1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 3 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184763 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184762 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Important suggestions There is a lot that needs to be done to TurboTax to make it easier and quicker to use. As it is, using the EasyStep can be infuriating to the point of looking for a better application. Among the items that desperately need to be fixed are: 1.) Make editing of previous entries more straight forward and easier. Right now, if one corrects an entry, the long list of questions associated with that entry that had been previously answered is destroyed. The user is then forced to reenter that long list of answers to mostly inane questions. The previous answers to those questions must be preserved in the system and, at least, presented for new approval with only a single key stroke. 2.) There are too many long lists of questions that are repeated in identical form for multiple entries. If a question string has been answered once, those answers must be presented for approval with a single key stroke or edited as required. 3.) Whenever one answers one of the vast number of questions that EasyStep asks, the "continue" button must light up so that a single hit to the return key will advance the application to the next entry. Searching for the "continue" button with a mouse and then activating it is far too time consuming and frustrating to keep customers using TurboTax. 4.) There must be a button in the toolbar that returns the user to where he left off in EasyStep after he has made edits to previous entries. 5.) I was within minutes of submitting an incomplete tax return and generating a near certain audit when I discovered that I had omitted entering a 1099 that I receive every year. I had become falsely reliant on TurboTax to include this entry as it had been entered for several previous years. The failure of TurboTax to transfer my repeated entries from year to year is a reliability/quality control problem that TurboTax needs to investigate and correct. 6.) Now I have another gripe. I just went through the review submittal process to have it all erased because I had not "signed in". There was no place on the review page to do so nor any instructions as to the necessity or the mechanism for doing so. Please make the changes I have requested. Thank you. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super! Best tax program ever! Former tax preparer. This is the easiest & best tax preparation program to use, ever. Nothing else comes close. November 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New product is fine. Got through it faster than usual and review went well. Some instructions are unclear. November 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for an Excellent Tax Program, that was easy to use. John Taylor November 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not user friendly As a paid tax professional with a large tax preparation firm and 17 years of income tax experience, and an accounting degree with 15 years corporate accounting experience, I find that the software is NOT user friendly. I know were a tax item has to go. However, it is difficult to get it to go there because when the line is clicked, the worksheet or pop up doesn't appear. The preparer has to know to click on some other box. I spent hours to input returns that only should take 1 1/2 hour each. As a result, only one federal return was electronically transmitted, and the other federal return was Not transmitted by 0ct. 15, 2015. Both New Jersey returns did not get electronically transmitted. As a result, Intuit should refund the fee paid to electronically transmit the states. The cost of the state software should be refunded because it could not be efiled and now I have to use the state website and their free softwarew to file these returns. Therefore, can you please refund the fee I paid for the state software? November 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so happy I find the program does not give as much help as in the past, and I had to upgrade in order for the program to handle K-1 type information. Over the last few years I have found the "search for help" screens to be almost useless. November 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Overall great product. Takes you through step by step. Really like the check errors feature and audit check. November 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me!! Another successful year of getting taxes done. Like the easy guide and toggling between forms. Wish past years tax data would all flow into the current years taxes such as easy guide asking for a number from the previous tax year on a certain line of the 1040 when you have been using Turbotax on the same computer for 7 years. I would think that data could be found by the program instead of having to open the previous tax year to plug it in. When flipping between forms and easy guide, the return to easy guide from forms does not drop you onto the same screen you were working on but to the beginning of that section. A host of other minor things would speed things up but overall happy with the product. October 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes paid were cut in half I have used TurboTax for several years, but this is the first time I was really nervous on what I may owe. TurboTax was easy and walked me through both Federal and State. Thanks October 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would Use Nothing Else Very pleased once again. I've used TurboTax for years and years. October 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I run a small business and have been using Turbo Tax Business for more than ten years. It's a great product that has always delivered accurate results and peace of mind. October 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty good shape for the shape I'm in I learned how to do my income taxes in the early seventies at my mother's side. She felt that individuals should be able to keep track of the information that was used as a yearly audit of where they were in their careers. That was then and a lot simpler than anything in the work force, now. The national tax bureaucracy has become an overgrown landscape of old dead regulations and new rules that only statisticians and some math prodigies can maneuver through by themselves. Enter TurboTax and I don't have to embarass myself in front of my mother by not being able to accomplish this springtime task. TurboTax keeps track of the ever changing landscape of IRS regs. so I don't land in tax court from lack of understanding of the annual manuevering. Thank you, employees of TurboTax, for making it possible for me to continue preparing my own income tax returns. October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it!! This made things really easy to understand. October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owned it like a Boss! The software is incredibly easy to use and understand. The prompts are useful and give you all the information that you need to file your taxes. Covers all deductions and explains what they are and if you are eligible. If I can do it anyone can! Thanks TurboTax! October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy Well worth the time and money October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product it would be nice to tell customers that if they don't pay for it before finishing, by October 20, the system deletes it. October 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Forced to Upgrade I've been using Turbo Tax for many years and have been able to file my rental property using the basic version. The software is great and easy to use but this year I was surprised to learn that I couldn't complete my tax return without purchasing a $70 upgrade to the premier version just to file a schedule E with no previous notice what so ever from Intuit. Had I known this upfront, i would have explored October 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I used to like TurboTax I used the 2014 version at extension time and even so, with all updates, it was very buggy, with unrelated links, forms, or worksheets popping up when I dug deeper.. I couldn't enter some of my material in the worksheet or the form itself. After many go-rounds with the business version I finally found some backdoor, probably some order in which I was circling through to renew and add to my numbers. I'm a longtime user of Turbotax, but this scared me and I'll think twice next time. October 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by As much as I hate to work on my Taxes At least TurboTax makes it much easier than it used to be. October 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but no NOL support Better than the last time I used it 5 years ago. But still no support for NOL (Net Operating Loss). At least you could support the NOL carryforward worksheet! Fairly easy to use and I got the job done but it was time consuming. The personal property tax (portion of car registration) is incorrectly calculated if you share a car with more than one business. I share one car between my Schedule C business and my two Schedule E rental properties that I manage. It asks me the make/model of the car in all three places and doesn't allow me to share the car. It asks me to enter the Personal Property Tax (portion of the car registration) in all three places. Then I notice on my schedule A, my individual Personal Property Tax (on line 7 of Schedule A) is incorrectly adding all three together as though they were different cars. Instead of my personal use portion of the $35 personal property tax (car registration), I'm getting $97, which is my personal use portion of 3 X $35. It would be great if TurboTax did a better job of sharing a car between businesses. October 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great to Have Prior Year's Data Automatically Load I keep using TurboTax because it generally works well. Once you have filed a year or two on TurboTax, you definitely get better at using the software and you learn to keep good notes about the most difficult/troublesome areas. I wish TurboTax would improve the areas regarding Foreign Taxes Paid and AMT. These are very complicated and confusing parts of the tax code, so some EXTRA EFFORT on TurboTax's part to offer clearer explanations of the terms and exactly what the IRS is looking for (in plain English) on each line item entry, would be most helpful. For EXAMPLE, instead of just asking you to input the "Gross Income Sourced at Beneficiary Level: Foreign Source Income", provide clear direction on where to retrieve the require data. Something like 'On the K-1, add the amounts from Lines X, Y, & Z and input the total here.' October 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes Overall, the software provides very good support thru every step and makes the filing less stressful. thank you October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amita Made it Work My taxes were made more complicated by the fact that I owed taxes in 2 states in 2014. I was having a really hard time figuring out how to avoid getting double taxed on my dividend and interest income. Amita spent hours walking me through what to do. When she ran into roadblocks, she took the time offline to figure out how to fix my issues, then patiently walked me through the correct way to fill out my forms. I am extremely grateful to her and impressed with the level of customer service at TurboTax. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one Con! I have used Turbo Tax since the first year it started and have always been happy with it. I not only like Turbo Tax Software, but I have been extremely happy with the call in customer service. I have been very ill and am now disabled. This year I had to mail my taxes in by Oct. 15, it would have been great if there was also a way (just a button to select) to send Turbo tax a copy of my return. You just don't know how Turbo Tax having a copy of my taxes has helped in the past. We had a home fire that took everything and you helped me get it back. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as always October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I used to use H&R Block which was great, but was advised I could do this for myself. I have used TurboTax ever since. It is very user friendly. The "helps" to answer any questions are easy to understand and make using TurboTax a breeze. Try TurboTax...it could help your dreaded filing time seem not so taxing! October 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smiling!! Filing was easy and TurboTax asked questions I would not have thought to answer. October 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes Tax Filing so Easy I like how easy it makes tax filing for us. I hear complaints, but I don't relate. Have used it for the last 10 years, and it gets better each year. Remembers all my old data, so I can do comparisons on previous payments or deductions etc. October 25, 2015
  • 2015-11-27 T12:25:33.624-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184762, tr_184762
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.