1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294440 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Makes It Easy! TurboTax made filing easy in previous years. This year I was very pleasantly surprised to find it easier than ever. It seems they must be constantly working on how to improve what is already great, which makes TurboTax the epitome of best practices in tax prep.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don’t get married I am now late since the irs rejected filing due to using married name of 14 years ago, because it does not match social security card
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Has My Back I like the Self Emploment platform. Very easy to understand and flows perfectly to the end. Fastest return completed to date. I am thankful to have a choice and select audit defense. Thanks for making this product better year after year. Michael
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Adequate - but less impressive than years past Had a few crashes using this application - though far fewer than QuickBooks (or more aptly named QuackBooks). Very disappointed that I could not import my business information generated with TurboTax Business into my personal return. The wizards were ok, though they skipped questions and still required a lot of research on my part to know what to fill in where. Terrible at walking through moving, home purchases and other major life events. I've used TurboTax in the past, but will likely evaluate other products next year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't Use Again I have used Turbo Tax for years and this will be my last! You held my previous returns hostage and didn't import all the information. Your note said if I simply pay for my 2016 taxes, which I needed the 2015 information to complete before I could pay for 2016!!! I trusted you with my tax documents for years but no more. Also made it impossible to accurately select I had Lived in Kansas for most of the year but had a second office in another state. What is worse is I had to use my previous address as my mailing address in order to get my 2016 business address correct even though I have since moved!!! I paid as much as a friend who went to an accountant so I neither saved time or money. Just got frustrated.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NAILED IT!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Concise Deductibles Tips! TurboTax solves the problem of "what does this mean?" (IRS-speak). For example there are multiple places where healthcare expense info was asked for (using Self Employment Tax version) and I never had to wonder if Obamacare, or some other health expenses were being referenced; well-explained and properly concise. The list of allowable expenses or items that apply to a particular entry were helpful and gave me confidence that I was listing the correct kinds of expenses. Also gave me ideas for some things I may have not considered. All in all, well worth the money in 'aggravation removed' and deductions maximized. Head and shoulders above H & R Block and two people's height above Jackson Hewitt.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True Really look forward to relying on TurboTax each year in helping me with my return. I could NEVER do it without it. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program Great program. Good value with Max protection. Looking forward to another trouble free year of tax returns.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Good and The Glitch This is my first time using TurboTax. I found it streamlined my strategy for filing taxes, helped me organize data, and informed me of considerations I had not made - such as filing income from out of state, even if small or renter's credit in the State of California. All of these positives resulted in momentum I have not had before when filing taxes. As much momentum as the positives created, there were some glitches that threatened to prevent me from being able to file the return at all. Momentum Kill. As a result, I have some "fixes" of my own for TurboTax (TT). FIX #1: when recommending a fix PLEASE provide a link back to the page and/or section on the site where that issue can be found. At least list the location of the fix somewhere obvious on the same window as the fix. This would have saved me HOURS and huge frustration. FIX #2 - Form 3544. In a nutshell, users beware of a list of questions in the State Return section for self-employeed filers that mentions something like "credit raptures". AVOID answering any questions in this section unless it does apply to you. DO NOT put in a number "0" as an answer. BIG MISTAKE. You cannot un-do this once you enter "0". It will show up as a fix when you go to review your return. The fix will mention FORM 3544. You will have no idea what that is or where to find it on the site to "fix" this issue. You will then turn to the help center and read a very dooming answer stating once you enter a "0", you cannot un-do the damage. It gets worse! Answering questions regarding Form 3544 even with the number "0" will increase your tax liability. Help Center will let you know that the only way to undo the damage done is deleting your state return. However, you cannot delete your state return if you have "already registered it or purchased it" according to the help center. I had not done either and there was still no option to edit or delete my CA state return. SOLUTION: Fortunately, a friend of mine suggested looking through "forms" and to attempt deleting Form 3544. VOILA! I would have missed the filing deadline if it were not for my friend. TurboTax was no friend to me here. Also prior to the Form 3544 glitch, one of the fixes required that I add a pin number, my birthdate and today's date in order to file. When I did so, TT would not accept today's date. After I figured out the Form 3544 problem, TT accepted today's date. Not sure what the issue was there. In all, there were 4 fixes recommended where I found it next to impossible to fix the issues and this almost prevented me from filing by the deadline. In these 4 instances, there was either insufficient information to fix the issues - such as where to go to fix issues I had not heard of or encountered anywhere on the site previously - OR there was simply a glitch in the TurboTax system such as not accepting today's date. On the whole, TurboTax is brilliantly laid out and has taken an immense amount of factors into consideration. It also has a quick response time technically to all entries. Please Fix the Fixes! The feedback here would be such a simple way to make it significantly more user friendly than it already is. Thanks.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All The Details I have used TurboTax for several years. It is thorough and takes you through the process in a logical way. I only wish they gave you a worksheet so that you can gather all your materials together before you start.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, relatively painless, do not know why I put this off Thank you
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worksheet review slows down filing My filing could have been before the deadline if it wasn't for some of the ads and worksheet review that was already answer long before the review. This isn't the first year where I've had to deal with reviewing worksheets when I've already filled out all the necessary info earlier...
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough!!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a little more user friendly would be great since i am an independent contractor my taxes are a little more taxing than the run of the mill 9 to 5er. It would help to have a box to skip mileage entry if done by expenses previously, a lot. also, being able to enter w-2s before 1099s and expenses would also be more helpful. its easy to get discouraged when bombarded with a million things you have to figure out than a form you have accessible that you just have to plug in numbers from.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from extra last minute delays caused late filing Everything seemed OK, all was done, reviewed, ready to file; so at 11:30 I went to file, and there were several unexpected final steps for filing that took too long so it was filed late; will have to pay late filing fees/penalties. Why were there extra steps? Why did I have to re-enter data that was already entered? Why was I charged an additional fee for filing state, when it was supposed to be included? Having to deal with all this last minute was totally unacceptable. Everything was done and all ready to file; it should have only taken a couple of minutes.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ushered Me Right Through My Procrastination! Literally spoon feeds you the information you need to get the maximum refund possible!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you for developing this software
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Paying for TurboTax from refund too expensive I have high regard for TurboTax and has used the services for several years. Today for some reason, one of my credit card to pay for the turbotax software for strange reasons did not go through. So I finally decided to pay it off from refund. But later in the work flow it showed $34.95. Given how nicely, UI is done by Turbo Tax, charge shouyld have been shown upfront. Anyway, I went back and used one of other credit card and things worked. So I am giving 3 Star in place of otherwise 5.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bang for your 11th Hour Buck TurboTax is a great product. What do you do when your accountant ends up in the ER the week of your filings? Grab your 1099's and get to work! A real stress reliever, knowing I've overpaid and proactively handled it. And I can have him double-check the final numbers for any discrepancies later. Bonus!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Procrastinator's Delight some of the income items did not allow for federal tax withholding. don't know where any federal taxes already paid such as estimated taxes were supposed to be entered. i may have overpaid and will have to determine a refund later.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Makes the Painful Painless Although I absolutely hate doing our taxes each year, TurboTax takes the pain out of it – for the most part. It's such a thorough program and I really like the fact that I can consult with a tax professional if need be. I used to have my taxes done by a CPA, but I never really understood the process until I started using TurboTax. Thanks so much for this great service.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy a caveman could do it! I love how quickly the interface efficiently guides you through all of the relevant issues specific to each individual, without wasting time on the irrelevant issues.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very helpful Requiring prior year agi is hard if I don't remember where I put the form or if I don't remember what it was or who I did the returns though.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eases a Painful Experience I have been with Turbo Tax since it's inception. It gets better each year. They have won my business over the years, and I am not tempted to cash in on the new free versions.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I have nothing bad to say about TurboTax. No hate zone.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally finished! Overall a great experience. TurboTax tracks the amount you owe or that is due to you as you go. It also helps suggest tax breaks that might be available to you.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not as painless but I was told today was the last day to file taxes and turbo tax took a lot of the stress away.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TurboTax lost my work!! Turbotax promises to save your info, but it lost the work I did for my 2016 return. I know I used the right email/username because the confirmation of tax extension filing (back in April) was emailed to me. I also logged in with every possible username and email in case I somehow logged in to the wrong account (unlikely). This is the account I've had for many years and multiple prior tax returns were completely missing (status in tax timeline says it's started, but not filed) I had to re-do my complicated taxes and it was extremely painful. Also, Intuit needs to fix its account databases, because having multiple usernames per email is ridiculous.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_23, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125172, tr_169268
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 238ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.