TurboTax Basic Online
Customer Ratings - Page 179 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only Two Complaints 1) I paid for something online using a service which let me do that. It made me the offer that if I used it I need pay it merely $40 to repay it for paying $50 for my yearly membership. Was I supposed to pay tax on the $10 "given" to me? I asked a tax-preparing lady on the telephone. She thought not. I wanted an answer from TurboTax. 2) I thought TurboTax promised that I could print my taxes right after I filed them; so, I did not print them before filing based on that promise. After I filed them I was unable to print them. I think it jumped forward past the place where I could have had the tax forms printed. In some year past I was able to print the form(s) out. 2 continued) After filing I checked whether TurboTax had put my forms into the Vault rather than let me print them; so, I went to my Vault here but did not find the tax forms for my federal and state filings. 1 & 2) I grasp that the first issue might be hard to correct because surely many questions come at you, but the second seems to be a coming down from past performance. Please correct it. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ambiguity Be Gone This was my first time using TurboTax. My case was a standard 1040 EZ file, so this raving review applies to a simple case (i.e., straightforward W-2), and I filed federal and state returns for free. I previously used EZ Tax Return and enjoy TurboTax much more. For one, when it advertises free filing for those eligible, it is true to its word (unlike other programs that tag on fees you must pay in order to file, and then you end up paying because you spent all that time with that software). Not TurboTax. You may upgrade for a fee and TurboTax will naturally recommend this, but this is your choice. Credits and deductions you may qualify for and itemize almost fall into your lap--the program makes it very easy and lists for you everything you may claim, qualify, or don't qualify for. It's very organized and easy to understand. If there is anything you don't understand or are unsure about (even the best of us might not remember it all), numerous links throughout each section are offered that clarify everything in unambiguous terms. I am so pleased with TurboTax and strongly recommend it. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Learning something new every time I use this software because of the guarantee; I like the sense of immunity against being rejected for an oversight I made on the form. TurboTax's ubiquitous explanations are super useful, far more so than the typical legal FAQ you can find online for free. For someone who likes to know every detail of a thing before he's confident he understands it, those inclusions are critically important; next to the step-by-step layout, they're the most invaluable aspect of the site in my opinion. The only thing that suffers from TT not being a human is that when I have a question the software guys didn't anticipate (like why I got a deduction for student interest AND the standard deduction, because I thought anything beyond the standard was considered an itemized deduction), I had to spend time figuring out why TT was doing something I didn't understand. However, that's part of the learning process and I appreciated the better understanding of how deductions work for getting refunds that I gained from having to study the prepared tax document PDF that was provided. I anticipate the system will get even more intuitive and better at anticipating "user error" with time. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! This was my first time filing my own taxes. The program was very simple and easy to use. I realized when answering my questions that I didn't have one of my papers needed to complete my 1098T so I had to save it until I received it in the mail. When I went back to fill in the information it told me I didn't qualify for a refund. I knew this wasn't correct because I didn't even get to enter my amount paid for tuition. The first time I called they said they would call me back in 15 minutes. 32 minutes later I called them and it said they would call me back. I filed a second number and then called them again. 10 minutes later I received a phone call from a representative. She wasn't able to help me so she transferred me to a Tax Advisor. I waited at least 5 minutes before she was available. She was able to get on the screen with me to see what I was looking at. She was able to guide me back through to where I had entered "No" instead of "Yes" which made it able for me to enter my tuition amount paid. This increased my refund by $2500. Once you get through to a specialist they really do know what they are talking about! Highly recommend even though the phone time was extensive. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest version of TurboTax ever! I have filed with TurboTax for at least the last 5 years. I usually use the online version, but last year I downloaded the software to my MacBook Pro via the App store - WHAT A MISTAKE, and a waste of $. This year, I filed online again, and it was the easiest and simplest to understand version of the software I have ever used. I liked the clean minimalist approach of the software, and it did have a lot of use explanations and features I didn't care about. Not to mention, you can't beat the price. Oh, and usually when you chose to pay for something, they hiked up the price if you didn't want to submit your own credit card or debit card information. Not this year. It was the same about if you wanted to have it deducted from your return or if you wanted to pay. I fell like with all the other competitive tax filing options, Intuit really stepped up to the plate. I was temped to try H & R block this year because of the $9.00 state filing fee, but after this years amazing experience, even though I had to file in 2 states, I don't think I would ever change tax preparation software. I'm so happy and pleased with this company, the easy of their product and the quality of work they produce. THANK YOU! February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Years of awesome service and no complaints I have been using this service for nearly 10 ten years. In the last 5 years I got married, started a family, and also went back to college for a couple of degrees; Turbo Tax has been there for my growing family and I every step of the way. I love being able to file at the same place every year and also review previous tax returns or not having to worry about searching for a copy of a tax return (as long as it's within the last 36-48 months, of course). I have never been audited and even if we were, we always opt to have Turbo Tax represent us (you never know, it may happen when you least expect it). I looked into other tax services like H&R Block but they wanted a heft fee of $230 for processing our tax return; which, by the way, was painfully long and sometimes we felt like the guy had no idea what he was doing. We did not continue with filing once he told us the fee...AT THE END after almost 2 hours. Then we looked into other online services and it seemed they were really not equipped to accommodate military service members. Overall, we stayed with Turbo Tax and from the looks of it, we are not going anywhere else for services unless this site goes down or they go bankrupt (I hope I did not jinx anyone...). February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and excellent, accurate service I've used TurboTax for the past two years and am more than satisfied with the service. Sitting down and filing taxes was always a hated chore despite the fact that I've always received federal tax refunds (but usually will have to pay additional state tax, but when using TurboTax, I'm completely done with my federal and state returns in less than an hour. All you have to do is have the proper forms handy and in front of you; just fill in several boxes, choose which additional tax breaks that you want the software to examine and the TurboTax does the rest. It's easy, it's painless, and there are convenient links in case you have any questions. A quick note: I was in dire financial trouble this year because my university posted a late charge to my account which contained all of the money that I set aside for rent and living expenses. When I used TurboTax and entered all of my basic information (not expecting much, because I only worked a summer job and received grants for the year), I found that my refund was slightly more than the funds that I lost! Out of gratitude I switched from the "free" option to "paid" (you can pay Intuit using your tax refund instead of your bank account if you want). It's a great service and is HIGHLY recommended. February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Over and done with I have used TurboTax the past five years or so and it is the best thing to use if you don't have complex tax issues like having your own business. The most detail stuff I have had to do is entering education info (from being in college; taking courses for work, etc.) and at one time I worked two jobs in two different states (I live close to the line). It wasn't hard to get started and gets easier and quicker to do each year providing your situation doesn't change much. I both like and worry about TurboTax keeping my info to streamline my next filing experience. In the back of my head I do worry about hackers and the idea of my info being susceptible but I really don't worry about it much more than the info I give a site to buy things. You just have to be wise about it. I have used a walk-in tax service before (H&R Block) which took a lot of time and caused me my refund to pay for. I have also used an independent place to do my taxes and wasn't as bad. But I enjoy the control of doing it myself since my needs are not complex as it is for folks with their own business. I prefer TurboTax and my situation has changed since using it like change of job, place of residence and added occasional education needs. If your needs are simple this is the easiest way. February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth Process I've use TurboTax each year for going on probably 8 years now. I love that you can have last year's tax info populated into this year's, which makes it especially easy if you don't have an address- or life-change. Granted, I don't have many forms (only 1099-DIV and 1098-E for this year), but I had no problem finding and entering the information from these forms. Last year I had a Sch C as well, and it was an easy enough process when it was applicable (with Deluxe version, I believe). It did tell me this year that I had to include the Schedule C when I first started because I had it last year, and it was giving me issues at first when running the final check, but then I was able to go back into the income section later and delete the form out entirely. If I had read more closely instead of breezing through the whole process, I may have realized that earlier...but that's just another testament to me of how simple TurboTax makes the process. You still need to pay attention, but a little reading comprehension will go a long way. :) Plus being able to deduct the cost from the refund is always nice. I would definitely recommend TurboTax to anyone who does not have all kinds of crazy forms and situations that need a discerning personal eye...and even if that's the case, I'm sure they have a version for it. I'm just glad I don't need it. January 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by need work with amending First, I foolishly e-filed February 2, when I thought that all W-2's were already in hand. Turns out after I filed that three more came in, on one day, then another, and by February 6 I had four W-2's to submit, which changed my income and tax return amount, PLUS I got a corrected W-2 form an employer that came a week later after the January 31 deadline. I went to amend, it reads the option wont be ready til after February 12, so I had to wait. When I was finally inputting for the amendment option, today, February 15, I get the news that the initial $391 (that was whittled down from the original over $800 I was going to get back before the missing W-2's showed up) refund is no longer but now I owe over $400! I had followed direction to delete prior W-2 and then put the new one in, clicking "corrected", and somehow things went weird, although the notation stated that the information was THE SAME on both W-2, noting "no difference". I'm supposed to trust now either TurboTax or the IRS will figure this out as I don't believe I owe. I tried to get further deductions on travel and job seeking, and that made things more convoluted. I gave up. Now I worry about the IRS thinking I'm trying to get over. Disappointed with employers not getting their W-2 to me on time, and disappointed with the last minute change that may need to be reviewed again by the IRS. Not happy! February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product I'm no accountant (though I am in school to become one). My wife and I are well under the poverty line and I don't have many investments to speak of, so my tax return is probably simpler than many people's, but TurboTax makes it dang easy to get it all done and in the hands of the IRS so I can get my refund. They go through every possible step and explain everything clearly. They literally cover every possible way that you could add to your refund (or deduct from what you owe, I suppose). The other great thing about TurboTax is their pricing. Many other tax preparation services I've come in contact with charge at least $50, often more. TurboTax is free for basic returns, and although they push for their plus services quite a bit (how many times must I say I don't want those extra features?), they make it easy for you to pay little to nothing to file your refund. And, if you have the money, the deluxe services really is a good deal for future convenience and security. All in all, I intend to use TurboTax until the world ends or the IRS is dissolved (guess which one will happen first?). If you're on the fence about using TurboTax or another tax preparation service, whether online or in person with an accountant, just trust me. Turbotax will get you the maximum amount possible for the lowest price in town. It's just as easy as going to see someone in person, and you will actually be smarter about tax credits and deductions afterwards. Just do it. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Cake Walk! I was reluctant to ever use Turbo Tax because my best friend told me a few years ago that she checked out the site, as well as others and they were more expensive (including Turbo Tax) and they were giving basically the same results. So she ultimately decided to go with Tax Act. I trust her opinion, so I chose to use the same program as well without seeing for myself. They were my go-to for the past few years until someone I work with raved about Turbo Tax recently. It was his first time using them and he was beyond satisfied. When I began my return with the usual tax program, I decided I would check out Turbo Tax just to see what my numbers were looking like over there. What do u know, Federal was over $500 more, I got to admit, my State was $45 less, I re-did it to make sure I didn't miss anything, but it was the same. I will take an extra $500 anyday, it's okay about the $45. And by the way, I re-did TA's questions to make sure I submitted the correct info and it was the same, so I decided to go with Turbo Tax. I find Turbo Tax's questions much more simplified than the other program. I didn't feel so anxious and frightened, lol with all the alerts and other tax pages like the other program. And I don't mind that Turbo Tax was only an extra $10. They got me more money, they give u the option of deducting the payment from your refund if u don't have it to spare, and it was less challenging and took up far less time. February 13, 2015
<<prev 175 176 177 178 179

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.