TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Outstanding! I have used Turbo Tax Basic for several years. It guides the filer through each step of the process and supplies brief explanations along the way. I have yet to have any problems with Turbo Tax and I definitely recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from charged me to death Why did I have to pay for everything separate? three times I had to use my card. couldn't you just tell me up front? and why am i paying for e-file? I never had to do that before.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolutely horrible experience What has happened to what was a great product??????
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Payment for USA Once learned the process goes smoothly. I usually do individual forms rather than the interview method.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy even I could do it.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Basic See above. Also, I used Basic as Texas has no income tax. After gathering all forms and other paperwork I was done in two hours easy.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting additional Turbo Tax Forms Had to buy additional Turbo Tax due to Rental Properties. Ordering it wasn't exactly easy.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never use again! I have used TurboTax for our Federal and State (PA) returns for years. I just recently discovered that for the years 2012-2017 on my State (PA) return the program incorrectly included the income from an eligible pension plan as taxable income. This mistake cost us to pay an additional $500 in tax each year. TurboTax will take no responsibly for their error. Their "Guarantee" is a complete joke.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic is wonderful I downloaded the Basic version for a very reasonable price and completed my return in one evening. Return included several W-2s and many 1099- Rs
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid, but also a little percarious The program seems to offer help in everything I needed, and as always, the chance to go back again and again to edit, knead information, recheck--excellent. Why the program slowed down my computer so that at certain critical points I lost hope that it would recover--that's a puzzle.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential for Capital Gains If you have capital gains with a well known financial institution, you must have this software. Turbo Tax will download all transactions and put them in the correct form for you. It is worth the price of the basic software just for this, but it makes everything else easy too.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! I've been using TurboTax for over 20 years! It has been hugely helpful!
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely user friendly! I really felt this was the best version of Turbo Tax yet. I already thought the software was pretty user friendly. I noticed some explanation additions that made the process even easier. I minimally had to look up a question TurboTax didn't answer readily in the filing process, but I know it would've been answered if I had bought the next level up. I used the Turbo Tax Basic.
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me again! Been using TurboTax since 1997. Still makes the process easy.
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always easy ... a breakthrough in tax help Where would we be without TurboTax?
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I have been using TurboTax for several decades now and have found it to be very easy. The different levels (basic, advanced, etc.) make it easy to select the right package for different situations, including businesses. I have tried other tax software when working for some businesses, but I prefer TurboTax, and it is the one I used for my own business as well as my personal taxes.
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Very Best I Have been using Turbotax for over 10 years and I am very happy with it
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best have been using for years and will continue, extremely user friendly. makes you feel like you know what you're doing! thanks for such a exceptional product.
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Basic I have used Turbotax for years and always to back to it. The format and feel of the latest version is very much like previous versions, so my learning curve was immediate. Nice package!
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth You have to pay an extra ~$50 for a state return..which for basic means a 100% increase over the baseline price. Not worth using.
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally got a brake!!!! Can't get any more simple!!!!!
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax For my first time using it had a good experience. No problems
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked Well Worked well overall. Printed my forms before e-filing. Glad I did because I discovered in Schedule B, item 7a, the form checked yes that I have a foreign bank account. I do not have a foreign bank account and never answered yes. Could not find the section where this was addressed. Fortunately, I clicked the forms button and fixed the answer manually. I recommend everyone check this form as TurboTax did not fill out this question accurately.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fill in the blank I've been using the program for years, and every year it seems to go faster. As long as you have your W-2 in front of you you can finish in about 40 minutes.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2018 tt Two or three fields would not accept input.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sometimes confusing I am retired with several incomes, including part time 1099-misc work. The program assumed (i guess) that I was in business. While it was trying to get me more money back, I was just getting confused. It was asking me about a schedule C and I did not have one to look at. Trying to back out was not possible, or at least not to me.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good job as usual After using it for my last 15 returns, this year it can't find last years returns on the same PC I have been using for more than 5 years. It also doesn't seem to remember that I paid my house off and have used the standard deduction for several years now. When I say I haven't changed anything, it should know what to ask and what not to.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dual Citizen living in Canada Social security payments are taxed where you live, but there is no place to report this without it showing up as income. This affects the US tax calculation. Also, there is no form 8833. It would be helpful to include this form in the product.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TT Basic Really Works TT Basic does everything if what you need is an easy way to follow the current tax rules and fill out forms properly, but you know how and where to find your own info on your income and deductions. Only glitch was a difficulty in finding how to enter an override I needed for the QBI (Qualified Business Income) deduction.
Date published: 2019-04-05
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_56, tr_226
  • loc_, sid_600_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 77ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.