1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 265 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13706 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of Extra Cost This year's TT is like a car advertised as very inexpensive, but when you go to buy it, you find it doesn't have a spare tire or light bulbs or windshield wipers. If you want those, you pay extra. I wanted to enter business income for a few dollars earned for consulting, and I had to upgrade to the business version. Only one tax return per state edition even if it is the same state and so it goes. TT can do what it wants. but next year I will investigate the competition. February 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Deluxe I have used Turbo Tax Deluxe for many years, without any problems. It allowed me to file my schedule C income sources, as well as self-employment taxes, for a small side business. There were NO changes in my income or business this year, yet Turbo Tax required me to upgrade (at no cost) to the Home & Business version. This upgraded version was difficult to use, as it did not really apply to my situation. I hope to be able to complete my returns on Deluxe in future years! March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Regular User I have been using Turbotax for many years now - I don't know how many, but since the 90s. I have always found it fluid and helpful though occasionally frustrating when you want to do something simple and it drags through 15 steps and requires information that won't be used (such as depreciation and vehicle expenses when one just wants to claim mileage). It has gotten smoother, but based on changes in pricing and product this year, I will be rethinking my software choice. February 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product but seems less reliable this year I have used TurboTax for many years. This year was the first time I had any difficulties. It printed many duplicate pages and had the incorrect PO box address for the state (close enough to not matter, but does not encourage confidence). Still maybe the best low cost solution even if not perfect. Also, I was not able to run the program without updating, sometimes I just want to open my file without waiting to upgrade, but this did not seem possible, this was frustrating. March 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great product but getting too expensive I used to pay about $35 for a version of Turbo Tax that handled my husband's simple consulting business (Schedule C), plus some simple investment activity. Now I learn that I will have to pay $99.99 for the 2015 version that will handle a Schedule C home business, an increase of almost 300%. I will definitely be looking for alternatives. I couldn't quickly find a way to convey my displeasure to Intuit on this price increase, hence this review of an otherwise good product. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by PDF Purgatory For some reason, this year Turbo Tax didn't recognize the latest version of Adobe that I have on my computer and wouldn't print my return until I downloaded the product from a competitor. Since I'm currently in Quicken Purgatory because I can't install the latest version despite being required to buy it because the version I have will no longer be supported, I'm annoyed that Quicken as a company seems to have forgotten simple is the best way to go with technology products. April 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by MIssing important forms I have used this product & its predecessor for nearly 30 years. Home & Business. The state income tax in NH is merely a form, no help offered AT ALL. It is not worth any extra money for their state version, just pick up the form from the state online. DOES not have GIFT tax form either. It would certainly be helpful it this were included, with program help, prompts and calculations. Also because it is not included, then the tax form cannot be e-filed either. What a hassle. October 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confident with Turbo Tax Last year we tried a competitor tax preparation program and we are so glad to have returned to Turbo Tax. We feel confident that the program has walked us through every step of the process and this year we had a more complicated return than in the past. I was looking for some specific help in one area and I spent a lot of time going around and around with the HELP function, but I understand that every scenario is not possible to be addressed. We will be back next year! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to understand and to negotiate my way around It is laid out in an intuitive way and is largely easy to either be led from piece to piece or skip around as necessary. Explanations are clear and whenever I had a question, that would be anticipated and a clear explanation awaited me, which sometimes included an IRS link. I greatly appreciated the detailed help with deductions and the "smartcheck" that looked for audit red flags. Since I have been using TurboTax for federal income tax returns, I have never been audited. February 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo Tax did not include tax penalty I am disappointed. I read during my Turbo Tax interview, I would be responsible for apx 10 dollars in penalty because I didn't pre pay (& my withholding didn't quite cover) my State Taxes in 2014. As a result after I printed my voucher and paid my Tax bill as presented by Turbo Tax, I received in the mail another bill from Franchise Tax Board for taxes and penalty due as a "revised tax bill" - basically to pay the $10 dollars Turbo Tax didn't add in on the original voucher. March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maybe bad advice for married business partners I have an LLC owned by my wife and myself. TurboTax Home & Business suggesting adding two schedule C's and split the profits/loss. Come to find out this may be true for a small number of states (Ohio is not one of them). I had to scramble and buy Turbo Tax Business software and create the 1065 and K-1s. Then go back into Turbo Tax Home & Business and delete the errant schedule C's and add the two K-1s. Quite an exciting Sunday (4/12/15) full of accounting gymnastics - Not! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Down to the Wire I am very pleased with Turbo Tax and all the different ways to get questions answered and the forums that are offered. I have used this product well over 22 or more years and have always been please but this year I was down to the wire and again it didn't disappoint me. A few questions I needed to go outside of TT but over all I was able to get answers and get through the program without a glitch. Thanks for making the program user friendly even for the stressed out users. April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst experience ever This year I filed for my business as well and I kept getting two Schedule C's printing out - one was correct and the other looked like it was interrupted. I'm hoping both were not in the equation of the tax I owe. It seems that you cannot save these documents on your own computer to review and rework. I'm not sure i'll ever use Turbo Tax again. I actually had to do my taxes three times to get all the information to save. I don't like the idea of using someone else's cloud! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by MY TURBO TAX IN THE PAST DELUXE VERSION WAS ALL I NEEDED TO DO SCHEDULE C'S AND STOCK TRANSACTIONS. nOW I WILL NEED THE HOME AND BUSINESS TO DO POSSIBLY ONE SCHEDULE C AND VARIOUS STOCK SALES. ALSO IN NY WE ARE REQUIRED TO EFILE THE STATE. AFTER EFILING 5 RETURNS TURBO TAX WOULDNT LET ME EFILE THE NY RETURN AND PAPER FILE THE FEDERAL RETURN. i DO ABOUT 10 FAMILY AND FRIENDS SO IM LEFT IN A QUANDARY SINCE I MUST EFILE NY. VERY DISAPPOINTED SINCE I HAVE USED TURBO TAX FOR OVER 30 YEARS. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's ALWAYS Easy I've used Turbo Tax since 2000 and have had every imaginable situation from regular income to home businesses to settling my parents' estates. This program has never failed me nor has it ever had a software bug that affected me. I've been using the Home and Small Business version since it was first released. I've been a technology and software professional since I got my undergraduate degree in 1970. This is a rock solid program. Buy it and use it. You will NOT regret it! April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Using TurboTax fo 12+ years I am using TurboTax Premier version for many years now. There are many software and cloud solutions on the market but in the moment you have to file more than an 1040EZ, adding schedule C, investment income, etc. TurboTax delivers rock solid results. It also looks that they have their QA for software releases under better control now compared to earlier years when I was experiencing random crashes. So definitely worth the money for anything more complicated than a EZ filing. April 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I am verry unhappy that TurboTax has decided to change the forms included in the package I have used in the past. there are two reasons. 1. I only need one form from the upgrded version and due to the questions It is much more dificult to complete the one form. 2. I have to pay extra for the same filings that I have done in the past. I will most likly not use TurboTax next year as I will revert to paper forms do to extra cost and time it took to file my return this year. April 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 64bit conflict Had to pull an old 32 bit computer out of the basement to do taxes after this software blue-screen crashed my new 64 bit 4 times, causing loss of important data and many days. Thank goodness I had made a back-up. Fix instructions wanted me to go into the BIOS of my new computer to make changes. No thank you. Every other software has a separate CD for 64 bit for a reason. Caused me considerable stress and not an issue isolated to me. Next year have a separate 64 bit version. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not sure I'll use again like the question format, but felt some of the questions were not clear, and navigation was more difficult this year. Major problem: unlike entering income questions based on W-2, when I entered income from a 1099R form (a relative had died and we were executors), it never asked for the tax aspects. Relevant tax consideration were buried at the end of the program under "miscellaneous taxes". This was missed the first time, and when found and entered, made a $10K difference! April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not much difference for the price!! This software did transfer all previous information from prior years returns seamlessly to this years return. I was greatly disappointed with Turbo Tax's idea of offering the customer a more targeted software at a higher price that was required for this new version to do exactly what the older versions did at half the cost!! I'm glad that Turbo Tax saw their ERROR and is trying to correct the problem and offer repeat customers a suitable solution for this Grievous Mistake!! April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good - State filing fee is unnecessary I have used Turbo Tax for over a decade now. Very comfortable with using it for home business and salaried income. Very unhappy with every year needing to pay a state e-file fee. C'mon, it's 2015, electronic transactions do not cost anything. If TT is not linked up yet with states to receive an electronic filing for free, there is something wrong. So I chose (unfortunately) to print my state return and mail it. This will cost them more than $25 to receive, process, etc.... April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Program Review I have used this program for 20+ years and have always considered it to be simple and accurate. Always seems to be on top of Federal changes and makes things on my end so much more simpler. I usually do returns for my immediate family and friends and 5 efiles per year really makes it more complicated for me to pick and choose which 5 are efiled and which are NOT. Seems like the government would not object to more than 5 efiles per program. It would make their jobs simpler. March 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a piece of unclear directions My husband stopped doing one of his schedule C businesses this year for which I have always taken a mileage deduction. He still uses the vehicle for 2 other of our businesses. It was virtually impossible to get the program to stop using that vehicle for one business. I finally found some directions from a "User" from 2 years ago (and he had spent 3 hours trying to figure it out) that helped. Still don't think it is reported correctly but at least I was able to file my taxes. March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very expensive refund! We have used the software for the last three years, this year I purchased 1040A/EZ from Target($50). Then was asked to purchase another version mid way through the process. ($40) At the end of the process I was asked to purchase home and business. ($40) And finally ($19.99) to e-file. I understand the upgrade from 1040 EZ to business and the e-file charge but the additional money made the grand total more than a tax service. Next year I am probably not be using the software. January 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as easy as I had hoped 1) Totally misrepresented when it says you get to file one State Return for free. You get to process the file but you cannot e-file for free. Would have liked to understand that without having to call the help line to understand. 2) Also I had to spend a lot of time on the help screens, trying to figure out why my HSA data was not shown correctly. I had to eventually go to the forms section and remove the data in the HSA, excess contribution field because it was not excess. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Good and Bad I did not agree with my status TurboTax wanted for me, ie Single rather than Head of Household. This is my last year to be Head of Household, maybe half of 2015, we shall see. I was able to make a case for the status. I missed something in 2013 and was able to make a case for it. It was different altogether. I was able to avoid a fine for tardiness due to being ill. TurboTax has always served me well. It is much more flexible now if you know what you are doing. This helps! March 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Last Minute Gottcha Have used several years with no problem. This year is a nightmare. Opted to pay federal tax with a credit card. After the entire transaction was completed and the filing was in process Turbo Tax came back and asked a couple of questions with no instructions or assistance. I entered the information I though was relevant data and my return was changed with no accommodation for adjusting the credit card payment or instructions on how to proceed. A nightmare. Totally inadequate. March 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Changes Made To TurboTax Unacceptable I have used TurboTax for many years...but I don't know that I will continue to use it after the changes you made in the program this year. If you maintain the changes, I would have to purchase the home & business version to do what I've done with the deluxe version all these years. Please put the program back the way it was or I will be forced to either do the taxes manually or use a different program. I will no longer be able to afford your program!!! Sincerely, OzarkArkie April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by problematic The program asked for a credit card payment of $19.95 for the State return. The question about this should have been asked earlier when checking account information was given. Also, after I was ready to submit, the system asked for an address of an insurance company I had entered from 1099s. An address wasn't supplied. I couldn't get it at night because company was closed. I tried online and the company had been sold to AIG which has a website with no company addresses...... March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate Answer each question in a truthful way and gather all necessary paperwork and bundle it and file it in a container. Label it. Each year maintain the supporting documentation in a separate container. Save all of the receipts having to do with repairs and parts for you investment properties. Save your medical expense receipts, and your mortgage payments. then when the time comes, enter each one of the fields based on your saved evidence. This is a very user friendly software. April 12, 2015
  • 2016-02-07 T07:24:58.151-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-265, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13706, tr_13706
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 263 264 265 266 267 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.