1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 258 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 12923 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Huge Help Every Year Guides you thru every step. I never used any other tax software, so can't do comparative analysis, but this was enjoyable experience. TurboTax is designed by a very smart team. It helps you make clever and safe decisions, especially for small business taxes. It allows you to try different options and see the tax results right away. Very fast response when re-calculating. State taxes are completely automatic, even for multiple states. Overall great product. Without it would not even know where to start. March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expensive and not for the weak of heart First time using TurboTax and most likely will not use again. The process from start to finish easily took 20 - 25 hours. The "step-by-step" process is not designed for a professions which can deduct direct work-related expenses. I would have been COMPLETELY lost had I not had my 2013 tax paperwork (done by professional) to work from. After paying for the program, a 2nd state, audit protection and to file returns for two states, TurboTax ended up costing MORE than the tax professional I paid last year. March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in the "Free" state return When I went to e-file my returns, it came to light that I'd had to pay almost $20 to e-file my state return via TurboTax. I really didn't want to spend that money so I decided to file by paper. Unfortunately, the e-file option is the only way to have your money directly deposited as the paper version automatically checks the send a check box. This is NOT what I wanted. Very disappointed that I have to spend $20 to e-file AND get a direct deposit of my refund to my checking account. This is NOT right... March 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Idiotic algorithm prevents efiling I had multiple states of income and a W-2 in one state that indicated withheld income taxes in a different state. That was correct. But turbotax will not allow it. It insisted it was a mistake and I couldn't efile. But I couldn't file by mail because NY state requires e-filing. The software just has a glitch and is irritating beyond belief. incident ID 411 775 075 I ended up having to just pretend like their wasn't withholding when actually there was and so my tax bill was higher because of your error. April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Confusing/Frustrating I was filling out the 2106 and it asked me for "Adjusted Wks".... so I clicked on the "Forms" and it wanted mileage. And I was trying to do the home office deduction. What???? No back button on certain features so if you made a mistake and realized it down the line, there was no way to go back, that I could figure out. Fed info didn't carry over to for the health insurance part of the state. W-2's were listed in personal instead of business. Really hope I don't get audited. Going to a CPA next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Candy & Chris Rock Our personal thanks to Candy who assisted us in working thru an upgrade. She went above & beyond. The same was so w/Chris who assisted in an app 'work around' generated by a 1099 Misc question that we had. Both were thorough, pleasant & are people that ITUIT should complement accordingly. BTW, I have used Turbo Tax for years & I think it a good product, please continue the same high-quality product & service, & please do not make it price prohibitive, especially now since I retired in 2014!! o:)) Thanks February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program Program walks you through all areas. But be sure you have the right program. The basic is only if you have W-2's but not much of anything else. I recommend getting the better version if you have other income and deductions. It is easy to use and is much cheaper than using a professional tax service company or CPA. You do need to have all your stuff together and have a little tax knowledge. But, you do not have to finish all at one time, can go back to program at any time and make changes until you file. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need to work on vehicle information for mileage. It came up a lot with the error check on vehicles we were no longer using. Need to have a pop up to remove unneeded vehicles. I was irritated by two pop ups to upgrade the system from premier and then to home and office to continue the return. I had purchased home and office and paid the extra money because basic was no longer available. Then the computer demanded more money from me twice to continue with the return. Not a good experience in this regard. February 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Trials I have used TurboTax for quite a few years, with pretty good results. I bought the program, and then had some trouble distinguishing it from the online program. I wasn't sure if the program remembered me from past years. I like the question part - the answers you wrote ended up being helpful. The cost to file is more with your online program than purchasing the software, and i was surprised at how much you wanted to file the taxes. I ended up filing online with E-file. Thanks for providing this service. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy I am mailing my Fed return and your program won't allow me to e-file my state, so I may incur a penalty. Your program didn't handle interest that is taxable for Fed and non-taxable for TN State correctly. I checked the correct button but it didn't work. In fact for the $605 in interest, it upped my state tax by almost $400----WOW! I had to do a work-around to get the state return correct. I played $79.98 for the program and was surprised that you wanted an additional $24.99 to e-file state. Ridiculous! March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IT ACTUALLY WORKS BEEN USING IT FOR 8 YEARS NOW.MY WIFE HAS A SMALL BUSINESS SHE RUNS OUT OF OUR HOUSE.BEFORE TURBO WE USED AN ACCOUNTANT FOR $350.00.BOUGHT TURBO FROM BJ'S HAD TO ENTER MY PERSONAL STUFF ONCE IT DOES IT AUTOMATICALLY AS SOON AS I START A NEW RUTURN. I LET TURBO STEP ME THROUGH IT ALL SO I DONT MISS ANYTHING.I CAN GO BACK AND RECHECK ALL MY DEDUCTIONS.YOU STILL HAVE TO ENTER IT ALL JUST LIKE WITH A CPA.ONLY I CAN HAVE A COLD BEER WHILE I LET MY WIFE TELL ME WHAT TO ENTER.THEY EVEN FILE BOTH FED AND STATE. April 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product, but prices are going up I've been a loyal Turbotax user for 15+ years. First, just recently I believe that their data breach affected my brother as bogus returns were filed under his name. Dealing with that is a pain in the rear, plus he was never contacted to receive any credit watch services. Secondly, they now require that you upgrade to Home & Business in order to file a simple Schedule C when you are not issuing 1099's. The cost difference between that and what I normally paid was about $50. Next year, I'm shopping around. August 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as good as last year's version Have used Turbo tax for many years. Found this year's version of the software significantly more difficult to use, and less informative than past years. More "strange questions", with little or no guidance as to the significance of various answer choices. Online help significantly less helpful! Often just a link to the pertinent IRS publication (I CAN find that on my own for free!). Forms input more disorganized & difficult to find & edit. Re-entry of new data into a form more difficult than in the past. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just a couple of glitches Turbotax makes doing taxes a breeze, but I had two glitches this year. I had bought the basic and upgraded to home and business when i couldn't find a way to enter my self-employed health insurance. Even though the program supposedly updated, I still couldn't find a way. After I closed and reopened the program, it worked. The second glitch was Turbotax told me I needed vouchers to pay estimated state tax next year but it did not provide the vouchers. i will have to find them on a state website, I guess. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbotax never gets it for the past 5 years I have come to expect that the Help section of TT will get poorer . It NEVER improves. Now the trend is for the Search function to be so literal that it cant find anything you want unless someone tells you the exact keywords to use. the help sections are now entirely based on questions asked by others, and some still dont have answers in TT. I am extremely unhappy about the loss of a workable Help, because ease of use was a very large part of why I became a customer many years ago. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was a pretty painless process This must be at least the 10th time I've used Turbotax and I feel highly confident in the accuracy of my return. Still, I would have liked the opportunity to list charitable donations with more flexibility than I was offered. For example, I purchased and donated several items out of my pocket for a non-profit but on my return they look like I donated something I bought for myself and valued it at current cost. I am concerned this might raise unnecessary questions. I would have like more flexible options. March 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Being told by email updates were ready but aren't! Completed my taxes yesterday (Monday) and was told that I couldn't file because of some needed updates. An email came this morning stating that the updates were ready and would appear when I opened my files. My files still state the original message and when I try to update it doesn't happen. Sounds like something about 'the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing.' Should I have ignored the message I received this morning or what? Should I go to H&R Block or TaxAct or can you fix my situation? February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiet Way to do Taxes The 2014 Turbo Tax seemed easier to use than ever. The income on investments was easy to use and this year's version did not hiccup on auto expenses like it has in the past. We always find Turbo easy for self-employment, and this year I was able to figure out my un-reimbursed employee expenses. We do not itemize and take the standard deduction. We have used Turbo from when it first came out. In Colorado it is very easy to do your state on the dept of revenue website, so the state function seems too pricy. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply put - - TurboTax is simply outstanding! I've been using TurboTax every year since it was first published over 20 years ago, and I wouldn't even think of using any other tax software for personal taxes. It is a simple, straight-forward, step-by-step format that checks every tax category. It couldn't be easier to use. Then it re-checks everything before sending it to the federal and state tax commissioners. And you can get your refunds back promptly - - if you use the included e-file system. I highly recommended it to my friends and associates. August 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes Done! TurboTax takes you through every possible income and deductible option. I love how it makes sure that you have entered all your information- right down to the addresses of places you made your donations! I feel so confident that I have not missed anything. I always run it twice to make sure I did not enter a number incorrectly- great peace of mind! I also love how it compares everything to your previous return- and if you don't complete something you did in the past it asks you why. :) Thank you, TurboTax! February 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Form 4562 problems Found form 4562 unbearable. If you don't depreciate exactly as Turbo Tax wants you to, it is useless. Had same trouble last year. Found it impossible to add new items purchased in 2014 to depreciate. Do not plan to pay extra for Home and Business in the future since we had to download 4562 last year and this year in order to complete depreciation. We take a less aggressive depreciation which Turbo does not understand. Will consider what we do next year. By hand is easier than the past two years with Turbo. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Darn Good I used Turbo Tax for the first time in 2015 and was pretty darn happy. Compared to the $500 I paid my tax guy last year, it was a bargain. My payment was a little less than last year, so I am confident that I got all the deductions possible. Doing things myself helped me to learn a few things and also will help me to prepare for next tax season better. I can see where my old tax guy was cutting corners to get me in and out fast...now I can take control of things myself and get the most deductions possible. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick returns I do a few returns for Americans residing in Switzerland. I have problems using the step by step for the foreign tax credit and generally end up going to the forms and filling them up. The step by step could easily suggest amount that are already in the system. Sometimes I see figures added twice on the 1116 and I have to correct them. When I have a specific question I have a VERY hard time getting an answer. I would not mind paying 30 or 50$ just to get a quick answer or precise directions. Thanks Ben February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocky start I began using TurboTax perhaps 20 years ago. I have loved it and return every year. This years product seemed to be riddled with concerns in the beginning. Normally I like to do a preliminary look at my results by plugging in the answers both known and unknown. It began with wondering if I even had the same version I've used in the past. I have some rental, some Sch C. I was surprised about how I struggled with the initial attempts. In the end I think it worked out well. I shall return again with my 2015. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could be better As I have been using Tubro Tax since 2000. I am a fan of such and plan to keep using it. But when the forms ask for your state and Zip, with full knowelege that you live overseas, it does not work. With out a back up US address, it would not be possible to complete the forms. Also, very difficult to find the place to enter the fact that you want to claim the foreign living exclusions, even though it knows your foreign address from the previous year. Everything from prior year comes up automatic except this! March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by You gets a "B" The entry of ESPP share sales and other investment transactions is very good now; much improved over some previous years. However, guidance for recording contributions to Roth and Traditional IRAs still needs improvement: Employer-sponsored 401(k) info gets entered via W2 entry, but it's not clear whether those contributions count toward the maximum annual contributions. I had to refer to other documents to be (fairly# certain that my contributions to my employer's Roth 401#k) count towards my annual limit. April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by First Time Disappointment in 6 years First time I ever had a problem with turbo tax. I couldn't clear the error. So I emailed my file to my sister and saved to another computer. Used her Turbo Tax to finish my filing for my return. But I also did my cousins return that I had to pay $10 for schedule C since she has here own business as a cosmetologist. I kept skipping the final review because it was stuck in a loop. Finally got to the end but still unsure if all items are in good state. I will be sending her filing through the mail. News at 11. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Filing could have been better It would have been extremely helpful if TTax would provide me explanation/tips on how entering a number(positive or negative) in each line would affect my taxes. Also in same places TTax tells me to enter a zero or leave the item blank if the situation doesn't apply to me or I have zero amout. It should be consistent and tell me ahead of time what I should enter as per IRS requirement i.e enter my response as zero or it will automatically fill in a zero or not applicable or leave it blank as required by IRS. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by turbo tax limitations i had to learn from a third party that i could pay my taxes and efile at same time. i could have filed weeks earlier if u had only explained my choices. i did not want to tell the irs about quarterly estimated filing for 2015. My tax year 2014 was unusual and I do not have to file quarterly estmated taxes but your program would not let me do that. i am very disappointed and will probably get a call from the irs or at least additionl mailings. this coiuld easily been avoided if your program was more flexible. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax is a great way to file taxes. I love that it guides me through all of the areas of income and possible deductions. I filed my state taxes free through the state tax website as I didn't want to pay $50 extra to Turbo Tax ($25x2 because we file separately). I would like to be able to enter prior year city tax manually to help complete my current year, as we file that jointly and it doesn't correspond correctly through Turbo Tax since we file Fed and State separately. Otherwise, it's a great product. April 8, 2015
  • 2015-09-04T11:41:21.778-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-258, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12923, tr_12923
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 256 257 258 259 260 ... 298 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.