1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 262 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by mY REFUND Continuing the cons. I couldn't e-file either my own returns or my sons. No pin or a deadend loop on mine. No way to get out of the loop. So I finally printed and had to mail them in. This is in stark contrast to how easy it was last year. Someone told me they heard a news article that not everyone could e-file this year. Why weren't we informed instead of struggling for hours trying to do it. Also, there was no paid expert review this year, only the review that is done in the software. Why was that dropped. I liked the reassurance that I have done them correctly. April 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbotax disappointed me this year Intuit does not respect their customers and though their words say one thing their actions say another. The product is getting ever more cumbersome to use, I experienced more errors than ever importing my previous year's data (with no easy way to correct the issues on my own), and I feel that the fine print on the "Free" state data was misleading and after paying $5 more dollars than advertised on the package noticed the fine print about "prices subject to change without notice." After using this product for many years, I'm going to try another approach next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by After an initial hiccup, still remain impressed... The TurboTax product continues to be my salvation each year as I face taxes of mostly increasing complexity. Because of the highly structured layout of the interview format questions, I rarely feel 'lost' or despairing of what to do next. The addition of context (such as: these tax situations are rare) let me know if I'm about ti get off in the weeds on an obscure issue of no relevance to my situation. The addition of hassle-free (and free) electronic filing and payment make the last-minute filing deadlines no longer the high-anxiety high-wire acts of yesteryear. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax pain remedy Turbotax has been a great help to me because of itemizing and complicated investments. Almost everything downloaded from my investment firms correctly, saving a lot of time, and possible errors. The sales tax feature was a problem, though. I have about $2,000 sales tax from large purchases, but to be useful, I would have to add up all sales taxes, and I don't have all those receipts. The only other option is to accept the calculated amount, with no option to add the few large tax receipts. So, instead of $4000 in sales tax deduction, I only was able to take $2100. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast & Accurate I have used Turbo Tax for over 15 years It is great. I tried other tax preparation software by top rated companies. They were too complicated and confusing. I feel safer using your program than using any other method or means for tax preparation. I used a CPA for a few years and paid over $1200 each time to get my taxes done. He never tried to find new deductions,, never asked questions that may give me more money back in my pocket and just went by the receipts i gave him. I have used H&R Block and then I did my taxes over using TurboTax and got a larger refund. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Saver! I know there was a lot of uproar about Intuit deleting certain forms for small business. They did the right thing by letting you upgrade for free and I appreciated that. I certainly hope this snafu did not do too much damage to their reputation as overall, this product is superior. I have been using TurboTax for years and I couldn't imagine using any other software or trying to figure it out on my own. I love how it transfers my previous years information. It's fast and easy and will continue to use this software as long as my tax situation permits me to. Love it! February 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 1099s Need help I have used the online 1099 reporting for several years, but this year I couldn't access the online site directly. I kept getting an error that I could only make changes through Turbo Tax. But in Turbo Tax there is no link to the website and there is no option to electronically file. I can now access the website through a normal tax return if I answer the question that I need to file 1099s, but I don't understand why that option isn't available in the actual W-2 & 1099 return preparation. So I either have to input the information again online or file a paper copy. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so happy this year This year as most of you know by now required the purchase of the premium version if you had stock loss / gains. For me this was added cost of 30.00 so I could enter the loss calculation. So I had to purchase the premium. Then when I loaded it onto the computer it prompted me to get an even higher version, which I didn't need. I spent nearly an hour on the phone trying to get the state to upload to my computer, Nothing was easy about doing this years taxes. Very disappointed with Turbo Tax. Give me back the Delux version as it was in the past years. Keep it simple. April 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Upgrade Now - Required! 2014 Deluxe version features have been stripped and now require a more expensive version. The Deluxe will not allow manual input of rental income or off road fuel credit. Worst move since the limited print capability trick of a few years back. Major work needs to be completed on packaging. Sent wife to get same version as last year, the names have all changed and the box descriptions offer no guidance on the changes. Looks like I can expect to see more of the Upgrade offers that Intuit includes with Quicken. Ready to try something else, tired of all the hassles. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped along by some good folks After hours on the phone (3.5 total) and lots of grief, the folks at turbo offered me a refund for my troubles (after the first 1.5 hours) then the supervisor offered me next year's program for free after spending an additional 2 hours on the phone. All this time spent didn't result in the answer I was led to believe in from the beginning but they made up for this hassle by putting their money where their mouth is. In the end, after the phone calls, I had another several hours of work to do but things went smoothly the rest of the way. Thank you! Kathlene and others March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good b\ut not as good as previous years version I have been using Turbo Tax for multiple years (approx. 20 years). This year I found your product to be a bit more difficult to use. In particular using your product for K-1 Forms does not always follow the form I receive from the various companies. Your forms product was more difficult to use this year and had to revert to filling out actual; forms in many cases. I also discovered that one form (8606) from a previous years return ) did not recognize previous years (2012). information and because of this discovered I had paid more taxes last year than I should have. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress free tax returns! I've been relying on Turbo Tax for the last several years, and wouldn't consider working with any other tax return software. It provides a level of reassurance that is extremely helpful in reducing the stress associated with doing one's own taxes. I particularly like being guided through the various questions related to each item on the form, and consequently have a very high level of confidence when submitting my return. I am very appreciative of the audit check and the feedback regarding the risk level of my return... another stress reliever and confidence builder! April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by "I'm Baaack!" to Turbo Tax As you are covering step to step procedures.you might create a column to the right of the process involved to specifically identify how it just impacted the overall return. Sometimes figures appear in the final analysis that are difficult to understand (where'd that come from) and find and such a step by step listing may improve the ability to find something that had been misunderstood or lost in the shuffle. When an amount is included in the column, enable the tax preparer to type in that number and be linked back to that point in the overall process. Great program! April 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax Updates Terrible This year's version of TT was very familiar, with all the right prompts,logic, forms, and ease of filing. What ruined this year's experience was the update function. This year something changed. In the past, these updates were quick, easy to understand, and painless. This year, the updates took forever, often failed, and routinely required several attempts to complete. A quick check of on-line web sites revealed this problem was not just me, but many or even most TT users. You have one more opportunity to keep me, TT. After that, I'm going to one of your competitors. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I was probably an early "adopter" for TurboTax; I've used it as it has grown from a basic program that required a considerable amount of self research to a full self-help tax support system with a step by step review of every possible tax form. Don't let the complexity of the full expanded version stop you from using this software tool. My son has a very simple set of taxes: unmarried, lives alone, small mortgage, minimum medical, IT professional, average salary. He can do his taxes in under 30 minutes with Turbo Tax. You want to push the "easy" button, use Turbo Tax. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Home&Business Edition had trouble with RMDs I was overall pleased with this edition, except for it did not easily/clearly handle the situation when one forgot to make a Required Minimum Distribution (RMD) from an inherited IRA. I had to go online and search with Google on how to get TurboTax to generate the IRS Form 5329 for dummies like me that forgot to take their RMD. In the end I was able to do it, but I'm not sure if fooling TurboTax with a fake $1 RMD was the best way to kick portion of the program to handle this situation. Either the program needs to be improved, or the documentation needs to be clearer. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good - if you're a novice I generally like TurboTax and I've been using it for years but I find that unless you want to endure the seemingly interminable questions (the vast majority of which don't apply to you) you're sometimes left to guessing what to do next. Still, if you get to the right sections, the process of filling out the forms is mostly automated. At the end of the day, almost anything is better than the unintelligible instructions and the manual, tedious forms from the IRS. I'll continue to purchase TurboTax until the government comes to its senses and implements a flat tax system. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doesn't always return to where you left off It bugs me a bit that I can't always return to the exact place I left off. For example I was one click away from submitting and I needed to go back to check on something and then I was required to go through all the same filing screens again to reach the point of submitting my return. I tried to find a shortcut using the topic list, but that didn't help. There were several occasions when I had to go through screens multiple times in revising or verifying my entries. I suppose TT has good reasons for requiring this but it makes the process tedious for the user at times. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again Too expensive. I can get the other tax ware at a fraction of the price that I paid for this one for the same things that I needed to fill out. There were parts that I had no problem filling out with the other tax ware and with this one, had me more than confused on what to do. Several times I had to read then reread over and over again as to what they wanted in order to continue on. I left out a lot of things that I could have deducted and more forms to fill out if I wasn't so danged confused with it all. Never again, will go back to the other software for doing taxes. April 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reviiew It is a decent program.. Menu driven options are good. Inability to selectively E-File Federal & State returns is a big disadvantage. I want the ability to decide which (federal or state) returns to file electronically. E- Filing allows the IRS to delve more deeply into a return. Submissions to the IRS should be limited to applicable forms only. Cost has gone up every year for the past three years. This is unacceptable. Features in certain versions have been minimized. The deluxe version should allow schedule C , schedule D inputs. We should be forced into upselling April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quick, Easy, and Thorough Please make the details on what each program is best for you (listed on back of package). I needed the ability for farm, depreciation, etc.; I bought the "Home & Business" and when I started using it found it concentrated on big business and investments and was very complex so returned it and purchased the Premier. About half way through, I was informed I needed to purchase the Home and Business to complete filing, which I did for an additional $10 and it blended in very well. I am wondering if it simply listed a "schedule F under Home and Business if that would help?? April 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved Precious Time if you have to do your taxes....and you DO! Turbo is with you every step of the way. They've got the answers to all the puzzling questions, or can point you straight to the IRS publication you need to explore. No waiting on line for hours to answers to hair pulling questions. I've used them for years and I'll use them again! They are quick to fix anything the IRS changes during the newest tax year before we all get caught up in a mess and I love that about them. They take responsibility for their product and stand behind their product! Keep up the great work Turbo Tax! February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I have used TurboTax for many, many years for our families returns. This year, I logged on to TurboTax.com and fortunately started my college student's return as a free, instead of the $108.00 Home and Business. I quickly went to the downloadable site when I realized my error. Yes, I needed to do her 1040-EZ twice, but glad I read the fine print. As she goes to school and has a part time job in another state I needed to have some questions answered by customer service. The rep answered my questions, walked me through the process and was incredibly pleasant to deal with. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and bad This year one thing was better. In the past, the portion of my small business income that was reported on a 1099 was not separated out on schedule C--always wanted to add it again, effectively doubling it. That did not happen this year. Unfortunately, I could not transfer the information from last year's return and had to enter it manually all over again, even though the last several years are supposedly stored on my computer. It also appears that we will be paying extra for doing the business forms in the future. I will be checking out other software and may jump ship. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Form 8824 Maybe you could put a better explanation of this in a ...a.....parable like say you had a old truck you traded in for (whatever) and you bought a new truck for (whatever) and if the old truck had so many miles on it the depreciation would be this (I got stuck on the depreciation of old truck) it had so many miles on it that it depreciated more that it was worth...finally looked up about 5 irs forms and figured out that i couldn't deduct more than it was worth but some people might not go that extra step to research themselves so maybe you could work on this section..... April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Clunky General entry was not that bad.. the review though (Smart Check) was painful. Little things that it should pick up (e.g. if there was no $$ entered in a field, why does it throw errors and make you go and find the right screen so you can delete the line item?) Also, something happened where my Fed return drastically dropped once I downloaded my State forms. Not sure what calculations happened on the back end, but I spent hours reviewing and finally just accepted that the amount of Fed taxes due drastically went up. Very buggy while I was trying to manually review this. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product but losing confidence in Intuit I've used Turbo Tax for as long as it's been on the market and felt I got an excellent product at a fair price. This year I bought my usual package and found that it didn't handle my tax situation any longer. I upgraded (fortunately free by the time I encountered this change# and then found my upgrade was not adequate requiring another upgrade #also free#. I don't know what to expect next year. In addition, notice that Turbo Tax is heavily discounted to the general public #such as in Costco) but automatic renewals pay the full price. Not the best way to generate loyalty. March 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by NY e-file FAILS NY e-file fails because- I put in a blank 1099R as $0.00 & $0.00 tax, as a holding place for an investment that I took no RMD; as would be required because; all RMD had been taken from the other location IRA investments. I have taken more than the total RMD required for me, from the other IRA investment. Turbotax needs to clarify that only list 1099R that one has received. Do not use holding place to help determine ones investment names & RMD amounts. Also: TURBOTAX could add a RMD calculator like some web-sites have available to their investment clients. DantheMan101 March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Turbo tax is easy to use just fill in the the questions and hit save. Outstanding product, have used it for years. What I didn't like this year was the healthcare part, seems unfair to get money taken away just because a member of your family is not working and cannot afford healthcare and there is no way to put it in the system as such. Causing you to have to pay a penalty, just because they live with you and your supporting them. However this is a great program to use and cost less than using any other tax service that charge you over $100.00 for them to do your taxes. March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by tres confusing When you make the 2015 Turbo Tax version, please include more clear instructions about health insurance esp. -- where to look to deduct self-employed health insur payments that are above the allowed amount that are deducted on business expenses. It took me forever to figure out what was what and what went where. Would it be so hard to lay it out somewhere fully right in Turbo Tax? I had to hunt around the rather amorphous discussions on the forum to glimpse an idea of what I needed to do. In the end, it wasn't hard, but it was hidden from sight pretty well in TT. Thanks. April 15, 2015
  • 2015-05-29T19:45:45.691-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-262, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12653, tr_12653
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 260 261 262 263 264 ... 292 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.