TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only 1 tweak- please! I love the ease of Turbo Tax. Please offer an easy way to change the font/view size. My usual tricks to enlarge (control +) did not work. I was unable to find help with this issue.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could not file Elec Need a way to file electronically, if return is rejected.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful, but hidden costs Overall very helpful. I didn't realize that the basic version didn't include state taxes and I also didn't know i could get in legal trouble for filing the federal and not the state taxes. My fault. My issue was that it charged me to file state taxes after having paid for that part of the program. I feel that that should have been included in the initial fee.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CHAching I am so happy with TurboTax. I got enough money to buy 122 large pizzas!
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got my return done Total time from start to finish - about 2.5 hours, only because I kept double checking some things.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality -- easy to install and use Overall OK. Seems to cover everything, but additional information on items such as entering IP PIN, finding out details of taxable Social Security benefits, residential energy credit was not easy to find.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have always liked and used Turbo Tax I've been using Turbo Tax for years, ever since I moved out of my parents house and got a real job. It's extremely easy to use, especially with the guided instructions, and electronic filing is included!
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First Time Ever Doing My Taxes My only issues is with the following: A) Does not allow you to pay for the State Tax with you Refund, (That could be due to state regulations though seeing as this is a private company) B) My sister told me that she had received info on a student loan forgiveness plan that she was eligible for but it did not come up for me. So either the update removed it or I was too late. I'll have to do more research but other than than that. Solid product. Would use again :)
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My return comment Instructions for K-1 entries were somewhat vague for first time users of the K-1 information. Often times I only found out the data was entered in the wrong place when I did the error check. Maybe, I just need to read more carefully.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic is everything I need Excellent. Took me a only couple hours.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tobo Tax 2017 Basic - review
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAX PREP VERY EASY TO USE, AND ANYONE CAN USE IT. I CAN NOT EVEN BELIEVE THIS IS SO EASY TO DO. GREAT JOB!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Retiree Nirvana Process was very fast with clear instructions. The worst part of doing the taxes this year was collecting up all the required documents.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product TruboTax Basic is very easy to use and is quite detailed in coverage. Only problem was my wife has an IRS IDPin and I did not find way to enter it so did an override on Form 1040. Just prior to e-filing, it showed return had e-signatures and IDPin. However, our first filing was rejected as it did not carryover for filing?? Fortunately, TT sent e-mail with instructions for fixing and refiling.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't wade through the 1040 filing process without Turbotax!!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd Year I first used TurboTax on the Macintosh in the 1980s. It was fantastic back then, and it still great!!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yep, didn't read the fine print. $45 for state, will never use Turbo Tax again. They keep pushing prices up, thought they would have learned their lesson last year. Oh well, last time you get money from me.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017filing In NH am one of many who are not required to file--too little taxibles; why not ask that once at the beginning so as not to come back to it several times later. Please, please, please make one list for all charities in alphabetic order without regard for when they were first included. As it is now, it can be difficult to be sure by comparing for user accuracy...and after each entry do not take the enterer back to the top of the list (that has been completed) forcing lost time scrolling back to the position just completed.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thumbs Up I've been using Turbo Tax since 1992, except twice around 1995, and both times I wished that I had stayed with Turbo Tax. Its easy, Fast, and accurate
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hurdles with turbotax I was happy with the 2016 turbotax which I used for our couple return and my 95-year old mother-in-law return. However, I was not able to leverage last year's 2016 turbotax with 2017 turbotax. Unfortunately, 2016 turbotax would only retrieve and display my mother-in-law 2016 tax return. turbotax 2016 failed to retrieve my 2016 tax return. Self-employed, I think turbotax 2017 failed to incorporate some of my business deductible expenses.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Product TurboTax has been my source for doing my taxes for the last 7 years and has never let me down. The product is easy to follow with help at every step and great support beyond if needed. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love turbottax I have been using turbotax basic for over a decade. Never have encountered any problems with it. Great program.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Very happy with the program.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't get rid of K-1 form request from years ago I had shares in a K-1 style investment very briefly years ago. Since then, every year TurboTax asks me to fill in the new info on the investment which I no longer own. I could not find any way to say it is no longer releveant. It asks me to enter the information multiple times because I did not enter it when first requested.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Double entry My RMD somehow got imputed twice which created an over-taxation of more than $6000! Unfortunately I only caught this after e-filing my return so I'll have to wait and do an amended return
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Basic Simple and easy to use; powerful walk-thoughs
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1099Q PROGRAM ERROR Software picks up recipient, my wife, for distribution off 1099Q as taxable, when all of distribution was used for full time student, our son. Taxing the entire distribution as ordinary income to my wife and I, when this was a non-taxable distribution, all used for my son a full-time matriculating student. Software is flawed.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using it for years and will continue to do so.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 16th Year using Turbo Tax I just submitted my 16th straight year using Turbo-Tax. All were successful and accurate and never had a single issue with IRS. Thank you, TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some data repeatedly disappeared after entry We entered data for mutual funds and for state estimated tax payments. When we were finalizing our 1040, we noticed implausible amounts that required us to check everything we had entered. We then found that some mutual fund data and estimated tax payments for 1 of 2 states had disappeared. After re-entering these data, the same thing happened again twice. We called TurboTax but the agent wasn't able to explain these disappearances, which we finally overcame by re-entering the data again.
Date published: 2018-04-08
  • y_2018, m_7, d_21, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_96, tr_242
  • loc_, sid_600_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 196ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.