1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 197887 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me when I needed it most! TurboTax helped me to properly report our younger son's daycare expenses and our older daughter's income. I loved being able to automatically import our investments by just entering the account number and document ID. It was so easy to use!
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fastest and easiest way ever!
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TT e-filing Came back to TurboTax after 3 years, it's so much easier to navigate and purchasing the online support really gave me confidence.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had no idea what I was doing but TurboTax helped This is the first time I filed taxes by myself, and I was unsure of what I was doing. The worst part is I did not have all the papers I needed! But the website was so specific and detailed on how to figure out what information to put. And the information I didn't have, TurboTax told me how to get it! Every time I was lost, there was help buttons to assist me on the way. I would have definitely been unable to do this on my own, and this website really helped. The price was higher than I expected, but it is honestly equivalent to the services being provided. Overall, it was so easy, fast, and convenient for me to use. Most importantly, accurate, and I would definitely recommend TurboTax for others to use.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me file fast! Turbotax answered almost all of my questions during the process which made the process quick and easy.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finalizing Extension ETH All and all I hate doing taxes, period. But I usually end up doing them myself anyway. This years was especially hard, because I had an unusual situation and had to file an extension. So, I ask for an Expert to call me. I believe he said his name was Austin and he was very friendly, helpful and made it seem a lot simpler than I thought. Hopefully, no one is going to be audited over my delay and changes to the return. Thank you
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peezy This was my first year using the online version of TurboTax. In the past, I've relied on the desktop software. I preferred this experience. I particularly liked the option to contact an expert for advice. Richard, the EA I video conferenced was kind, patient, and knowledgeable. I have peace of mind that my taxes were correct and optimal.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Albert's review Everything on my 2017 return was handled in a professional manner. thank you so much.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax - Refundmax Great service and much much better than hiring even the big ones like PWC. Turbotax really works for you, not your company, or the governments. They care about maximizing your refund and getting everything right.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, efficient, helpful
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The return process provides explanations with needed but I miss being able to actually see the tax forms. You can't see them until the very end.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The sure thing in Tax refund The video review by Valerie was thorough. My questions and concerns were answered or allayed.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make it easy TT I've used Turbo Tax for many years in the past and I will continue to use Turbo Tax for many years to come. Using Turbo Tax is easy once all of your information is gathered up. If you have your taxes done you have to get the information together. Then take it to some one to put it together, using Turbo Tax is just like having that person sitting with you at home and you can take all the time you need to get the correct information together. It's just a lot easier. If you should have a problem or need help they are just a phone call away.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks Turbo and Sherman We have several special situations that required some expert help. We did this through a tax accountant last year and paid $600. We used turbo tax this year and paid $200. It also feels good to have been more hands on with our own taxes.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love you turbo tax! They made a difficult return very simple for me. And taught me how to file a few tax breaks to maximize my return. Thank you so much.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy I have been using TurboTax for several years and will continue to use these services. The process is so easy and quick.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Filing rejected I should have not been charged since my file was rejected.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to do updates! On Federal, unlike State, very difficult to print Estimated Tax forms without printing entire tax return. I just got my last K-1 (1065) forms and had to update Turbo Tax with latest information, including estimated taxes. I do a lot of stock trading, so estimates need to be updated, reflecting success or lack thereof in trades through the year. Turbo Tax does not allow me to do this easily and then print new revised estimated tax forms. Yes, it can be done, but took me the better part of an hour to load the two new K-1s (easy), adjust the resulting refund to apply to next year (difficult), and then calculate (easy) and print (hard) new estimated quarterly payments, Fed and state, for the second half of the year.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy to file my taxes! I really like this software
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Experience Filing 2017 Return I wish I could rate zero stars. Turbo Tax's software was not prepared for the extension to file your 2017 tax return. As a result, if you filed after the initial deadline but in time based on the extension you could not electronically process payment to the IRS or e-file your return. I incurred the expense of using Turbo Tax and was unable to process my return. I spent hours with Turbo Tax's online and phone. The representative had me change the date on my computer in addition to numerous other troubleshooting ideas in an effort to e-file my return. Nothing worked. In order to pay my taxes I had to go through another website and incurred an additional processing fee.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tools Turbo Tax is a fantastic and easy way to get through the difficult job of tax reporting
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like riding a bike I filed with TurboTax a very long time ago (AOL - dial up internet - type long time ago) and it was fairly easy back then. Turn that clock forward a marriage, a few kids, rental property in a different state, college, and several investments. The last 10 - 15 years I've been using a company to file my taxes because it was just too complicated to figure out myself. This year I decided to give Turbo Tax a try again. I was quite surprised at how automated the process is and how easy it was to get my taxes filed. If anything the program is too thorough. There were questions asked that I hadn't even begun to think of which will come in handy when it's time to file next year.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it was ok only issue i had was when in final review is said i had to line 3 d on the 2210 review over and over. google'd a fix and it fixed it, but still, annoying.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learning about deductions I used several sessions to file my returns. The software continued to give me advice to deductions and my refund was increased every time I thought about new situations.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surely a Success This was easy compared to going to find to someone to help do taxes.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy yet challenging I did love the fact my information transferred without me having to find it. Some of the questions were a bit confusing but I don't blame Turbo tax completely since the information I needed from the previous financial institution was confusing as well. The price of the product also had me a bit confused as well. It gave me a price which I am assuming was an estimate only for me to find the true price once I was finished.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from last year info does not populate in current return I've used turbotax since 2008. I remember prior years' returns would pull info from previous tax returns. This has not continued since 2016 which makes the process that much more irritating and time consuming -
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appears to be solid Turning 65 makes for new issues around health care payments that are not clear when your kid is still on the books and also not really a kid anymore!
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Used Turbo tax for years when I only had w2 & now as self employed they were even more helpful. Thank you
Date published: 2018-07-06
  • y_2018, m_7, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80375, tr_117482
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 172ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.