TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 384 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17510 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Premier I did my federal and state returns by hand for years. Eventually, I created spreadsheets to do the calculations. I transferred the results to the paper forms by hand. About ten years ago, I almost submitted my spreadsheet-calculated return without considering recent changes to the tax code. What a pain it was to reverse-engineer the federal forms to figure out how to update my formulas! That's when I switched to TurboTax Deluxe. Two years ago, I was convinced that Deluxe had computed my state return incorrectly. Much to my surprise, Deluxe had found a deduction - of a few 1,000s - that I didn't know existed. Nice! Of course, I was disappointed when Deluxe lost SCH D, needed for my modest capital gains (or losses!) each year. Big Mistake, Intuit. But thanks for making it right. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Experience! I have been using TurboTax for many years now, I am overall avery satisfied customer. I have never been audited and the step by steps instructions to "prompt" you are excellent. The "Learn More" button to explain each topic is invaluable. Compared to the cost of having your taxes done, TurboTax is a great value. Although, I still don't get the $19.99 charge to file electronically. You are saving the IRS "tons of money" by filing electronically, so why penalize us? If it's anybody they should be hitting a filing charge to, it's the "manuel" filers, who's returns have to be opened, scanned and processed by alot of people! It would be great if Intuit could write to the IRS to emphasize this point and try to eliminate or reduce that electronic filing charge! Thanks for listening. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not my favorite version of Turbotax Would not change securities from A to D or E or vice versa.. Had to delete individual sales info and re enter into the proper category on the federal info entry forms. Will not permit the deletion of blank income/with holding forms in the state (MS) tax return part of the program. Keeps asking for info to be filled out on blank forms that were not used in the federal program, but were downloaded to the state program. TurboTax 2013 had this same problem, and it has not been corrected. Makes it impossible to run an audit of your completed tax forms for submission if you have the desire to file electronically. Kept telling me that I had 35 errors, which were 3 pages, four forms to the page with no information on them. Printed for manual filing and deleted the un necessary pages. March 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easier but still some bugs with states! I greatly appreciate being able to import as much data as possible from our employers or financial institutions, or a specific guide on the boxes in W2's and such so as to avoid the possibility of errors. However, in the 3 state taxes that we had to file, the guidance was much more generic and confusing. I did not know where to look sometimes, for specific numbers. I was also particularly bothered by the number of times one state kept asking if we were a resident (about 5 different ways). That information should be clearly imported from the federal return, and I should not have been re-questioned about the rental property in our home state on the other state returns. Would appreciate streamlining some of that information or make the program "smarter" to pick up on that detail. March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as in past years I have been a devoted user since 1994. First, I purchased the Deluxe version and discovered that I could not use the forms that I had available in the past years(schedule B). So, I took back the Deluxe version and purchased the Premier version which of course cost more. I started using Premier and it seemed to go fine on the Federal, but when I got to the State of Ohio, I got different results than the program in the worksheet for line 46a line 2. It took only the amount for my Medicare premium payments and not the sum of out of pocket expenses plus the Medicare premium payments. I did the calculations long hand to be sure. Very disappointing! If I had not compared with last year, I would have missed this. This will probably be my last year with TurboTax, after all those years! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product I have used TurboTax for many years. TurboTax has always enabled me to file an accurate return in a reasonable amount of time. Didn't matter whether I was married or not, employed or independent, rich or poor, landlord, tenant, or homeowner...all situations (and all carryovers) were handled well. In the early years there were a few glitches, but every year TurboTax seems to get better, and now it is hard to find anything to complain about. It is nice to be guided at times and "on your own" when no help is needed, and switching back and forth is easy. Another very nice feature is a right-click to go from a dollar amount to the form from which it came. There are many different types of help available--tech support, tax help, forums, links to IRS material. Keep up the good work! March 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upgrade was a money grab gone wrong!!! I have used Turbotax for 8 or 9 years and rarely have had a problem. We do own some stocks so I needed the investment forms Imagine my surprise when I had to pay $20 more for the software this year!! Imagine my greater surprise when the upgrade version could not find the 2014 return on my computer; I tried for days to get the two versions "to talk to each other" , got no support from the online group and finally asked a question on your FaceBook page and was provided the info by "Danielle", a helpful person on your tech support staff. The software was still buggy but I am sure you know this. Not sure a $25 rebate is gonna bring me back next year unless I am assured the bugs will be fixed and, if you move the investment forms back to the deluxe version it is backwards compatible. March 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Made Simple and Cheaper than my Accountant I started out on the free service side f turbo tax online. I found it frustrating going from screen to screen. It just took too long and my internet was working perfectly. Not sure why this happened. I decided when I got halfway through the free form, to upgrade to the Premier per their suggestion. Since I couldn't get it to upgrade on the internet site, I bought the Premier package. I couldn't be happier. I finished both Federal and State returns within an hour. Simple, easy, and well explained pages. I e-filed my returns and I'm done before the deadline for the first time in 3 years. And the amazing part is I did it myself for 1/3 the price of my accountant and far less phone calls. I was recommended to try this by a friend and I will be happy to recommend it to all my friends. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Extremely easy to use!! As stated it the Cons area, the basic version didn't have all the forms for 2014. For the last twenty years or so I have always used the Basic version. For 2014 I bought the Deluxe version only to find out when I tried to enter a 1099-B that the Deluxe version wouldn't work and it offered me the chance to upgrade to Premier for an additional $30. Luckily I held off as the next day the email came out the Turbo tax made a mistake by not providing all the forms and provided instructions how to get a free upgrade. I looked at using some other tax preparation software (i.e. HR Block or TaxSalyer) but decided to stay with Turbo tax. Hopefully for tax year 2015 you will provide all the forms necessary in the Basic version. It not, well then Turbo tax isn't the only software on the market. February 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by ok, but a lot of clunky, poorly thought out spots over all it does the job, but there are a lot of spots that are clunky - like the printing, if you print your return, the on screen instructions are not clear, and they have been not clear for several years there was an error in importing a dependents data; I had to manually delete the dependent and redo it manually the overal 38.6% rate is not clear where it comes from the charitable contributions take way way to many clicks on many screens, you have to move the mouse to the right of the screen, and then, all the way over to the left to hit continue I mean, don't they do any User Testing ? in forms view, maybee I'm wrong, but if you open one form, and then quick zoom, i couldn't figure out how to go back just lots of petty annoyances that could have been cleaned up pretty easily April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Year Gone I like the Federal except for some entries in the K-1 (Form 1065) section. If a 0 is shown in partner's supplemental instructions and entered in some areas, Turbo Tax treats it as a non-zero entry, and proceeds accordingly with requests for more info and error messages. The only workaround is to enter no value (nothing) instead of a zero. The MT state software needs more refinement and help screens that have actual info. One section that deals with MT vehicle registration talks of codes such as 02-DOTRAT, 07-AVTAX, and others that have not been on registration receipts for several years. The MT state software also forces a lot of extra work on the preparer when filing "separately on the same form." More data needs to flow directly from current and prior federal and state returns. March 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired of copying from secure pw valut Step-by-step allowed me to quickly go through my return. Because I used TT last year, it remembered key items such as my investments, IRAs, charities & etc. I have many many of each and this automatic list helps as a reminder to me to go find the donations I made this year. My biggest frustration is with copying passwords from my on-line password vault/safe. I use Keypass to store my passwords to my financial sites. Some of the passwords are 30 or more characters. TT does NOT allow me to cut-copy-paste from the password vault to TT. I have made repeated errors sizing the two windows to that I can type accurately from Keypass into TT. If I mis-type, I am sent back three screens in TT - a terrible penalty on top of a bid situation. PLEASE allow c/c/p or even auto-type into PW fields. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable This may be my 15th or so year of using a TurboTax product. As in all years before, the product provided a thorough treatment of the process and easy guided entry. I use the Premier version to assist with business-related taxes and feel the coverage in these areas are spot on and help is right there if I need it. I never complete and file in one session, so I want the software to have easy access points to where I stop. TurboTax works very well for this approach. What I did not welcome this year was the product download process. Last year's was nearly the same. A very confusing path to get to the product I wanted and it seems that they really want to drive me to working out of the cloud. That is not for me and likely never will be. This year's process almost made me turn elsewhere. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! This is the greatest product - makes me feel like a tax pro! The feature that I found most useful is that one can enter as much info at one time as able and then can save and start again at any time. I started chemo-therapy during tax season and am exhausted ALL the time, so I could have very short sessions with TurboTax and slowly make my way through the whole thing at MY pace rather than someone else's. The only con that I can think of is that during the "check" at the end - TT sent me back to some dividend and interst forms that needed additional information - and they had no help for that particular box - I didn't know what to enter and could not find an answer for that particular box on their FAQs page. But that is the only problem I had. Thank you TurboTax for a great product! April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly Good As an occasional author, I receive small royalties periodically. I declare them as royalties but somehow a larger amount occurred on Schedule E. I had to call and work with a very nice Turbotax person to finally get it deleted. I could not change the entry from the "walk me through it", I had to go into the forms, Schedule E and finally I was able to eliminate the erroneous entry. I realize that the complexity of the tax laws complicates your programmers job. Let's all hope that our Congress can someday agree to make useful ways to simplify our tax returns. It took me about 18 hours to organize and enter all my data this year. Too much time for anyone with a relatively simple amount of retirement and investments. I have been using TurboTax for many years and will continue next year. February 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It just gets better -- and more expensive. The product is easy to use and flows well, but you have to know what a reasonable answer is to protect yourself. Example: if you follow the prompts for estimating taxes for 2015, your are asked how much you have already paid in 2015. It doesn't ever ask you what you know will be paid via withholding for the entire year. If you go to the worksheet, you will see that if you don't compute what will be withheld, the numbers for quarterly estimated taxes will be much too large. Even with the upgrade to Premier from Deluxe because of the awkward product roll-out, you still have to pay for the first state computation. That means an increase of more than $40 for the purchase of the software. The first state was included in Deluxe last year. There is still a fee for e-filing the state return. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need more complete questions for K-1 section I had a more difficult time this year in entering data from a K-1 related to the total sale during the year of the units owned in the entity. It was a reorganization of the entity but the conversion of the units to stock was considered a sale for tax purposes. There was no place to specifically indicate this type of transaction. Also there were some required adjustments to tax basis to properly calculate the total gain(loss. Finding how to enter that adjustment was a trick. Also the total gain had to be broken out between ordinary gain and capital gain. Again it was difficult getting this information in, in the right places. I feel the questions in the K-1 section should be specific on what was sold, i.e. partnership units and more specific questions to properly report the gain(loss). March 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Concerns/Disappointment/Not sure of Program Anymor I have consistantly used TURBO Tax for about 10 years although my friends recommend the competitive program. The last two years have been disappointing because the price continues to climb and the program is not as user friendly. I have a business degree so I like to believe my experience with Turbo Tax coupled with my education should make it easier. The process is more tedious than in the past. A current complaint, I was not able to pay the reduce fee by using my credited card for the Efile. I tried multiple times for several days. It continued to give me an error that my internet was not working but when I clicked the link to have the EXTRA $39 deducted from my return it when through quickly. It seems like an oppportunity to grab more money. This might be my last year with Turbo Tax. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another easy year with Turbo Tax I have been using Turbo Tax for many years and find it very easy to navigate. I like that TT can pull info from the prior year's return and pre-fill in many parts. I do not download 1099 data but enter all the info myself (I like to remain in control) . It is not a difficult task. The most time-consuming part for me is to compute cost basis for non-covered sales and to compute Schedule A itemized deductions. I do a sanity check prior to filing to make sure that info I have entered gets into the correct form. As long as our finances continue to consist of reported income on 1099s and W2s then using Turbo Tax should be fine. I think if we were to get into anything complex with real estate or Schedule C then I might consider using a tax professional. For now, I am delighted to use Turbo Tax. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Product As I'm not a tax pro I can't comment on it's effectiveness, etc. It seems to get the job done at a reasonable price. User interface/experience could use a little work. Some small things - like saving the file when needed automatically (rather than asking). The walk through is confusing since it gives you the option to selectively complete various subsections - perhaps this should be moved into an "intermediate mode". Something that I've noticed in more than one version - if you go back to a step/section later you might see a different set of prompts and may follow a different path - it's a bit confusing. The largest UX deficit is with the state return - it feels like a different product - clearly not as polished, etc. Give's the impression that perhaps it wasn't given the same attention? March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Asking for the first name at the beginning of the interview places that individuals name first on the returns. No problem with the federal, but causes problems on the state (at least for the state of Missouri). Figures ended up in the wrong column and causing some negative numbers for myself (a stay at home mom). Negative figures would surely result in red flags for possible audit. Turbo Tax, GO BACK TO THE OLD INTERVIEW. Also, I have purchased the same program year after year, Turbo Tax Deluxe. Did the same this year and what a shock to open, begin to prepare and find out that I have to upgrade to complete taxes. Cost for me more in the end, than it would have to purchase the Turbo Tax Premier Software in the store. My opinion, the current Turbo Tax Premier is what was Turbo Tax Deluxe. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pro and Con Re my "Con". In a major topic like "Wages and Income", when you have finished a subtopic like Dividends on 1099-DIV if you do not click "Next" the program usually sends you back to the topic of the major topic instead of the top of the section: in this case "Interest and Dividends. This ALWAYS happens when you are reviewing the subtopics, which you do because often if you answered not applicable, or skipped a subsection, it still remains blue highlighted so that you don't know that you already completed it. Really aggravating. And I got one warning that I had two identical income items for identical amounts, but the program would not tell me what and I could never find them. Final review never mentioned them so hopefully all is okay. But this is certainly the best version yet. Good job! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product! I've used Turbotax for years and have had a great experience with it each time. But the one sticking point I've had since the beginning is that entering ESPP sales, which consist of fractional shares bought at different times, is complicated and very time consuming. It took me several tries to get the entries right for each batch of shares sold. Maybe it's the nature of the ESPP beast, but it seems to me that there could be an easier way to get these entered. One thing that would help is for Turbotax to show the use of "Various" more conspicuously for entering batches of shares bought at different times. Right now, you have to find "various" by clicking for a drop-down. But don't let this deter you, Turbotax gets an otherwise onerous job done quickly, consistently, thoroughly, and easily. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax generally is an excellent program. I did encounter a problem. I sold a Florida condo(a second home) at a long term capital loss. Proceeds were reported on a 1099-s form. IRS regulations said to report 1099-s proceeds on Form 4797 which is sale of business property, However, Turbo tax said a Florida tax return would be required also. This I didn't understand because there is no individual income tax or capital gains tax in Florida. There is for Corporations and Businesses. I deleted the 4797 form and reentered the information as a sale of investment property. It didn't clear up the Florida tax message, but my final review was able to complete without error.. IRS rules didn't allow me to claim the loss, but I was able to use my property improvement records to drop the gain to zero. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - Complicated return or not... I have, what I would consider, a challenging tax situation – I live in State A, I am a resident of State B, and own rental property in State C (not by choice - house value dropped and I can’t afford 100K loss). I am also in the military, spent time in a combat zone, invested in the Thrift Savings Plan (basically, a DOD 401K) and an ROTH IRA. My step-daughter is a full-time student with a minimal income. I also have deductions for work, the rental property and college. Once I compiled all the supporting paperwork I was able to complete my taxes with TurboTax in less than 90mins. For $79 (plus tax) and fees for State eFile I can’t complain - especially considering a few years ago I spent MANY MANY hundreds of dollars sitting with someone who used similar software to help get my billions back… February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improvements needed Example: I included a 8949 for the short sale of a mortgage. After entering the dates, cost and sales prices, I went to the explanations page. However, when I discovered that I had not entered the sales price. I could not find a way to edit the 0 to a number, and the only way I could cure the problem was to delete the form and re-enter the data. There was no back button when I was looking at the date/prices, and where was no way I could change the numbers. The data source was greyed out. I've used TT since it was based on DOS. My other gripe has been the frequent change in the interface, requiring learning anew. Fortunately, that seems to be stabilizing. My returns run around 20+ pages. I've also taken lessons from the IRS and H & R Block. Would like the ability to deal with a 1041 via TT. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It takes a village to file your taxes The pros of this program made filing from home possible for us. It took two days this year. So much verifying to make sure in was all "good data" going in. How could a preparer do that all? The Oregon military pension subtraction debacle, was really caused by my naming DFAS differently in previous years so the service dates did not carry forward. Easy to see and fix, after I researched for hours and realized my mistake. Biggest help was the Q and A's available. A comment made by a contributor led me to research the right instructions and forms. The contributor had file an ammended return...YUK. Compelling me to research before I filed. OK, a preparer would have caught this error immediately. However, I am much better informed than I used to be, especially as to how TurboTax fills out forms. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last minute surprise There seems to have been a glitch in the state tax return accuracy check. I had gone step by step through the entire completion process but was not alerted that anything was missing until I went to e-file. I hit the button to efile and suddenly the message pops up that one more piece of info had to be entered in a box 14a. It is quite unpleasant to have that type of request come at the last minute, after you think you are all done and ready to submit. (I had three 1099R forms that had one missing box each...even though I had copied everything just as it was printed). I had to go back and dig out the info needed...and there was no quick way to go back to the form. You should have a "take me there" prompt to get there quickly to look at the form. (The directions on that page were not the best) April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Complicated to Simple... Overall this is a good product for the non-accountant types who may have a rental investment or two. TurboTax knows how to keep things plain and simple considering the complex IRS rules and double speak that us everyday folk would have to read through if we were to do our own returns. I use to do that many years ago, fill out the forms and send them in each year. I don't know anyone who does that anymore, might be because it has become such a complicated task. I have used paid tax consultants to do my returns in the past, but I seem to do just as well with TurboTax at much less of a price. In addition, if you do your own taxes with TurboTax, you can see where most of your tax liabilities are. I highly recommend TurboTax to my friends and family. Maybe the IRS should take a lession from them. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Major Help We've used TurboTax deluxe for years and found it to be simple for the non-accountant to use. The guided tour is useful for either the new user or those that have a new financial situation. Another good feature is the listing of the previous year's category values. Especially useful when electing to not use the guided tour. Downloads from many financial institutions are exceptionally valuable in that they enable timesaving and increased accuracy of the plethora of investment entries. Unfortunately, it "appears" that next year a forced upgrade to Premium TurboTax will be required in order to have access to schedules that were included in previous years' Deluxe versions. A bit disheartening,, perhaps Intuit will come up with something to make it more palatable for their faithful customer base. March 12, 2015
  • 2015-10-12T11:40:26.527-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-384, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17510, tr_17510
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 382 383 384 385 386 ... 399 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.