TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent program to use Overall an excellent program to use. Would recommend an easier way to store current turbo tax in program files - sometimes had to search for current year in finder on my Apple desktop Would also recommend asking user to update form at the beginning of use every 2 weeks to prevent not being able to process forms at the end of the filing process
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from extra payments Terrible to charge a state efile fee and state tax prep
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than prior years
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Return Great way to file taxes
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. Took half the time this year. Much more "intuit" Software.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent i am so happy with turbo tax this is first time i am using it.we used to pay $500 for tax file .this time we tried to save money by using it and it worked we saved all of our money.we will be using every time from now on.thanks to turbo tax...
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from long time user can enter data in any sequence you want when you get familiar with the forms. Saves sorting and organization beforehand.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied 10 Yr Plus Customer TurboTax helps me overcome my annual anxiety about the federal tax filing process by guiding me step by step through forms and available deductions. While it doesn't take the pain out of writing the check, it does give me confidence that the return is right, and that I'm receiving the deductions my filing status and current laws allow. I appreciate the ability to get more detail at each step on request. I like the clear instructions without technical jargon. Great work again this year, TurboTax!
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY SAILING With Quicken & Turbo Tax, filing is a breeze. A great combination.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax is Easy! Overall program is easy to use. It helped me figure out what to do with a schedule K-1 that I received. The program offers great educational information and pointers too as you are doing your taxes.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No support for non-resident alien spouses I'm disappointed that I couldn't e-file my taxes because my spouse is a non-resident alien. The software didn't offer a way to continue. Not only that but there wasn't any guidance on how to continue. After purchasing a tax software that I thought would guide me and make filing my taxes easier, I ended up searching the internet for a solution to my problem and had to file my taxes by mail.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Transfer of Last year's tax return 2015 I down loaded Turbo Tax on line. 2016 I purchased CD at local retailer. My 2015 Turbo Tax return was saved on my desktop. However, because it was a download Turbo Tax program in 2015 and my 2016 Turbo Tax version was on CD, my 2015 return data would not transfer to my 2016 return. Not good. Every other year I've used Turbo Tax it's been automatic.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Everytime I had to purchase something a tiny window opened that I could barely see. In my years with TurboTax this was the worst.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have e-filed my taxes through Turbo Tax for 6 years with no major problems. However, this year I was unable to e-file and had to use the mail. The reason given is my AGI for 2015 does not match IRS records. I don't understand this because both amounts were taken from the forms created by TURBO TAX.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from so many hidden fees... Seems like every year TurboTax increases a cost somewhere in the process, but only shows you the lower cost at the outset.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017TT Always quick, thorough, and fully explained!!!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good first experience First time using the software. Went smoothly and quickly. Will recommend to others.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from als return Very easy to install and use. Very thorough that goes through everything.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Basic Does our 1040EZ & e-file every year. Works great. Includes program & tax table updates. Buy it every year, sometimes a download & sometimes a CD. Money well spent.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Basic for 2017 The software is very easy to complete.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Covers every category. No chance to miss anything if you have turbotax cover each and every topic.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from taxes Taxes are too complicated, with or without these programs. I found it very frustrating.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HOPE IT'S CORRECT !!! SIMPLE ENOUGH TO FOLLOW
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st time user, was very easy, step-by-step instructions were clear. No hassles at all.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from apparent bug in code problem - misspelled our last name - left off last (2) characters of last name field on Form 8962... all other forms had correct....
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic does it all The 2016 version has eliminated much of the annoying promotional advertising that was prevalent in previous years. Step-by-step guidance is thorough and the links to IRS publications are numerous, helpful, and appropriate. TurboTax pop-up explanations of items are useful and informative. ...TurboTax user for 19 years.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome news Program led me thru all necessary steps to a completed return
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy tracking Makes it easy to get all the info and put in logical order. Have never been audited or questioned about a filing.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 Turbo Tax Basic Another year with excellent guidance from Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Works I missed how to carry-over the refund - wasn't prompted for that option at the end, only check or bank account info for a refund. I'm sure you provide it elsewhere and I missed, but perhaps I wasn't the only one who missed it. It was sometimes hard to find details in the EasyStep - the breakdown of a category's amount. Had to go thru the step-by-step to get the amounts. Got tired of that and went to Forms view to get the data.
Date published: 2017-04-08
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_294
  • loc_, sid_600_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.