TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calmed My Fears I LOVE TURBOTAX, ESPECIALLY THE CRS TEAM. I SPOKE WITH 3 SEPARATE AGENTS IN ONE DAY AND THE WERE ALL AWESOME ACROSS THE BOARD. THE T-TAX TEAM SHOULD DO PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SEMINARS FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTSMENTS EVERYWHERE.
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent program Overall an excellent experience. I've been using TurboTax for the last 5 years and it keeps getting better every year. My only issue is a small one. When you print a double-sided hard copy of your return, the program prints the sides without taking into account the actual front and back of the various forms. So, when the front of the summary page prints and it should be blank on the back, it prints the 1st page of the return there instead. All the subsequent pages are messed up, too. Not a big deal if you're looking at it electronically, one page at a time, but, as a printout, it's annoying.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great response to my problem Company was busy but got back to me in a timely manner. Had trouble entering my information but kept at it until she was able to get into correct screen. Person was friendly and apologized that it took so long and was able to fix my problem
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax, You could have pointed this out Well, I let my 20 year old daughter file her taxes by herself. She got $66 back! Didn't know I couldn't still deduct her college costs until after I'd e-filed and my return got rejected. Then, while trying to fix my return, I couldn't get her school's 1098 off, TT kept trying to put the 1098 on another family member. I had to completely start from scratch and am $827 poorer for having let daughter file her self. Gee TT, would have been nice it you'd have pointed that out.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TOO MANY LOOPS I had a lot of issues with filing this year because my wife moved to VA. I'm stationed in CA and my wife moved back VA for better job opportunities. I only wanted to file MFJ but the online and program download made it beyond difficult to deal with. It took me most of the day and customer service to get this handled.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good Product, glitch cost additional $40 When attempting to pay by credit card the screen would not allow me to enter my information. This glitch forced me to use the deduct from refund option which costs an additional $40. Great product except for this glitch.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy and Quick! I've been using Turbo Tax and every year I feel like it gets easier and easier to get my taxes done! Definitely would recommend to everyone looking to do their taxes in a quick and precise way!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breezy! Seriously, this program saved me so much money. If I had only had the confidence enough to do this on my own with Turbo tax in the past instead of investing in a tax preparation service, I would have saved so much time and money! I will forever be a firm believer in Turbo Tax, and if you haven't tried it, do it. You will not regret it!
Date published: 2018-04-17
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_94, tr_242
  • loc_, sid_600_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 27ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.