1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 260 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13070 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovin TurboTax I've used this tax program for several years and find it to be the best on the market. I felt that the Turbo Tax team didn't do a good job of letting us know about what forms each edition contained or were moved to other editions. That being said, I do feel that you went the extra mile to correct the problem. I look forward to using your product next year and hope that it will be clearer as to what is and is not included so I can make a better informed decision on which edition I need. Thank you. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Use it every year Most of Turbotax is great, the search feature rarely works though, and at the end when errors are found there is no link to go back and fix them in CONTEXT. I'm merely provided with a box and a title that says "reg fees" or something equally as vague when I have no idea which vehicle reg fee it is referring to. When errors are found provide a link to go BACK to the page to fix them so people know what on earth TT is referring to. This was very difficult to find and took me quite awhile to do it. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Simplified a Life Change Tax Maze I was concerned that company stock sales and the creation of a consulting business would force me to seek professional help, but TurboTax got me through it. My issues with the Home and Business version are probably primarily due to user error. But, I still feel the step-by-step installment sales section has a glitch. Fortunately, the forms option allowed me to work around the problem. On line help did not answer my question relative to this problem. All things considered, I'll stick with TurboTax. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Very User Friendly This is the second year doing taxes through TurboTax. Again, the organizational flow of questions was very clear and helpful. I appreciated the ability to pull up forms to see how data was integrated for the return. I also appreciated the Helpful Hints and the IRS Publications to turn to for further information. It was also helpful to read the Turbo Tax Community questions and answers to the questions by others. I am thankful for the quality of the software and its user-friendly format. Thank you March 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by A dissapointment After following ell instructions I was still unable to e-file. I've never had this problem before... I checked for all update and fixed whatever problems they had found. I WAS connected to the internet. I retyped and entered my address and bank information. Still got the same message. Finally I printed out the forms and had a friend e-file them for me. In the four years I've been using your program I never had this before.....Better check for bugs. I'm sure I'm not the only one with these issues. March 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax Deluxe for many years. This year I bought the Premier version, which was more expensive. I bought the Premier version because the Deluxe version no longer covered investments. While preparing my taxes I still did not have all the needed forms that previously were on the Deluxe version. I had to download the Home & Business version. There was no cost to download the Home & Business version, but that should not have been necessary. The Deluxe version covered my needs previously. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IT IS DONE! I have used Turbo Tax for years. Each year, I have dreaded getting started, but this year, I just started to work, getting it done in much less time than I had spent in the past. The step by step directions make it easy to go from one step to the next. I like the tabs that you can make to highlight where you need to return to add information as you go. This was the first year that I used the 888 number to talk to someone. He was helpful and was able to quickly give me the information that I needed. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This "Best Software" keeps getting better! If you are reasonably competent with the numbers and you have collected your documents, you will be able to work with Turbo-Tax. If you use a professional service, you still need to collect all the same documents. I've never had to use it, but I always purchase the Tax Defense security blanket. The final product is a printable collection of all the forms and worksheets and your tax returns (Federal and State) are e-Filed. This is one of the best pieces of software I've ever used in any application. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK….BUT! My biggest gripe was noted in "cons". I also had trouble getting started as my daughter had filed her return before me and I couldn't get out of her return. It would really be nice if at the end of her return there would have been a place to click that said "start a new return". I had to play around with the program to get started. C'mon people! Is it really that hard to make this user friendly? I would suggest that those who create this software should have to use it before it's approved for sale. March 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by more confusing than last year Overall I love turbo tax. This year however it felt more confusing maybe I'm just getting old. I felt like i didn't do anything when i got to the state form which would be good but I usually get a refund and this year with neither a refund nor a bill I wonder if I've done things right. There are tickets for estimated tax payments, but the majority of the tax I have to pay is because I had to steal from my retirement account to repair my car so I could go to work. :( at the govt but not at turbo tax April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised It had been a long time since I had last used TurboTax. As a business owner, I figured taxes would be too complicated to get it all done correctly. All I can say is that if you have your paperwork in order and ready to go to the tax professional, spend a little time on your computer and get it all done yourself and save a few hundred dollars. I used TurboTax for mac - despite the negative comments from some people, I had absolutely no problem with it and am well pleased with how it all went. Thanks. March 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Idiot proof? I'm currently on my 3rd attempt to file. Having problems identifying the correct e-Filing PIN to use. Then going to the IRS phone service for Pin problem they tell you to enter 0 for AIG. I'm still not confident it will be accepted this time. Handling stock options, short sales and futures transactions were all very vague and confusing. Not sure if I ended up with the same deduction in differently places. - it would be nice if deductions would have had an item summary of the for the entire filing. April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saves could be better I like almost everything, but I think there should be a better save function. Also, what happened to the tax estimator for the next year? I remember having that years ago, but now I have to do everything in another file and save as 'possible next year tax return'. One year, the save tripped me up and it ended up saving my 'possible next year' tax as that year's tax, which made it very interesting when I went to do the actual year's taxes. Had to hand enter all the correct info for the previous year. February 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another year with TT I've used TurboTax and Quicken/ Quickbooks for many years. Easy to use and keep up with yearly changes. COnnects and imports Quicken fairly well if Quicken is set up properly. It's easy enough to change input to do 'what if's". Downside. I have always used the Property owners version, which use to include Schedule C that I used for my property management business. This year I had to pay additional just to get schedule C. Probably will change to another tax program next year if that's the case again. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Tax Preparation Opinion Using 2014 Turbo Tax I am comfortable with computer tax filing and I find Turbo Tax perfect for my purposes. I am using the Home and Business version because the features work for my small home business and for depreciation. Of the three main tax software, I find that Turbo Tax meets my needs. I am frustrated that there is a fee associated with filing my CA state return electronically. This year it is $19.95. Since I am paying $90 for the software, I think all or part of the cost should be absorbed by that initial cost. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes dealing with the IRS a breeze All-in-all I really like Turbo Tax. I've been using it since 2003. I do wish that the state e-file would be included in the purchase price, but I realize that not all states have income tax, but perhaps versions could be sold by state that do include it. The interview method makes getting all my forms together easy - I've been doing it long enough now I pretty well know in what order I will need which data, so I prepare my folder of paper forms etc ahead of time. Overall, I really like the product. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Boosted Refund I have not used other Tax software since I started with Turbo Tax because of its features such as user-friendly, intuitive, comprehensive, and many helpful tips. With Turbo Tax, I never have the need to consult a tax professional in person. The software guided me step-by-step, instructions are quite clear, and if needed, live support is just a phone call a way. The pattern stays the same from year to year, so you will be very familiar with how it works and feel comfortable doing your tax, not afraid. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peace of Mind I will continue to use your software for years to come. It explains everything understandable and completely. There are further explanations or suggestions for more help if needed. We have a small business on the side and this program certainly fills our needs, expectations and give us peace of mind that we have correctly and completely done our taxes to the best of our and your abilities. You have taken a very daunting task for the average citizen and made it so we can sleep at night. Thank You!!!!! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Will always use money saving Turbo Tax! It is so much easier to use Turbo Tax than the other guys we used to have to visit every year. The ease of doing your taxes yourself with Turbo Tax in the privacy of your own home office outweighs the burden of taking all your paperwork to someone else to do it. Turbo Tax does so much of the work for you by carrying over previous year's information. They know the forms to use and the questions to ask. And they will double and triple check your return before filing it for you electronically. Way to go! April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by irritated my refund I really love the Turbo Tax software and am always glad it is here to help me. This year I was pretty upset when I got home from our store thirty miles away to start my taxes only to find out that the product I have purchased for the last 9 years to be not the same product but an inferior one without my knowledge. Regardless I probably should have checked, but in the end you made it right so, Thanks. All in all it makes my life much easier since it has an easy guide to guide a non tax guru through it. February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Enough for Ordinary People I have used Turbo Tax to do my taxes for the last 15 years. They have simplified the process each year and I like that. I didn't like the fact that they decided this year that if you had a small business, I do a little consulting and need to declare the income from it, that I would have to upgrade from the deluxe which I have used every other year to the Business program. If you decide that everyone has to have the Business program to file with a small business I will not be using Turbo Tax next year. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got old and moved away I have to rate the program highly because it handled a difficult year full of changes. We moved over 2000 miles from snowy Michigan (gave the snow shovel away) to sunny Nevada. The program handled the five months there and seven months here very well. There was some needed calculations to prorate some items, but they were easily performed and recorded. On top of the move we had some one-time investment changes that caused some extra work and pro-ration by state of residency. I give TurboTax a solid A. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks for the upgrade I was one of the vocal ones that complained about the change to the Deluxe version. I was pleased that you offered a free upgrade for your customers. I do hope you will continue to listen to our feedback. Most of us are very loyal. I've been using your software products since 1993! More than 20 years. I am happy to pay for the software but also expect you will provide the package in as least as high a quality as previous years. To diminish the quality of the product is NEVER a smart business decision. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed bag As above, the biggest deficit is that you have cut the help files that come with the program, instead using the TurboTax community for help. This means that quite often, there are no detailed explanations of difficult questions, which you used to have. And the transfer of employee expenses from federal to PA has always been difficult, because some categories, like union dues, are asked for separately on the state return, but are folded into one category on the federal. You should be able to do better. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by History and Change I have used Turbotax for many years. I tried a competitor once and decided "never again". My only disappointment this year was Turbotax's attempt to make us upgrade to a more expensive version. The version I used successfully for the last four years and purchased again for 2014 would not handle the features that were adequately covered in past years. Although Turbotax helped me with a free upgrade, obtaining and installing the upgrade wasted at least 4 hours of my time! This better not happen in 2015! March 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2014 turbotax— NO FUN! in fact, disturbingly bad! turboTax Delux has been a great program for DIY tax preparers, such as me. i've used it for 15 years or more. it's great in that it carries over data I've input from year to year, so i don't have to start from scratch. this year, it was bizarre asking me to download free upgrades to Premier, and HOme and business…which required a lot of data reentry. then it was missing the handy sidebar that let me select which page i want to work on. overall it took me way longer than normal to do this annual chore. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Huge Help Every Year Guides you thru every step. I never used any other tax software, so can't do comparative analysis, but this was enjoyable experience. TurboTax is designed by a very smart team. It helps you make clever and safe decisions, especially for small business taxes. It allows you to try different options and see the tax results right away. Very fast response when re-calculating. State taxes are completely automatic, even for multiple states. Overall great product. Without it would not even know where to start. March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expensive and not for the weak of heart First time using TurboTax and most likely will not use again. The process from start to finish easily took 20 - 25 hours. The "step-by-step" process is not designed for a professions which can deduct direct work-related expenses. I would have been COMPLETELY lost had I not had my 2013 tax paperwork (done by professional) to work from. After paying for the program, a 2nd state, audit protection and to file returns for two states, TurboTax ended up costing MORE than the tax professional I paid last year. March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in the "Free" state return When I went to e-file my returns, it came to light that I'd had to pay almost $20 to e-file my state return via TurboTax. I really didn't want to spend that money so I decided to file by paper. Unfortunately, the e-file option is the only way to have your money directly deposited as the paper version automatically checks the send a check box. This is NOT what I wanted. Very disappointed that I have to spend $20 to e-file AND get a direct deposit of my refund to my checking account. This is NOT right... March 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Idiotic algorithm prevents efiling I had multiple states of income and a W-2 in one state that indicated withheld income taxes in a different state. That was correct. But turbotax will not allow it. It insisted it was a mistake and I couldn't efile. But I couldn't file by mail because NY state requires e-filing. The software just has a glitch and is irritating beyond belief. incident ID 411 775 075 I ended up having to just pretend like their wasn't withholding when actually there was and so my tax bill was higher because of your error. April 9, 2015
  • 2015-10-03T11:04:02.650-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-260, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13070, tr_13070
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 258 259 260 261 262 ... 302 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.