1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 265 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by 17th Year Using TurboTax; Home & Business Seventeen years ago there were quite a few tax situations that TurboTax couldn't handle and I found myself overriding quite a bit. Each year TurboTax got progressively better and I haven't had a situation that TurboTax couldn't handle without an override in years. I doubt any tax preparation service could do it more accurately and I'm sure they couldn't do it cheaper. I have saved thousands on tax preparation. And I know from having done my own taxes for over 40 years approximately what I owe and can double check the TurboTax result in a few minutes. I use it to prepare the taxes of five other family members. April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really Good Far better than H & R block (I tried them one year, ouch!) The transfer of items from previous years is mostly perfect, and the interview makes taxes relatively easy. Easily worth the price of admission, and being able to modify items, and have (second thoughts) about listing certain deductions, (and income); and seeing the result instantly is why I use Turbo Tax. I can list the deductions, and then have discussions with my wife, and be able to modify, or add items I may have forgot. It has turned the drudgery, and "oh, no; this time of year again!" into routine paperwork not to be feared. . . Thank you, Turbo Tax! April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax for several years. This year I was less than satisfied. When I had finished and saved my return and prepared to file, I had problems efiling. It kept telling me that it didn't recognize the data that I was trying to transmit. I saved the return and closed Turbo Tax. When I reopened Turbo Tax and my saved return, it was not the return that I had just finished. I had to go back and correct errors again and had to pay a second time to efile. Hopefully it will be caught and I will not be charged twice. I was not happy at all with Turbo Tax this year. I am hoping that the correct return got efiled. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Klunky, Hated it. Past Versions of Turbo Tax have been so easy to use, you could always easily jump back to an area you had been in. This year using it was painful. I don't know what they were thinking. I have a small business and in the past could use Turbo Tax Deluxe and it was really easy. This year you had to have the Home and Business version and you almost needed to be an accountant to use it. Hated it. It would refuse t o move on but wasn't clear about what you needed to do to continue, if it didn't like something on that page. They promise to bring back the earlier version of Deluxe next year. See that you do Turbo Tax. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you! I have a very complicated return, with various businesses, an LLC, and academic consulting. I am a retired professor. For fifty years, I compiled all the numbers and provided all summaries to an accountant and it still cost $1000 to $4000 annually. As a retired person, I could no longer afford to hire a professional so three years ago I bought TurboTax. Wow, what a great program. TurboTax is designed to lead you step by step through everything. I can feel confident that the most recent tax laws are being taken into account. The program asks questions to double check your input. I love being able to e-file my return. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax User Since Early 1990s I have used TurboTax for over 20 years to prepare my federal and state tax returns. During these years though I have made errors inputting information in my return, non were attributable to the TurboTax calculations. In fact, TurboTax caused the IRS to apologize for making an error in sending me a letter for additional taxes owed one year. TurboTax performed the correct calculation whereas the IRS did not. After pointing out where I thought the error occurred, the IRS agent returned my call with an apology. It seems a clerk incorrectly inputted information by hand from my electronically filed return. Go figure! April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sched C detail is quirky and unreliable Schedule C detail will not print and is not viewable in forms mode. If you enter info into schedule c from forms mode, it removes prior year detail history. This used to be a great way for me to consistently put my expenses in the same category. If I am ever audited, I will not be able to see that information. Keep in mind that for each tax return you need to review, you must have the corresponding years program installed. If you happened to upgrade your computer or OS, the program may not install and then how do you open the return?? Yes, I save a pdf but again, it does not include the very important detail. IMO ;-) April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not as good as years past. My mail beef is that I couldn't access my 1099's, W2's or other forms/files directly. You must go to a worksheet to do anything. The use of worksheets without access to the "official" documents a pain. I've used Turbo Tax for at over 10 years and this was, by far, the most difficult. No guidance on how to delete a job from multiple Schedule C's (and other files) imported from last years file. Come on. Seems less that there are far less "connections" within the software coding that in other years. I suppose that the "newer" more "streamline" approach can be a good thing but not at the expense less accessibility. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Change resistant Problem with sale of inherited oil royalty property. No problem going through it the first time. The first time through, to get a feel for the tax impact, I chose to not enter a number for the base value at the time of inheritance. After I investigated how to determine the base value, and then tried to "edit" the base-value entry leaving the sales value entry untouched, the software doubled the sales price. I had to play some games to finally get the correct final number for the sales price. You must have a challenge debugging the software as you try to keep up with the frequent "improvements" in the IRS rules. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walks you through every situation I have used TurboTax since it became available.I have no idea why anyone would use a paid preparer. As long as you keep good records and match the tax forms received in the mail with the very-easily found corresponding entry forms in the program - it's really, really hard to mess up. I file a pretty complicated return as we own part of a business, consistently buy and sell stock, and have multiple investments. I keep everything I need and have it all ready when I sit down to prepare. Today it took me six hours to prepare federal and two states. I can't even fathom how much I would have spent on a paid preparer. April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better Value than H&R Block Overall Turbotax continues to be our best option. We own our home & have two small businesses in addition to fulltime employment. Last year we decided to have an expert do our taxes in hopes he could save us some money. Not only did we have to spend as much time in preparation as with Turbotax, but (all but plugging in the figures) the result turned out to be comparable to what we've been experiencing with Turbotax. And although the service was provided by a friend who kindly didn't charge us for our first time with him, he said his fee would be over $600 next time. It makes sense for us to stay with Turbotax, hands down! April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still not as good as it SHOULD be A former BETA tester, I am still disappointed that several of my suggestions have not yet been implemented. - For example, the user should have the ability to use COMMENTS on ANY/ALL input areas. I have many customers who do not KNOW the COMPLETE answer to a question, but TT no longer allows me to open a dialog box and then use an honest answer to approximate the eventual results. In addition, too many questions do not allow a "MARKED ESTIMATE" response so that the program can find all my 'MARKED ESTIMATE" answers as if they were ERRORs. This is a MAJOR LOSS. I should be able to flag any and all of my answers. February 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by not so hot have been using HR Block for last two years. like their format and data presentation much better. T-T also would not update from HRB's last year's filing and I could not upload my income date from Pershing LLC (may not be T-T's fault). Did not know how to hide the mini-worksheets when looking at forms and I could not, or could not figure how to, go directly to a spot on a form and have it allow me to enter data (or at least take me directly to the input location). Had to wade thru the decision tree all over again, Also could not use "create similar form" to avoid entering all the issuer's information each time. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 TurboTax Review I feel that (with the Home and Business edition) the software should be more explicit and list or ask for deductible items (i.e., PO Box rental, for example) and that TurboTax should strongly advise that one cannot change from "expense" auto deductions (for business autos) to "mileage" auto deductions from year to year. TurboTax should also advise which is the best format in which to save previous years' returns (last year, I learned the hard way that saving in .pdf format did not allow TurboTax to import info for the nest years' tax return!). How disappointing (especially for those of us who do not use MS Office). April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by First time filing 1099s, and I had challenges Overall, the Home and Business Software started off without any challenges. I had to do my 1099s before my taxes (so I have yet to finish my actual tax return). While I was able to do my 1099s pretty effortlessly, I still can't figure out how to file them electronically or import them into my actual tax return. And I'm not a computer novice, so I think that part is lacking. But I've liked TurboTax for doing my own business taxes for years. This was my first time filling out 1099s, and the filing of them and the importing of them into my actual return could have been easier, as I've yet to figure those things out! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure, sometimes a pain I've used TT even when I hated using it, and loved the results each year, though not necessarily the process or the bad news (I always owe). Heck, I've got *.tax files back to 1997. Must be why I'm so glad they've finally got the "text zoom" working - old eyes! There are always a couple rough spots, but you can usually follow the quick zooms and drill down through forms to figure out whether you've put a number in the wrong place, or TT has. (This year I backed out of itemizing and TT left one negative number stuck someplace for me to find and zero out. And why ask me about sped-up refunds when I owe $6K? :-/ ) February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed MAC user As usual, TurboTax made income tax analysis easy to complete; however, my son had to partition my hard drive to run the latest operating system just to be able to run my Personal & Small Business TurboTax. I had chosen not to upgrade to the newer operating system because I still have older programs that I regularly use, which only run under OS X 10.6. I understand the culture of constant upgrades; however, there is an inconsistency between requirements for MAC users rather than PC users. The program still allows PC users to have Microsoft WindowsXP, dating back to 2001. Why the unfair treatment for us MAC users? April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does an OK job Intuit needs to learn when to leave good enough alone. Instead each year it seems their products (I use Quicken Quickbooks, and TurboTax) get tweaked and incredibly lose capability. I have one consistent complaint regarding TurboTax. I'm self-employed with no employees. Each year, despite having followed the interview, I need to go in and manually correct the return because it wants to double count my healthcare and individual 401k deductions by deducting them on both the Schedule C and 1040. I've tried this several different ways, and same thing keeps happening. So I manually fix it after the interview is done. March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy with Changes I bought Turbo tax deluxe before finding out it no longer covered the same things as previous years. I thought about returning it and then heard about the $25 refund so I kept it and upgraded it to the home and business version. The $25 didn't come close to the extra cost of the home and business version and since I did it while working in Turbo Tax I didn't realize the cost before I upgraded. I then come to find out that Turbo Tax is going to make it right for those who just had the deluxe version. Either way I am out money that had I realized was going to happen I would have used different software all together. February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So far, so good I've been using TurboTax since it was first released. It has always been easy to navigate and very reliable. They've added the ACA section, and offer helpful comparisons. The formerly frustrating help features have beefed up, so you can jump to the spot you need for input. What I noticed was there was a place where I eliminated the home office deduction for a business, but the form had to be deleted manually. It was awkward to find the form and delete it. It seems as thought navigation has gotten harder, in the effort to dumb down the interface. But for the most part, all of the improvements this year are good. March 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Job accomplished! In past years I was able to do my taxes and even file a simple schedule C with Basic TurboTax. This year I needed to go all the way up to Home & Business Version. Fortunately, the customer service gave me a link to the more expensive version free, since I had already purchased the Basic version, and was disappointed that I could not do my taxes as in past years with this version. Hopefully TurboTax will go back to having all the forms in all the versions, and allow you to jump to the forms if you wish to. Your family life section should have an option for empty nest. We have kids, they just no longer live with us. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved CPA-fee & Received Larger Return Although I wasn't anticipating paying a fee to e-file my State return, I am 100% satisfied with my TurboTax experience. The step-by-step guide, in layman terminology, and side windows describing unfamiliar concepts, made the whole experience SUPER easy! I used to pay my CPA about $200 (for what I think is a simple return# & by simply investing in the Costco-bought software #cheaper than office supply store) I was able to save the CPA fee & I ultimately reaped a larger refund!!! Love this software -- will recommend to anybody who is able to read & has taxes to file. No special tax or accounting experience required. February 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just too many glitches! For a novice to either the cloud or self prepared taxes, or both, my estimation is that TT will be just way too difficult. it's fine for those of us who've been preparing our own taxes all our lives and also for those of us who are on the cloud all day, but i feel sorry for anyone just getting started and who has even a bit of complexity to his or her taxes. and i encountered quite of few of the same glitches that have been around for years. my guess is that the new tax prep software players are gaining market share. for myself i stick with the devil i know for the devil i don't know.but who knows about next year. March 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I purchased TurboTax Home and Business version to file taxes for a lawn care business is started last year. When I installed it, for some reason, it thought I had the Premier version and wouldn't let me fill out the section for self-employment. After about 30 minutes on the phone with customer service, they finally resolved this issue. Then when I got to my State return, the program wouldn't download the correct paperwork for my state return. After about an hour on the phone, customer service was finally able to resolve this problem as well. These glitches seem totally unnecessary for a program that has been around this long. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have used TurboTax for several years, and it makes doing my income tax much more convenient. However, this year I was hit by two troubles. I have regularly files Schedules C and D, which I would have thought are pretty basic parts of the return package. But in order to do Schedule D, I was prompted to upgrade to a higher version. In order to do Schedule C, I was prompted to upgrade again. These upgrades were free. But I don't expect that to be the case next year. Apart from that, it was a nuisance. My schedule C is rather simple. Some years there is little to report on schedule D, although there is always something. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax makes life easier I have been using TurboTax for several years now and what used to be a dreaded process, TurboTax has made it basically a simple and stressless process. They seem to have the process of what questions to ask down pat and mostly in an easy to understand sentence. And if the answers are not quite what they are expecting, they come back in the review to clear it up. I think TurboTax will be my 'tax preparer' for years to come. And for those who think using TurboTax will provide refunds; such is not the case.. unfortunately, for the past 2 years we have paid, but I feel confident that TurboTax did their best to assist me. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finally! I've used the Home and Business TT for several years and it is very convenient when it transfers over your prior year records and basically starts the new year with the information you need. However, this year I ended my consulting business and while the software seemed straightforward with its questions and final results, the "advice" on line (via TT?) indicated different things would happen. It took a long time to get to someone on the phone that basically told me I did not need to follow that advice - in other words, just take it as TT gives it and send in your return. So, I hope it is right - it always has been. March 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Improvement, still a good product. I have been using Turbo tax for fifteen years and I remember liking it more when I first started. So rather than feel that the program has improved I feel less comfortable. It does a good job, just feels disjointed or too separated from the actual forms. Not always easy to get specific answers as to where to enter information specific to my situation. Probably if you have never filed paper forms may not seem like a big deal. Personally I like the older versions that more closely mirrored the actual forms. Now you can toggle between form view and the interview but again I am not in love with the way that actually happens. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by All great but last step The program tried to file my state which I did not want electronically as AZ has noted that they would not accept. Now I have a reminder that I can not clear to resubmit my state filing which I printed and sent in. Due to this when I go into the program it will not just print the forms needed for the Federal return that I did e-file and get accepted. That is a pain. Do you need to attach the W-2s to the voucher ? Also does not answer this when you type in this question. Besides from this I am a fan to Turbo Tax. Just wish they would quit fooling with it. Loved it when they actually had a video within asking question. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One small glitch I have been a Turbo Tax user since before it was called Turbo Tax and love the product. There was just one tiny but annoying problem with this year's version. Before the files could be transmitted I had to correct the way my suffix (Jr.) was typed in the form. I went back to the personal info page and found the examples from Turbo Tax to be exactly as it was filled in by Turbo Tax. After correcting it from Jr. to JR I had to page through the entire file section to get back to the transmit page. This correction should have been handled by the program back on the first page. Oh well. Stuff happens even with the best program. April 15, 2015
  • 2015-04-25T12:22:09.313-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-265, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_12499, tr_12499
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 263 264 265 266 267 ... 289 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.