1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 265 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get 'er done! Each year that I use Turbo Tax I get more familiar with it and like it more. I am a professional tax preparer and use a program developed by a huge company. I see more simplicity using Turbo Tax and think anyone would feel more comfortable. The form I've had the most trouble with all along is the non-cash contributions when the list of donations has to go to so many places. I think it could be made a little easier to follow. Over all, I am so happy to be able to jump back from forms to help with step by step and it makes it so much less stressful to complete. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable as always I don't understand why there have been so many negative reviews this year. I purchased Personal and Business version from Amazon at a good price. Entered all my information, and as I have experienced the last 13+ years, TurboTax answered my questions within the app and educated me throughout the process on several new tax laws. I find this program to be reliable. I'm using a windows 7 HP laptop with no problems installing, etc. My only complaint is that I will have to pay for additional returns at an exorbitant rate. Not sure if that is Intuit's fault or not. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 program the people who helped online were very helpful. thank you. My main gripe is that I pay $100+ for the home and business program. I cannot file my PA state tax electronically for some reason regarding a K-1. So I print and mail. I do a federal return for my 94 year old Dad- costs $42+ to download state and then you want another $25 to e file. So I elect to print and mail- but it doesn't give me that option anymore. I have to go all way back through program and say I will print my federal and state. (I already e filed the federal)- one big mess. Takes forever. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tax Software on the Market! I worked as a professional tax preparer for 9 years at H&R Block. Upon retiring I reviewed the various tax software on the market and have found TurboTax to be way better than TaxCut and the others. For the last 8 years I have been using TurboTax to do taxes for myself and for 4 other family members with various degrees of complications, from self-employment to complex investment porfolios, and have found TurboTax to be well suited to all situations. The ability to import bank and brokerage information directly into the tax returns is the best feature of all. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by OK Filling in the forms under the TT interview system is smooth and easy to follow. When there are errors on review there is great telephone support to get the errors fixed. My telephone helper spoke clearly and without a foreign accent making it easy for me to understand. The screen sharing feature was hard to get started but was helpful once it got running. I have used TT for umpteen years after it caught my accountant in multiple errors. I was not happy with the confusion and the extra cost the required upgrade to a higher level to do my securities this year March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State tax would not email I went through the program with no problems until the end. I tried to E-mail my returns and needed an update to proceed. Went to the answer line to get a fix. Uncoupled the returns and the federal taxes e-mailed OK. Tried the state again and got the same update notice. I had paid the state email fee already. There was a very complicated instruction to maybe fix this mess, but I was not computer competent enough to get through the instructions. I gave up and mailed the state tax forms. I don't know what will happen to my paid fee. Guess it is lost. Bard Allison March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Experience -- EXCEPT ONE BIG PROBLEM... Very helpful in general, but: 1) I couldn't advance easily to the final printing of a to-mail-in return for California. Once I told the program I didn't want to e-file and that I'd file the form manually, it didn't take me to a window to print it immediately. 2) I liked the "old version" which would allow you to enter specific multiple data (e.g., twelve differently monthly interest payments) and have TurboTax add them up (another way of saying that is we used to be able to enter more "Supporting Details" that would sum up to be a line of income or deductions. April 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by okay I have used turbotax for 10 years and this was quite frustrating this year as changes were not deleted when I altered certain fields. This duplicated things on my return I discovered when reviewing it as I was about to e-file. The program had me upgrade to a home and business version for$40 dollars but the upgrade did not make things any better and was worthless, I should have known better than upgradiing but was worried what it would do if I refused a "necessary" upgrade. All in all this may be my last year with TT as it is not getting easier and seems worse. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 The program worked fine. I feel that the requirement to use Home and Business just to get schedule C was a cheap shot. Not having the ability to manually fill in the form and efile (as had been allowed in previous years with Deluxe) seemed frivolous. Especially since I am sure it is a configuration setting that converts and restricts the various feature sets (I spent 30 years writing software including corporate tax compliance). Charge for the support if need be but allow all the forms to be generated. And yes, I did get my $25 "sorry you have to upgrade" rebate April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Loving Turbo Tax less and less Been using TurboTax for years but found it HARDER this year. Especially in the File A Return area. I prefer to E-File Federal and Mail State. I selected E-File for Federal, but then the options for state (California) were E-file now, or Do not E-file state I'll do it later. The I get to a dead end where it tells me I have no returns to efile. I had to go and Print/Save for my records. What happened to "Print my return for mailing"? Just harder this time. Why do I not efile state? Because they charge 24.95. I will continue to visit the post office once per year. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible version in 2014 I have used TurboTax DELUXE for many, many years. In 2014 I was forced to change to H&Business because of Sch C, D, 8606, and others. Luckily I was a tax consultant for 45 years and knew what forms I needed to fill out, because the questions by your programmers were inaccurate and I had to even answer the questions WRONG to get it to go to the forms I needed. And one time it would not let me go back in and change an answer that needed to change. Had to do some "creative" accounting to get the tax return to at least finish up. I hate this version and the 2014 TT. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always An Awesome Experience - Using TurboTax I always love tax time as i know i do not have to print or search a pile of Tax code documents. Turbo tax walk thru makes it so easy to do, even with complicated tax scenarios. 5 stars for the last 6 years. I did have a real problem. Not sure if its your side or mine. My 29 yr old son does not have healthcare. We filled out the Penalty Exemption forms and then hit download so we could attach medical bills to mail it in. It never provided the download after trying for 6 hours straight. Now i am not sure how to get back to that area of the SW. Not sure what to do. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax for over 15 years and love it. If you can answer questions, you can use this program. One thing I would like to see rectified. Every year the"help" is different. I wish you could find a way that worked good and stick with it. The one I liked the most was several years ago, when you needed help with a screen, they had a column on the right that helped you. It was wonderful! I sell Avon and have always used the Deluxe version. I am so happy you fixed it this year so I could keep using the same program and I REALLY hope you keep it that way!! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier every year The section by section flow is very helpful, including suggestions along the way. I filed our taxes for many years until the first year my husband became self-employed. We went to a service and paid $600, but realized it didn't save any time and he was simply using software. So I got TurboTax the next year and have continued using it ongoing - now at about 8 years in a row. Very user-friendly and easy. I like the small cost for the software and automatic calculations. It's well worth $100 or so and I recommend it if you have anything beyond a very simple return. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Work in Progress I have loved Turbo Tax in the past but the changes this year have made it very confusing! In the past I was able to do our Schedule F through TurboTax Deluxe. This year I had to purchase the Home and Business upgrade, which I found out only after I started going through the process. But then it didn't ask me all of the questions I needed. When I got to the review, it asked for extra information that I had to look up on prior tax forms even though TT had done those years. There was no explanation of the schedule J, so I had to do research on "elected farm income." March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable product I have always bought the product ahead of the tax year by ordering prior to the tax year with the impression this would be the best price. However I will no longer do this since I frequently see the same edition advertised at a discounted price at the beginning of the tax year. I was also disappointed that Intuit initially planned to charge more to obtain Schedule C (I was already buying the Premium product). Some of the competitions' products are lower priced-you should continue giving long-time customers I have been using Turbo-tax yearly for at least 15 years. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent with a few things to do better I am using this software for about 15 years. Overall, it is really good and getting better every year. There are a few things that I would personally like to be improved: 1) When you use wizard mode (it guides you through items) and at some point go back, and then you try to proceed forward, it does not "remember" which way you were going if the specific screen has a multiple choice. 2) There should be an option to save the whole return to the cloud. I had my laptop died last year along with my backup drive, and the software asked me about last year information. April 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Update Buggy I have used Turbo Tax on my Mac for years, and I plan to continue. However, this year, once I finished my calculations and came back, once it checked for updates, the Update window stayed in place and the form would not reopen. I finally worked through this by clicking the OK tab on the window and then by going to the check for updates drop down menu. Additionally, here is a note for Clergy: If you get a W-2, your business expenses will not be automatically entered into your SE forms. You will need to do that manually to get the proper calculation (and deduction) April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast & Accurate I have used Turbo Tax for over 15 years It is great. I tried other tax preparation software by top rated companies. They were too complicated and confusing. I feel safer using your program than using any other method or means for tax preparation. I used a CPA for a few years and paid over $1200 each time to get my taxes done. He never tried to find new deductions,, never asked questions that may give me more money back in my pocket and just went by the receipts i gave him. I have used H&R Block and then I did my taxes over using TurboTax and got a larger refund. February 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by mY REFUND Continuing the cons. I couldn't e-file either my own returns or my sons. No pin or a deadend loop on mine. No way to get out of the loop. So I finally printed and had to mail them in. This is in stark contrast to how easy it was last year. Someone told me they heard a news article that not everyone could e-file this year. Why weren't we informed instead of struggling for hours trying to do it. Also, there was no paid expert review this year, only the review that is done in the software. Why was that dropped. I liked the reassurance that I have done them correctly. April 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbotax disappointed me this year Intuit does not respect their customers and though their words say one thing their actions say another. The product is getting ever more cumbersome to use, I experienced more errors than ever importing my previous year's data (with no easy way to correct the issues on my own), and I feel that the fine print on the "Free" state data was misleading and after paying $5 more dollars than advertised on the package noticed the fine print about "prices subject to change without notice." After using this product for many years, I'm going to try another approach next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax pain remedy Turbotax has been a great help to me because of itemizing and complicated investments. Almost everything downloaded from my investment firms correctly, saving a lot of time, and possible errors. The sales tax feature was a problem, though. I have about $2,000 sales tax from large purchases, but to be useful, I would have to add up all sales taxes, and I don't have all those receipts. The only other option is to accept the calculated amount, with no option to add the few large tax receipts. So, instead of $4000 in sales tax deduction, I only was able to take $2100. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Saver! I know there was a lot of uproar about Intuit deleting certain forms for small business. They did the right thing by letting you upgrade for free and I appreciated that. I certainly hope this snafu did not do too much damage to their reputation as overall, this product is superior. I have been using TurboTax for years and I couldn't imagine using any other software or trying to figure it out on my own. I love how it transfers my previous years information. It's fast and easy and will continue to use this software as long as my tax situation permits me to. Love it! February 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 1099s Need help I have used the online 1099 reporting for several years, but this year I couldn't access the online site directly. I kept getting an error that I could only make changes through Turbo Tax. But in Turbo Tax there is no link to the website and there is no option to electronically file. I can now access the website through a normal tax return if I answer the question that I need to file 1099s, but I don't understand why that option isn't available in the actual W-2 & 1099 return preparation. So I either have to input the information again online or file a paper copy. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by After an initial hiccup, still remain impressed... The TurboTax product continues to be my salvation each year as I face taxes of mostly increasing complexity. Because of the highly structured layout of the interview format questions, I rarely feel 'lost' or despairing of what to do next. The addition of context (such as: these tax situations are rare) let me know if I'm about ti get off in the weeds on an obscure issue of no relevance to my situation. The addition of hassle-free (and free) electronic filing and payment make the last-minute filing deadlines no longer the high-anxiety high-wire acts of yesteryear. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so happy this year This year as most of you know by now required the purchase of the premium version if you had stock loss / gains. For me this was added cost of 30.00 so I could enter the loss calculation. So I had to purchase the premium. Then when I loaded it onto the computer it prompted me to get an even higher version, which I didn't need. I spent nearly an hour on the phone trying to get the state to upload to my computer, Nothing was easy about doing this years taxes. Very disappointed with Turbo Tax. Give me back the Delux version as it was in the past years. Keep it simple. April 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Upgrade Now - Required! 2014 Deluxe version features have been stripped and now require a more expensive version. The Deluxe will not allow manual input of rental income or off road fuel credit. Worst move since the limited print capability trick of a few years back. Major work needs to be completed on packaging. Sent wife to get same version as last year, the names have all changed and the box descriptions offer no guidance on the changes. Looks like I can expect to see more of the Upgrade offers that Intuit includes with Quicken. Ready to try something else, tired of all the hassles. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped along by some good folks After hours on the phone (3.5 total) and lots of grief, the folks at turbo offered me a refund for my troubles (after the first 1.5 hours) then the supervisor offered me next year's program for free after spending an additional 2 hours on the phone. All this time spent didn't result in the answer I was led to believe in from the beginning but they made up for this hassle by putting their money where their mouth is. In the end, after the phone calls, I had another several hours of work to do but things went smoothly the rest of the way. Thank you! Kathlene and others March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress free tax returns! I've been relying on Turbo Tax for the last several years, and wouldn't consider working with any other tax return software. It provides a level of reassurance that is extremely helpful in reducing the stress associated with doing one's own taxes. I particularly like being guided through the various questions related to each item on the form, and consequently have a very high level of confidence when submitting my return. I am very appreciative of the audit check and the feedback regarding the risk level of my return... another stress reliever and confidence builder! April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by "I'm Baaack!" to Turbo Tax As you are covering step to step procedures.you might create a column to the right of the process involved to specifically identify how it just impacted the overall return. Sometimes figures appear in the final analysis that are difficult to understand (where'd that come from) and find and such a step by step listing may improve the ability to find something that had been misunderstood or lost in the shuffle. When an amount is included in the column, enable the tax preparer to type in that number and be linked back to that point in the overall process. Great program! April 9, 2015
  • 2015-07-31T11:22:44.805-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-265, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12837, tr_12837
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 263 264 265 266 267 ... 296 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.