1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 10 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182320 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it May 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by NEVER AGAIN Next year I'll use another software after using turbo tax over twenty year. 1. Deducted money from my account twice 2. Important information was missing from my tax return 3. Still have not received my return but was charged by the turbo tax software... TERRIBLE!!! May 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad year for Turbo Tax I have been using Turbo for many years and was satisfied. What happen to your good product? If it was to save a buck it was a bad move. Your loss and mine. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 I have used Turbo Tax for a number of years now. I've read some of the on-line criticisms and while I'm sure they have some merit, I find that the ease of use and thoroughness of the system to work for me. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!~ I hate hate hate filing my tazes, and every year TurboTax comes through! May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money Well Spent! The product meets my need to complete my own return, but provides support and answers when needed. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hope you're right Seemed different form last years filing. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peezy Overall good experience. The help functions were very helpful. May 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I was out of state and had to file an extension. In Intuit's eyes, this made me ineligible to receive the $25 rebate, which was suppose to be available to all required to upgrade to PREMIER due to Intuit's product repackaging. Intuit's business practices are suspect. Next year, I will evaluate other options. May 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Failed to transmit ive used turbotax for years. this time the state was transmitted but the federal was not. this has naturally caused problems May 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Please make this work! I just submitted my federal, then went back to Federal and deleted entire 1099-R to submit NYS. Last year I just mailed in my state. This problem is listed and complained about all over google! Two years now... Come on now & please just fix it!!! May 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I think it is too expensive. Way to expensive. I hired a tax person two years ago and paid him $150. He did everything. I paid Turbo Tax $100 and I had to do all the work. It doesn't seem like it is worth it to me. Someone recommended H&R Block's software was better and cheaper. So, I may use that next year. May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than hiring CPA I have been using Turbo Tax to file my tax for few years now. Before I used TT, I engaged with a CPA to file my tax thinking he would be helpful in answering my tax questions or providing some good tax advice. I ended up paying more than $1k plus with just the W-2 filing + Sch A. He provided no good advice in my situation but charging me few hours consultation fees (just merely talking) + 1 hour rate of file opening fee. So ridiculous! I spent more time, scanning, providing him the documents and explaining my docs to him. With TT, I save myself time scanning docs! Much easier to do it myself! Moreover, TT has always wonderful and extremely helpful CPAs to help you answering all questions you have. They truly care for their clients. May 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Premier 2014 less usable than prior year ediions Review of Premier 2014 Overall, it seems that TurboTax is "overautomating" the product, with the result that tax returns with any level of complexity beyond plain vanilla are harder and more time-consuming to do than in previous years. Example: I have certain small "unusual situations," such as a pension paid from an overseas source that does not furnish 1099-Rs. . In previous years TT pulled all the information forward in the 1099-R section from the previous year, including the "missing or incorrect 1099-R" status for this pension. Did not happen in 2014 version. I had to go back and manually do the 4592 form for "missing 1099-R" and undo the info for that pension that TT pulled from the 2013 return. . Similar issues in other situations that would seem to be fairly common for the investor/property owner customer that Premier is aimed, such as interest paid from loaning out securities. In past years, the "link to data source" function enabled the user to go back and make the necessary adjustments. Not in the 2014 version. The "link to source" function usually did not work. My recommendation to TT is to provide the user more control or options in importing information from previous year's returns.... example -- import the answers that the user gave to interview questions the previous year, to enable the user to retain the answer for this year or change it, rather than puzzling through everything again. Other: I use the Hawaii state return. This is a simple return, but TT does not really do it well. Major failure...does not provide the N-158 Form, which every filer who has investment interest expenses must file. it is a simple form, easy to calculate from Federal Tax Return information, but TT does not do it. Perhaps because N-158 filers cannot file electronically. Also, the data source link simply does not work in the Hawaii State return. So -- overall review...TurboTax Premier 2014 still useful, but not up to previous year's standards or usability. May 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need to try harder I've used TTax a long time. It is consistent and reliable, saving me lots of time year to year. May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Tax Preparation Software Excellent tax prep software. Guides new users along, also makes it easy for experts to go to Forms mode to get to specific detailed items. I've been using tax software and preparation services for years, and NOTHING BEATS TURBO TAX! May 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going backwards Seems like the program is dropping old features to make changes for Health care question. Used to handle K-1's with no problems, now a mess. Does not handle short term long term split of stock sales, was automatic before even on Deluxe. Does not handle Form 1116's well, worse then before. Always wants overrides when before either calculated itself or asked. Took Five times to get it to recognize Various, had to keep retyping. I bought Premier this time, no benefit unless you trashed Deluxe. If you want to keep to one CD, used to be 3.5 inch disk and had videoes, then make two CD or switch to DVD. I am seriously considering H&R Block TaxCut next year, Asking for answers on a user blog is not satisfactory. May 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Online surprises I've been using Turbo Tax for years. Typically I buy the discs and load it up. This year I did the online version and the differences are NOT CLEARLY defined. I ended up having to buy the discs anyway and spending MORE THAN TWICE as much to complete my family's returns this year. BUYER BEWARE! Also, I couldn't figure out how to view the forms in the online version. When I needed to go back in to update some entries, navigating was not as easy. May 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I never received my card in the mail. I filed and everything correctly but never received my card in the mail. The site is awesome. The mailing process not so much. I needed that money. May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much improved over previous returns I found that the process was much improved over a few years ago, greater flexibility makes it easier to deal with issues and correct problem areas. It is a thumbs up from me. May 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by review I liked last year's tax form better. this year's form was confusing. May 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product, no respect for cutomers It is outrageous that Intuit would sell the same product with the same name for the same price as in past years, but take the guts out of it. Raise the price if you must, but don't deceive your loyal customers. May 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Refund experience for 2014 return Other than the lengthy time for the CD disk to load the filing and asking of questions went very smooth for my tax filing. May 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too easy May 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did not take into consideration that I am a senior who is still working so I can figure a modified AGI for Roth contribution. Would not take that in to consideration. May 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK for any standard return, but for certain transactions leaves a lot to be desired. May 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally good, but Form 1116 section is a terrible. Way too much work to enter information on the form that is already entered. Also, requiring a separate program for Sch C expenses is unconscionable. May 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Super Frustrating forced to upgrade to higher level of TT at substantial additional cost, but did not get money's worth by far; never could figure out why some of my entries were ignored, because no details were available in worksheets; finally gave up and filed anyway because my time was worth more that the bottom-line difference May 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problem with obsolete K-1 I could not remove a K-1 from a partnership that closed ouit completely in 2013, and had no 2014 activity. This caused an error message when I had no info for that K-1, and that in turn prevented me from e-filing. This caused a lot of time spent trying to work around, and finally I gave up and printed and filed. Not happy withthat. May 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wrong Information When I tried to file an extension it said at the end to "Create" a 5 digit number. This is wrong, you have to get this number from the IRS. When I when I went to file my return it asked for the 5 digit number, but when I entered the digits and filed the reject letter came back and said I needed a 6 digit number from the IRS and gave me the IRS web site to get it, but again the filing only asked for a 5 digit number. The web site said not to use the "fix it now" option and told me how to do a workaround. All this and more is very frustrating and taught me NOT to use TurboTax in the future and use a real person. May 22, 2015
  • 2015-07-01T11:22:33.475-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182317, tr_182317
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 3808 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.