1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 6 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonky! There were a lot of weird things about the way Turbo Tax acted this year. I could not get back to change things and kept having to go into the forms to make updates. Not cool! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by product The change to Home and Business was not advertise and for us who one had one small ideal. I don't believe it was fair. Plus I have been getting it fall years automatic but found it $20.00 cheaper in Walmart. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth Every year I use TT and I have yet to lean toward any other method. Thank you for a wonderful friendly product. March 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mac version extremely buggy Quality of TurboTax just keeps going down. Most likely last year on the software after 15 years. January 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Printing Return I can't print return for mailing. Have used TurboTax for years. This is first problem. I'll change rating to excellent once I print 2014 returns. Prior year returns still print. Filing by mail February 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 2014 TURBO TAX AS A LONG TERM USER I HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH ALL PRIOR VERSIONS. YOUR PROGRAMMERS SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO USE TURBO TAX BEFORE THEY DECIDE TO CHANGE THE USER INTERFACE WITHOUT ANY KNOWLEDGE OF PRIOR VERSIONS THAT ARE EASY TO USE. A GREATE DEAL OF THE INTERFACE IS LAID OUT WITH NO APPARENT RYME OR REASON. IT APPEARS THAT THERE ARE AT LEAST TWICE THE KEY STROKES REQUIRED AS OTHER VERSIONS. NEEDLES TO SAY I MAY REVALUTE WHICH PROGRAM TO USE NEXT YEAR. March 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I found it difficult to use Once again the software was difficult to use. It didn't transfer business expenses properly from Quickbooks. Some "more info" and "Help" items would show an error instead of information or help of any kind. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great with 1 Exception My experience was great until I got ready to e-file. I don't mind the $19.99 fee, but that wasn't enough to get me through the e-file process. There was another $34.99 fee that was necessary, or you needed to call 877-559-8824, but you can only call during certain hours Monday-Friday. I'm trying to do this on Saturday! There should be a way to e-file on Saturday without being penalized. Now, I have no choice but to mail my return or pay an extra fee of 34.99. This process will take months longer to receive my return (by check) rather than direct deposit. January 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My experience I've used Turbo Tax many years. I think they are trying to do a good job but I think the tax codes are getting more and more difficult that interpreting what the questions are can be difficult. March 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by not as easy as last year a lot of data didn't transfer into this year's return - took me 3 times longer to do my taxes this year because I had to comb through last year's calculations and worksheets to fill in the gaps February 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 Did not get my 1 free state return March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickle and Dimed Had to upgrade to the Home & Business edition this year because I have an etsy shop. $40. Go to efile and it charges me $25 to efile my state return. So much for free state return. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Helpful I have been using TT for at least 4-5 years and will continue using. Our tax laws are so complex it would be difficult for me to complete our returns on my own and I am a retired CPA! March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate but not great Although much of the data from K-1 forms is requested by the program, many decisions are still left to the individual. Also, even though K-1s often generate state tax obligations, TT charges an absurd amount for additional states and leaves virtually ALL of the input and decisions about where and what to put from K-1s to the individual. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Software program Easy to use, especially on a year after year basis. All the basic information is transferred for one year to the next. I really like the way it steps through all of the income, deduction and credit categories. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too big, too slow, too confusing Too big: did not run on my windows xp (2005) cpu, but took over 6 hours before I gave up. too slow: On more modern wife's window 7 cpu, can't tell when it takes commands because no instant user feedback. Does not take advantage of user input (slow time) to do a lot of the background tasks which it onl;y seems to do after program sets itself up. Too Confusing: In early January all I could do was enter 1099 data for empoyees, but had to wait till very end to be told forms and irs not ready. Please tell me right up front. After waiting and entering existing file, I could not get to my earlier entries. It would have helped if re-entry put me to this page so I could start my small business taxes. On alpha version I would not even claim it was a beta version shipped to me on disc, I was so frustrated, because everytime I wanted to input business data - I ended up in personal form. I hope pushing 'small business taxes button at top of this page will get me back. You are so specific with walk through -- An entry page asking me nicely what I wanted to do, including feedback that business income and loss statements were not complete would have saved me a great deal of frustration. Lastly, don't ship unusable products -- take down my info and when forms come out, update forms with my answers and inform me of needed changes then. I can't believe you caN SELL A PRODUCT LIKE THIS! January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great improvements I have been using Turbo Tax for 20 years now and it keeps getting better each year. My favorite improvements this year are the text notifications on filing and how fast and easy the E filing process has become. March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 It's not easy This year seemed much worse than in the past for identifying the source of some line items. When needing to correct a mistaken entry (e.g. investment advisory expenses entered on the wrong line), it could be very difficult to find and delete the source of the wrong entry. And just overrriding the wrong # on its line gave a "final review" warning that forms with overrides couldn't be filed electronically. The community help was much less helpful than in the past. Searching for help on the above problem identified multiple similar questions, all of which said just that there were no responses to the question yet. Hard to find the instructions for the needed upgrade (for a simple Sched C). Then not clear after the upgrade was installed how much of the originally entered data had been carried forward. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it all back! I have been using Turbo Tax for years. We started a home based business and I had no problem exporting the info from QB. We got everything back we could have gotten from a professional at a fraction of the cost. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty easy All in all, was a pretty good program made for dummies. Easy to follow and understand. I have used "Turbo Tax" for many years in a roll now. March 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo tax I have used Turbo tax for many years now (30+) and until this year had not been disappointed. I have not liked the fact that it walks you through everything (which is nice) but feel you should be given a heads up to say you can go through this section, but can take the standard deduction and not go through it. Instead it says do you want to go through all of X section, not telling you that unless you have major deductions your better off taking the standard deduction. But this year the program found a error on my return, and instead of showing me how to fix the error, it just said I needed to fix it. I did find the solution in it;s help section, but still had a bit of trouble fixing the error. But all in all a very good program, and well worth the time and effort to fill in all your info the first time. But after the first time, it remembers everything and fills a lot in when you start. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First-timer This was my first time ever filing my taxes. Pleased with how quick and simple it was, and I'm happy with the return I got! I'm very pleased with my experience, and I will be using TurboTax again in the future :) January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by super easy super easy and user friendly. One headache I don't need and turbo tax makes certain I don't get that headache. Clearly a must for anyone wanting simplisity March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Year after Year Cannot use previous year info on current year return. Need to re-enter everything all over. What am I missing? This happens every year. March 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 Why the required Upgrades? In the past I was able to use Deluxe for my return that included my rental properties and farm income. The system worked fine. This year I had to up grade to Premier when I did my rentals and then I had to upgrade again to Home and Business when I did the farm. I guess I understand the rental upgrade because that can get complicated but the farm is just a schedule F. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 TurboTax is all you need for an LLC TurboTax works well for complicated self-employment / LLC taxes (I had used a tax preparer in the past, but see no advantage). BUT you still need to carefully track and classify all sources of income and expenses -- you need to be ensure all inputs are correct. It's worth reviewing the step-by-step TurboTax questions a couple of times to be sure you agree with your choices, yet everything is listed out for you, so it's easy to review and submit with confidence. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of use Not all of us can start and go continually thru the entire Q & A list. Twice, when I returned after several days, it began again at the beginning. But even when trying to answer successive questions, it does not return to where the last question was answered, but just at the top of the general section, which may be 20 or more questions and may be going to the one which happens to be near the end. Very frustrating when you may have skipped several questions or subjects intentionally -- then stopped for dinner or for the night. A LOT of wasted time! I also believe the answers would flow more readily if the personal income and expense was prior to the business. Since I am a individual proprietor, some of the business and pleasure are intermixed. I had to return several times to add items to business which I had previously considered just personal. General info not covered below. Grandparents, living in my daughter's house after selling it to her - built a 'great room' on as an addition to her home, so we don't rent or own. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THANKS TURBO TAX I am a person of few words. I like this program because it is able to contact the various sources of information that exist in my life. It provides the option of checking back on each part of the process. It provides reminders for every element of the process. It identifies mistakes so I can correct them. I hope that I have done my part as well! It helps with both my investments and my rental property. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 change my PIN Turbo tax automatically enters last year's PIN and AGI. I like that it enters the AGI, but not the PIN. I thought ,since it entered last year's PIN,I would be able to use it for this year. I e-filed using last year's PIN and was rejected.It shouldn"t automatically fill in the PIN if the past year can't be used. One other concern, I wanted to pay my mother's taxes using my account but there wasn't anywhere to show my name on the account. Is my name needed or just my routing number and account number even though the taxes were for a different name.Turbo tax doesn't explain that situation. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Faster Speed I have used Turbo Tax for several years now. This year was quick, easy, helpful and accurate. As always I would say anyone can use this and do well. I recommend Turbo Tax to everyone. February 12, 2015
  • 2015-03-31T12:56:08.971-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_6618, tr_6618
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 150 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.