1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 258 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13105 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Do your own taxes with TurboTax! This past year, my retired husband started a part-time business as a Santa Claus performer. We were so impressed that TurboTax asked all the right questions and guided us through claiming all of our business expenses...mileage deductions, depreciation on our computer, advertising, candy canes, costumes, and more. Without the guidance of TurboTax, we wouldn't have even known what forms to fill out! By the time we were done, we felt confident that we had taken every possible deduction. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Understand I have been using Turbotax for many years and it is so easy to understand. If you have a question you can call their help desk and they will talk you through the process. No waiting at a tax service preparer's office and it is quick and easy. Also, a very low cost audit protection option is available. A risk meter is displayed to determine if you are at risk for audit and this helps you to gather all of your records and keep them in a safe place in case you receive a notice of audit. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps Me On Track Turbo tax gets better each year. It keeps track of what I have done in years past and pre-fills personal info, carryover, etc. It can automatically download and sort out confusing capital gain / loss information and report it properly on the forms. When I need to change something I entered, it makes sure the ripple down effects are handled. It calculates as I go so I can see how I am doing. I can file electronically and store copies of my completed forms electronically. Very helpful! March 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I have used TurboTax for over 10 years, but am VERY disappointed this year in the switcheroo of programs increasing the initial cost for purchasing the software. I was forced to upgrade and purchase the Home and Business version to complete my taxes. THEN when I tried to customize my state return by modifying the filing status, the program generated an error code and would not let me e-file. I will no longer recommend TurboTax. I will seek out another program to do my taxes next year. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Trustworthy We have been using TurboTax since the 1990's and we have not regretted it ever. My wife was unsure about last year as I had retired, made a withdrawal from my 457 Account as well as starting up a small business. Everything that I needed was at my fingertips with this program! But, remember to make TurboTax work the best for you, you need to setup a file folder to hold all of your forms, receipts, etc. for next years tax season. You will not regret the simplicity of this program, ever! April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by BAD MARKETING APPROACH First, I was required to purchase a more expensive suite product this year than I had in past years to do the same tax filing. Second when I am deep into the process I am told I have to pay an additional $10.40 to continue with your product to complete my filing. Just tell me up front what your product is going to cost me and I will make my decision to purchase or not purchase - next year even though it will be a pain to have to reenter every thing I will be looking at other products! April 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax has gone downhill I have used TurboTax for many years and have not had a problem, this year was not pleasant. It asked questions it should have known the answer to based on previous year's upload. The flow felt horrible, as if it was the 1st year they had been in business. If that wasn't enough, I was asked about 8 times if I wanted to file my state taxes, I had to say no every time. I can file on my state's website for free, leave me alone already! Will have to think about whether to use it next year. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IMPROVMENTS REQUESTED Big issue are labeling and printing Supporting Details. Must use "print screen", paint, paste, print, etc. WINDOWs commands. TTAX has "promised" fix for several years with no action known by me. When trying to go back and forth form step by step to form, data entered in step by step as supporting details cannot be accessed from forms and does not print. Program should review automatically filled out forms with user such as 8959,8801,4562, etc. They only show up when printing return. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I always use TurboTax...you never disappoint. I have used TurboTax for more years than I remember. I once used another package just to compare, but came right back. I not only feel that TurboTax is thorough in helping me ensure that I'm covering every possible aspect of my taxes, but it also helps me be aware of possible deductions or hits for the next year, and things to keep track of. Thank you for making great software. I do prefer to download the software every year....no crazy about storing all my support information online. March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Taxes Done without the TURBO I found this year's filing much more time consuming than last year's suite (Home and Business). There just wasn't that ability to say---STOP-- I didn't quite get that or give me an example. This year was more stressful and more an ordeal. I've been using Turbo Tax for for several years, so I've seen its transitions and updates. I did Tax Cuts a couple of years ago, that was a disaster, so back I returned. If Intuit can't get this back to user friendlyy status, I'm gone for 2015 filing. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MAKES MY LIFE EASIER I have used TurboTax for years and find it easier than paper forms and it eliminates my need for an accountant to do my taxes. I also really like the convenience of e-filing. Turbo Tax walk through where you answer questions and end up with filled in forms backed by worksheets is sweet. I am able to easily review forms and worksheets to understand what is being done and get a sense that what I am filing is accurate. Additionally, I like that Turbo Tax imports previous year information. May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love Turbotax. I've used Turbotax for about 10 years now and I continue to like it a lot. My financial situation keeps getting more complicated but Turbotax makes it easy. I know enough about taxes to know that it catches everything. I really cannot say enough good about it. Sometimes things are a little confusing, but it's very easy to go back and trace what I've done and figure it out. Being able to go back and forth between EasyStep and the forms is also a big plus. The audit review is also nice. February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by At The Last Minute Ran Turbotax 2014 on laptop with Windows XP. Everything went well in terms of data entry and moving through menus. Down to wire on filing and credit card payment pop-up window was blank. Had to load Turbotax on desktop computer running on Windows 7 and transfer data to get credit card payment for State filing to process. Turbotax said payment for State filing would be $19.99, however when payment processed, it was $24.99? Everything else went well and was easy to use and understand. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by More pleased with Turbo Tax every year Turbo Tax has become more user friendly every year. This year I ended up with the wrong version. Turbo Tax automatically recognized my small business required an up grade. The program took me through an on line upgrade for $10 which took no more then 5 minutes. I was quickly returned to may tax form input and realized an additional $2000 refund. Outstanding fully integrated product. These folks should have been hired to create the Obama Care Website........if we really HAD to have one. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I got bogged-down in several places, this year, that hadn't been a problem in the past. One problem, at the end, I couldn't print out my State return except from the saved .pdf file. The page for printing did not have a PRINT selection, just save a .pdf and PREVIEW. Something the geeks did this year. I don't have time to try to remember other problems, but if you had a suggestion in the beginning asking us to keep notes, it would have been helpful to see what user problems exist. Denis April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax 2014 TT works and I am a very satisfied customer, but the area of educational expenses is not their strongest. I think this area needs more work, in particular some background explanation. TT still uses the simple user-supplied question/answer style help forum, which it has been using for several years, apparently unchanged. It should look at moving forward from that and tie that in with youtube videos and other resources out there which might be useful or even more helpful. Just a thought. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Logical but Updates kept Coming Farm business related forms didn't seem to be easily accessible. My biggest concern was the updates. I started the return in February and downloaded the updates before I started my return. I then had to close and restart the return several times after that, with the final submission on April 11th. Each time I restarted, there were updates I had to download. Makes me wonder about the completeness of the software that people used in the prior months to submit their returns, and now mine. April 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dependent with Earned Income Turbo Tax does not accommodate the situation of a dependent child with earned income less than $6200. IRS Publication 929 indicates that a dependent with earned income less than $6200 does not need to file a return. However,the dependent may file a return anyway in order to get a refund on taxes that were deducted. Turbo Tax does not seem to understand this situation and customize the Q&A to make it easy to prepare a return for a taxpayer that can benefit from the provisions of Pub 929. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best money spent at tax time! We're retired with a little business and some investment income. If not for TurboTax, I would be pulling my hair out right now. I looked over our return and it's 68 pages long! No way could I keep from losing it if I had to navigate through all that info. The K-1's alone were hard to enter, but nothing compared to what I would go through on my own! I love it when I install it and it finds my other filings and starts up without my having to enter past year info. See you in 2016 TurboTax! March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lost Without It This program is extremely helpful. It takes me step by step through the entire tax process and doesn't seem to leave anything out. It is a seamless program. There were no hiccups or glitches. I just answered all of the questions, including the ones that I wouldn't even think to ask. It was an easy way to deal with the normal stress of taxes. This is the only program we have used for so many years that I have forgotten when we started with it. Needless to say, we are very happy with it. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pay only the taxes due with TurboTax. The software alerts me to possibilities and problems I would not know about on my own, allowing me to stay involved with my taxes as life grows more complicated. Great for DIY types. I usually run into a question or a problem that slows me down, but I get through it. As good as TurboTax is for getting a tough job done, do not wait until April 14 to do your taxes, because there is always a complication to work out. In the end, though, I feel confident I paid only the taxes that were due. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Back on board I used to use TurboTax back in the days before life got complicated and then I resorted to an expensive "tax professional". After omitting tax information that I have provided yearly and paying a penalty last year I returned to TurboTax for 2014. My feeling about tax preperation is that I'm already doing most of the prep work myself and TurboTax or your tax perparer does the easy part. We'll soon learn weather I made a good choice but I loved using the Personal & Small Business TurboTax! April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by MADE ME UPGRADE! REALLY? We run a very small business, and usually I just enter the business information on my own in TurboTax. This year TurboTax made me upgrade? I was mostly done with my taxes, and they that in order to continue I had to upgrade! It is like holding you hostage! I understand the change in the business model they have, but at least make sure to ask some questions at the beginning of the process and inform the user that they will not be able to complete all of their taxes with a certain version! April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Got harder to use this year for the first time This is the first year that Turbo Tax got harder to do. I always fear skipping back because I fear I will lose something I entered. Turbo Tax always makes it very hard to file the State return by mail. I have now e-filed my Federal Return but don't have a printed out State return to mail. And now they are asking me to review Turbo Tax, so this must be the end of my filing. Turbo Tax should indicate where to enter one's auto property tax rather than just saying "Other tax _______________" April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is it worth it? TurboTax did not accept the pdf from last year's return even though it was done on TurboTax. Some of the questions were worded strangely and seemed like they did not apply to our situation, but when I dove deeper into them, they were relevant. The charges at the end were unnecessarily high. I expect to pay for using this software, but I think Intuit has reached the tipping point. The charges are increasing faster than my earnings. I will seriously consider other tax preparation programs. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Used to love them Like many others, I am not happy about Turbo Tax's change this year. It is ridiculous to have to purchase the more expense edition because I have a few dollars in dividend income. More importantly, I just found out that I have been overpaying my state taxes each year for the last 4 years because Turbo Tax was not giving me the correct information. This year's difference was $2000. Now I have to go back and see if the state will let me file amended returns. Turbo Tax just lost a customer. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unimpressed Increased price is not worth all the features i don't need. all I need is Schedule D. I would buy that as an add on if I had to if I could stay with last year's Deluxe that had Schedule D. i spent unnecessary time clicking through all the business stuff that i don't need. If you need to raise the price raise it on a product that i want. This program is larger than last years and takes up too much space on my hard drive. I will probably use another program next year if you don't wise up. February 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by HARDER TO USE THEN PREVIOUS VERSIONS This version made using Turbo Tax harder then previous years because it include business. It asked questions we didn't need just because we have investments. Also, the Capital Gains forms were more difficult. Previous versions were able to distinguish between long term and short term. Made a mess of our forms, had to delete and redo a lot of our "alternative" investments because we couldn't get the program to make the correct changes needed. Will look at other tax programs for next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continues to be a Great Product Having used TT for over a decade, I still find it very easy to use. The guided tour is great, and simplifies the effort. The issue with changes to base product this year where handled well after the fact, but the changes should have been communicated clearly in the subscription service emails prior to final shipment.. The only ongoing problem I have with TT is that for some topics, such as timeshare related expenses, the information and/or help sections are lacking in clarity and detail. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by In general, most worked well. In the Oklahoma State Tax (which I wound up doing manually) the program lifted assets from my brokerage which should not be liable for state tax in OK, as I was a resident in Texas the entire time. I was a general partner in an oil well which generated Oklahoma income (and had tax withheld) documented on a K-1. I am not sure why the program wanted to apply capital gains on Chevron or Southern Company from a brokerage account to the Oklahoma state income tax. April 6, 2015
  • 2015-10-06T11:36:49.986-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-258, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13105, tr_13105
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 256 257 258 259 260 ... 302 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.