expected Got way more than expected, almost 3 times more than last year. It was painless, my employer had it set up where all my info on the W-2 was already filled out. Just reviewed some questions, and it was done. I was putting it off for weeks, because who enjoys doing taxes? Now I'm mad I waited. I have a great refund coming my way, and used some of that with the special offer at the end of filing, I used some of my return for an Amazon E-gift card, which added even more money to the card with the deal. That way I"ll spend some of my refund on some fun stuff. Was recommended by a friend to do it here. I'll never use anything else to file from now on. 10/10, made my day! February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazingly easy, and more money back! I love that my mother referred me to TurboTax when I was 18! Now I know why I always use this company. I had no idea my educational expenses would increase my refund so quickly, let alone where to put them in the tax paperwork. All I needed to do was give them the prices for the supplies I bought, and they took care of placing everything in the right slot! I also loved how I could have the cost of using TurboTax taken out of my tax return, and the option to get extra spending money if I had some of my tax return put on an Amazon gift card. I went from getting maybe $350 back to over $800. TurboTax has a customer for life. Can't wait to use this company again next year! January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GET IT GOT IT GOOD basically everything is done for you, if you can read and type, even hunt and peck, then you are good to go. No math, no charts, no forms or having to mail forms. Just answer simple easy questions, click continue each time, when complete, just verify you are a person and not a robot, hit send and your done, filed electronically so you don't even have to go to the mail box, and it is all free, unless you choose to upgrade, which I recommend because then you can use last years info to save time and digging out last years return and it is only $24.99. but this is not required, you will just need last years info. So for the first time you can actually have fun filing your taxes. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made My First Experience Painless This was my first time filing my taxes, and TurboTax made it super easy. I was really worried that it was going to be complicated and I wasn't going to know what I was doing, but the program literally tells you everything you need to know and walks you through step by step. The interface was stylish and minimalist but always had links with extra information if you needed. Perfect. I also liked that they provided the easy forms for free, but I ended up buying the PLUS version anyway with some of my refund because it was a good buy (very cool that they allow you to purchase it with your refund instead of a credit card!) Thanks for making my first experience with filing taxes painless! February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocks socks and socks rocks! The place I went to looking to file my taxes wanted to charge me around $250 in fees, and the return would have been about that much less than what it would have been than going through TurboTax. The way the site is built makes me envious. I was able to finish all my stuff in less time than it took to get the estimate from the other place. Frankly, this was was funner, since I was able to listen to music and stuffs, but also because the people there did a great job making it easy to go through, and they actually have a sense of humor! My own teachers couldn't have done a better job helping me understand a subject, and I plan on using this service for years to come. Keep it up, guise. <3 February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellency There have obviously been a lot of positive changes to Turbo Tax for 2015. I was completely blown away by how easy and simple it was to get my taxes done and in record time too! Hail to the Turbo Tax! Very impressed this year and you bet I will be recommending Turbo Tax to all my family and friends! Thanks again Turbo Tax for making this season of filing awesomely painless, and I almost forgot to mention, Turbo Tax really does have your best interest at heart. They got me a huge refund when I thought I wasn't going to get a refund this year. In fact, I was for sure I was going to have to pay in but was pleasantly surprised. Thank you Turbo Tax you have my vote! See ya next year friend :) February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Be Fooled!!!! 2nd Year Using Turbotax and i have to say it just keeps getting better! There were tons of tax breaks i never knew existed or that i qualified for. I used H&R Block for years and the "Tax Professionals" there never educated me on such things nor did i ever receive the large refunds i have gotten with Turbotax! I have literally missed out on hundreds of thousands of dollars in the past because i trusted that those "Tax Professionals" knew what they were doing and i foolishly didn't challenge the results. I feel liberated now and i have thousands more to show it! and by the way, Turbotax i spend $60. H&R Block i was spending $200 for a "Tax Professional" !!!!!! Now I'm the Professional !! March 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing I started using TurboTax when they were a free service. They did have paid features which were great if you needed them. But, as of the past few years, and especially this year, they have taken away the most basic features on the free version. They will seem to take more and more basic features away throughout the process each time they are trying to push the plus service on you. At the very end, when I thought I had made it, they took away my ability to look at my return online. That's like facebook charging to $30 for the ability to go back and look at an image you posted. I have become extremely disappointed with TurboTax, and believe that this is the final year that I use the service. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! I went to a tax preparation company and I didn't file with them because I didn't feel like they were giving me my full refund and they wanted to charge me almost $300 for their services. I tried a different online tax preparation provider and wanted to throw my computer. I tried the instant messages service twice to ask about general information and both times they directed me to an IRS website or IRS contact number. It was awful. With Turbo Tax, I felt like they held my hand and walked me through every single section. I started this process very apprehensive because it was my first time filing online but I finished with confidence. I will be recommending this product to my friends and family. February 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo Tax was horrible this year Turbo Tax is no longer easy. Everything has changed. We have not had any changes in our lives and in years past,Turbo Tax was fairly easy and quick. The search/help tool was useless on every question. The new terms that were on Turbo Tax this year (and there were a lot of them) were not defined and/or clarified in the pop up boxes or the search/help tool. It normally takes me about an hour and a half to do our taxes on Turbo Tax but it took 4 hours this year. I took one 10 minute break. I'm really disappointed and worried about my taxes. In addition to not being clear or having adequate definitions available, our federal was super low and our state was extremely high. I'm not confident at all. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! My parents filed for me for years, and I usually would not get much back, and all my friends talked about how they would get school credit for being in college, and for the first 2 years of college I wasn't receiving that credit. I finally took matters into my own hands and took my w-2 form and tried turbo tax. It was so detailed and helpful and EASY for a first-time solo tax-filer it was everything I needed. They recommend ways to get the most out of my refund and when I didn't understand what it was asking me (which was often) they provided examples and they explained the questions further so I knew how to answer! I would (and have) recommend TurboTax to all of my friends and family members! January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by the Turbo makes it so Easy I love Turbo Tax... When I moved from one of the few states that still does not have a state income tax, to one where I had to now fill out a whole new set of tax forms, Turbo Tax saved my sanity and made it easy. I know when I move to another state in the next year or so, that Turbo Tax will sort out the forms for me. Best part, is that they retain the basic information for me, and most of the forms are filled out for me to review as I start the next tax year. So easy to do quick comparisons from one year to the next, to help you keep on track. Updating is easy. I must give thanks to Turbo Tax for making the inquiry questions easier to get through this year, even more user friendly than last year. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly helpful and easy to use. I had to file something I'd never seen before, and of course you don't want to mess up when filing your taxes. The search bar helped answer my questions and when I needed to file it, it had a drop down menu that said "jump to". HOW EASY!? I loved that I could buy audit protection as well, just in case I didn't fill something out right. Lets face it I DON"T understand taxes. Thankfully Turbo Tax walks you through everything and double checks it for you. Now I don't have to have a feel unsure or have an anxiety about whether I'm going to have a knock at my door with some suit asking questions that sound like a foreign language to me. It's technological advances like Turbo Tax that makes this era so great. February 7, 2015
  • 2015-03-30T12:09:40.654-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-219, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_11302, tr_11302
  • loc_en_US, sid_200_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 217 218 219 220 221 222 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.