1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 262 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2014 formatting I have never been so confused and confounded by the apparently new formatting. I have many doubts that my Federal return was filed correctly but no way to be certain. When I decided to file my state return myself, it came back to me as incomplete--refile. I am unable to generate a coherent form from Turbotax for state, which must also include a Federal copy. I cannot print readable copies for my own files. Turbotax, why did you do this? I was very happy the last five years with your product but will not purchase it again. I am lost and dismayed. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product that can always be better It is a consistently good product getting better each year. this year i found the its-deductible charity app integration not so great still. the product doesn't replace what was done in the previous year, just adds duplicate items. by far the most time consuming event. that and the poor instructions and usage of 1009-r reporting took up most of my time. My wish list includes better handling of selling business assets and instructions where the state tax forms are in use. Maybe next year they will improve itsdeductable integration and processing. March 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TruboTax Personal & Small Business Easy to use. Nice to have last years info brought in. The W2 import didn't work, for about the fifth year in a row. Nice to be able to download the state tax, but to have to pay almost $30.00 to file the return on top of the almost $90.00 to buy the product is steep, and something i will have to consider when purchasing next year. And of course, the increase in price to get the same capability as last year has been covered a lot. Even made the national news. Until now it has been an automatic choice: taxes = turbo tax. Next year, not so automatic. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is the first year I've had a problem with Turbo Tax. I didn't realize we had been bumped up a few tax brackets and needed forms we have not used before. I had downloaded Deluxe and needed Home & Business. I called Turbo Tax and they upgraded me with no problems. Ramero even stayed on the phone with me until I was sure it was all working. Turbo Tax is GREAT even for dummies like me... It asked the right questions for me to find the information I need. I still had to pay taxes, but Turbo made it easier to get the right info in the right place. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like it This has been a stable, relatively reliable product for many years. It imports information from last year's return and really makes things easy, like personal data, depreciation, etc. I do not like the fact that Intuit is pressuring customers to store their data on the cloud. Current events and experiences of other corporations suggest this is not as secure as it should be (yet). E-file has been glitchy several years, including this year. State e-file is expensive and getting more so. I would recommend the product for it's overall ease of use. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of TurboTax Deluxe I have been using TurboTax Deluxe for over twenty years and was very displeased to find out the package was changed for basic forms like C, D and K. I applaud management for correcting a major blunder and look forward to seeing TurboTax deluxe the same content as it has been for years, next year! Areas that could be better. Eliminate auto unchecking needed boxes after completion when one reviews. Make state input forms so one can go back and select only the item they want to look at when reviewing. Starting at the first step is non-productive. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Software that's become too expensive There is no doubt that TurboTax has been at this a long time and has used their experience and feedback to improve the product experience and ease of use. It's more intuitive than ever, and context-sensitive help is well written, generally very helpful, and creates less confusion than ever. [Since this deals with the IRS, it's impossible to completely escape confusing information.] I had zero issues with it automatically pulling in information from the prior year TurboTax. That's a timesaver, but they still recommend you verify everything that they pull in. On the downside is cost - it doesn't get any more expensive than this, and the software cost is probably going to be higher than you think by the time you are actually all done and filed. I always have to use a Home and Business version (called "Personal & Small Business" this year) in order to get the schedules needed, because several years ago they eliminated access to filling out the schedules by yourself manually (previously you could do the basic common schedules but got no guided assistance, which was very customer-centric and fair). And every other tax-year I'm filing in two states. This year I was upset to discover that they would charge me $40 for the 2nd state download ($30 would be more reasonable), and then $25 each to e-file the two states. My retail box said $19.99 state e-file, but the asterisk says pricing can change at any time. (That explains the 25% increase?) The box says nothing about costs to expect for downloading additional other states. Total: about $180 to buy the software and e-file Federal and two states. Tip for others and myself to lower costs (if I don't switch to something else in the future): skip the state e-filing and just print, sign and mail the forms "old school". Why does $25 to e-file, per state, seem like clever last-minute price gouging? Perhaps because other programs run free to $10 for e-filing? And be sure to check the fine print on "free" e-filing with various TurboTax versions because in at least some versions the "free" part has been "lawyered" to disappear on the state filing after an early deadline date (this year in mid February). April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Years of Turbo Tax Use Overall I find the product to work extremely well for most purposes. However this year, I sold a rental property that I owned jointly with a friend. The results of the sale on her return were different than my return. Since I have a number of years of tax experience, I loaded her data on my system, and tried to start from scratch. In the end I found myself entering data on the worksheets to get the results I believed were correct. I think it had to do with the free upgrade process. For whatever reason my upgraded to higher version than her upgrade. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TAX PREPARATION MADE EASY I paid a CPA to do my taxes for years. My tax situation includes a very small business. After annual tax preparation fees upward of $500 for an hours service, (I'm not making that kind of income), I decided, enough! Purchased my first Turbo Tax in 2014 and the rest is history. I was surprised how easy it was. Took me 5 hours the first taxes, 3 hours to prepare 2014 taxes. Any questions I had were available via Q&A resources that Turbo Tax provides. I've yet not to find an answer to my questions. Turbo Tax, thanks for helping out the working folks! March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes The Turbotax software is easy to navigate. However the expenses continually add up. The cost of the program is not the part that is hard to swallow. The cost to file electronically for the State, the cost of Audit Defense (which is typically covered under a CPA cost), this and that.... There is also online advertising which makes it appear cheaper to do your taxes online, but when you look at the fees it is far cheaper to download the software. I would prefer a program that the expenses are lined out, and that there are no "leading" advertisements. March 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Made the Painful more Agonizing Have used Turbo Tax for 4 years. Started off normal then hit a few bumps. The its deductible account I created last year, did not save any of the charities used. Had to re-enter all of them. Why did you demand information about my health insurance status? I used my free state e-file and you still charges me 20 dollars to e-file. Really ended on a sour note... Making a tax service look more attractive now. After spending 100 dollars for the 2014 software and 20 dollars to file plus 2-3 hours time, I believe it would be cheaper to work with them. March 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by TurboTax Home & Business I started with the free online version which did not properly address my situations, even though it seemed to. It doesn't even alert that there might complicating factors which need the paid versions. The higher level program covered more situations, but had other weaknesses, like saying that the Interest Earned line was only for those who have received a 1099-INT. (For a personal loan, you still use that line##. Also, I started to add something to "Other wages" but then completely deleted it out. I also put something in "Other Misc Income," but then moved part of what I put there somewhere else. It insisted on including $27 in "Other Wage" income in there and my 1040 showed $27 extra in Wage income. There was no way to fix it #the 1040 didn't match the worksheets and some worksheet totals didn't match the individual items behind them#, so I had to go back to a previous version over my TurboTax to eliminate the problem. If I or anyone else encounters this problem - possibly with much higher 'other wages'- and doesn't have any recently saved copies of the program, it's going to be a royal pain. Or if they don't notice the problem, end up paying unnecessary taxes. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Home & Business 2014 TurboTax is OK. I have not used other tax software programs so I cannot compare TurboTax with other tax software. Sometimes TurboTax isn't as clear as it could or should be about the next step, for instance when about to file and it recommends a review, but the button choice is 'print' or something like that, I recall. This isn't a big problem but indicative that some screens need to be a little better thought through for instructions of what is coming next or what to do next, since the program is set up in an essentially linear step-by-step process. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for all the help I really like the fact that TurboTax offers so many detailed categories and lists, to be sure I catch the little things that I am bound to forget, especially months after they have occurred. It's also great that our little home business can be taken care of with a package that I can sit down and use myself, saving on all the trips to a preparer (and the fees, of course). Our tax code is horribly complex, but until the unlikely day when it gets simplified, it's wonderful to have a reliable and comprehensive package like TurboTax to turn to for help. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not rock my refund. It seems that turbo tax gets a little worse and a poorer value every year. Previous iterations, did not require upgrades to manage simple capital gains and simple sole proprietorships. This year seems to be the worst version yet. Are the questions written by native English speakers? The construction of the sentences and odd use of negatives, made it difficult to determine whether to answer some questions "yes" or "no". Given how the price keeps going up and the quality keeps going down, I think next year it will be time to look for new tax software. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doing taxes with Turbo Tax We have used Turbo Tax for years. It's good in the fact that it leads you through the process; asking questions along the way. It seems to cover just about everything. It would be nice to have more comparisons between last year's return and this year's. Some of the things I had to fix in the review never came up while going through the process initially. (Never had that problem before.) Also, a new instance this year with a 1099R and the entire entry, along with subsequent choices, was unclear and/or incomplete. Nonetheless, I'd use Turbo Tax again. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Automation Overall this is a great program to quickly and easily make it through the tax season. TurboTax is best used consistently, in my opinion. By using it year after year, your tax information from the previous year can be imported which will make things so much easier if you don't have changes in your life. I will continue to use TurboTax as it makes my life so much easier! The hardest part for me was getting my accounts set up online for my banking items, that way TurboTax could just import the data for me. Next year will be a breeze with everything online! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Experience with Turbotax TurboTax representatives provided excellent assistance over phone promptly and patiently. TurboTax did made good on its upgrade for free. In my opinion, if turbotax had kept the same format with only required changes for its deluxe version, it would have been easier for customer like me. I would have paid little more for the product if necessary. Eventhough I ended up getting Home and business version upgrade for free, I had to learn few things more and had to call representatives twice. State version down load was not working. Second call fixed it. March 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Deluxe version (1) My Window 8 was reloaded due to virus and 2013 files was lost. Turbo 2014 got 2012 Carryover and applied to 2014. It took me a lot of time time trying to correct the overpaid tax and section 179 disallowed amounts. Eventually found a way to overrided it. (2) I spent lots of time collecting data for Schedule A, but eventually used Standard Deduction instead. I hope turbo would estimate how much medical expenses and some others with high deductibles would be allowed before or during inputting data so that I could save some time not trying too hard. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but Not Perfect For someone who is not a CPA, this software is great. If you have a simple home-based, service business, as I do, with no inventory and no depreciable equipment, go for home & business. However, be patient! It loads slower than a mule in mud and it has some kinks -- like failing to tell you why you can't file your State return electronically when you get to the end. Also, the "Help" feature is next to useless. I tried five different ways to get a simple answer and had to finally call someone who helped me in two minutes. It's worth the price, however. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 turbo tax for the Mac I have been using Turbo Tax for years, and in general have found few problems. The 2014 year follows the same trend. The issues I had this year were: 1) confusion in keeping track of contributions to Roth IRA's required me to go through everything related to Roth two to three times to get it right. If a person did not know what was right this could cause a problem including overpayment of Federal tax's. 2) The new save to the cloud is a good idea however I would like the ability to save the actual tax files to my local back up as well s to the cloud. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! Easy, Fast, Responsive The experience this year was great again even though there was a bit of worry starting out. I purchased deluxe as always only to find out the schedule C had been removed from this version! No worries though, Intuit proved their dedication to the customer experience and chose to give folks like me that update to Home and Business Free of charge - WAY TO GO! It means a lot to me that a company is this willing to put their money where their mouth is and make it right for the customer! Great product - no doubt that I'll use it again next year at tax time! February 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting worse Largely this is the same, reliable TurboTax. It still remembers everything and I trust the calculations. On the flip side, things seem to be getting more difficult. The navigation feels less intuitive. (Fortunately, I knew my way around before starting) On the tech side, TurboTax is losing it. I had to go on the forums to figure out how to adjust my browser settings to get through my return in 2-3 places. Every time it opened a new window, TurboTax couldn't find the window it just opened. When I owed taxes, it still asked me how I wanted to spend my refund. They seem to be sitting back on their market share lead and taking us all for granted. April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again Too expensive. I can get the other tax ware at a fraction of the price that I paid for this one for the same things that I needed to fill out. There were parts that I had no problem filling out with the other tax ware and with this one, had me more than confused on what to do. Several times I had to read then reread over and over again as to what they wanted in order to continue on. I left out a lot of things that I could have deducted and more forms to fill out if I wasn't so danged confused with it all. Never again, will go back to the other software for doing taxes. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Tax Filling Needy (Me) Only filing taxes once a year means that whatever insights I discover in one year I will likely have forgotten by the next. TurboTax would provide the likes of me with a great service if you could develop both a detailed outline or checklist of items to keep track of during the tax year is some orderly manner for the tax-paying under-advantaged (me) AND you might attract a larger number of Catholic priests if you made how to report FICA (housing allowance etc.) clearer and easier. Also, business deductions and expenses could use a more thorough listing. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by wth Unfortunately I will need to look at other products next year. I think I have been using TT since 07. Being forced to upgrade was the beginning. Then there was investment income that was not showing up but being calculated that did not let me get my eic. Then TT could not transfer my sale of a property to capital gains so I had to manually do it. Then the upgrade glitched and I had to have support send me a fresh upgrade. Then the state glitched. Lots of hours talking with support this year. At least they have very nice support people working for them. March 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrated I’ve used Turbo Tax for many years. I prepare several returns for my family each year and some are complex. So I’m pretty familiar with Turbo Tax. It does what you would expect. It completes your tax return correctly. However, each year I get frustrated for the following reasons: -it takes too long to go through the process. There are too many screens that need to be consolidated or eliminated. -the sequence of topics that it presents needs to be more organized; mainly, it should follow the same sequence as the tax return. -unnecessary Turbo Tax created information forms that add nothing to understanding your completed return. These could be reduced or combined. One of my federal returns for filing was 11 forms and schedules that printed 17 pages. The total number of pages for my copy of the return including all Turbo Tax created worksheets was over 100 pages. Seriously!!! There was added frustration this year due to Intuit trying to increase profits by eliminating certain items from the Deluxe version. My return had the same items as prior years. I not only had to upgrade to Premier but then upgrade to the Home and Business version. Intuit initially charged for these upgrades but by the time I completed my tax returns they decided to wave the upgrade fee. I’m glad they did, otherwise I would have looked for other software next year. I had to call Intuit for both upgrades. They did well handling my calls. When I called they were busy and the automated service said they would call me back so I didn’t have to wait on the phone. They did call back in a fairly reasonable time. There is one worksheet that I would like Turbo Tax to create - one worksheet that has details of each line where you have to input amounts. For example, line 7 W-2 income. I would like to see the name of each payer and the amount. It could be similar to schedule B. I would be happy to provide an example of what I created to help me verify all the numbers that I enter. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by On Your Own Turbotax review for errors fails to catch double-entry of health insurance premiums and perhaps other expenses that can be filed either as business or personal. Turbotax language addressed to the user, attempting to be friendly or comtemporary, sometimes goes off the rails, for instance, "Is this, like, your main job?" The Help section is pretty useless as it does not get you direct answers from Turbotax, instead offering only a user-community forum. To get precision help, you have to discover Turbotax's customer service via a separate browser search. April 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big headache TurboTax missed a marked estimated value for self employed insurance premiums in the federal forms. TT allowed me to efile my federal forms with an estimated value. The estimated value was caught in the state review. This should not have happened! I have spent over 8 hours on the phone to just to find the marked estimated value and many more hours to figure out the next steps. I now need to amend the federal but I have not filed the state. TT does not handle this case. Looks like I need to file incorrectly with the state and then amend both. Not happy. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't Change a thing from 2013 I was very dissatisfied with the product that for many years I have used Deluxe to file my return and this year that was not sufficient. I think it is unfair to completely restructure your products to automatically add $30 or more to the cost just to do the same thing. The good news is that the upgrade was free, so I do appreciate that. But if that were not the case, I would have been looking for a more reasonable filing option. I have been a Turbo tax customer for more than a dozen years. Why the Change? Please put it back the way it was for 2015!!!!!! February 22, 2015
  • 2015-04-18T12:05:44.706-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-262, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_12401, tr_12401
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 260 261 262 263 264 ... 287 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.