1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 20 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 897 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home and Business Turbo Tax I have used Turbo Tax for years and never had a problem. It is very user friendly and covers everything you need. We went to have them done 2 years ago at the H&R at Walmart. There were several things extra and I wanted to make sure my return was right. He charged us almost $400 and had two errors. He had a wrong amount and forgot our estimated taxes paid. We sat there and he had the estimated taxes and confirmed them with us. I got home to compare it to the one I did on Turbo Tax. After making the corrections the one I did was correct. We wasted $400. I contacted H & R to tell them of these errors as one was in our favor and one was in their favor. He entered a wrong amount on my 1099R for the Post Office. He didn't miss anything going over it with us but he talked so much about himself and his other job that he screwed our taxes up. They never replied or apologized.. I will continue to do them for $70 and know they are right. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Season Made Simple for My Family Since 1999 I have used Turbo Tax every year since 1999 and it is always the same reliable software. It's easy to use, just answer the questions, review and file. It takes longer to collect all of the documents needed than it does to file your taxes with Turbo Tax. The only down side is if you have to correct an error, instead of taking you back to the original question, Turbo Tax opens a small window showing you the form. I've never been comfortable just typing into the form so I go back and try to find the section where I first made the mistake then go forward from there. Although I do wish Turbo Tax would change that one portion of the software, this one headache is not enough to make me ditch them during Tax Season. I don't understand why anyone would pay 100's of dollars to have their taxes prepared when Turbo Tax makes it so easy. Because we can file multiple returns with one program, I help my adult children with their taxes too. Turbo Tax even brings the kids home for Tax Season! February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid tax software that reliably finds deductions This Year: The new options for home office deductions should have been covered at the beginning in the Home & Business edition. Because I was blind-sided by it, it wasted a lot of my time in having to go repeatedly to the help options; a rabbit hole I am never pleased to dive into. Loss carry-forwards should transfer to the current year, automatically. Better yet, a declarative statement that they do or do not apply to the return being worked on. The choice to have the audit protection and other fees taken from the refund sounded good, until I read the terms of service agreement. They reveal this option to be a huge security and privacy violation, with an extra handling fee to boot. After refusing to accept that, a lot more of my time was wasted getting the credit cards entered. Please, pay more attention to the time it takes your clients to get the job done when using your software. While I have a love/hate relationship with the software due to the needless wasting of my time, I do not trust any other software to accurately file my taxes or find so many deductions as Intuit products. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kudos for Susan H. Seasonal Tax Support Specialist Re: Susan H. Seasonal Tax Support Specialist We did not get a request for a survey of Susan H's attempt the solve our problem, as Susan indicated we might. However, we do want to give her Top KUDOS. Susan was not only professional and product savvy, she was also very patient and pleasant. She worked closely and encouragingly with my husband David, trying to copy our Turbo Tax 2014 onto a thumb drive from an old Windows XP program. Susan made enough attempts with explanations as she went, that after time well spent, we started to understand enough of how and what Susan was trying to accomplish. So after hanging up with her, we decided to shut everything down and start over. My husband went through her instruction step by step again and it worked. We had already spent a couple full days trying to get 2014 Home & Business downloaded onto our new computer with Windows10. We needed to transfer and secure the carryovers and the business assets to our Turbo Tax 2015 along with other applicable information. Naturally, I lost everything I had already loaded into 2015, and, yes I had to start all over. But I did so with a big smile on my face and mentally thanking Susan H and my husband a zillion times for their patience and understanding of my problem. Susan H was, in our opinion, a God sent. Thank you. February 6, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2nd & Possible LAST Use of TurboTax My SS# was stolen last year. (Only after filing last year's taxes did I find out that someone had fraudulently filed a return with my SS#.) My life was turned upside down & the IRS gave me a unique PIN to be used for this year. With the amount of required questions that need to be answered in TurboTax, whether for personal information or tax related questions, A QUESTION ASKING IF YOU HAVE BEEN A VICTIM OF TAX RELATED IDENTITY THEFT SHOULD BE MANDATORY. We finished almost every question this year, all the way til the very end of the File tab, just waiting for it, and never saw a question asking for my special IRS pin number. To our good fortune, we went back through & found where it was hiding. Thankfully we did not submit our return without it, otherwise it would have been kicked back by the IRS. What a terrible mess that would have been! With the amount of identity theft, A QUESTION LIKE THIS NEEDS TO BE A REQUIREMENT. We may not use TurboTax next year bec of this glaring omission. If you've ever experienced tax fraud, you know what I mean. Considering the amount of questions that I had to answer, even as a returning user, I just couldn't believe a simple yes/no question like this didn't exist. If yes, then it goes to a series of simple questions. If the answer is no, no harm done to the user (you just move on with the next question). BUT, not submitting the unique (and required) PIN given to you by the IRS for when you file, could have been a really terrible thing. Please (please!) rethink this. February 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mature and complete Between having a brokerage account and an ESPP and a husband who is a self-employed artist who also does 1099 and W2 jobs from time to time, my taxes have gotten a bit more complicated than I would like. Fortunately, Turbo Tax makes the tax preparation as painless as possible. If only the bookkeeping that it depends on were so easy... For most aspects of my return, detailed step-by step is for the novices and just fill in the answer is for those who already know what to enter. The opposite is true for ESPP. It's nice that both choices are there, including both the raw tax forms themselves and one or in some sections two levels of detail step-by-step assistance. In the case of ESPP, the most detailed level of assistance is confusing, because as you go through it, you don't know what assumptions TT is making or what it will do with the information. It's also kind of repetitive. OTOH, the less detailed data entry method (still within the step-by-step interface) is just right - it follows the values on the 1099-B, so as long as your financial institution got it right, you'll be fine. If you make a mistake, it's generally pretty easy to go back and fix it, even if it means removing data entered down one step-by-step path. Of course, it's always nice to get a refund. :-) I'm getting caught up on several years' worth of returns, and I don't remember which version had it, but there was a glitch with adding rows for ESPP entries - the display would only display the new rows, not the ones you already entered. But if I went back to the list of sections and started over, it would display all of the rows. January 11, 2016
  • 2016-02-13 T06:39:00.032-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-20, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_897, tr_897
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2015, prod, sort_default
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.