1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182551 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Have used for several years and really like. July 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, almost great I contributed 4K to HSA, employer 1K. W2 box 12 code W was 5K, labeled as employer contributions. In fact is was sum of both me and employer. I did not declare HAS so tax was computed on 5K. At review time TT did not notice that I had HSA contributions but not HSA declared.It should have generated a warning that I had illogical entries. I had to look on other (non TT) forums to find the cause of the problem. Hint to TT, fix this for next year. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall its a good software... Its a great software, but it took me like 2 weeks to file the return... somehow I feel like it should have taken far less time than that... I wasted like 3 days stock downloading a Florida State Tax Return, just to find out later on that I didn't need it... July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplicity itself As someone who dreads filing, Turbo Tax is so easy it gets me to do it, because I know "it won't be all that bad". It grabs data from Quicken, which grabs it from my bank account. I did three years in three half days of work last year, and a fourth year today in just over 3 hours. I'm confident, also, that the software gets me the right deal. My effective tax rate is always lower than I fear it would be. An outstanding product. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outrageous State eFile Fees The fees for eFiling State returns are beyond the pale. I have paid $40 to $80 for federal taxes and one state return and then an additional $40 for any additional state returns, but on top of that you want to charge me another $25 per state return eFiling, a service that in this day and age should be included in the cost of your software, like the Federal return is. I have never paid these ridiculous fees to eFile a state return and I never will. The state eFiling should be included in the price of the state return. If you must charge something (I continue to fail to see why), I might pay no more than $5, but even then I would feel I was being ill used. July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doing my taxes can be a challenging experience thanks to Turbo Tax I feel confident that I'll get the best return. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maximized my expectation Makes my life easy by making it possible for me to do it myself. I enjoyed the challenges of its review features. Very interesting software. July 26, 2015
  • 2015-07-29T12:08:03.838-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182543, tr_182543
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 3813 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.