1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 258 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by fine product mostly, but don't get divorce … and will then prevent you from filing your returns because there are mistakes in worksheets concerning for your ex-spouse. Sadly divorces are common, and as such, they should be a high-priority use case for your software developers. Why does the software not provide a transition path from year n to year n+1 for a divorced couple with a few short questions? I cannot imagine this kind of software to hard to add to the product, especially because it could rely on an interactive mode, querying the user for additional information as needed. March 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by lots of questions It feels like you go in circles and put in the same information more than once. specifically schedule c, itemized deductions, job expenses - each asked about my car...why? shouldn't it have populated where it needed to be? Secondly, depreciation is truly not easy to determine, add to that form 8824 which populated after I mentioned I replaced a car. Very difficult to navigate this year. I'm really concerned that my turbo tax is not as accurate as it should be, there aren't any mistakes, but that doesn't mean it's correct. Hence my concern April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally got the program right! This is the first year, (I have been using for over 15 years) that the program did not identify an error without the proper explanation. In the past, I have always had to research some of the errors or section of the tax form that it would jump to. Now I can recommend it to my "average" friends that do not understand or are intimidated by Tax software. At the end of the process, it is offered to become a TurboTax advantage member. It would be Most helpful to add to the offer, " IF YOU ARE CURRENTLY A MEMBER YOU DO NOT HAVE TO JOIN AGAIN! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy And Speedy Returns I have completed several returns using the online filing process for 10 years now. This year I purchased the desktop version and used it along with the online one. It is so easy to use that I showed my daughter once, and she is now completing her own returns with no assistance. And I love that it can transfer data (W-2s and tax returns) from other sources into the current tax return, cutting down on the time required for completion. I have used software from other companies but this is by far the easiest! I wouldn't trade it for the world! February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still A Satisfied Customer I've used Turbo Tax from its beginnings, and it remains the easy to use, affordable solution for doing and filing your taxes. I'm glad they owned up to the mistake they made this year in their offerings, and I hope they've learned a valuable lesson. I know I just one of many loyal customers, but one doesn't remain loyal unless the product make that loyalty a good decision. At different and simultaneous times I've been a salaried employee, a contractor, and a small business owner. Turbo Tax has handled all of those situations without issue. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund in a jiffy TurboTax is easy to use no matter your educational level. The questions are simple and the designed algorithm puts the answers in the correct place. TurboTax will automatically upgrade you to the proper product if you have started your return but could use a different version (deluex or premier). TurboTax lets you purchase additional states if needed from within the program while you are in the process of entering your information You cant lose with TurboTax! I have been using TurboTax for years and years and it just gets easier each time. March 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by You're your best advocate, don't leave it up to TT Double-entry of 1099-MISC under both business and personal sections cause a lot of confusion, wasted time, and could have resulted in incorrect numbers had I not been paying close attention. The TurboTax description of use tax as being required on purchases that didn't specifically incur my state's sales tax indicated that other states' sales tax was inadequate. I nearly included all out-of-state purchases (taxed and untaxed) before checking directly with my state's tax requirements to confirm that only untaxed purchases incurred use tax. April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Review I ran into problems putting individual 1099 Misc forms for Royalty income using H&R Block the last years. Switched to Turbo Tax in hopes for better function. The input of most data into Turbo Tax is generally good, better than H&R Block. However, I ran into a similar problem with IRS Sched. E. Turbo Tax takes LLC Form K-1 very well, but also fails on individual 1099 Misc for Royalty income. It is completely opaque on correctly accepting that data. It appears Sched. E is the correct place for Royalty income, but there is no apparent access. April 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by i'm glad to see Intuit did the right thing addressing the issues about their product pricing. That's why I did not switch providers.. It will be interesting to see how you price products next year. Not sure what version you have include schedules C, D and E in. Perhaps you go back to including them in Deluxe, but put certain limits. For example, for schedule C - if you have revenue less than "X' $'s… For schedule D - if you have less that 20 trades…. or something like that…….. If you exceed the limits, then you would be required to "buy up" February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Easy to Complete For years I used Turbo Tax and I am very pleased to be a returning client. I used an accountant when I was married and never understood the value; same results. I filed the last weekend in March 2015 for the 2014 tax year. I noted a few updates listed as recent as mid-March. I do not know if they would impact the majority of users who completed their returns sooner in the year? Thank you Intuit Team for your continued hard work and dedication to making tax filing a simple and routine annual task. PS - Thank you for asking my opinion too! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Turbo I've been using Turbo Tax since 1987 and it seemed to get a little easier and smoother each year. The only problem I had this year is that when I needed to make a correction when the review showed a missing amount on a worksheet, a small remark stating "make any corrections that may be needed by going back through the question phase rather that override it here in review." That would have saved me several minutes. Also, it would be great to have that "What If" worksheet back as it was the handiest sheet to use to get prepared for next year. April 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax - 25th year I have been using Turbo Tax since 1989. It is the best software out there. That doesn't mean it couldn't be better. The interview is fine, but a streamlined version for long time users would be nice. It annoys me to have to click "NoThanks" multiple times. When I go back to change or add a number, particularly in Sched C I have to jump through all the hoops again. I was not directly involved with the missing schedule fiasco. But it would appear that you have succombed to the Microsoft disease which has them knowing and deciding what I want. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Deluxe The pros and cons pretty much say it all. I was very surprised by the changes as was almost everyone else. I Even went to do mine on H&R Block online. Your offer to upgrade online for $ 30.00. and then file for a $25.00 refund was meaningless. Your final move to provide the free Business upgrade for free online should have been done immediately. I am a big fan and have recommended Turbo Tax to a lot of friends. I will look at your software description closely next year before I make my purchase I hope I will be using your product next year. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by PAGE NUMBERS If there is any way you can make an index of how to quickly get to the page you need that would be awesome. Example: the tabs start with personal, business, etc. Please make an index or table of contents for users to refer to when they need to add information to a category which they did not have readily available when going thru the interview. If you could number each page that would be even better. Example: for the business expenses, there are several categories as you advance thru the interview. Please find a way to number those pages. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased After reading some reviews I nearly chose another software. after much thought I went with Turbo Tax as I have for many years. I was pleased with the simple navigation and familiar content. The one drawback that concerns me is the promotional content which seems to rely on ones desire to get through the program and overlook one of the highlighted choices leading to additional cost and at times what seemed like unnecessary divulgence of personal info. I will continue with Turbo Tax Home & Business until I feel it is no longer a viable value. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saves me $ Have used Turbo Tax for many years and really have no complaints. It loads fine on my rather old PC so that is good. And having it pull all my old data is great because I sure wouldn't know what to pull myself! I just wish I could go back and change just one or two items without having to go thru the entire section all over again - especially in the home office deduction and the business expenses relating to your automobile. Other than that I will keep using Turbo Tax until I get so big with my business that I will need a real accountant! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Up to date on the tax law! I have trusted Turbotax since 1993, and it has certainly helped me report to the taxing authorities the most accurate disclosure of all my earnings, credits, and liabilities. I have had great confidence and trust that if I answer all the questions truthfully, I will have done my income tax returns correctly for both Federal and State purposes. When I finish my taxes, I review them and with more than 95% confidence, I know the Turbotax program helped me get it right. I highly recommend it to everyone who wants to get it right the first time. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Make it better for clergy Please specify where to include the clergy housing allowance for those who do no receive a W-2 form. In some cases the entire pay for a minister consists of the Housing Allowance. Thus, there is no W-2. I was able to place the Housing Allowance in the additional income entry in Schedule SE, but it took some guidance from my daughter who is a CPA. Currently it appears that the Home/Business TT will only calculate the HA amount from the additional income line in SCH SE. The earlier Deluxe version I used identified where to place the HA. Thanks January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Improvement After reviewing the returns an Error was found but no guidance was provided to resolve the errors. I have to research the solution which took a long time and effort (probably avoidable) . The error was that the code was missing in 1099-B Worksheet form on box 1f (on official IRS Form). The software should have populated it appropriately. To be able to do this correctly the software should have asked appropriate questions to the user like me. Such errors without elaborate guidance is not excusable in a relatively expensive Turbotax software. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Review It is very difficult to go back to a point where an input error cause the process to return an unexpected result. Also, there is confusion on which version of Turbo Tax to use. In the past, Deluxe handled all my needs. When I received an email telling me it wouldn't handle my rental property, I was told to purchase Premier. During my entry process, I kept getting errors. Finally I got a message to download a free version of Home and Business. Once that downloaded, every went smooth and fast. I wish that information had been provided upfront. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fewer interview questions but a bigger pain The process was bigger hassle this year. I was force to upgrade to business version when basic would do in the past. Nothing about my tax filing status changed, but Intiut decided to unbundle the investment property and schedule C form I needed and remove from basic version. I didn't realize Schedule C wasn't included in the Premier version until was nearly ready to file. I could not easily upgrade to needed version online and needed to call support. I got call back 3 hours later. I later completed online help form & got assistance right away February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dissapointed I am dissapointed with the 2014 changes that require the most expensive version to complete two common Schedules which were previously provided with the Deluxe Version. The result is that the Deluxe version is now the Basic Version. This year, I assume because everyone was so surprised by the change, Turbo Tax did provide free upgrades needed to complete Schedule D and Schedule C. Next year I assume that my cost will be double over previous years for the ability to complete the two forms. This may cause me to rethink the benefits of Turbo Tax April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Investment Property Problems I have now entered two new investment properties into TurboTax (one in each 2012 and 2013) and I do not find it well organized. All of the expenses of the acquisition do not show up in the initial setup screen. In order to get all of the costs of the loan for the property I have to go to the refinancing section. Most investment property acquisitions are financed and the all of the costs of the acquisition should be in one place. Currently I am having troubles where it will not print a form 4562 for one of my rentals. what can I do about that? April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently Good! I have been using Turbo Tax for more than 15 years. Always a good, reliable product. User-friendly and accurate. Am not pleased that I will have to pay more next year in order to get the forms I need included in the program (I own a small business that I operate from my home). Prior year's info did not seem to transfer, so I filled in "missing" business info only to find it duplicated several screens later. Had to go back and delete quite a few entries that had been duplicated. Even with this setback, taxes were completed in a timely fashion. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by And The Winner Is!!!!!! Away we go for the deadline, April 15th! Turbo Tax is one of the greatest, informative, multi-optional screen traveling tax program there is on the market! Turbo Tax makes each line easy to input information on each screen. Any doubt as what to input? Fear not, there are several options to find a solution: Click on help, ask your question and up pops questions asked similar to yours, submit your own question, get directed to another informational site, and you can even get live help! Print out your own copy, mail or e-file! You have a choice! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps Getting Better! I've used TurboTax for many years now, and they are continually improving it. How? By helping you identify all the items (including savings!) that you need to minimize your taxes and do an accurate job. I have a business, so have used the Home & Business version. Really makes the job as painless as can be. One example - all the data and categories from last year's forms are pre-filled when you open the next year's forms. (Of course, you can always change things that are differenr.) Tax time is never fun. But TurboTax sure helps cut the stress! February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Returning User Had not filed taxes by myself since 2007 tax year, was an expat and used major accounting firms. Found the system to be pretty forgiving. Primary shortcoming was an inability to add a form that was not in the package. I will file an amendment to complete this. Found it difficult to find the help phone number, but once I got it the call back service was excellent. I had not shutdown my firewall and my return would not transmit. An obvious error, but Intuit could improve the error message and help so that I (not a computer genius) could find it. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 Experience Once again I really appreciated all my prior year tax information automatically "dumping" into this year's return. The updates seemed to load faster this year. The step-by-step process of entering information went smoothly, and I liked how easy it was when reviewing the forms to go to the actual worksheet or form. Like many people, I was extremely disappointed in the way TurboTax repackaged its product this year. However, the company did seem to try to reach out to its customers and make things right...especially if one took the time to call. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Started with Macintax in 1988 Overall still a great product. I didn't like the fact that I had to keep upgrading. Have investments, need an upgrade. Need to file a schedule C, need and upgrade. They were free for me this year, but I was warned I'll to buy next year. I started my return using the interview process a few weeks ago. I quit and returned today. It didn't remember where I left off and I had to start from the beginning. I transfered data from last years return which included investments and a schedule C. It should have known I needed to do them again this year. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by user friendly i have used TurboTax for several years. I love that it transfers my previous year to the current year. I used another product ONE year and was immensely frustrated as I tried to maneuver from one area to another. TurboTax is as user friendly as anyone could ever expect!!!! Thank you My only wish, is that I could choose the "married filing separately" option, at the very end of my return and TurboTax would survey my info. and detect which option would be most beneficial to me. I do not want to spend several more hours completing another return April 9, 2015
  • 2015-05-21T13:42:10.051-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-258, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12636, tr_12636
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 256 257 258 259 260 ... 292 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.