1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 2 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182611 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loyal Customer July 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting around in the program When a person designates at the beginning that they want to work through by their selves you expect to be able to do that. The difficulty I incurred after working on a specific area of Income or Expense categories, the program takes you back to the beginning of the category instead of letting you go on to the next subject. July 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Missing file I wish we had a competition July 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Meh I have always used TurboTax for my own returns. It's always very simple, and easy. Unfortunately, my new husband did not have a normal situation, only because we filed 2 years of returns in a short amount of time. I guess the previous year wasn't accepted yet, so the "AGI was incorrect." Once it was rejected, it stayed rejected. Even when I went to fix it, even though the numbers were correct, it was rejected, rejected, rejected. I'm sending it through the mail, hoping for a better outcome. July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too much marketing I don't disagree with TT trying to sell products that help the tax filer. BUT, I don't like the selling mixed with the technical preparation sequence. This causes me to speed read and possibly miss critical information. Another issue the initial TT email for electronic filing. The subject line reads "E-file Successful". This leads one to believe the IRS has accepted the return. The reality is the transmission to IRS was successful. Again, this causes confusion. Again, you are forcing me to select a nick name with 4 or more characters. My nick name is Jim. Why are you trying to change it? July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comprehensive. . .but complicated to learn I've prepared tax returns since 1982. The tax code is ridiculously complicated (arcane to be more exact#. I began using Turbo Tax when it first became available. It was a good product then, and has remained the best tax product since (and, yes, I've tried other products#. It is robust and very comprehensive - there have been occasions requiring considerable research and experimentation with Turbo Tax forms/worksheets, but I haven't come across a situation it can't handle. It is expensive. I do wish the retail product permitted spreadsheet importation. It is annoying that it does NOT save supporting details input in Forms mode #only in Interview mode). But overall I couldn't prepare my own taxes without it. July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by confused Had a problem, thought I had filled on 4/13/15 - forms were never transmitted and I had to refile "late" so that I could fill out FASFA forms for college. did not realize that forms had never been submitted until after the due date. July 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by money nothing i like everything that you have done for me. July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long time user I have used TurboTax for a number of years. I like that it automatically imports data from prior years. This saves time. I like that one can e-file free. It is also nice that one can download a PDF version of the return and associated worksheets, as well as print them. What I don't like is that it is not easy to go back in and change a particular form. July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but needs some fine tuning Good app, but with a few adjustments will be even better. July 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Intuitive and accurate! Makes suggestions for deductions I had forgotten, reminds you to double (and triple) check, and overall makes the process much easer. I used to do my own taxes without it. Cannot recommend it enough. And I am a lawyer so I understand this stuff. July 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Execution on filing Got requests from Federal and had to mail additional info because the e-file did not include the proper worksheets, even though I paid extra for the premium product. Had the wrong mailing address for Georgia returns. Pitiful! July 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced! I couldn't believe almost 200.00 dollars when all was said and done! July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe Tax I started doing my own return with TurboTax after I retired in 2005. I am completely satisfied. I feel secure, with no worries about leaving something out. I save time and money. July 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PRINTING HEADACHE POOR CHANGE: TO PRINT A WORKSHEET (OR OTHER FORM) SOFTWARE RQUIRES SAVING FORM AS PDF FILE AND THEN GOING AND OPENING THE PDF FILE TO PRINT IT. THIS IS INCONVENIENT IF YOU WANT TO PRINT A SPECIFIC FORM OR WORKSHEET. PREFER THE PRINT OPTIONS OF PREVIOUS VERSIONS July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This service helps me immensely. If walks you through every step and detail. There are helpful hints and explanations throughout. I have used this for several years and have never been disappointed or frustrated. While my taxes are not all that complicated I do use several tax forms. Even if I had more complexity I am confident I could use this system to do my taxes accurately, knowledgeably, and as stress free as filing taxes can be. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why I will file with Turbo Tax next year I really appreciate being able to relatively quick, start and finish my taxes. I enjoy being informed of what things mean. It helps assure me when making my decisions about the next procedure. I just wish I could do it all offline and then import it for the sign. Maybe they already have this. Great job Those of you who work for this company. I expect this service again or better next year. July 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disgusted with Do Not File/Form Not Final on Ohio I read the same causes many times but no solid way to get rid of messages and simply print so I can file my return. So I tried to file my state return electronically. Guess what? At the last click required to submit, I got a message that a form was missing and I should go to On-line tab and and update. I did that and no forms were updated. Tried to submit again with repeat of error. What do I do now??? Maybe fill out my Ohio return by hand. July 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by building sale For two years in a row, I have had difficulty with the sale of nonresidentual buildings. Both years I originally did not check this H on the Schedule E Worksheet because I did not understand your Help directions. I had to pay for help. I would think you could make this easier to understand if you just added something like "for sale of property" after the word "disposition." Or at least simplify your Help directions. I happen to be an 86 year old widow with a PhD and I have found this one thing very frustrating. July 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax Friendly I will reuse Turbo Tax again July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific turbo Very easy to follow. Good Directions. July 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb!! I love being able to double-click a box and have that open up a list box where I can enter various items line-by-line, such as job-hunting expenses or travel expenses. I have been using tax software since beta-testing days in the 1980s. DOS-based on a 386, mail in the disk. Things have come a very, very long way and I appreciate the product. I also appreciate all the developers' work that goes into it, plus the integration with various financial firms. Just a great product. Thanks again July 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by you helped me do it!! I will use it next year. July 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Have used for several years and really like. July 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, almost great I contributed 4K to HSA, employer 1K. W2 box 12 code W was 5K, labeled as employer contributions. In fact is was sum of both me and employer. I did not declare HAS so tax was computed on 5K. At review time TT did not notice that I had HSA contributions but not HSA declared.It should have generated a warning that I had illogical entries. I had to look on other (non TT) forums to find the cause of the problem. Hint to TT, fix this for next year. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall its a good software... Its a great software, but it took me like 2 weeks to file the return... somehow I feel like it should have taken far less time than that... I wasted like 3 days stock downloading a Florida State Tax Return, just to find out later on that I didn't need it... July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplicity itself As someone who dreads filing, Turbo Tax is so easy it gets me to do it, because I know "it won't be all that bad". It grabs data from Quicken, which grabs it from my bank account. I did three years in three half days of work last year, and a fourth year today in just over 3 hours. I'm confident, also, that the software gets me the right deal. My effective tax rate is always lower than I fear it would be. An outstanding product. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outrageous State eFile Fees The fees for eFiling State returns are beyond the pale. I have paid $40 to $80 for federal taxes and one state return and then an additional $40 for any additional state returns, but on top of that you want to charge me another $25 per state return eFiling, a service that in this day and age should be included in the cost of your software, like the Federal return is. I have never paid these ridiculous fees to eFile a state return and I never will. The state eFiling should be included in the price of the state return. If you must charge something (I continue to fail to see why), I might pay no more than $5, but even then I would feel I was being ill used. July 27, 2015
  • 2015-08-04T11:46:02.682-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182610, tr_182610
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 3814 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.