1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 116 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 not as good as 2013 I did not like having to by your upgrade before I could even start my returns. Bought product I always did shopped for the best price at the time, that was a waste of my time since I had to pay your fee. Some things on the new program I did not need more steps to go thru... I have used this for years, but not sure if I feel the same trust in turbo tax anymore with all the stories in the new about turbo tax. March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I picked up TurboTax Deluxe as I have done for the last 17 years. Only to find out that to do a Schedule C, I needed to upgrade to Personal and Small Business. After I returned the Deluxe and purchased the Personal and Small Business, I then receive an email that you made changes to the Deluxe to include the Schedule C (which had been included for the last 17 years.) Please don't change this again next year. February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still worth it... Missed the formerly easy opt out of schedule 1065 balance sheet. It took a long time to figure out how to get rid of the error message that resulted from a balance sheet discrepancy when a balance sheet was not even required. Error check said there were "explanations" required for very small amounts of money; all I could provide for an explanation was "I have no idea what this is". I believe most of this is related to ever increasing insanity of the tax code rather than shortcomings for TurboTax, but failure to include the balance sheet opt out - which has been there in previous years - was a puzzling and time consuming omission. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! As usual! Great product. Very easy, quick, and accurate! Only one area of improvement: input more data from last year's information and/or have side by side comparisons during input process of data. Having a review at the end is great. But if information is very similar to last year, it would be great to see the information right then to make sure no errors are being accidentally entered. Thank you for a great product! February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Software Change Required? I have always used the Premier version to do investments. Last year I also entered a K-1 business form with the Premier software; but- this year I had to purchase (after I had already entered my information in the Premier version I purchased) the Home and Business software for $10 more to enter my K-1 information. I was then unsure if I was getting the same help and guidance as I was with the Premier version. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sale of Rent House I sold one of my rent houses and checked the box that I had disposed of it. I was waiting for Turbo Tax to ask about the details of the sale, but it seemed to act as if it did not happen, I had to Google 'rent house sale reporting Turbo Tax' to discover what I had to do. Once that box (sale) is checked, the program should eventually inquire about the sale. It did not. I had to initiate it. Could work on that. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I am happy to give TurboTax a fantastic review. I have had professionals do my taxes for me for the last several years and the expense kept getting higher and higher ($500). I am so happy that I bit the bullet and tried (successfully I might add) to do them myself this year! I'm still getting around the same amount back and I learned something new in the process. I will never pay someone else to do them AGAIN! March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Way To File Your Taxes I dread doing my taxes each year, having multiple jobs as well as my own business. With TurboTax you get to understand every element of what is required to do your taxes and what you can and cannot deduct. This is my third year using TurboTax and have talked my brother and S-I-L into using it this year. they got a larger refund without having to pay the going rate for a professional preparer to do it for them. February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised It had been a long time since I had last used TurboTax. As a business owner, I figured taxes would be too complicated to get it all done correctly. All I can say is that if you have your paperwork in order and ready to go to the tax professional, spend a little time on your computer and get it all done yourself and save a few hundred dollars. I used TurboTax for mac - despite the negative comments from some people, I had absolutely no problem with it and am well pleased with how it all went. Thanks. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Done again. Turbo Tax is always great to use. I recently started a small side business. Using the business edition is a little confusing for me. I only want to write off my equipment purchases and mileage but the program makes me go through things such as my car payments, home office and such. I just answer a lot of extra questions that take more time for me. I guess the extra time is okay if it gets me the maximum refund. March 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as good as last year back ground questions were not saved, so when I wanted to review or edit previously answered questions the information was not retained and had to be completely re entered. I also thought it was pretty lame when i would get a generic statement like- Great! your deduction of Zero dollar has been applied to your return. no Free state return- lame also- this my be the deciding factor on switching products that files state free. March 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unhappy with change in software versions I have used TurboTax for many years and have been very happy with the program but was unhappy to learn the Schedules C & D were no longer going to be included in the Deluxe version I have always used. I am glad you upgraded the Turbo Tax advantage users to include the Schedules C & D but am unhappy you even decided to take them out of the Homeowner's version. I will looking at other tax software for next year. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Making the complicated easy -- once again I have been using TurbTax for years and it continues to get easier and more straight forward. The fact that it can transfer information from the previous year's forms is a real time saver. Every year, I have had to call and get at least one point clarified (usually due to some weird issue with my situation) and the help has been uniformly friendly and helpful. I will continue to recommend TurboTax to my friends. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great process I've been using TurboTax since 1999 to do my taxes. Today I was able to do the returns on my self and my wife in 4 hours - Federal and State on each of us. And that included her rental property any my side business. By just having all the materials collected ahead of time the process of entering everything is quick - and I don't have to worry about making my own math errors. I plan to continue on with TurboTax. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better Each Year Have been using TT much of my adult life and have only run into one problem. It was a human error and was difficult to correct because I couldn't get into the actual document. It took 3 tries to figure it out but it wasn't TT's fault. I like to use TT to do my taxes at my leisure and TT provides me a means to do this. TT also explains each item in as much detail as necessary for you to make an educated decision. February 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lottery Losses I won $5004 in the PA lottery. Because the amount was more than $5000 they deducted $1201 in Federal income taxes. Which I declared on my Federal return. But nowhere does TurboTax allow me to deduct the COSTS for this win. You have no means to allow me to deduct the cost of losing tickets, or the mileage costs to go buy the tickets. Which I assure you was greater than the amount I won. I believe you owe me $1201. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Completed Home and Businsess Return Once the program was installed, it worked flawlessly, guiding me through each section. I have used Turbo Tax for 4 years now. I didn't like the way Intuit split up Turbo Tax into many different programs. It clearly was a monetary decision. The program would not install as easily as in years gone by. My google search showed that I was not the only one with that problem. However once I got it installed it worked flawlessly. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRS IP Pin Had to repeatedly enter both IRS Pin & IRS IP PIN for wife before they were saved in 1040. 1st filed 1040 was rejected because IRS IP Pin was blank. Had to enter PINs 3 different times before they were retained in the 1040. Also various changes were not retained in the form, i.e. my review showed 11 problems. I fixed them & they still needed fixing on the next review. Also the "walk me thru everything" in this years 1040 left a lot of stuff out., which I had to go back thru & add. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User Friendly Software I've been using Turbo Tax since it came out. I was a little shocked this year that I had to buy the home and business version to complete my tax return. That hurt my pocket book a little. Over all the return was accomplished with a minimum of fuss. I appreciate the "free" Federal E-file privilege. I also appreciate the fact my federal information feeds my state return so I don't have to go through all of it twice. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best I have used this software for the past four years. I will never change to anything else. Very easy to deal with and I always received a good refund with the assurance of not getting audited but if I do, they are there to help. This one was a bit difficult for me this year because we had a lot going on with selling a house and my wife new business. But all in all, this is the best tax SW. I'm stuck on TurboTax lol. February 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Confusing Very confusing to me to correct errors when all that is asked is to review figure. Some figures were calculated for me and I didn't know how to answer the question. I could not find a way to go back to the "walk me through" section to help me make the corrections of the "error" section. Also, something happened when I close down for a rest and my return wound up in the "trash". I had a professional find it for me. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love TurboTax I've been using TurboTax to file my taxes since 2002. I have never had an issue with this product. I have heard horror stories from others that have paid other companies to file their taxes. I am an accountant so I do know some things about taxes, but I have also taught others to use TurboTax & they have businesses & no accounting background. It is so easy if you follow the steps and answer the questions correctly. February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 taxes This program is easy to follow and does not have many surprises. The only suggestions I have is to make it a bit easier to navigate to print the return. Seems to me one would wish to print and review with one's own eyes prior to electronic filing. Secondly, the turbo tax summary sheet that covers the return shows a penalty/interest of $19.00 for which there is NO explanation not can I find why this amount is there. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised (and costly) switch Will have to give a lot of thought about going with Turbo tax next year due to the "Con" listed above. My very small business just doesn't demand that much "power" that the Home/business level program offers. I also like the comparison on previous years - I have been a very happy customer since 2007. Rather than a "10 star" happiness rating -out of 10 - I would be an 8.5 or 9. Obviously pleased - just disappointed. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Somewhat Less than Standard I have been a Turbo Tax user for 20 years and this year's version was not up to your usual standard when entering information. In the charity donations section it would not allow a new entry for some reason. Later, I entered a $1,500 donation and the amount displayed was $875? I solved the problem by deleting the entry and adding the amount to another entry. Several situations where the same type of thing happened. February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have used Turbo Tax for 20 years I have been using Turbo Tax for my personal taxes, my business taxes after I started small business, and along with other intuit products, to be book-keeper of my and family business and seamlessly prepare personal, small business, and corporate taxes. Do not lose copies of your previous data!!! Keep 3 or 4 copies, otherwise you lose track of business assets and expenses and preparing taxes will become a nightmare. March 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by K-1 Trap I've used Turbotax Deluxe for years and used Schedule C for consulting. This time tried Home & Business and it insisted on having a non-existent K-1. It took my money to e-file and then refused to e-file my return even after I deleted the K-1 form (as one Help clue suggested). After half hour chasing this problem on the web it clearly has been a known problem for a year or more. I printed my return and mailed it in. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy personal and business I've used TTax for over ten years and it seems to get easier. I appreciate that TTax doesn't change its interface (a lot), so that I am spending time on the Taxes and not learning an new interface. This is the first year that the company I work for used the electronic w2 service, and worked well for me. I also noticed that the working examples seemed to be tailored to me, particularly in the business deduction area. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy & Disappointed Would like to see more of an ongoing review of how certain postings change the plus or minus of taxes. Also with deductions, would not like to wait till the end for the plus or minus figures, but after each deduction or entry with an ongoing explanation. Also for a very small business (e.g. mine) would like to see the possibility of filing without going to the Business version (just Home) with obvious less expense. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy excellent, easy to follow and input data as asked. I apparently misunderstand the details on one free state filing fee. $19.99 + is two much to justify getting the refund in 2 or 3 weeks instead of waiting 8 weeks after filing manually. I will look at other vendors next year. $80 for turbo tax for personal and small business is higher than other vendors + having to pay an additional 19.99+ to file the state return. February 6, 2015
  • 2015-03-29T12:36:10.127-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-116, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_6204, tr_6204
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 114 115 116 117 118 ... 139 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.