1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 258 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13703 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as last year. Still a vast improvement over doing everything by hand. User friendly. Has good feel. It took me ten or twelve tries to get e-file to work. This is the SSL bug. The $40 price for business software, the $40 for an extra state, and the $25 for e-filing state pushes the cost to where hiring an accountant becomes a reasonable alternative. The review fails to specify what the corrections are for. It is opaque, frustrating, and only marginally useful. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by frustration plus Frustrating experience this year since I was about halfway through the program and I realized that I couldn't use the deluxe edition for my small (tiny) business. I had to trade the disc for an upgrade and more expensive edition, for the first time in using TurboTax. This was more expensive and very time consuming. Also I now had to restart my computer to start the state edition which I have not done before. It took a long while to realize this. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by As complex as taxes are, TurboTax made the process relatively painless (still a pain). My only complaint is the entry fields for passwords (when accessing 3rd party accounts) didn't allow me to paste from the clipboard. I use KeePass to store and generate all my passwords, I use long random passwords, they are a pain to actually type. Being unable to copy/paste my passwords made me contemplate making my passwords less secure / easier to type. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good experience I was pleased with the overall detail and thoroughness of the program. However, when advised to go to another section to complete a particular entry, it would have been nice to click on a button in order to get there immediately, rather than clicking on a "Continue" button on 5 to 10 consecutive pages in order to get there. Overall, I am pleased with TurboTax and am relieved when I get my returns reviewed with the words, "There are no errors". April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but an issue with the State Fee charged to me I have been using Turbo Tax since 1992. It gets the job done and this year's version is very user friendly. There's always one or two little things that it doesn't quite handle, such as a 1099C I received this year from my bank when I renegotiated my mortgage. Also, I was charged for Louisiana State tax return. I am supposed to get one free state return, and that was the only one I needed. Not sure why I was charged but hope they resolve this. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by State concerns I like using Turbo tax generally but I think it could be improve significantly in at least two ways: When I buy the Home plus Business and do my children's returns, having a button to select being guided through a more simple or quick version would be great. Also, allowing more than one state would be really helpful. For my children in out of state schools it is a bit ridiculous to pay so much more for a second state return which is so simple. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glitches in software. Despite being instructed by TurboTax that I could not file a return due to State tax credits that had to be filed via mail, the software still wanted me to choose e-file even though that wasn't an option. The only way I could "force" it to print my Missouri tax paperwork was to select "mail" for my Federal after I had already electronically filed my Federal return. It then asked me if I wanted to print out my State paperwork. Not very intuitive. March 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work Only rated 3 stars this year. Huge hassle to get Deluxe upgraded to handle Schedule C and D. At least TurboTax realized the error and corrected it for those willing to go through the extra work. I also found an error in the SC return. The program allowed me to claim $495 in educator fees, even through the SC form says the limit is $275. Plus TT didn't have the educator expense deduction form. I had to print from the states website and paper file. March 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Credit card payment log in is BROKEN I spent longer going in circles trying to pay by credit card for audit defense and state e-filing, than I spent doing my taxes!!! ...and I had to give up, absolutely ticked off ... all that time spent and then I could not finish, totally unacceptable Intuit ... your software tried to force me to pay from refund instead incurring additional processing fees, was this your plan from the get go? ... you lost a long time customer today, done with you. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful and Easy Overall, I enjoy using Turbo Tax. Instructions are mostly clear. I love that I can see how much I owe or will be getting back as I proceed. I had some difficulty with State Tax questions involving the previous year refund and entering biz info that seemed to be only requested during the review instead of during the process of filling it out. I'm glad the Schedule C issue was worked out with the upgrade. I was surprised by that change this year. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy as Pie! The walk through was great, once again! 2 critiques, however ... 1) State taxes should stop you right away if you don't need to file (which was my case). I wasted a bit of time there before I looked up the requirements. 2) Too many pages of health care specifics - that's ink, paper, data, etc. resources that shouldn't be wasted in attempt to legitimize the health care act. Can't we get the necessary details more concise? Hopefully next year! February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comparative Analyses Overall it sure beats doing it manually and mailing it in with one's fingers crossed in hopes the tax instructions have been complied with and then waiting a long time for a refund. However, compared to last year's Prime TurboTax, this year's Personal and Small Business seems to be a step backward in ease of use albeit costing more. I do realize that changes in the Tax Codes may be the root cause of increased complexity and increased costs too. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 taxes review I like that Turbo Tax walks us through the return, but having to go back and repeatedly answer questions already answered just to get to the entry to be updated or corrected is frustrating and very time consuming. A change to make that easier would be helpful. Also, it would be very helpful to explain about numbers from last year's return and why they are imported to the current return. I just take this under faith but would want to know more. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improvements I would love to see TurboTax is very straightforward and easy to follow. I appreciate the Flag feature so I can go back to any area I was unsure of. User Tip: When you are going through TurboTax's Survey questions, you can click on the top left where it says "Forms" and it will let you see the info you entered in the actual tax form. Click top left "Easy Step" to return to the step-by-step process. (That might be a feature only when you've purchased the software.) April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peasy Loved the way I could save, walk away, sleep on it, come back and dive in right where I left off. Remember to write down you account password clue EXACTLY as you entered it. Password change was easy but remembering my first elementary included the word "School" was frustrating. After a few lockouts, I remembered it while driving one day and BAM! It was smooth sailing after that. Perhaps a second password prompt would work if you fail the first? April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a new improved, version I don't believe this is as easy to navigate on your own as it had been in the past. Information carried forward inaccurately. For example when itemizing on the state return, it picked up 2013 Fed. taxes and inserted them as being paid in 2014 even though that was not the case. I'm not sure all would pick this up. I do taxes for AARP Tax-Aide, so was able to understand what was being done. It made a difference in taxes owing on the state return. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch I have been using Turbo Tax for the last 5 years. I love it. I like how you can go down the list of income and deductions and watch your refund grow. The only thing that caught me off guard this year was when I went to e-file my state return and all of a sudden I was getting charged $19.99. This was the first year I've done e-file and didn't expect that additional charge. It wasn't very clear ahead of time that it would cost any money to do that. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better Mac compatibility I'd like to see more attention to the "At Risk" questions in the Schedule C section. Last year (using TurboTax) I mistakenly checked the box that not all of my business was "At Risk" and it cost me alot of money. It also meant a "loss carry forward" that was messy to clean up. This was due to my not completely understanding what was up. I'd like to recommend that the 2015 TurboTax really stress and explain the "At Risk" portion of the Schedule C. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by software lags This year, I used home and office Turbotax. My filing is 246 pages because of investments., and I use a desktop iMac. Other years, I have had no trouble with lagging, but this year I did. I'd have to wait and wait for the computer to go to the next window, etc. My computer is well maintained and works well. There is some sort of software glitch that is interfering with other programs? I tried closing programs and re-starting, but it didn't help. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Review I've used TurboTax Home & Business for many years. I like the guided approach for data entry but I am the "Trust and Verify" type. I understand the convoluted math of tax forms so I like to look at the completed IRS forms to make sure the data printed was what I was expecting. If not, then I go back to the topics again to review my entries or make corrections. I found this year's version to be the easiest yet to bounce around from place to place. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy! Super fast! Did my taxes in record time this year: only a couple of hours. I have a small business at home, so I have a lot of forms to get through. TurboTax helps with everything and makes it easy. I've always gotten maximum refund, and I always get the audit protection. Maybe that's why I've never been audited! I highly recommend this software to anyone who wants to try doing their own taxes. It's usually cheaper than getting someone else to do it for you. January 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Great Refund I've used Turbo Tax for several years and love it. I e-file my federal returns and mail my state returns. This is the first year I'm having trouble printing the state to file by mail. It kept printing with words "DO NOT FILE", "FORM NOT FINAL" So I cannot print the forms to file by mail with these words on it. My state refunds are too small to bother with paying the $19.95 e-filing fee. I tried finding a help search to correct this with no luck. January 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazed by the process This was a strange tax year with income only from a job overseas from a US employer who did not appear to state the compensation package correctly. Compensation included the entire contract amount without breakdown for housing, travel and other factors which were of concern since they seemed more like organization expenses than employee income. Nonetheless, the final tax bill seemed within reason given all the strange factors included in the W2. October 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Larry's Review 4/15/2014 I had more problems this year filing my return than in years past. After checking my return I could not e-file because it kept sending me back to blank data that I had removed and listed somewhere else. Also very mad because before I could e-file you charged me for filing my state return although the program I purchased said "Federal Returns & Federal E-File plus State Returns. I assumed the program I purchased included a one free state return..?? April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor for Small Business Owner I find it unacceptable that as a small business owner I can’t make the De Minimis Safe Harbor Election in accordance with IRS regulation section 1.263(a)-1(f). I’m forced to print and mail my return with my own De Minimis Safe Harbor Election form. So much for Turbo Tax being a Home & “Business” tool. I thought mailing in returns was supposed to be a thing of the past. Perhaps next year Turbo Tax will bring back the Pony Express or carrier pigeon. February 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by YIKES! I have to file one 1040 with my state form (MFS) and a different 1040 for the feds. I kept hitting stumbling blocks. I couldn't efile my state form without the federal form also being efiled from the same TT file, which made it necessary to mail my state form with the dummy federal form. I efile the real 1040 from a different TT file. This set-up is really confusing and frustrating. Also, it is hard to get back to some forms if changes are needed. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No longer scared of filing income taxes every year I've been using the system for a long time. I sure do appreciate the system to update all the law changes and included everything to make it easier transactions. I just can't imagine filing income taxes without the Turbo Tax's help. Thank you so much. Only time I had a problem with the system was when I was filing as L.L.C. The state called me a few years later and let me know one of the form was missing, so I had to pay a penalty and sent a form. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax! Best thing I ever did was to start using Turbo Tax. It is so easy to use and it has helped me find deductions I would have never thought of. Helps make record keeping easier for the next year. I love how it walks you through each section and you can go back to fix any errors or things to be added at any time. I also like being able to do my taxes when its convenient for me and not have to make an appointment to see someone to do them. A great tool. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax! I have used TT every year for the last 9 years. My tax situation changed dramatically this year because of investments and a new LLC. But I was able to do a little research and find the right version of TT for me. Actually, I didn't choose the correct version , but I was quickly able to upgrade within the program, as I was doing my taxes and get the forms that I needed; quickly. Thanks Turbo Tax for taking the guess work out of our complex system! March 14, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T14:15:52.882-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-258, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13703, tr_13703
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 256 257 258 259 260 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.