1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easier than last year! I really appreciate the ease of transferring info from last year's taxes to this year's taxes. I didn't like not being able to pull up help/FAQ's most of the time. I also didn't like the time it took to close out my return and open my husband's return in order to accurately figure my community property adjustments. All in all though these things are minor annoyances and this software is great!! I will use again next year!!
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for basic stuff In general TurboTax is good, but it is not very well suited for things that are off the normal path. An example is the calculation of the foreign withhoding tax credit where TT is reducing the amount that can be credited for things that are clearly not related to the foreign income. There are also other quirks, why does TT think that I have farm income when I have stated that I have none (it does not affect the calculations, but it adds noise in the tax return).
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Time consuming Turbo Tax should ask most questions up front and not during the step by step system/(or work on selected tasks ), because it waste a lot of time re-answering the same irrelevant questions while reviewing, redoing, correcting or adding numbers.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great guide I love the way it explains issues!
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the first time I used Turbotax. I did it with confidence because of the assured support on line. I started with the on-line version and then decided to purchase a Premier version of the CD. I then upgraded to Home and Business version. I wish there was a way to transfer data from the desk top version to on-line version so I could have asked an expert CPA to review my taxes. I had to use an outside CPA to review and it cost me close to $530.00
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ROTH IRA PROBLEM 1. Question asked if I opened or had a Roth at the end of the year, should have been do I still have a balance in my Roth ! It took a while for me to see that you thought I had major Roth investment losses, which were shown on itemized deductions. In fact, no! 2. suggest you list property taxes for each jurisdiction so I can see for next year. Everything else is fine!
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Tax Return Program is easy to work with and very comprehensive. I have been using at least 18 years and it keeps getting better and better. Really like the Audit Protection even though I have not had to use to date. Keep up the good work.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Completed Return
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax makes it so easy I have used H&R Block and Turbo Tax in the past. Turbo Tax definitely has the advantage.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The $25 sucks I hate it when right when you get done, you get zapped for a $25 state fee
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from home work Jan. 29 - Feb 2 , 2018 overall excellent
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax is a powerful product It's worth the time and effort of combing through IRS publications, and other sites that go into detail about deductions for self-employed. Going to a tax accountant doesn't guarantee one a better return and it costs a whole lot more money and even then, the return is only as good as the data you collect and your tax preparer enters. Your tax preparer or tax accountant will only enter that data which you provide, and he or she may not be too helpful in interviewing you to insure you bring him or her all the information that will insure you take advantage of all of the deductions to which you're entitled. For the self-employed sole-proprietor, the hardest part of preparing one's taxes is done in the day to day record keeping, gathering and collecting of all the pertinent data, and having a general knowledge for what is deductible, so that if you are not prompted, you can explore how to enter data you know is deductible. Turbotax lets you pivot between the interview format and the forms, so if you know your return should have or does have a Schedule C, for example, you can go to the forms and begin filling it in, and then go back to the interview format and Turbotax will walk you through the process of filling it out by asking you the relative questions. Turbotax also lets you flag schedules, and forms where you need to come back after obtaining data you didn't have at the moment. Read business publications that advise business owners about what to make sure your accountant knows to include in your deductions, and bring that knowledge to your task of preparing your taxes with Turbotax.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Turbo Tax review Have been using Turbo Tax for years. Went to a Tax preparer one year and mirrored them on Turbo Tax and the amounts were the same. The difference is I paid the tax preparer more to do the work Turbo Tax did the same, and quicker.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from carry over loss does not say what the date is of the acceptance of your electric file of return
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from major malfunction I filed my return, as I've done for many years. This is the first year I've had to pay. After completing my return, I printed out the page showing that my payment would be taken from my account on 4-17-18, a Monday. It also showed my voucher payments and printed out individual vouchers. I paid the first voucher on time, as well. The payment never came out of my account. I went to the IRS site and it showed they had never received my return. I went back to turbo tax and it said "continue" my return. So even though you click the file return button and it says your payment will be withdrawn on a certain date, it might not be true and you'll be penalized. Yes, I should have checked my email for acceptance of my return from the IRS. My bad for trusting turbo tax.
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from terrible time importing I ALWAYS save everything, turbo tax has its problems finding it. couldn't bring in last years amended tax return, couldn't bring in this years tax return done on a deluxe package once I had upgraded to a personal business turbo tax package. Doesn't pick good names to safe pdf files (untitled...) very disappointed, caused me lots of extra time, and I still can't find the amended return from last year.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great until time to save!!! Then.... I've been using TT since it was invented and it is superior until it comes time to save the file... It allows you to save as pdf (which TT cannot use as a back up. Meaning one cannot import a TT PDF and return it to a .tax file. I think that is bad, and here's why. After you save your pdf the only option is to exit. TT asks you if you want to save the file and you'd better say yes, or all your work is gone!!! And almost as bad, when you do save your work, it does not tell you the name of the file or where to find it. That is an engineering problem that must be fixed. Thank you!!!
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had thought my filing was done because I had checked the box that said check here and you are done, waited for my payment to be deducted and it wasn't, then checked back with TurboTax and discovered that it hadn't been filed because a box hadn't been checked correctly, so I ended up filing a month late. A bigger flag when the filing attempt had failed would have avoided this problem, so now I don't know what will happen, if I'll have a penalty or an interest payment, or more likelihood of an audit since I didn't file an extension, having thought I was finished.
Date published: 2018-05-15
  • y_2018, m_7, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_26
  • loc_, sid_900_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 50ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.