1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 118 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax has gone downhill over the years Turbo Tax has gone downhill over the years. I have been using this product continuously since 1998 and have seen a general degrading of the product, particularly in the state income tax portion. Only from years of experience in using the product can a person find and correct these errors. While OK for the average tax filing, it's definitely deficient in multiple areas for the person filing a more complicated tax return. Still, for the average person, it's OK. March 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by You Messed up I hate what you did, We bought Turbo Tax deduction & homeowner deluxe and I couldn't use it with upgrading to Home & Business (granted that was free) But I didn't realize I was completing my return Online. That made me extremely unhappy. Preparing my Tax Returns this year was more confusing then ever. If you don't switch back 'Turbo Tax deduction & homeowner deluxe' to the way it was I don't believe I will use Turbo Tax next year. Clean up your mess,,,,, Please March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 stars because 5 would mean I didn't need it... I have used the home and business version of this product for several years. It has been my go-to tax prep software for 10 years. I'm comfortable with the interface, which has improved over time. I didn't even have to go into the help menu this year. Turbotax asks me about expenses I would have forgotten, which lowers my overall tax. My history with the program means the mundane "who are you" stuff is filled in already. I'll be using turbotax next year as well. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by buying the download helped me compare MFS to MFJ I have used Turbo Tax for over a decade and this was the first year that our returns were more complicated than I thought I could handle. It took some time and a lengthy phone call to support (Hi Leslie!!) but saved me a lot of time and money by not having to go to a tax preparer or fill out 3 separate returns to compare Married Filing Jointly to Married Filing Separately. For some reason I found it very hard to locate the refund/owing amounts. Maybe it was because I had been working on it so long. I also had a lot of trouble getting the download to open on my computer. But, the support was there. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always works for me. I have used TurboTax for many years now and it's always worked fine for me. I love the step by step instructions and the help is also very good for me. However, I don't like the fact that we were forced to use the more expensive business version to file our Farm Income schedule. If it hadn't been for you letting us upgrade the Deluxe version for free, I probably would have used a different vendor for my software and if it is like that next year, I probably will. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax 2014 superior to Turbotax 2013 From the start, one gets the impression of a program that takes the user's needs seriously. Moving from step to step is a breeze. Complicated subjects are dealt with in adequate depth. At some point I had to call support. The technician was polite, very attentive and helpful. He helped me solve the problem, which was one of my typing in an incorrect address. Overall, I dare say that doing the taxes this year was made a pleasant task, thanks to the Turbotax 2014. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by taxes made easy love turbo tax but some of the directions need improvements and an easier way to back out of or change a mistake instead of continually pushing you to finish wth information concerning that paticular item especially in the review when it took me to a section that i filled out last year in error and had to send in an amended return.when filling out turbo tax this year it never asked me about it untill it did the review check and i could not ignore it or delete it. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy way to step through the gruesome tax task. You'll love the flexibility of organizing all your information electronically. I used to go through all the paperwork and chore of organizing tax information on paper to get it ready for a tax preparation service that seemed like they kept charging more and more every year for not so great service and results. Started using Turbo in 2011 and it has been a very convenient way to take care of the wonderful obligation of being a good citizen and filing tax returns. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than an accountant I have used TurboTax since the 1980s, when it was MacInTax, with the exception of a few years when I took my taxes to an accountant. For any the but most complicated situations (such as complicated ISO/NQ grants, complex real estate, etc.) it is actually faster and easier than using an accountant, because the main challenge in both cases is keeping track and adding up all your income and expenses. Data entry is no big deal, and it is certainly much less expensive! February 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use For nearly 20 years I've used Turbo Tax and it has always included Schedule C for a small business. This year it was taken out and I was required to get the Home and Business edition, for nearly three times the cost. Very disappointing. This will probably be my last year using Turbo Tax. It's just too expensive for what I get when there are several other less expensive options out there. Very sad. Heaven forbid that you'd get a decent product for a reasonable cost. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by pretty good Much easier and more thorough than I expected; automatically populates fields on other forms after data is entered once;Easy to go back and review & edit or complete sections later. a few rough spots were reconciled quickly using the help buttons and the forum; I'd rather have the state e-filing fee included in the overall price -- additional payments just never leave a good feeling. Other than that, I was really impressed and will probably do this again next year. February 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good except for interface with W2/W3 It would be perfect if it weren't for the program's erroneous assumption that you will be filing your 1040 with Sched H before you file the household employee's W2. As a result the program acts as though Schedule H is the basis of W2/W3, instead of the other way around. That would never happen because the deadline for W2 is always before the deadline for 1040. This same flaw has existed in the program for years. Why don't they fix it? It's very irritating for people who have household employees. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, bad, ugly Negative reviews made me apprehensive. To use this product, I had to buy the Home and Business version. Because of health issues I had to file early and only used the product because I am familiar with it and needed to finish before scheduled surgery. It will require thought before I purchase next year's package. H & R Block would have been my choice after hearing problems but since I needed to file early, it made my choice unnerving at a stressful time of the year. February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by STRESS RELIEVER I have always been afraid of doing taxes for fear of mistakes and audits by the IRS if I did it wrong. Turbo Tax took all that anxiety away and allowed me to complete my own taxes without paying someone else to do it for me - even though I completed all the prep work myself and they just had to fill in the blanks. This is my second year of preparing my own taxes and the confidence I feel after having Turbo Tax do all the checks and balances is substantial. Thank you February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modify the way "Joint Ownership" forms are generat IRS says "I can apportion, by %, my share of income and expenses for my business that I jointly own with my wife. It would be much simpler to enter all expense and income (Totals) then multiply the business by each's share... and let TT generate the forms. I must do it manually now, then "mail" my fed return instead of taking advantage of electronic filing. As currently programmed, I must apply %'s to all entries, a lot of hassle and then TT generates the forms... February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by mflintreview03022015 I've been with Turbotax over 15 years and am comfortable with the product. Your price increase was offset by the $25 rebate for upgrading. Still a bargain for the familiarity and ease of use. I will use your product again in the future, unless extraordinarily expensive. Keep the price competitive and you will always have a loyal customer base. The process could use a few more "save points" during the process to ensure no previously entered information has been lost. March 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by NY e-file FAILS NY e-file fails because- I put in a blank 1099R as $0.00 & $0.00 tax, as a holding place for an investment that I took no RMD; as would be required because; all RMD had been taken from the other location IRA investments. I have taken more than the total RMD required for me, from the other IRA investment. Turbotax needs to clarify that only list 1099R that one has received. Do not use holding place to help determine ones investment names & RMD amounts. Also: TURBOTAX could add a RMD calculator like some web-sites have available to their investment clients. DantheMan101 March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Home Business I have used Turbo Tax for about 3 or 4 years now. I used to do my own taxes back in the pre-Internet days and this is a definite improvement. There was also a time when I hired a tax accountant. TT & the accountant pretty much cost the same amount,but I like the exercise of doing it myself and reviewing my annual expenditures and income. It helps me keep track of my money and investments and think about where it all goes. Plus you really feel like you’ve accomplished something when you get it done. Thanks, Turbo Tax. March 21, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not too swift Con #1 Does not address the renting of a house to family members as "not for profit" This is a common situation and should have been included in the questions asked. Con#2 I was all the way finished with federal and state (Illinois) and printed a copy to check before e-filing only to discover "Form not final Do not file" written on the state form. Before starting the state portion there should have been a notification that Illinois had not yet finalized their forms. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Home and Business Turbo Tax is quite user friendly. All you have to do is enter the information requested, and it does the rest. I especially like how it computes depreciation expenses automatically. It would be nice if it had an index at the start so you could go directly to a spot you were previously working on instead of having to go through each page again when you try to choose what you want to work on. The program saves me many hours and much research. I will continue to use it. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reorder a hassle I've been using TurboTax for many, many years. It makes the arcane tax code comprehensible. Even went to a CPA this past year to see if I could benefit from professional advice. The CPA reviewed my last two years returns and said, "Looks like you are doing pretty good yourself." My only, very minor gripe, is that this year at the very end when I went to order my TurboTax for year, it took me to a webpage that was confusing and acted like TurboTax didn't even know me. March 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Problems with business taxes Did not carry over business loss or income on Schedule C, had to type it in. Did not say that 1099 was entered, even though all expenses for the business were already entered and accounted for. If you updated the 1099 information which didn't carry over, it doubled it. I had to download the Premium Turbo Tax to do my business this year for an extra $40.00, and had always used the Deluxe before. I am not happy with Turbo Tax and have been using this product since 1998. February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty simple to use I like the program overall but it was very frustrating and annoying when it kept asking information at the end about the carryover worksheet when I had to information to input any way. I kept trying to put "0's" but it still wanted like a state abbreviation so until I went to the questions answered by the community of people giving their answers I was able to put something although it was unnecessary. This "glitch" should be fixed. Other than that it was pretty simple. February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets the job done I like TurboTax. I have been using it for over 10 years. The only complaint is the navigation thru the step by step when going back to check entries. It is frustrating to re-answer interview questions every time you go back through. The responses are saved in some cases and not in other. Other than that I am familiar with the software and I like how it copies my previous years return. I will continue to use it as long as the price is reasonable and the navigation easy. March 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lots of added expenses I purchased TurboTax Deluxe Homeowners and then had to upgrade to business (small, self-proprietor business with no employees, no inventory, etc. and still had to upgrade). Had to then pay $60 for audit defense, $40 for an additional state, $40 more to e-file the two states. I am in this for more than $200 and probably could have had a tax person do the entire thing for about $100. I have used TurboTax for over 10 years and it is getting too expensive to continue using. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use! We recently opened our own business and I was dreading having to pay someone to do our taxes... a friend recommended TurboTax, I bought the home/small business program and followed all the prompts... of course, I had to organize my receipts but I now know this little secret for next year! It took me a little longer than the EZ that I was used to but in the end I had done a long form with two different schedules! I feel like I may have learned a thing or two about taxes! February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbotax 2014 review Turbo tax had serious problems this year. 1. Issue of which program to use--finally opened by Turbo tax. I chose the more expensive one to be sure of the right program for me. 2. Poor downloads, especially for its deductible. Sort of fixed by Turbo tax, but not listed in the point by point program has having worked. When I tried to download a second time, would not work. Finally found the fixed download had actually worked by checking the FORMS. So a klunky program this year. March 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Regular User I have been using Turbotax for many years now - I don't know how many, but since the 90s. I have always found it fluid and helpful though occasionally frustrating when you want to do something simple and it drags through 15 steps and requires information that won't be used (such as depreciation and vehicle expenses when one just wants to claim mileage). It has gotten smoother, but based on changes in pricing and product this year, I will be rethinking my software choice. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to understand and to negotiate my way around It is laid out in an intuitive way and is largely easy to either be led from piece to piece or skip around as necessary. Explanations are clear and whenever I had a question, that would be anticipated and a clear explanation awaited me, which sometimes included an IRS link. I greatly appreciated the detailed help with deductions and the "smartcheck" that looked for audit red flags. Since I have been using TurboTax for federal income tax returns, I have never been audited. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes dealing with the IRS a breeze All-in-all I really like Turbo Tax. I've been using it since 2003. I do wish that the state e-file would be included in the purchase price, but I realize that not all states have income tax, but perhaps versions could be sold by state that do include it. The interview method makes getting all my forms together easy - I've been doing it long enough now I pretty well know in what order I will need which data, so I prepare my folder of paper forms etc ahead of time. Overall, I really like the product. March 20, 2015
  • 2015-03-27T12:37:50.521-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-118, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_5983, tr_5983
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 116 117 118 119 120 ... 135 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.