1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 200820 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough Really likes how I was able to do my taxes on my timeline and how I was guided and assured things we going well.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow what fun I get it. Tax law is way too complicated and needs a serious re-write- which is not the same as reform. Simply simplify would be great. Turbo tax has not even tried to do that and the program often creates another layer of obfuscation. Take the Section 179 error which wasn't an error until Turbo tax got ahold of it. What a debacle.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes the process simple for busy families! Appreciate the opportunity to use this company and software to prepare our taxes through a verified and trusted process.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Completed My Refund!!!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT Satisfied After speaking with 6 or 7 people at usaa and 3 people at turbo tax NO ONE could find a fix for transfering tax data to tax program. Lost all benefit from data transfer. Not at all happy. Case numbers 431675034 and431676458. Had to manually enter data
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from improved
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from David is the consummate professional! Personable, but extremely professional, saw the larger picture and saved me so much on my return. He is familiar with the documents, and was amazing.... found a huge error from prior rep! Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help Not Helpful I had an error that stated that I had to contact an agent to fix. It took me four hours before I was able to get in touch with a real person.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Comprehensive but slow and hard to navigate The look and presentation is nice for the most part, but the software is unimaginably slow-- 10s typical to respond to a button click. As a developer I can't figure out how to make something that slow. The calculations made all seemed to work well, and handled lots of strange cases in my return-- so accuracy and coverage is great. The charitable contributions entry is extremely slow and tedious, and the online donation tool seems worse. You have to go through many pages of form clicks just to enter one number. They should just allow a one page table with name and amount for cash contributions. Donations to Goodwill, etc. are handled nicely with amount calculators. Navigation is somewhat hard when you want to jump to a place in the guided forms-- for example try to find where to enter estimated tax options. It's also hard to see the connection between entry forms and tax form boxes. Overall, Turbotax is good, but is painful to use and I wish Intuit could fix some of the usability and speed problems.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but not needed TurboTax, for the most part, was simple and user-friendly. There was a hiccup trying to get 1099-misc filed properly. I like the process, not so much the fees. Will most likely return to TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from incomplete In doing the returns, I did not get a question asking if I wanted to apply the refund to next year- on fed or state; also did not get a step to print the returns for filing. I just went through my copy and took out the pages that said 'keep for your records.'
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellente Thanks for offering a service that helps me avoid worrying about an incoming unnecessary audit.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Autobiography Was able to complete my entire submission in less than 3 hours and submit electronically. There was a problem (my error) which caused the IRS to reject the submission and Turbotax helped me fix the error and resubmit in about 10 minutes on the phone.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! Excellent, easy-to-use software for taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used Turbo Tax for a long, long, time! Turbo Tax should develop a new product (service) that would help me. With taxes changing dramatically, TT should provide an update service via email alerting me about changes and reminding me about tax planning not just at the end of the year but throughout the year. It should also allow me to ask questions and get easy to understand answers. For instance, if I take the new standard deduction (joint $24K) can I still use charitable contributions to reduce my taxes? TT should be my "wing man" in the tax world!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Staying up till 2am miss work to fix Turbotax erro I stayed up till 2am then miss the next day work to fix Turbotax programming errors that kept asking for info I did not have on my investments (regular and k-1), terrible terrible, I spent so much time on 1 or 2 dollar investments that I almost went insane and had to make up numbers (e.g. cost basis, income source allocation), manually enter my address in investment forms, delete items that were on k-1 forms etc in order to stop the error messages
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Help Me Please
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Buggy My e-filings got rejected several times, missing important deadlines. The culprit?, a bug in the user authentication, where it asks for last years AGI. Only worked when I finally enrtered zero for that at the request of the tech support rep. Once I did that, then the IRS finally accepted my return, but now I am looking at possibly thousands of dollars in penalties for missing deadlines while troubleshootiung your bugs. After over thirty years of TTax use, I am fed up. Now also almost impossible to find the IRS instructions to a given entry in forms.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can exhale now! I spoke to a number of experts from the moment I signed on. They called quick and answer all my questions. Gave recommendations and helped me correct my mistakes without laughing at me, at least not to hard. Used Turbo last year- had some ups and downs, but it all worked out. I will be using it again next year for sure. Thank you all.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hassel free Tax filing Best money ever spent on tax preparation.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Continue to do what you do! Makes taxes for Dummies (like myself) Easy!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cumbersome, E-file diags sorely lacking The program is a slow loading bear. If you already know what form you want to use next, it is difficult to leave the prompts and go directly to the form then back to the prompts. The rejects form IRS e-file are too generic. Directs you to AGI; but the AGI is carried forward from last year's return so that is not the reason. No other "clues" are given for the rejections.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from How do you pay if you are a late filer I filed for an extension, I owe money, but most if not all of your options state April 17, 2018 I need the options for October 15, 2018, which none are listed. My return was rejected and getting live help is almost impossible even though i paid extra for live help Please correct this going forward
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 Each year you get better and better, just like fine wine!!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Simplicity 1) Bugs in software limiting direct entry into forms and worksheets 2) Software disallowed dependent going through step by step process over a dozen times. Finally, using assistance on line, had to delete dependent and then re-enter the same information. Turbo tax expert confirmed the issue on their copy. 3) Could not edit state tax refund from amended return without program deleting forms and worksheets. 4) Repeating Entries every time you go through topic.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good software made easier switched from 10 years of TaxAct
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Typos between years are extremely annoying For some reason, TurboTax adjusted various dates between years, which led to my returns being rejected. In theory, the whole point of doing a computerized program is to streamline the process and take advantage of unchanging data entry. It doesn't work when the program adds errors.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Failed to save nightmare Spent hours yesterday inputting my information on Turbo Tax 2017 for Home and Business. This is a very helpful program for the self employed and I've used it for years without issues but yesterday was different. After carefully filling out all of the schedules and doing a final review it prompted me to save my print version. When I tried to save it in a windows file different than the default file the program showed me an error code, asked me to send the error information to Turbo tax which I did and then it shut down. When I reopened the program I discovered it had failed to save the work I had inputted. I used explorer to search for my 2017 tax file to no avail. Consequently I was forced to redo all of my work for the next few hours. Apparently there is no auto save. On the second run I made sure to save every 5 minutes and I was able to save, retrieve and print the final version. What a night mare...
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Service Ive done my taxes with TurboTax since 2011, no problems. Had to call help this time and got it fixed in about 10 minutes! Excellent customer service. Agent was knowledgeable and courteous!!!
Date published: 2018-10-16
  • y_2018, m_10, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81358, tr_119444
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.