TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good Product, glitch cost additional $40 When attempting to pay by credit card the screen would not allow me to enter my information. This glitch forced me to use the deduct from refund option which costs an additional $40. Great product except for this glitch.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy and Quick! I've been using Turbo Tax and every year I feel like it gets easier and easier to get my taxes done! Definitely would recommend to everyone looking to do their taxes in a quick and precise way!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breezy! Seriously, this program saved me so much money. If I had only had the confidence enough to do this on my own with Turbo tax in the past instead of investing in a tax preparation service, I would have saved so much time and money! I will forever be a firm believer in Turbo Tax, and if you haven't tried it, do it. You will not regret it!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unhandled exception For the past 4 years I have gotten the "unhandled exception" notice when I attempt to get the latest software up date. This year I took Webroot off line to get around this notice. Each year requires a new fix.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Easy to do, comprehensive, helps find all deductions. Have used for years with simple and complex returns.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always easy! I have used TurboTax for many years and although no one enjoys paying taxes, it makes it much easier. I always wait until the last minute to do my taxes and TurboTax is always there to guide me through it!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mailing in a return I wanted to mail in my State return because it was only $28 and I didn't want to spend $25 to e-File. You all make it soooooo HARD to print a simple form VA760 in order to spend $0.50 on a postage so you can make your money on e-filing fee. Doubtful I'll use your program again in the future. You charged me for the program. Then for state forms. Then for e-filing. You guys suck with your fees. Absolutely shameful.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable as always Been using it since the 90's. Reliable and never had a problem. Although, the interface is straight-forward, some new abilities/jazzed-up interface would be a welcome change.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy peasey All in all it was easy to follow & send.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's over :Loved the program as usual.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from update issues My copy of turbotax would not update in the program. I had to download a manual updater each time I needed to update it. Giant pain. And I could not file without doing it one more time.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my life easier TurboTax has been making April 15th easier for me since 1997.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worried for Nothing Honestly, if you want your taxes made simple and learn something in the process, Turbo Tax is great. I was so relieved to get my taxes done in one short evening.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very User Friendly Overall 4.5 out of 5 stars. I really enjoyed how user friendly it was, and at the same time detailed to offer you the most deductions. Nick Ortiz
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad service I have hearing issues. Customer service would not speak slow and loud for me to understand what she said. Then hung up. I don't like hidden charges for state returns and e-file. I have used TT for years but never again!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes filing federal taxes understandable I've used TurboTax each year for over 15 years. Now that I'm retired, I just don't want to hassle with preparing Federal taxes and worrying that I've missed some obscure regulation or opportunity to reduce my final amount owed. I sleep better the night after filing knowing I've benefited from the expertise of the pro's. Thanks for another great software product once again this year.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax is the BEST! I have been using TurboTax for many years and it is the BEST.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 good program!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I honestly don't know how to improve the product. Using TurboTax is fun ... almost. To make it better you would have to pay the tax bill for me!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank You!!!!! Quick and painless. Made doing the dreaded taxes a breeze! I've never used TurboTax before, but I'll never use anything else now.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Feel like I got cheated Well, I first bought the TurboTax Basic thinking that this version would be sufficient for filing my tax returns, but apparently I was wrong. After paying $45 for the basic software, I found that I needed to pay another $45 or so just to file a state return - what a RIP - I did not have to pay this before... On top of that, an E-file for $25.. this was no surprise but I am sure that i payed double what I payed last year. I am strongly considering choosing another service next year...
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so easy to use I HAVE BEEN USING TURBO TAX FOR YEARS. SO EASY TO USE. GIVES BETTER ADVICE THEN A PROFESSIONAL FORE LESS THE COST
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo is my go-to. I have used this excellent product for the last 3 years of filing, and I must say that it is logical, friendly in tone, flexible in terms of how one chooses to make entries, and is quite reasonable in price. It doesn't miss a trick - all the way through filing, which is done with one click if you're e-filing. I have only one issue with the software. It is rendered in small fonts and in shades of gray that become tiresome after a few minutes. Most people view their monitors from 18-22 inches away from the monitor, so maybe a little help with the sizing and contrast would help those of us who are a little long in the tooth. I for one, will be happy when e-publishing gets over its fascination with the gray print fad that permeates the industry right now. Function over form should prevail when working on taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, except... I suppose this tediousness is worth it if it eliminates fraud.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and easy Lots of helpful tips and details about what things mean. Clear examples of situations that are not overwhelming or confusing. Clean interface makes it user friendly compared to free government sites.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had to pay IRS this time. I will probably use a CPA to prepare our returns beginning 2019. This was the most difficult tax return ever - made so by Quicken 2017! I am dropping Quicken immediately and will try iBank or something else.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from charged me 3 times for same product! bought turbotax basic for $30. the box says state filing is an extra $19.99, which I expected to pay. once I was ready to file my returns the price to buy a "state product" was actually $45. then they charge you another $25 for a filing fee. I wish I just went to H&R Block.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NEEDS WORK I,VE USED TURBOTAX FOR MANY YEARS AND IT'S BEEN BULLETPROFF. THIS YEAR IT FORCED ME TO TYPE IN MOST OF THE DATA. WHAT IT DID IMPORT IT PUT INTO THE WRONG COL. IT CUT OFF PART OF MY LAST NAME, WHEN IT TRANSMITTED MY RETURN. I TRIED TO CORRECT IT,BUT IT DID'T LET ME BACK UP.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always easy, few hitches It's just plain easy. Actually this year was one of the few times I had a problem, when doing the smart check. I had to delete an actual unwanted form, because it just wouldn't let go of it. But I still have to give 5 stars for how easy it is.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Be Easier! I love this product because it takes the stress out of tax time. Been using this for as long as I can recall and have never had an issue with my return.
Date published: 2018-04-14
  • y_2018, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_245
  • loc_, sid_600_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 362ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.