1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 2 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183546 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183502 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 Was helpful I will use this again next year depending on the outcome of my taxes. Could use a few more examples October 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 My experience I used to do my own taxes for years and years. I purchased the manual every year and read through for all new laws, and also for changes. I was very careful in my preparation, as I usually itemized my deductions. I still itemize most of the time, so I still have to gather and add up all the deductions on my own, before entering them into Turbo tax. I break them down quarterly and add them quarterly now. I rented my former residence, and was forced to consult with a PROFESSIONAL tax adviser to figure out how to do the depreciation on my former residence. Turbo tax did not allow me to make changes, even when I re-did the calculations five time. Turbo was not user friendly in this area. When I sell my current residence, I think it will be faster and wiser to go directly to a professional tax adviser to get my taxes done. It will cost a bit more but well worth the peace of mind. Otherwise, I will likely to continue to use Turbo Tax for years that there are no sales, or purchases, of real estate involved. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Great program Used the program to cover a litany of complex issues: sale of a house; stock dividends. long-term care, insurance. TurboT guided me through the issues with minimal confusion (only on my part). The explanations were great and I able to work through it quickly and finish a complex return. October 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 I made a mistake on entering Rental Income. I could not find the entry section to correct it. The mistake added no profit or loss to my return, so I left it. When I submitted the return for e-file, TurboTax brought up the error and would not file it without me making a change, even though it had let me continue previously. The change caused multiple other changes, and added almost $4000 to my refund. I filed it cause I was so tired. I hope I don't get audited. If I do, will Turbo Tax defend me? what are my options for correcting the mistake? Another Con - I could not access my 2013 account to pay for the e-file. Turbo Tax timed out multiple times without allowing me to change my password. October 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Very good Overall the best way to get through the tax code nightmare. I tried to get audit defense but the payment system did not work. Also I could not get any IRS pin generated because of redirect errors. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 USE IT For SURE Great product! It really gets the job done! Always smooth and simple to follow. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Great product! Have been using it for years. Of course, it helps that I also use Quicken so I have all my numbers ready! I tried merging between the two but it didn't work for me. Okay, though, since I like to double check all my numbers manually. Used it even when I had an accountant! October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Turbotax was easy, user friendly. I even had a question and had to call a representative and she was extremely helpful. Will definitely use in the future! October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Quick, Simple with Professional Results Excellent software. I have been using it for 10 years on my personal and business return. I have to file for different states. It is so easy to do other states. I will never change. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Easier to file taxes than without it Still a lot of work with correction/fixing of trades. This seems to be the weakest section of TurboTax, even with uploading of broker statements October 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 couldn't believe it October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 difficult return completed with ease sale of real estate rentals were completed with this turbo tax. Thanks for all your assistance to get our return done. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Job I have been using Turbo Tax for years now and I love it and have no problem as of yet. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Reflund I find Turbo Tax to be much better than HR Block October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Software. Makes taxes easy October 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Meh, problems and cost I had a employee stock purchase sale. It tripped up TurboTax. Help forums show it wasn't just me, lost of people had issues too. Frustrating. October 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Premier Investment Upgraded This version seemed to be more difficult and ambiguous to use than in the past. I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years and never had to upgrade to the "premier investments" edition to be able to file K-forms, may consider a different software for my 2015 taxes. Sorry but disappointed. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Home and Business Excellent software. I will always use Turbo Tax. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used TurboTax for more than 20 years I have a complicated return but TT breaks it down into basic pieces which I work thru one step at a time. Like being able to move between step by step and Forms to fill things in in the most expeditious manner. Reviews and audit risk are nice features. On one occasion I contacted an expert on-line and he led me through my problem. Neat and clean. October 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fine for simple taxes - breaks when complicated I've used Turbo Tax for about 20 years. As my income and net worth grow and my taxes become more complicated, Turbo Tax struggles more and more. If you need to file a special form and not use Step-By-Step the forms are often closed off and can't be edited. Also, if you try to e-file and you can't get a good pin from government, it locks you in e-file limbo and you can't then switch to filing by mail and get complete instructions. October 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by What happened to Turbo Tax? I have been a loyal Turbo Tax user for many years. This year, I had to purchase the mac version of Home and Business edition for Schedule C, as I do every year. It was glitchy and slow, and had many unexpected errors. At one point, I had to delete the entire return and start over. It was very difficult to find the area where Home Office expenses (utilities, square feet, etc) are entered, and I had to resort to reading tons of postings by other unhappy customers on-line to find out how to locate this section. Also, the Health Care section was incredibly slow and glitchy. I will not be using Turbo Tax Home and Business again unless there are many, many changes made to the MAC version for 2015. October 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by lack of information Turbo tax should have an introduction to customer what is new this year about the program so that we won't have so much surprise after using it. October 6, 2015
  • 2015-10-08T13:13:09.984-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183502, tr_183502
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 3833 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.