1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 265 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 12917 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by TAX PREPARATION MADE EASY I paid a CPA to do my taxes for years. My tax situation includes a very small business. After annual tax preparation fees upward of $500 for an hours service, (I'm not making that kind of income), I decided, enough! Purchased my first Turbo Tax in 2014 and the rest is history. I was surprised how easy it was. Took me 5 hours the first taxes, 3 hours to prepare 2014 taxes. Any questions I had were available via Q&A resources that Turbo Tax provides. I've yet not to find an answer to my questions. Turbo Tax, thanks for helping out the working folks! March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes The Turbotax software is easy to navigate. However the expenses continually add up. The cost of the program is not the part that is hard to swallow. The cost to file electronically for the State, the cost of Audit Defense (which is typically covered under a CPA cost), this and that.... There is also online advertising which makes it appear cheaper to do your taxes online, but when you look at the fees it is far cheaper to download the software. I would prefer a program that the expenses are lined out, and that there are no "leading" advertisements. March 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I'll never use TurboTax again I have used Turbo Tax Deluxe for over 15 years, this year I wasn't able to file a schedule C or E without upgrading to Home and Office version. The program tried to force me to take depreciation on a Home Office that I did not want to take, it was very difficult to override this year. The program forced reimbursed business expenses to cover un-reimbursed business meals; I had to override in forms. I didn't trust the handling of the education expense credit calculations. I have loss all faith in Turbo Tax, and will try a different program next year. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good - could be better Overall I am very satisfied and would never, ever do my taxes manually nor would I be likely to use any other tax prep software. I wish, however, that there was a place to enter the school taxes and the property taxes separately and that they would then calculate together as one line item. There are a couple other places where this is the case. The less manual addition that needs to be done outside of TT, the more accurate it will be. I also found this year's version a little harder to navigate than previous versions, due to all the "improvements." May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by How TT Can Improve Nice that someone answers the phone in a reasonable amount of time so close to tax time. The second person I spoke with was very helpful and her solution worked. It would be nice to be able to just enter info on the tax forms and then let TT do a review and error check instead of having to go through the interview. I have used TT for over 15 and I know what to do and where everything goes. I did appreciate the Healthcare section very much. I will likely continue to use TT, but PLEASE make it easier for those of us who know what to do. Thank you April 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Made the Painful more Agonizing Have used Turbo Tax for 4 years. Started off normal then hit a few bumps. The its deductible account I created last year, did not save any of the charities used. Had to re-enter all of them. Why did you demand information about my health insurance status? I used my free state e-file and you still charges me 20 dollars to e-file. Really ended on a sour note... Making a tax service look more attractive now. After spending 100 dollars for the 2014 software and 20 dollars to file plus 2-3 hours time, I believe it would be cheaper to work with them. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Years of Turbo Tax Use Overall I find the product to work extremely well for most purposes. However this year, I sold a rental property that I owned jointly with a friend. The results of the sale on her return were different than my return. Since I have a number of years of tax experience, I loaded her data on my system, and tried to start from scratch. In the end I found myself entering data on the worksheets to get the results I believed were correct. I think it had to do with the free upgrade process. For whatever reason my upgraded to higher version than her upgrade. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not rock my refund. It seems that turbo tax gets a little worse and a poorer value every year. Previous iterations, did not require upgrades to manage simple capital gains and simple sole proprietorships. This year seems to be the worst version yet. Are the questions written by native English speakers? The construction of the sentences and odd use of negatives, made it difficult to determine whether to answer some questions "yes" or "no". Given how the price keeps going up and the quality keeps going down, I think next year it will be time to look for new tax software. February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Difficult to navigate - redundant information The program tries to make tax preparation simple, but TurboTax has made finding the IRS forms being generated hard to find. I have always prepared my own paper forms and was often uncomfortable with the way TurboTax generated a reduction or an increase in my taxes without an indication of what had changed. A toolbar icon that generates the IRS forms would be helpful. In addition, my original copy of TurboTax indicated that a state e-file would cost 19.95. However, when I filed the state return the cost had increased to 24.95 without any explanation. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doing taxes with Turbo Tax We have used Turbo Tax for years. It's good in the fact that it leads you through the process; asking questions along the way. It seems to cover just about everything. It would be nice to have more comparisons between last year's return and this year's. Some of the things I had to fix in the review never came up while going through the process initially. (Never had that problem before.) Also, a new instance this year with a 1099R and the entire entry, along with subsequent choices, was unclear and/or incomplete. Nonetheless, I'd use Turbo Tax again. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for all the help I really like the fact that TurboTax offers so many detailed categories and lists, to be sure I catch the little things that I am bound to forget, especially months after they have occurred. It's also great that our little home business can be taken care of with a package that I can sit down and use myself, saving on all the trips to a preparer (and the fees, of course). Our tax code is horribly complex, but until the unlikely day when it gets simplified, it's wonderful to have a reliable and comprehensive package like TurboTax to turn to for help. March 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by A big letdown this year Without a doubt, this was a big letdown. TT has been my favorite for years and years. Then suddenly, they not only change things around, jacking up the price for those of us "forced" to claim business expenses in the past (e.g. got a 1099-MISC) and now everything is up to me to read and decide about deprecations, carryovers, all those things I want TURBOTAX to do for me. Several places I would click on explain, only to be sent to the IRS to read a long complex document I don't understand and don't fully appreciate where it applies. AND I HAVE A PHD! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Experience with Turbotax TurboTax representatives provided excellent assistance over phone promptly and patiently. TurboTax did made good on its upgrade for free. In my opinion, if turbotax had kept the same format with only required changes for its deluxe version, it would have been easier for customer like me. I would have paid little more for the product if necessary. Eventhough I ended up getting Home and business version upgrade for free, I had to learn few things more and had to call representatives twice. State version down load was not working. Second call fixed it. March 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Deluxe version (1) My Window 8 was reloaded due to virus and 2013 files was lost. Turbo 2014 got 2012 Carryover and applied to 2014. It took me a lot of time time trying to correct the overpaid tax and section 179 disallowed amounts. Eventually found a way to overrided it. (2) I spent lots of time collecting data for Schedule A, but eventually used Standard Deduction instead. I hope turbo would estimate how much medical expenses and some others with high deductibles would be allowed before or during inputting data so that I could save some time not trying too hard. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Home & Business 2014 TurboTax is OK. I have not used other tax software programs so I cannot compare TurboTax with other tax software. Sometimes TurboTax isn't as clear as it could or should be about the next step, for instance when about to file and it recommends a review, but the button choice is 'print' or something like that, I recall. This isn't a big problem but indicative that some screens need to be a little better thought through for instructions of what is coming next or what to do next, since the program is set up in an essentially linear step-by-step process. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5��by Great product! Easy, Fast, Responsive The experience this year was great again even though there was a bit of worry starting out. I purchased deluxe as always only to find out the schedule C had been removed from this version! No worries though, Intuit proved their dedication to the customer experience and chose to give folks like me that update to Home and Business Free of charge - WAY TO GO! It means a lot to me that a company is this willing to put their money where their mouth is and make it right for the customer! Great product - no doubt that I'll use it again next year at tax time! February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but Not Perfect For someone who is not a CPA, this software is great. If you have a simple home-based, service business, as I do, with no inventory and no depreciable equipment, go for home & business. However, be patient! It loads slower than a mule in mud and it has some kinks -- like failing to tell you why you can't file your State return electronically when you get to the end. Also, the "Help" feature is next to useless. I tried five different ways to get a simple answer and had to finally call someone who helped me in two minutes. It's worth the price, however. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor experience this year Found several blanks where figures should have transferred over from prior year's returns. For instance info on vehicle expenses used every year did not transfer over so had to research again date of purchase, etc. Did not want "Personal/Small Business Edition" but had to buy as advice on Basic edition said it no longer would work for my rentals, Farm, & other incomes. I have always been able to use the Basic edition & did not need the extra advice from more expensive versions. Will look for cheaper version from another software company for next year. June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 turbo tax for the Mac I have been using Turbo Tax for years, and in general have found few problems. The 2014 year follows the same trend. The issues I had this year were: 1) confusion in keeping track of contributions to Roth IRA's required me to go through everything related to Roth two to three times to get it right. If a person did not know what was right this could cause a problem including overpayment of Federal tax's. 2) The new save to the cloud is a good idea however I would like the ability to save the actual tax files to my local back up as well s to the cloud. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Solid Easy to Use Program I have used Turbo Tax since it hit the market, and have always loved the product, However, if you are open to suggestions, I offer the following: (1) White space on screens is good, but several screens have too much. (2) If the same questions apply to both parties on a joint return they could be on the same screen with an option for neither. (3) Screens that have you answer yes, no, or none of the above, should go to the next screen without having to click continue. (4) Reverse the packaging change made for 2014. The fewer clicks the faster it goes. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Tool to Navigate the Tax Maze I have been using Turbo Tax for years and continue to find it a great tool that probably allows me to do my taxes more accurately than the majority of the tax preparers out there. I have seen the tax laws get more confusing each year, but Turbo Tax keeps me abreast of the changes as I work my way through the quandary of our tax system. I do not think I would save any time if I took my tax documents to a professional...the majority of the effort is gathering everything together, which I would do for a professional just as I do for my Turbo Tax sessions. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 20th Year Using Turbo Tax According to the files on my hard drive, this is my 20th year using TurboTax, and it's still as reliable and dependable as ever. I'm an "enter stuff via spreadsheet" guy, and I like the way I can bounce around to enter the data I've currently got at my fingertips. My biggest complaint is I can't seem to paste data into any fields in Turbo Tax. That's a big problem for entering passwords for my online banking/investing systems (they're long an secure) and an annoyance when I'm taking data from my own spreadsheets and transferring it into the software. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by wth Unfortunately I will need to look at other products next year. I think I have been using TT since 07. Being forced to upgrade was the beginning. Then there was investment income that was not showing up but being calculated that did not let me get my eic. Then TT could not transfer my sale of a property to capital gains so I had to manually do it. Then the upgrade glitched and I had to have support send me a fresh upgrade. Then the state glitched. Lots of hours talking with support this year. At least they have very nice support people working for them. March 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by On Your Own Turbotax review for errors fails to catch double-entry of health insurance premiums and perhaps other expenses that can be filed either as business or personal. Turbotax language addressed to the user, attempting to be friendly or comtemporary, sometimes goes off the rails, for instance, "Is this, like, your main job?" The Help section is pretty useless as it does not get you direct answers from Turbotax, instead offering only a user-community forum. To get precision help, you have to discover Turbotax's customer service via a separate browser search. April 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't Change a thing from 2013 I was very dissatisfied with the product that for many years I have used Deluxe to file my return and this year that was not sufficient. I think it is unfair to completely restructure your products to automatically add $30 or more to the cost just to do the same thing. The good news is that the upgrade was free, so I do appreciate that. But if that were not the case, I would have been looking for a more reasonable filing option. I have been a Turbo tax customer for more than a dozen years. Why the Change? Please put it back the way it was for 2015!!!!!! February 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pay MORE$, get LESS! I am a long-time TurboTax Basic user and have been very pleased with the functionality, consistency and accuracy. This year I moved to a state with an income tax, so upgraded to TurboTax Deluxe only to discover that they had gutted both Basic and Deluxe of functionality they had for over a decade, forcing costly upgrades to Premium or Home & Business. I no longer trust TurboTax to be consistent in providing year to year functionality, so I'll be looking at alternatives. Too bad TurboTax put the push for new profits over consistency and customer service. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Tax Filling Needy (Me) Only filing taxes once a year means that whatever insights I discover in one year I will likely have forgotten by the next. TurboTax would provide the likes of me with a great service if you could develop both a detailed outline or checklist of items to keep track of during the tax year is some orderly manner for the tax-paying under-advantaged (me) AND you might attract a larger number of Catholic priests if you made how to report FICA (housing allowance etc.) clearer and easier. Also, business deductions and expenses could use a more thorough listing. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of Turbo Tax Over all good program, they are geting pricey on the backing up if you file electronic, $ 59.99 plus now $ 30.00 plus thats is an extra they could work on, already bought their program for $ 90.00. But U do and will continue to recommend Turbo Tax, I have used others in the past and even HR Block, got audited with HR and we paid for the protection but diid not receive, I ended up paying and additional $ 250.00 because they left something out, Turbo Tax good program. Should give discount to purchase next year if I have pruchased for 3 - 5 years. Good idea March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was possible to get things done The faky "congratulations, good planning" when it was post hoc not pre hoc is just silly. I know there is lots of negative emotion around taxes, but this inappropriate pat on the back does not occur at the moment when one is frustrated. I've learned to go to the external "its deductible" but it would be better to have an editable way of handling charitable deductions in the program. I know you want me to go to the cloud but Snowden makes me think you've got to be kidding, if the feds can get it then so can other country's feds, as well as their bandits. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Automation Overall this is a great program to quickly and easily make it through the tax season. TurboTax is best used consistently, in my opinion. By using it year after year, your tax information from the previous year can be imported which will make things so much easier if you don't have changes in your life. I will continue to use TurboTax as it makes my life so much easier! The hardest part for me was getting my accounts set up online for my banking items, that way TurboTax could just import the data for me. Next year will be a breeze with everything online! April 8, 2015
  • 2015-09-01T11:09:38.245-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-265, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12917, tr_12917
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 263 264 265 266 267 ... 298 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.