TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hidden Fees When I bought the TurboTax basic disc (for $29.99), it said on the back that states are $19.99 or subject to change without notice. I had to pay $24.99 Further, there was no warning on the package that you also had to pay $47.51 for state software. So, the disc was upfront, but the state e-file was $10 more, and there was a hidden software fee. This is a total of $102.49 for something I thought was $49,98. Ugh.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never done my own taxes ever . This was my first time ever and it was great , it took me some time to work some things out but it wasn't hard to work it out . I will be doing my own taxes for now on with Turbo Tax .......
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is the ticket I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years...have never had any issues. Will use as long as I do taxes.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THANKS TURBO I would definitely use Turbo tax next year.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Explanation of State form Boxes First, on all tax forms, (weather Federal or State forms), spell out all abbreviations or acronyms! Second, on all tax forms, (weather Federal or State forms), explain all abbreviations or acronyms in a way, "the man on the street" can understand, in either a "bubble" or drop down box"!! Realize that he/ she does not deal with tax abbreviations or acronyms everyday as your organization does!!! Third, consider adding a "what if" section to allow users to compare filing a detailed return or something more complex. You say you do? Let me rephrase the issue so that you can better understand!!! consider adding a "what if" section to allow users to compare filing a detailed return or something more complex. Really ,... is it oriented towards the "the man on the street"? Can he/ she understand what you have created?
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and Straight Forward
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from over charged I bought the Ohio state return program so I dont think that I should have had to pay again to file it
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Refund If you haven't tried TurboTax you are missing out on an excellent product. They provide great support from beginning to end. There is help every step of the way. Thank you so much for helping me get the most out of this stressful time.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from download link for Basic was too difficult to find My main complaint is that it took 1.5 hours to find the link to download the Basic version of TurboTax. I was presented with Tax Advantage signup screens multiple times and couldn't locate the link to download the Basic software because it was not made apparent on the site. I optimize web sites for a living as an Adobe employee and your site UI for software download is absolutely horrible. I nearly switched to HRBlock because I was so frustrated and am seriously considering a switch for next year. I will NEVER input all of my tax info onto your servers for filing. If you ever remove the download feature, I will definitely quit using Turbo Tax. I decided not to purchase Quicken because you make users provide all of their info on your servers, then require subscriptions to access our own info. Never, never, never will do that.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overpriced The program works as always, sequencing through income and expense categories logically. It has gotten better at recovering if you make a mistake and have to go back and find a form to change an entry. It has not gotten better in the fact that, if you go back , and you're in "lead me through everything mode", you'll have to go through everything linearly to get back to where you were. But the dang thing is just way over priced. You pay 30-something for the basic package, then almost $40 for your state (if applicable), then a bunch more to file electronically. It keeps adding, and the longer we subscribe, the more we pay. We're canceling our 10+ year subscription because the free services will do everything we need, while TT costs nearly $100 to file a couple of simple returns.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Word: Easy Been using Turbo Tax for years and every year it gets better and better. Hard to imagine improving on a great product but every year TT manages to raise the bar.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Software The software is awesome. I wish I could just buy one type and be done. too many other variations of the same software.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrated So frustrated that we are charged 3 separate times while filing taxes: 1) to buy turbotax 2) to buy state 3) to e-file state It feels like a scam not knowing how much you will pay up front and having to enter credit card number 3 times.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eezy Peezy I loved it! I was hesitant to try and file by myself. Taxes always seemed like such a daunting task. Turbotax made it easy to get back my dinero!
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Free State Free State? $42.00 turbo tax 44.00 download state 25.00 to E-file.. I could have had them done for 100.00 and less time on the computer. never again
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy street easy to use. did it with my wife reading me all the numbers that were not imported directly.did on the day before tax day in lessthan an hour. ye I belong to prcrastinators annonyms, prodly solving the problems of today toomarrow
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid as always Year in and year out TurboTax has been our go-to software for completing our Federal Income Tax Return.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund I've used Turbotax for 15 years and have never had any problems. This year I had a question on my IRA distribution and a simple phone call answered it. I strongly recommend Turbotax.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little pricie Every thing going great ,get to the end and your hand is out wanting more dollars for a direct deposit HUH?
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CORRECT PIN NUMBERS DISAPPOINTED .. WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO FILE VIA MAIL....NOT TOO HAPPY WITH TURBOTAX TODAY
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tax help The tax process is generally unpleasant. Using Turbotax makes it tolerable through the good help.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NAILED IT AGAIN!! TurboTax is THE ONLY way to get your taxes done! I wouldn't use any other service or filer.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unnecessary Hassle
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love to use TurboTax and have used it for the last 5 years. It has the easiest steps to follow and the help feature is there for every question. I would recommend this product to family and friends.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have been using TurboTax for 15 years. It has always been easy to use and accurate. On one occasion, it found a deduction that I would not have if I were doing my taxes manually. Filing for an extension and E-filing is very easy.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Years of quality software & service! To be honest, I can't recall for how long I have been using TurboTax...I think it has been since the late 1980's or 1990. I am pretty sure I started with the 1.0 version! It was the FIRST and ONLY program I have ever used for tax prep on a PC. Sure, I have looked at other programs, but, have not found a single competitor that comes close to the features and simplicity of TurboTax! I have run my own business for over 22 years. Granted, my business is not HUGE, and lately, it has just been me, no employees...but, even when it was bigger, TurboTax did the job! SO many people ask me, when they find out I run my own business, "Who does your taxes?" They are always shocked when I tell them "I do!"...many try to warn me "Oh, I'd never do that, you should really have an accountant or a tax expert do that!" or they say "How do you know that you are getting your maximum deductions?" or "How are you certain you even know what you are doing?" First off, my business really isn't all that complicated! I also have a fairly good "basic knowledge" on taxes since I have a business degree. So, maybe I have a bit of an advantage from that perspective. However, I have used it for so long, I really think that it has become so easy to use, ANYBODY can do it. I even showed my kids how. It's not hard, you follow the prompts. If you start your return early enough, there is help built right into the software to get you through it! And, there is TONS of information on-line both from Intuit and other sources. Having used TurboTax for so many years, really, decades, I have feel I can give a fair evaluation as I have watched it change and evolve into the tool it is today. It is really quite a remarkable difference from the early versions. To really appreciate it, you have to have experienced what doing your own tax returns was like BEFORE there were programs like TurboTax. For starters, you'd go down to the Post Office, certain Banks or your local Library to pick up the forms you needed. Invariably, if your return had ANY level of complication to it, you had to make a second trip because you needed a form you forgot! While you were there, you picked up extra copies of each form, in case you make a mistake! I learned early on to do mine in pencil first! THEN, transpose the figures onto a clean set of forms in PEN! Think about all the wasted paper and the cost to do all that printing back then! When tax software first came out, it was really just a simpler way to make sure you had at your disposal all the forms you needed, and, since you were typing everything into your computer first, you didn't need to worry about making a mistake or changing a number. You did it all on your PC first, then printed it out, signed, and mailed it. Since then, the software has really grown up. It now can look back at previous returns, import information, keep track of depreciation schedules, your investments, it can automatically pull and import your W-2's and other forms, it even integrates with your accounting system. I have 2 children, both working and going to college. I can do their taxes for them and have it done quickly, and it's not a big effort on my part. So, when someone marvels about the complexity of doing their own taxes, I ask them "Have you ever used TurboTax?"
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy return Mostly worked well. I've used Turbo Tax for years and will do so again but was a little frustrated that I missed the Social Security section the first time through and had to go back to enter that info. Also, would have liked to apply my refund to 2017 but didn't see that option.
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a pain I have contacted them 19 times so far today. It won't file my taxes and now it wants me to start buying things again. Avoid them like the plague!
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great I like turbotax. It is fast and and easy. I spent $60 total for whole thing. My taxes are not complicated so I feel $60 is a lot to pay for them.
Date published: 2017-04-14
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_295
  • loc_, sid_600_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.