1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy to navigate
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice software - too many fees at the end If there are going to be multiple fees for additional states, and/or audit defense then allow users to make the charge at the end. Also, please include all e-file fees in the initial purchase price. It's annoying to have to pay this additional fee every year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Procrastinator's Dream It comes together easily & quickly, but after doing it with the forms, I always wonder if I/TT have missed anything - especially when I don't see a refund I had hoped for (but did not expect)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Customer Service Customer Service Reps are fantastic, patient with my technological challenges, great problem solvers. TurboTax is fairy easy to use by following all the steps and answering all the guided questions. I found it difficult to eliminate a Schedule-C from my return when I realized it was not necessary. I would like to have access to a few more explanations of some questions to determine if they apply to me. I like having access to prior returns if needed, and appreciate the added security features.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easier Every Year! I am a small business owner and have used Turbo Tax for business (an S Corp with Employees) as well as for personal taxes for all but one of the past 7 years. Turbo Tax was actually more thorough than the CPA firm I worked with one year. Because I can take my time, and click and read the extra information/explanations provided by Turbo Tax, I have been able to claim some deductions the CPA missed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I use the TurboTax to file my taxes since 2006, they are best.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huray it works!! Amazed when arrangements are made with IRS for payment schedule.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Piece of Cake We have had our returns done by an accountant for the last 18 years and this year was a rough year financially for us and just could't afford it. TurboTax was so easy to follow even with my side business. Very pleased and grateful that I finally gave it a try. Very pleased with the outcome.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax extraordinaire I've used Turbo Tax for years (over 12). Each year it carries over information from the previous year and sets things up for easy input or import for the new tax year's information already filled out. Just update the previous year's information and ensure it is still accurate. Easy whether you're doing a 1040 EZ or one with Schedule A deductions and business expenses.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly easy I have been using Turbo tax for over 10 years. The program is huge. That being said it is somewhat short on guidance. I wanted to know exactly where to enter my NOL information and got hung up, not knowing where to enter it under my business expenses. How about a simple help guide. The program is also a bit diffficult to make corrections. I actually had to delete an entry before I could correct it.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Tax Prep I did have one problem when I went to close down the app I did not manually save it before I closed it out and it did not give me the reminder as to SAVE or not, as a result I had to reenter some changes. This happened once last year as well, so there may be a glitch somewhere in that part of the program.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from needs to include filled-in form 8453 A FILLED-IN Form 8453 should be included for printing when indicated or requested.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filing Made Easy You need to have all of your information and a good understanding of your tax situation and the factors that affect your returns. Given that, the tool makes it very easy to enter and/or change your input until you get it right.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Straight-Forward It would be nice for regular users of Turbo Tax who have been using the product to get yearly downloadable version of the software.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings I have used TT for over 25 years. It has always had issues with K-1s, but it has gotten progressively worse. And support doesn't help at all. Every year since 2004, TT has tried to classify my K-1 as Real Estate related income. It is from my construction business. But I cannot complete the Sched E this year because it needs a property description and address.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Support! Had support assistance within a few minutes of requesting a call.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using Turbo Tax for years now. It is convenient and works well when you fill everything out completely.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from State form needs improvement for import Every year, I spend needless time (hours) trying to figure out what you are asking for in estimated State taxes paid in the past and owed in the future. You should be able to import the previous years information without litteraly having to get the information off a printed version. And if you do need to go to a printed version, Turbo should hint what line and form they are on.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbo thorough
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some Strange Errors The program worked very well until the error check. I kept getting errors stating that I had a value marked as estimated and to enter the correct number and remove the marking as estimated. I attempted to do this several times and kept getting the same failures. After about an hour, the errors mysteriously disappeared.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Appears that TurboTax (TT) likes me to have all my paperwork lined up, so that I go through a section only once. In my ideal world that would be nice. In Reality, I will go through sections multiple times. For Example I have 5 Rental properties, And the paperwork for the rentals will arrive on over several months. The 1098, 1099-int's, will arrive by February, and I like to post them as soon as I get them. Then the property management company will send us their report on the properties, my bookkeeper updates my books (quickbooks). When all 5 properties have been updated. I will then revisit the Rental property section. And enter the Profit and Loss information (Rents payments and Expenses). I then print the two year comparisons to check for errors. If I find any I will go back in and fix errors. And I do this for all sections. This is done to minimize the amount of time, I spend on doing taxes at any given moment This keeps me more alert on details. This may not be the most time efficient way to use turbotax. With the complexity of my taxes, and the complication of everything else I do I prefer this method. I find, that I am more likely to use to explore the tax links that you have available, and I research more on the IRS web site keeping informed on all the changes. When I do a marathon tax return; after a while, I don't care. I just want to get it done. Recapping: So why do I need to answer "What paper work do I need", "Do I spend 750 hours, or the other two question", as well as any other repeating question. take my answer once, allow me to change it if I need to
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awaiting Well, this is my third time to see if TT works, since the previous 2 years I paid for electronic filing, but had to run to the post office to mail my returns to federal and state governments as TT was unable to tell me how to fix the rejections.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 Business and Home worked great, easy to use and guided me effectively.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product...some minor glitches I have used Turbotax for many years(15+). Quirk with Efile verification. Wanted an issue date for my MO driver license. Mine is old enough that it does not have a issue date on it. Even by selecting it does not have it, it would not let me continue without one. Had to call State license office to get issue date in order to efile. Second issue is that it did not seem to provide right depreciation options for Heavy Duty trucks like I use on my farm. It led me down the listed property trail of questions when they do not apply to that type of vehicle. All in all, I believe it is a good product and I plan to continue using it in the future. Forgot to note I use the Home & Business boxed CD version.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Rocks! I have been using Turbo-Tax since it first came out too many year's ago to count! Being a former accountant, using Turbo-Tax makes filing a return a breeze. I use the Home & Business. Each year it picks up the information from the prior year, making it doubly easy to start a new return. For the 1st time this year I found out from phone support that it is super easy to try a scenario that compares filing jointly (married) vs. filing separately at the press of a button. Years ago, analysis like that took hours, if not days. Way to go! Thank you!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Time Extension Filing First time ever I filed for extension with an unusually stressful year as my dad's health declined and he died 2 weeks after regular tax due date. I was overwhelmed with my life so I'm grateful I had the resource of Turbo Tax to walk me through a filing extension. I did have to call for assistance on one issue but the agent was patient and resolved my question.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beats Manual Tax Return Prep I'll keep using it, but it seems like each year there is a struggle with the software to get it to correctly recognize and correctly treat estimated payments and payments made with extensions.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Program! I have always done my own taxes as a point of pride; I picked this up at Costco for a very reasonable price. It is terrific;I will be a user for the rest of my life. No question about it.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from speedy refund and accurate tax return Great program, have used this program now for 8 years. It has help me understand my tax life and to become more involved financially in my life with investments, spending money and saving for a rainy day. Great program, if you like doing it yourself it is user friendly and it will get you to the finish line. Great job Turbo Tax
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Are you kidding me? This shouldn't be this hard! Instructions are poorly written. Program failed to let me correct something I interpreted wrong due to these badly written instruction. I spent 2 1/2 hours on the phone with a very good and patient TT rep to fix all this nonsense thru work arounds.
Date published: 2017-10-16
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1534, tr_4115
  • loc_, sid_900_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.