1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 260 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! Easy, Fast, Responsive The experience this year was great again even though there was a bit of worry starting out. I purchased deluxe as always only to find out the schedule C had been removed from this version! No worries though, Intuit proved their dedication to the customer experience and chose to give folks like me that update to Home and Business Free of charge - WAY TO GO! It means a lot to me that a company is this willing to put their money where their mouth is and make it right for the customer! Great product - no doubt that I'll use it again next year at tax time! February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 turbo tax for the Mac I have been using Turbo Tax for years, and in general have found few problems. The 2014 year follows the same trend. The issues I had this year were: 1) confusion in keeping track of contributions to Roth IRA's required me to go through everything related to Roth two to three times to get it right. If a person did not know what was right this could cause a problem including overpayment of Federal tax's. 2) The new save to the cloud is a good idea however I would like the ability to save the actual tax files to my local back up as well s to the cloud. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but Not Perfect For someone who is not a CPA, this software is great. If you have a simple home-based, service business, as I do, with no inventory and no depreciable equipment, go for home & business. However, be patient! It loads slower than a mule in mud and it has some kinks -- like failing to tell you why you can't file your State return electronically when you get to the end. Also, the "Help" feature is next to useless. I tried five different ways to get a simple answer and had to finally call someone who helped me in two minutes. It's worth the price, however. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Solid Easy to Use Program I have used Turbo Tax since it hit the market, and have always loved the product, However, if you are open to suggestions, I offer the following: (1) White space on screens is good, but several screens have too much. (2) If the same questions apply to both parties on a joint return they could be on the same screen with an option for neither. (3) Screens that have you answer yes, no, or none of the above, should go to the next screen without having to click continue. (4) Reverse the packaging change made for 2014. The fewer clicks the faster it goes. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by wth Unfortunately I will need to look at other products next year. I think I have been using TT since 07. Being forced to upgrade was the beginning. Then there was investment income that was not showing up but being calculated that did not let me get my eic. Then TT could not transfer my sale of a property to capital gains so I had to manually do it. Then the upgrade glitched and I had to have support send me a fresh upgrade. Then the state glitched. Lots of hours talking with support this year. At least they have very nice support people working for them. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Tool to Navigate the Tax Maze I have been using Turbo Tax for years and continue to find it a great tool that probably allows me to do my taxes more accurately than the majority of the tax preparers out there. I have seen the tax laws get more confusing each year, but Turbo Tax keeps me abreast of the changes as I work my way through the quandary of our tax system. I do not think I would save any time if I took my tax documents to a professional...the majority of the effort is gathering everything together, which I would do for a professional just as I do for my Turbo Tax sessions. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 20th Year Using Turbo Tax According to the files on my hard drive, this is my 20th year using TurboTax, and it's still as reliable and dependable as ever. I'm an "enter stuff via spreadsheet" guy, and I like the way I can bounce around to enter the data I've currently got at my fingertips. My biggest complaint is I can't seem to paste data into any fields in Turbo Tax. That's a big problem for entering passwords for my online banking/investing systems (they're long an secure) and an annoyance when I'm taking data from my own spreadsheets and transferring it into the software. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't Change a thing from 2013 I was very dissatisfied with the product that for many years I have used Deluxe to file my return and this year that was not sufficient. I think it is unfair to completely restructure your products to automatically add $30 or more to the cost just to do the same thing. The good news is that the upgrade was free, so I do appreciate that. But if that were not the case, I would have been looking for a more reasonable filing option. I have been a Turbo tax customer for more than a dozen years. Why the Change? Please put it back the way it was for 2015!!!!!! February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by On Your Own Turbotax review for errors fails to catch double-entry of health insurance premiums and perhaps other expenses that can be filed either as business or personal. Turbotax language addressed to the user, attempting to be friendly or comtemporary, sometimes goes off the rails, for instance, "Is this, like, your main job?" The Help section is pretty useless as it does not get you direct answers from Turbotax, instead offering only a user-community forum. To get precision help, you have to discover Turbotax's customer service via a separate browser search. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Tax Filling Needy (Me) Only filing taxes once a year means that whatever insights I discover in one year I will likely have forgotten by the next. TurboTax would provide the likes of me with a great service if you could develop both a detailed outline or checklist of items to keep track of during the tax year is some orderly manner for the tax-paying under-advantaged (me) AND you might attract a larger number of Catholic priests if you made how to report FICA (housing allowance etc.) clearer and easier. Also, business deductions and expenses could use a more thorough listing. April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pay MORE$, get LESS! I am a long-time TurboTax Basic user and have been very pleased with the functionality, consistency and accuracy. This year I moved to a state with an income tax, so upgraded to TurboTax Deluxe only to discover that they had gutted both Basic and Deluxe of functionality they had for over a decade, forcing costly upgrades to Premium or Home & Business. I no longer trust TurboTax to be consistent in providing year to year functionality, so I'll be looking at alternatives. Too bad TurboTax put the push for new profits over consistency and customer service. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed with this new version I have used Deluxe many many years and loved it. Easy to use. This new Business version, which I was required to get because no Sch C or Sch D or 8606 in Deluxe, I don't like. Took me an hour to figure out how to import the 2013 from Deluxe into Business version. I hate that it starts out with BUSINESS questions/forms instead of personal and W-2 and simple things first. My business has always been complicated to input so having to start out with that first was a nightmare. I always input EVERYTHING else first (1099's, etc) and saved business for the end. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basic comments The States programs sometimes, it picks up erroneous values for income etc.(glitches) already imputed in the Federal Return. I file Federal and states NY,OH and my resident NJ. My Federal return is very long, the program do not have detailed "tax item Tree file" to allow you to jump back and forth in the step by step input procedure! "Show topic is not well treed". Download 1st. State program is defaulted for resident State it is no good for multiple state users like me. State income tax instruction booklets should be included with the State downloading. March 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Deteriorating Interview Process, Compartmentalized You now have to buy a "Business" version of Turbo Tax if you are an individual taxpayer with W-2s and a schedule C for freelance income? There was a second download I had to install while preparing my return as well, although I can't remember what the topic was now. Turbo Tax is just creating more products for sale. The interview process is so unintuitive and convoluted this year. I couldn't even bother to take the time to keep track of all the things that I hated this year. I have used Turbo Tax for many years and will be trying something else for 2015. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of Turbo Tax Over all good program, they are geting pricey on the backing up if you file electronic, $ 59.99 plus now $ 30.00 plus thats is an extra they could work on, already bought their program for $ 90.00. But U do and will continue to recommend Turbo Tax, I have used others in the past and even HR Block, got audited with HR and we paid for the protection but diid not receive, I ended up paying and additional $ 250.00 because they left something out, Turbo Tax good program. Should give discount to purchase next year if I have pruchased for 3 - 5 years. Good idea March 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big headache TurboTax missed a marked estimated value for self employed insurance premiums in the federal forms. TT allowed me to efile my federal forms with an estimated value. The estimated value was caught in the state review. This should not have happened! I have spent over 8 hours on the phone to just to find the marked estimated value and many more hours to figure out the next steps. I now need to amend the federal but I have not filed the state. TT does not handle this case. Looks like I need to file incorrectly with the state and then amend both. Not happy. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Automation Overall this is a great program to quickly and easily make it through the tax season. TurboTax is best used consistently, in my opinion. By using it year after year, your tax information from the previous year can be imported which will make things so much easier if you don't have changes in your life. I will continue to use TurboTax as it makes my life so much easier! The hardest part for me was getting my accounts set up online for my banking items, that way TurboTax could just import the data for me. Next year will be a breeze with everything online! April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was possible to get things done The faky "congratulations, good planning" when it was post hoc not pre hoc is just silly. I know there is lots of negative emotion around taxes, but this inappropriate pat on the back does not occur at the moment when one is frustrated. I've learned to go to the external "its deductible" but it would be better to have an editable way of handling charitable deductions in the program. I know you want me to go to the cloud but Snowden makes me think you've got to be kidding, if the feds can get it then so can other country's feds, as well as their bandits. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The software is good for small business. We operate a nonprofit and we use this program to complete our W-2s and 1099s. Helped a friend do his taxes this year. He is a farmer. Was surprised that there was no home office component in that section. Farmers need some where to work on their business too. I just wondered why there was no recommendation to do a dummy form for business use of home in a Turbo Tax file under schedule c and transfer the numbers. It was very difficult to use the IRS worksheet to do it. Someone needs to program and correct for that. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY FRUSTRATING!!! I don't know what is going on with your software/product, but after years of using turbo tax faithfully, I am so very disappointed this year. After getting 3/4 of the way finished, turbo tax just shut down on me and when i restarted, all my information was lost!! This happened TWICE!! Its literally like I had to do my taxes 3X over! I feel that I rushed through the third time, so I hope everything got entered correctly. It just shouldn't have had to go this way!! Thanks Turbo Tax....I now have a SUPER migraine and will do things very different next year!! February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long time user It would be nice for you to remind us that you are going to charge us to e-file state returns. Also I have found the printing sequence to be awkward for the past couple years. Printing from the PDF, you have to close the viewer and return to TTax, and then cancel out of the print window to proceed. Also, this year had problems after E-filing Fed, had to use back button to get back to filing options to print out state return to mail. Finally, It would be nice if you gave loyal TTax customers a price break. ( for below, Retired, former small business owner. February 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trouble with vehicle disposal I had to call for help in entering a disposal date for my previous car, which I used for business. The screen offered no help at all, and the help agent had to puzzle through the process. The choices for the old car were a) I own it, b) I lease it, and c) not my car. There wasn't a choice for "I disposed of it" on that screen, so none of the choices were valid. I also didn't like having to re-enter many choices on various screens in going back through a process to correct something or fill in a blank. Why can't you save the previous choices all the time? February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was Nervous, but it worked great I've used TurboTax for years, but I agonized over whether or not I should buy and use it this year due to all the hubbub. I'm very glad I did though. I use Schedule C, so I purchased the Deluxe download, and when I got to the Schedule C part, it prompted me to upgrade for free to Home & Business which I did, and it was seamless. No troubles whatsoever. Very happy. I also did my State taxes. Note that I do not e-file my returns; I print them out and mail hard copies. Anyway, I'm very happy I could stay with the ease and info transfer of TurboTax this year! March 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by HOW NOT TO CREATE SOFTWARE SYSTEM WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO DOWNLOAD THE ONE FREE STATE SOFTWARE THAT I AM ENTITLED TO. JUST BECAUSE I HAD INCOME IN TWO STATES [LA & MS] AND I WANTED ONLY LA DOWNLOAD. IT WAS ASKING FOR 39.99 EVEN FOR THE FREE DOWNLOAD THAT I AM ENTITLED TO. I HAD TO CALL TURBO TAX THREE TIMES TO GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED BY BUYING A SPECIAL LA DOWNLOAD, COST WAIVED. EVEN THEN, THOUGH THE STATE RETURN WAS COMPLETED, IT WAS UNABLE TO REVIEW IT. I HAD TO ACCEPT STATE RETURN WITH NO REVIEW. VERY SERIOUS FLAW IN THE SYSTEM. Comment coming from a Computer/Software Expert. March 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by After 5 years using turbotax I was disappointed This year was frankly a nightmare. We have used Turbotax successfully for 5 years. But this year, when we tried to enter income from a S corporation it would not let me unless I upgraded. So for one line I had to pay an additional $15. I don't think the system was correct because we had no business expenses and did not need a business section. We only needed to enter into the income section "income from an S corporation". No matter what I did, it would not let me proceed unless I purchased an upgrade. I will likely use another method of filing next year. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by tax questions I like that it is easy to follow but I wish that it would offer more information regarding using your home as an office for your business. It guides to the tax form that you need to retrieve from the IRS but that should be incorporated in the software. In addition, the section about non-farm optional income or tax and farm optional tax method should be spelled out so that turbo tax knows which one to select. Especially if you have used turbo tax in the past and are transferring last year's information in to the current year it should have that information. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turdo Tax For decades I used to do my own taxes by hand, and in recent years I have used professional preparers. TurboTax is by far the cheapest and easiest way to prepare Federal and State returns - BY FAR! I trust their guarantee of accuracy, because if it isn't accurate, I'll sue, and no business wants that bad press. TurboTax reduced my filing from 8-10 hours down to about 2 hours for both returns. Once you have used it and have your personal information entered from a previous year, it cuts the prep time even more. I'll be using TurboTax for the rest of my life. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Convert Previously I was paying an accountant about $200 to file my taxes. Even with that it took me many hours to put together information for her and I was always worried I had missed something. Last year I still paid the accountant to run the numbers, but for comparison sake I also did it myself with Turbotax. I received a much bigger refund through Turbotax because of a deduction that the accountant had been missing for years. Plus Turbotax is easier, cost less and gives me more confidence than the accountant. Now I will file "happily ever after" with Turbotax. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Opinion As an accountant with 40 years experience in taxes, using Turbo Tax has changed my life - I no longer hate preparing tax returns, I love it! When I began working in public accounting in 1977, we prepared the tax returns by hand, using a pencil, and then a copy of the pencil version was sent to the IRS. It was a nightmare from Washington. Today, Turbo tax has condensed the tax enormous size of the tax return into simple and easy to answer questions. Turbo Tax has taken a government train wreck, and turned into something that anyone can understand. Great job! April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My GO-TO Tax Program! You know, I need the extra services provided: that being guidance through this experience. I had the option to cut corners, but this is my first time to do my own taxes, so I wanted major guidance. I got that and more. Big advantage was the program sees your errors coming and prevents them so you do not have to correct errors forever. (I was told that would happen, and guess what! I had none the first time through.) Getting me my best refund was the topper, so thanks Mr. Turbo Tax. There is nothing about you NOT to like and find totally awesome. Best, Scott April 11, 2015
  • 2015-05-22T13:51:13.707-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-260, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12639, tr_12639
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 258 259 260 261 262 ... 292 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.