1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 260 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13705 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Foreign Tax Credit Barriers To take the foreign tax credit option, you must enter the countries from which the income was derived. Most mutual funds will have numerous countries sourcing income making it impractical to enter the data as Turbotax requires in order to take the credit, which is more valuable than as an itemized deduction. In the past, an entry of "various" would suffice when the amounts are comparatively small (eg hundreds of dollars credit for the 35/39% bracket. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Review Very good tax software. Easy to use. Options for selecting a step-by-step questionnaire to walk you through all aspects of filing your return or you can select a specific form and input yourself. Great features of downloading your brokerage statements and the information is filled in automatically. Well worth the cost....I do not see how anyone could complete their 1040 return and know / understand all the tax laws, credits, and calculations, etc. March 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor handling of 1099Rs TT does not provide a method to do Roth IRA conversions from any year other than the current year. TT does not generate FORM 8606 for contributions to a Traditional IRA especially when all of the IRA contribution was made "after-tax". It also does not let you just do a specific FORM 8606. TT does not handle AZ state tax well for Private School Credit. It only allowed a maximum of $1056 for 2014 for a couple filing jointly. It should have been $2056. October 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, Not Great Overall, I was pleased with TurboTax. My issues: *Handling 529 distributions and managing my kid's tuition info required a bit of back and forth with the forms *Had to manually enter a lot of stock transaction info. Not sure if it was a TurboTax issue or my brokerage website. *Would have liked more help with understanding where certain business expenses went. I had to guess on a couple. If I get my refunds without any problems, I'll give it 5 stars! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works but slow and clunky After the disaster of removing Schedule C and D from Turbotax Premier the program ran OK though slow. Instead of updating the individual forms throughout the tax season, the program insisted on being completely downloaded each time which at 100mb + was a hassle. Customer support consists of a community bulletin board instead of direct Intuit support which is clunky. I have used Turbotax for over 10 years and next year I will investigate other options. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 TTax Review Overall a good product. The home investment package should cost a lot less than the Business Package. The investment package should include depreciation options. When purchasing a State for $50 you should include the electronic filing. The Federal is not that much more and includes electronic filing. In marketing you should include states as a discount instead of Quicken as an option or provide a 2-4 state package at a discount. I like the Chat option March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fed is Good, State Not So Good Thanks to well publicized problems with state returns, I had to file by mail for my state tax. Filling out the state return was buggy. Turbo Tax kept me in a "let's review" your return loop when it was time to print and file. Fortunately, I figured out how to "skip" the "let's review" process and then the program stepped to "print and mail your return." Seems like an amateurish mistake for a program that has been so slick and professional for so long. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax for years and have been very happy with the product. However, this year, because of changes in Deluxe, I had to buy Home and Business. Not a problem, except we were not notified of these changes beforehand. I bought Deluxe as usual, tried to use it (I own my own business) then realized I had to return it to buy Home and Business. Just extra steps. I am sure you have heard from your loyal customer base about this. Thanks, Maybell April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Infinite Loop Trying to send Georgia Return The product worked well until it was time to transmit electronically. Federal was fine, Virginia was fine, the Georgia worksheet review had me first remove all of my pertinent information as well as my spouses. Then it checked again and wanted them all filled in. Then one more check and it wanted to remove the information again. I finally decided to mail my Georgia return. Some additional software testing may be in order to get this to work correctly! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive Tool I've used TurboTax for 7 years now and will continue to do so. I took advantage of the H&R Block free download this year so I could compare the two products. Both products wound up in the end getting the same results, but H&R Block does not step you through each section and at first I overlooked the WA state sales tax deduction. The TurboTax interface and helpful step by step wizards are excellent. I will certainly purchase TurboTax again next year. February 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as simple as advertised If the operator is familiar with the tax forms, this format is a bit confusing when trying to locate specific items. For example, the K-1 form is under personal income, where I expected it to be in the business income section. Another area of confusion was the CA K-1 adjustments. It wasn't clear if we were to put the adjustment amount or the final adjusted amount. It is also difficult to navigate between sections, without starting from the beginning. March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I purchased Turbo Tax Deluxe for 2014 as I did in 2013 and the previous 5 years but had to return Deluxe to Staples and get Premier during the completion process of my taxes. My tax situation did not change. I had to pay extra for Premier so my taxes preparation fee was more in 2014 than 2013 for the same product. I contacted Turbo Tax support which said I would not pay extra. That was not the case at Staples. This extra cost was caused by Turbo Tax. March 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Met expectations except... As a long-time TurboTax user, the product meets expectations except... For tax year 2014, Intuit decided to force anyone that sold any stocks and the self-employed to used the Home and Business version instead of the Deluxe version without any notice. To their credit this year, Intuit remedied that problem with a free upgrade however... If Intuit tries push that again next year, I'll be evaluating alternative software and encouraging others to do so. April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This year was painful Intuit changed the functionality of Turbotax to move previously used functions to a package that cost 5 times the price of the 2013 tax year version. I don't mind a small increase in price, but 500% is unacceptable. They finally authorized me to use the same functions for my 2014 return that I used in 2013 without paying more. If they repeat this behavior for the 2015 tax year, I will use other software for my return and will not use Intuit ever again. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My experiences with 2014 Turbotax Home and Busines In the past an easy guided walk through of the Form F was accomplished painlessly and I was confident with the info inputted and results. I have used Turbotax for at least 12 years. This year, with the Home and Business version, I was not able to access the guided walk through and had to back into input screens for adding and deleting. I lost quickly lost confidence in the process. Can you explain why the lack of the guided walk through of Farm Form F? February 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have a pretty simple Capital Gains and Business Income return. I think I spent an additional 20 or more hours due to TurboTax Deluxe not covering these items and I spent an additional $40 for the upgrade surprises. Publicity says that Intuit repeat customers would receive an email notice of a $25 rebate, but no such email found me. Even if I get the $25, I will not be happy since I spent $40 extra. I intend to check out other options for 2015 taxes. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use I've always purchased the Deluxe Turbo Tax which included home and business. This year I once again purchased the Deluxe but when it came time to enter my business stuff a window came up to download because Turbo Tax had changed the Deluxe program. So now I'm thinking that next year I will be paying around $90 for the same program I've been purchasing for around $50:( I didn't know anything about this new change and that was surprising to say the least. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by unclear question about Turbo Tax renewal I have used the automatic renewal of the Turbo Tax program for several years. When asked whether I wanted to sign up for automatic renewal at the end of the program, I did not want to start a renewal that duplicates the one I already have. So I answered "no thanks." But then I feared that I might have cancelled my subscription with that answer. I suggest that you add an additional optional answer: "already a subscriber to the automatic renewal program." April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good this year I have used TurboTax for many years and have always been very pleased. This year I had a lot of trouble because of what I consider bugs. It used to give me a list of accounts from the previous years. This year it brought some in and did not bring others in so I had to do a lot of extra entry and then sometimes after I had ended it brought up the old account. By then of course I had already entered it. It remembered none of the stocks I had in last year. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be Careful with STATE Returns on TurboTax I live in Arkansas and I don't think TurboTax pays enough attention to our state tax software. It's full of glitches, like changing ownership status of investments and omitting key deductions. They could do a better job but they're probably thinking it's not worth the investment of their resources for a small state. ALSO - be sure the figures that are automatically downloaded from your W-2 forms match what you have on paper. In a lot of cases they don't. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still need work There are other areas for business and rental property need serious improvement. for example... 1. when inputting data for auto expense. it first as you the mileage. then it as you if u want to enter the actual expense. it should detect the vehicle is leased, therefore you should enter actual expense with lease payment to compare. 2. it should also detect prior year if you choose mileage for prior year, it should keep mileage for the life of the vehicle April 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Awful this year!! Spent twice the amount for Turbo Tax this year. Yes I supposedly get back $25. Haven't done that part yet. Home and Business didn't download , had to call. It did not take from last years even tho they were on computer. Had to manually put all info in. Then at the end it kept skipping over, and telling me to file yet it wouldn't file because it was missing info!!!! Always I have loved Turbo Tax, not this time. Hopefully next year you have the kinks out! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2015 Return Turbo Tax is a must for everyone. Simple or complicated returns. Step by step leads you through the tax maize with ease Gets you your maximum refund. Payment options (if you owe) simplifies the task. Direct deposit,direct debit or payment by check makes it simple and easy. I tell everyone that self preparation with Turbo Tax is a breeze. Summary gives you your audit risk. Filing is a breeze. I like the saving to the cloud feature as an additional backup April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific!!! This program is terrific! I used to always do my own taxes, but in 2012 I had some investments and I used Turbo Tax and found deductions that I was not aware of. I am now using Turbo Tax for 2013 and 2014, and will plan to use it for the foreseeable future. My concern is that I had investments and royalties and need Schedule D&E which was not in deluxe. So I had to pay more for the premium. I heard Turbotax will fix this for 2015 and I hope they do. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Another tax year bites the dust This year, as those in the past, I've had to complete multiple returns (joint, kid #1, kid#2, ...) and all have been completed with TurboTax. But, completing the kids returns requires information from (a) our joint return and (b) each childs return needs information from the other kids. Since I've been using TurboTax for all of them you'd think that the #'s could be fetched/updated automagically (select parents return, select other childs return, ...). April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Walk through of Federal was so easy! The Federal return was easy to follow. Gave great examples. lots of underlines to explain details and/or where to find the information requested. The MT State was terrible. Questions that didn't make sense. Re: Itemized deduction from last year. Asking for help that said "none were available". The Show Form/Schedules and Worksheets asking for information from other Worksheet I couldn't find. It was a nightmare and still don't know if I did it correctly. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great but may not use TT next year I love TurboTax and have been using it for more than 10 years. However, in order to do my relatively simple taxes this year, I had to upgrade from the Deluxe to something twice the price. Thankfully, Intuit came to their senses and waived the upgrade fee. However, if the cost of the software next year is $80+, compared with closer to the $40 that I've been spending, I'll probably try a different software program. C'mon Intuit, don't blow a good thing! April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience with TurboTax I had a overall nice experience with this software. There is a lot of guidance incorporated to make it self explanatory. Able to efile and track the status very easily. Was able to refile as well when there was a mistake and gets rejected by federal or state tax, which is awesome. I had a weird experience while downloading the CA state tax software. It says as downloaded, but asks to download again. But I restarted my MAC and tried again and it worked. January 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Federal Great, NJ Less So In the NJ 1040, the step-by-step method did not lead you to the right entries for treatment of a distribution from a 401K account. The wording for the fill-in box was wrong, and so I was asking my plan administrator for something that did not exist. I called the State, and got part of the answer, and then went to the NJ 1040 instructions. I had to go to the forms and override the step-by-step fill-in. This took me several hours and several phone calls. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Year after year Most people don't like change especially when it comes to doing your taxes. I Investigated going to H&R Block reluctantly when the business tax was going to be a separate module. If I would have needed to buy the business addition to do the little bit of business tax reporting I do I probably would have left Turbo Tax for at least a trial year. I stayed with Turbo Tax and I am glad I did. Things went very smoothly again this year. Keep up the good work. March 24, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T09:09:09.725-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-260, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13705, tr_13705
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 258 259 260 261 262 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.