1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 54 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181949 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by You made it easy!!! I have used Turbo Tax for many years and have not considered any other tax preparation programs given the great experiences I continue to have year after year. Our household income is based on commissions, so our income can vary greatly from year to year. We also have a couple rental properties which add to the complexity of tax preparation. With a family of 5, we seem to have other factors that change from year to year that I never know how they will change our tax situation. I also don't know all the tax law changes from year to year and how they will affect our tax return each year, but I know I can buy Turbo Tax with confidence and that the program will ask all the right questions. I always use the guided option so I am sure to cover everything and not worry that I may have missed something. I like doing my own tax preparation so I can see first hand how decisions that we make during the year affect our tax return and that makes me better prepared to do whatever I can each year that will benefit us when filing our taxes the following year. Needless to say I am a HUGE fan of Turbo Tax and highly recommend it for your tax preparation. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Take my $ but won't file So here I am in Hawaii finishing my taxes around 9.30pm. I am forced to pay by credit card because you won't direct debit my account until the 16th; meaning I'm out another 14$. ISSUE: Nowhere does it state you must file by 12pm EDT. By law, I have until 12pm my local time to file. You happily accepted my money to pay my taxes but would not allow me to enter the 15th as the date I efiled. This now looks like I filed late as the home screen showed an EDT time. I want this to be updated with the correct date so I am not fined. I will also contact the IRS letting them know of what happened. I am certain you will correct the error of your software and make a clear note if you wish to continue this protocol for next year as I'm sure I'm not the only one caught in such a situation. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Major life changes, major tax help! We moved, changed income levels, and converted a home into a rental. We are very happy with the way TurboTax covered each event. The guided tutorial is a real confidence builder! April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Entries In the personal information section it gives you an example of suffixes such as Jr. & Sr. then it flags you and says that entries such as those are unacceptable for e-filing. When it takes you to the place where the error is, there's no way to correct it there. If you give an example, make sure that it won't cause an error. And, if you point out an error, make a way to fix it right there. I was filing my return literally at the last minute and that is the error that came up saying that it not an acceptable entry for e-filing. By the time I figured out where to go to fix the error, I was a minute late filing my taxes. A frustrating bug, but the program is great. Thanks, just needed to vent. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to complete it like the pro's I would recommend this program to anyone, I like that you have the option to pay your refund or have it deducted from your refund. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is clunky this year I've used TT for years, and this version was just annoying to use. There is no way to easily flip between the data entry screens and the actual form view as there has been in previous years. When I got stuck and asked a question, the answer feature would be so much more helpful if it would just link me to where I need to go and enter the info rather than a long list of screens I need to navigate. It would also be nice to be able to return to a previously saved version. It seems that in trying to simplify the process, they removed some of the features I had been used to using in the past. I usually don't love this task, but this year I actually walked away in frustration several times because the program was so annoying. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo made being late easy Filed 2013 a year late, I thought he did it and he thought I did it (talk about a miscommunication). Turbo Tax made it easy and painless. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally...relief! Turbo Tax makes Tax Time a little less stressful. Starting a small business and doing taxes for them is not easy, but Turbo Tax helped explain some things I was unsure about. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by From the Beginning I have used Turbo Tax since it first came out and have watched its development over the years. I use the step by step guide which takes you through any changes that come up. The biggest improvement I liked this year is in the itemized section. The entries are easy to edit, except for the Title which I would have like to edit instead of Deleting. As far as the Suffix problem, it told me to go back to the Personal section to edit it. I did but it did not go back to where I left from. Also, I was confused after installing the software I logged off. When I logged back on it show my file as Individual and I have only filed Joint. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplified and Reliable Great product! Used for the first time after paying so many high tax prep costs over the years. Enjoyed the set up and ease of the program - minimal questions and only a suggestion for a couple improvements. On the State tax portion, not many references to answer state particular questions; also there was no portion for a reservist to claim the exemption of the first $6137 of income (Hawaii). Other than that, it was a breeze - will definitely use again next year! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rocks I have been a Turbo Tax User for about 10 yrs now. We both work and also have a cattle ranch. I am always surprised and grateful year after year how easy TT is to maneuver especially with the SCH F information, etc. It makes it so that we look forward to tax time instead of dreading it due to the functionality and also due to the ease of findings answers to questions. TURBO TAX PEOPLE....YOU ARE AWESOME!! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like it just the same. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Five I don't have any issues with TurboTax. This is my 7th year using it and I always get a nice sized return with little stress at a low cost. Thanks Intuit! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why would you use anything else?! TurboTax walks you through your entire return step by step. You can choose to just fill out pertinent items or sections, be guided through the entire process or a combination of both. You don't need to have any special educational experience to easily navigate through your return. When you're done, TurboTax automatically checks for errors or missing info and guides you through correcting them. Automatic updates makes sure all the forms and information are the most current. No need to worry about form or law changes. The "ItsDeductible" feature makes sure you have accurate amounts for your charitable donations. Your personal information isn't shared with the stranger, or friend, that prepares your returns. If you've used TurboTax to prepare your previous year's return, it even takes the information and transfers it to your new return then guides you through what needs to be added or updated. It compares and displays your new and old information. It's convenient!! No appointments to schedule. You can start, stop, edit and save your return info and then go back to it when it's convenient for you, not someone else's schedule. You can enter your tax info 24/7. No business hours or personal issues you need to schedule around. No need to take time off work, waste a day off or get a babysitter!! You can do your taxes in your jammies!! You can submit them around your schedule and literally at the last minute (or right away if you're that organized)! The software is available to download on-line or you can purchase it at a store, whichever is most convenient for you! It's cost-effective! You don't have to pay for each schedule you need to file. Just pick the version of TurboTax that fits your tax situation. I haven't needed the customer service, but it's available if you need it. There's also optional legal and audit support. You can save your tax returns as a PDF file and access it whenever you need to and/or print a paper copy. Convenient, cost-effective, private, fast and easy! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whew! Done . . . in less than 4 hours! Federal + I've used TurboTax for years and love it! It's SO easy to use . . . so intuitive . . . and leads one to answer all the necessary questions. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by So Confused I SEE THAT I OWE THE IRS BUT I DO NOT KNOW WHY ANS WILL NOT EVER KNOW SINCE IT DO NOT TELL ME WHY April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have enjoyed using Turbo Tax for years! I have been using Turbo Tax for 8 years and have never had a single problem. My refunds come sooner than expected, which is always nice! I recommend Turbo Tax to everyone I know! One small issue this year but it has to do with the app I used on my phone. The wording didn't fit properly with a few other technical difficulties. I'm confident any bugs will be worked out in a timely manner. Thank you Turbo Tax! April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by we will see, if the 48 hrs sitting with turbo tax, everyone life is different and so is their means of income. going along answering questions (that may be right) or (maybe rong) dont know to u get to the end and have to go back and try to delete and/or change . it seemed so eazy till i wanted to fix things then it took days..... n now for the first time in my life 40 some years, my return was LATE April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY TO FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS EASY TO COMPLETE FORMS VERY GOOD & EASY TO COMPLETE AND WAS FREE LIKE THE COMPANY SAID GAVE YOU DIFFERENT CHOICES EXCELLANT April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stars to the Tech Support Phone Staff As complex as income tax preparation is, the folks who handle the technical support phone bank deserve enormous credit in their friendly, calm demeanor and quality of suggestions or results toward problem resolution. With so many different options and configurations for personal computer systems, it is extremely difficult to make any program one-size-fits-all. The tech support phone staff seem to be a well-studied group that keeps on top of, and anticipates, what technologies that we, the customers, are using differently each year. Congratulations on a job well done, keep up the good work. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved this i loved this im a first timer and will definitely fo them again with turbotax next year!!!! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Straightforward workflow/clean interface/good help I've used TurboTax for a number of years, and it makes filing both Federal and State returns a snap. I especially like the way that itemized deductions work. Carryover of info from prior years is very useful and time saving. It's pretty easy to knock off filing in about 2 hours with my particular situation, which isn't overly complicated, but I also feel that all details are thoroughly covered. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top of the Line I'm a US third party contractor working overseas and TurboTax hasn''t let me down in 14 years. Some technical difficulties when your in the AE, AA, or AP areas. Did not prevent me from working it to file online. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by great web-accessed product I've used Turbo Tax every year for about 15 years now. The underlying product and all of its knowledge of the tax forms and requirements is fantastic. It's extremely convenient being able to sign in and work on my taxes for a few minutes from whatever computer I'm on, at home, work, desk, laptop, whatever. The only big problem, which Turbo Tax seems to have every year, is figuring out how to get past the "we don't recognize your browser version" obstacle course. Usually you can google it and find out a trick but it's different every year, and every year I have a few hours of scouring the web, trying various tricks, and worrying that Turbo Tax just isn't going to work on my computer this year. I don't know why they don't just hire some good web designers who know how to write browser-independent web pages. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you for making this very stressful night just a little better! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Left it to the last hour but got it done A colleague recommended it...glad I took his advice...although there is a fee for the software...it is really worth it considering the time it saves and the mistakes it helps you avoid...lots of online help to learn terms and tax options April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsomely easy used this program for the last 4 yrs it is totally awesome. be using it again next year. see ya then. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ill-Equipped for Those Living Abroad Living abroad, questions were sometimes asked as if one were living in the US, even after I'd indicated I was living abroad. I then triggered an error on their website trying to indicate where I lived (for sales tax credit attempt) resulting in the webpage noting I lived in state '0' (for having not selected a United State). It then tried to make me enter a state at the review process, and I had to recall where in their several-step process that question was and tediously navigate back to delete that entry. Then they tried to force me to pay then $55 to file the 1040 even though it appeared I would be getting $0 refund from less than $1000 federal income tax. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Review of Turbotax It should be offered to the consumer all thru the program choice of paying the higher amount or the lower amount. Either to itemize or not itemize. When realizing that in spite of credits and deductions amount owed or refunded would not matter either way. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again In addition to continuous reminders about what a good deal TurboTax Deluxe is, I kept encountering conditions that were not covered in the free federal. When I logged in, they automatically started my taxes with the business version at a cost of over $100. When I discovered the cost and inquired about the free Federal version, it took me more than an hour to navigate their screens to finally get to the free version, and they required me to start re-entering my data from scratch -- some kind of punishment as another way to sell their other versions. They won't see me again at Turbotax April 16, 2015
  • 2015-05-29T20:02:51.250-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-54, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181947, tr_181947
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 52 53 54 55 56 ... 3800 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.