TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 384 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17764 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some Irritation It is helpful, that's why I continue to use it, inspite of some irritating moments. It could be better. When showing 1099s, need to highlight what TT recognizes as taxable vs non-taxable, took a while to tell. Was worried I entered the data wrong. How come TT doesn’t save the charitable donation list from the previous year entries, many are repeatable. Even though we took the Standard Deduction, we still entered that information and may be useful this year. Why printout several vouchers for paying estimated taxes for 2015 when I didn’t need them or ask for them? Would have been nice if the "what you owe or will get back" window updated each time you make an entry so I'll know the effect is what I expected. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Overall, Two Annoying Problems The heading "2013 Balance Due on State Income Tax" confused us - and we're both PhDs! It seems to mean, "balance still due" when it really means "state taxes you paid in 2013." A crucial difference. We almost forgot to take the deduction for the state taxes we paid last year. Figuring out how to do so took an additional half hour. And the "Search" function should be improved to link directly to the appropriate screen. Sometimes it goes instead to a more general category. You then have to search visually. Very annoying Those are the only two problems we encountered with Premiere. Cheaper than an accountant, easier than calculating by hand. Now that we know what "balance due" means, we'll see you next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate, but not great While Easy Step for the most part does a good job of walking you through a return, if questions arise it can be quite confusing. The program will ask me for some random piece of information it wants for my return, particularly when doing error check, and without any context it is very difficult to figure out what the program wants. At any point, when the individual is being asked for information that goes into a return, there needs to be a cross link to the appropriate form to provide a context for the question. The current approach of trying to completely divorce the individual from his return only creates confusion and a lack of understanding of the return. This has only gotten worse over the past few years. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Estimated Taxes Need Revisions The software in general is very good. I, however, was unable to find the ability to override the estimated taxes that were automatically calculated. This year was an anomaly as I had sold investments that generated a gain. I know I will not have to pay this amount in taxes next year. However, being retired I do need to calculate an amount of estimates to pay in. The software does not allow the ability to estimate my income for next year to calculate proper estimates. If it does offer this feature, it was impossible to find on the Federal tabs. As such, I am forced to go online and print blank federal forms to send in the proper estimates since the ones automatically generated by the software are much too high. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Review I could be wrong, but I almost felt like I wasn't working on a tax return the screen views are so "sterile". I know this is complex business, but I didn't use the forms view just so I wouldn't have to read all of the BS the IRS puts on forms. But, at the same time, I would be happy if Turbo Tax at least "flashed" my paper return once in a while, just to make sure I haven't missed something. The tax due tally is priceless. Good job on it for the last few years. Also, good job on comparison with last year's return at times during the process. Also, I'd add a "Personal Audit" feature at the end and use the Return Summaries for last year and this year with any glaring differences highlighted in this year's summary. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not sure if I'm going to use Turbo next year Turbo Tax is great unless you have a problem like trying to remove a 1099-R that didn't belong in your return. The screen urges you to submit a question but then shows you questions that others have asked that might relate to your Q. It then shows you part of the answer, but you cannot access the full answer. Loggin into TT simply takes you to a site where you can choose from the TT menu of products, which is available WITHOUT logging in- no apparent benefit to taking the time to log in! Online- Chat: clicking on the online chat image didn't open up any type of session- the site leads you to think it is soooo easy to reach a TT expert- not true at all. The site isn't that user friendly if you have a problem. April 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I am disappointed and upset: 1) the system crashed several times while I was in the middle of entering data. I had to reenter data and verify that things had not been duplicated. Your restore option fouled the data and I had to repair it. 2) I am now trying to print my return so I can mail it. I have spent the last ten minutes wading through your sales pitch which is preventing me from printing my return so I can do other things that are far more important that wading through you sales pitch. 3) why do have the totally unrelated pitch from Amazon? Dump it!!! 4) I have used Turbotax for 20 years. I am NOT happy with this year's experience AT ALL. Clean up your act. Help me do my TAXES and get out of the way !!!! April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glad 2 Still Have TurboTax After quite a Rocky Start, I'm STILL glad to have TurboTax. I admit that when I discovered what I, like MANY, would say was a TERRIBLE decision to change the parameters of the Deluxe product, which would force long-time customers to upgrade to a much more expensive version, I was strongly looking at another software program to do my taxes. I am SO glad Intuit decided to retain the capabilities of their EXCELLENT Deluxe program, AND continue to provide it at its current fairly reasonable price. (Frankly, considering how complicated it is to do your own taxes, I would have rated TurboTax Deluxe an EXCELLENT, if it weren't for the MAJOR issues involving its rollout, this year. Hoping next year will be smoother...) February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Few problems but very good Federal Filing: problem with clarity on 2013 estimate versus actual tax carryover to 2014 versus a check refund correction made by the State in 2014. There was still a carryover. State Filing: problem with mailing address, county and/or home address, county, school district. Didn't discover added home address line until switching from Step by Step to Forms. I believe that was a big oversight on Intuit's part not to have a Step by Step for mailing address versus home address. The questions should be allotting for the possibility that the taxpayer could have mailing address in different County than home address' County. Had to repeat coverage of both Fed and State returns then reviews for all errors to be found. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but Not Excellent The greatest sin was to alter the capabilities of the lower versions such as Basic, Deluxe, etc. Free upgrades was the saving grace. The Basic edition should be brought back to what it was for 2013. Entering 1099-B "Tax Withheld" data requires services of a detective to find out where and how to enter it. Procedure for reporting Foreign Assets and Foreign Interest, Dividend, Capital Gains, etc. needs considerable improvement. It is impossible to enter the Tax Withheld by Foreign Government/entity for long/short term capital gain realized on sale of foreign stock or mutual funds. While reporting sale of foreign stock or mutual fund in Schedule D, it is not possible to identify that it is a Foreign transaction. April 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Overall this is good tax software. I feel that it is over priced. Here are the reasons why I feel that way: - You are allowed to select e-file, direct deposit of federal and state, and have the additional cost ($34.99 more!) taken from the federal refund; however, when you get to the end you are informed that you cannot do that and have to go fix it - this is simple and should never happen. - Having to pay an additional $24.99 to e-file state taxes - Spent about $80 for the software, $25 for state e-file (even though the case says $19.99), then $35 for direct deposit = $140 this is more than my parents pay their CPA!!! Next year I may not use this software. I use it to save money and it ends up costing me more. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by They did the right thing As always, a thorough-going, well-organized tour of the sources of income and potential deductions. If this is tedious and time-consuming, we have only ourselves to blame (we elect the representatives who come up with these regulations). The multiple permissions needed simply to file electronically is becoming burdensome. I can't imagine why Intuit thought they needed to remove forms from the Deluxe version. Obviously, we don't really read the little charts on the package showing what is covered. But, in the end, Intuit came through with free upgrades. Perhaps, as accountants do, Intuit could charge extra for specific forms? I can't see why I should pay twice as much to get the one more form I needed (Sched D). February 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lousy Whenever I went to print, it continuous cut off the tops of all pages and some bottoms, effectively leaving off some of the line items. Finally had to go to IRS online and manually fill in the forms. Funny, whenever I printed out from the IRS website, the entire form was present [they use the PDF forms like you]. Try as I might I could not get your program to print the entire forms. Pretty bad when IRS can beat you on efficiency!. Also, when I tell the program that I do not have to file state income tax [this being Florida] I found it irritating that I can to keep telling the program I was not filing state forms. After many years using your program, this is the last time I will ever buy it. Too much trouble!!!!!!! February 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I did not like your product this year. I had several forms pop up in my final review which I never answered while doing my taxes such as K-1 (1065) which I could not get rid of so I e-filed with what the system produced. Several items I had to do twice before I could go on with my return. Had trouble with Federal Carryover Worksheet form which I could not understand or figure out what your form was looking for to be completed. Also had trouble with K-1 (Corp) which came up and I could not get rid of. The entire software seemed to be more trouble to complete this year. which took me a lot more time to complete. I have been using your product for many years and am a little unhappy with your 2014 Premier product. February 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last second glitch prevents Arkansas e-filing So, I'm at the end and I click that last submit button. You know, the one that's just like dropping these returns in the mail. Right. I click the button and get a window that says the program needs more information - click continue to see what it is. I click continue and it says that the "Exempt Int Description-3 on AR4 has too many characters." Ok, long story short, I can't find it and if I could I can't change it because it is on the Federal form. (Can't find it on the Federal form either.) Even if I did find it, reimporting it from the Federal to the State form would mess who knows what else up. In the end, I de-selected e-filing the State return. Solution: truncate these description fields - automatically! April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Interface - Beware of Extra Fees I appreciated being competently led through the complicated tax preparation process with the ability to review and confirm each step before proceeding. The links to definitions of terms and tax requirements was very helpful. What I didn't like was the extra $31. that was required to add investment information and $39. for the State return (which I thought was included with my initial purchase of TurboTax Deluxe!) And then to e-file the State return, an additional $24.99. So - with TurboTax costing over $100. I am wondering how just much H & R Block would be? But it is nice to have the PDF and the TurboTax Cloud backup of our returns. We will likely use TurboTax again next year, but we will be prepared for the fees. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Oops Some of the directions are not as clear as in the past. Dumped my data after I had entered about 85%. (Fortunately, I had saved a copy just in case. Good thing, too.) Did not provide option to file federal return by mail but to file state return electronically. This option apparently available on the state URL, but doesn't allow for prior entries using your regular program to be transported; i.e., requires one to purchase a new edition of TurboTax. Needless to say, I resorted to snail mail for both returns because I NEVER voluntarily give IRS access to my bank account(s) and I owe on my federal taxes this year, but have a refund coming on my Ohio taxes. No need to respond. I'm taking both to the post office todayl. April 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed Results My state penalizes joint filers who both have incomes which in most years results in us filing separate federal and state returns. I used TT last year to prepare returns both ways (joint and married filing separately). We filed separately. This year we are filing jointly and I only used TT to figure the joint returns. Your program erroneously went back to last years joint return, which was not filed, to pick up data to carry forward to this years return. I had to find my way back into some of the detail forms and override some data. TT should confirm what the prior year filing status was before proceeding with current year returns. And it would really be helpful if TT helped decide which filing status would be best. March 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mike's Review of Turbo Tax 2014 Home & Business I have used Turbo-Tax for as long as I can remember with excellent results. The process is as detailed and comprehensive as working with a consultant. I do not like using customer comments and answers as professional opinions and recommendations. Turbo-Tax needs to go back to being the "expert" in the process. The finishing and filing process is circular and confusing. I was led back to the .pdf save and print item several times. Attempting to order the 2015 edition was problematic. I'm still not sure I was able to order the edition. I have reset my password twice and updated my personal info twice and arrived at "Start 2015 for free". I recommend Turbo-Tax as a great aid in working up Federal and State tax returns. October 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by More explanations for part-year residency When TurboTax generates the information that the states require for part-year residency, it is correct, from what I can tell. But there is no explanation of how the numbers are determined. For example, the federal deductions used, and the breakdown of income, would be nice, along with a reasonable explanation. North Carolina uses a formula that alternately uses total income and the part-year income. It was very confusing. Since TurboTax did not have any explanations, I had to delve into the state tax forms (thru TurboTax, which was actually a plus) and instructions, both of which I try to avoid. That's why I use TurboTax - so that things make sense. If I have to do this leg work, then TurboTax becomes less valuable. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My 2014 Turbo Tax (Premier) Experience I have used Turbo Tax for ~20 years now, and it seems to be the best personal tax program out there, but I've had enough problems with it too. This year the product line up changed, so I wasn't sure I could file Schedule C for a (very) small business with Premier. Worse though, the data for Schedule C Part IV Vehicle Information displayed and calculated correctly, but does not display when printed either to pdf or a live printer. This is apparently a bug, but it's not acknowledged. A rep assured me that the info on the screen would be reported correctly to the IRS, so I forged ahead. I will need to submit a hard copy to the state with pen and ink changes. Also the worksheets for contributions remain confusing to me. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by When You Owe, Depend on TurboTax I know nothing stays the same in income taxes, but TurboTax makes it seem like little has changed from year to year. The entries seemed easier this year than last, not a lot but some. The state return, once I got a downloaded version from Customer Service, was much easier than previously. Although I wait until the last days before filing, I know long before that I owe because of TurboTax. Since the state return can't be entered until the Federal return is DONE(!), the glitch with being unable to access the state program was disconcerting since I was trying to do that on April 14th. Customer Service was great and walked me through the process until the state program opened on my computer. I appreciated that very much! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First-Rate Help with Filing Tax Returns TurboTax is a remarkable product. I have used it for at least five years. It takes the headaches out of filing tax returns. It is structured in a logical, sense-making way. If some given sections require additional information or clarification, "help" sidebars are available. It checks entries, and if errors are found, it provides a convenient way for the user to correct them. One suggestion for improvement: Define certain terms, such as what constitutes a "Medicaid, Medicare, VA, or other gov.-sponsored program." Humana has joined with Medicare, should I have checked that box? That issue aside. I warmly endorse TurboTax. It's like having a tax return expert looking over your shoulder as you fill in the blanks. Bravo! February 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's OK...I guess! In days gone by I seemed to be able to understand what was being accomplished in the software as it related to the tax computations. Now it seems like it is a secret or something. It appears that in your efforts to appease the masses you have removed the understanding that I once had with the early versions of the software. This year I made the mistake of attempting to amend my tax forms to incorporate a late 1099. I did this without properly saving my original filing. I submitted questions regarding possible fixes...without response. So, I labored attempting to recreate the original file. What a waste of time! I suggest that you make it clearer to the user of the issues that occur when you click the "amend" button. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New User is Impressed I have always done my taxes using MS Excel worksheets. However, manually entering data for gains and losses from sales of investments was getting to be a huge pain. On top of that, I needed to complete the Qualified Dividends and Capital Gain Tax Worksheet, 28% Rate Gain Worksheet, Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet, Form 8949, Schedule D Tax Worksheet, and then (finally) Schedule D. TurboTax does all of the grunt work, including importing relevant gain/loss data from my financial institutions, and completing Worksheets. [As a double-check, I ran my worksheets for CY2014 and compared it with TurboTax's results. We have a winner!] I intend to keep using Turbotax going forward. And, no, you won't change my mind on this. April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with changes I have been using Turbo Tax for several years and have generally been pleased. Each year it gets easier to navigate, good context help tips, etc. This year I was very disappointed that first one free state wasn't included so I had to pay $40 to get software to do my state return. Then because I had some Schedule D transactions I had to upgrade to Premier although Schedule D had always been included in Deluxe version in the past. Turbo Tax is trying to save face by offering $25 back for forced upgrade but the loss in my favorable opinion of Turbo Tax is going to be hard for Intuit to regain. I may consider another software next year although Intuit is promising to bring back the Deluxe version we were used to receiving. February 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, not Great We purchased a new home and kept our previous property as a rental. The software offers a clear explanation of what I need to enter once I found the correct box to click on, but does not take care of dividing the mortgage interest, property taxes, and homeowner's insurance. It would be any easy automated process to set up based on the number of days the property was rented. It took more effort on my end than I had hoped to work through it. This process will be easier next year, since I will not need to divide between personal occupancy vs. rental. Also, I was never given the option for the Amazon.com bonus gift card, which is supposed to pop up after entering bank info for the direct deposit. I am disappointed by that. February 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product, could use more fluid navigation Overall great. Only focusing on the points of improvement: - I could only import 1 Computershare account - each new one overwrote the previous (My wife and I work for the same company, thus having similar benefits/investments in separate accounts - functionality should be given to multiple accounts from a single souce - the program feels choppy in the sense that if I want to go back to review one response from earlier in the return I may have to repeat a spectrum of inputs/questions for one item - (May just be my laptop screen - and sound petty) It would be great if "Continue" and "Back" buttons are additionally available higher on the screen for input pages - one nearly every input screen the buttons were just of screen March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Credit Card Payment I've been using the software for over 5 years. It is very easy to use. But this time, it was a nightmare to use my credit card to pay for State Tax and Audit Defense. I had to call a number of times to get it through. All the associates that I spoke with were nice but it took a long time to reach to them. The automated phone took a lot of time as it didn't recognize my email address. Also, the first associate that I spoke to would take payment for only State Tax, but not Audit defense. She gave a phone number to call. I called but came to know that they would not give me a confirmation number to enter in the software.So, I had to call Turbo Tax again. Not a good experience and would certainly need to see better next year. April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disturbed at finish. Disappointed at time of puchase to learn of significant price increase. I would have gone to another software provider if Intuit didn't offer a free disk. At beginning of tax prep the program stated it would provide FREE e-filing including one state return. However, when i finished my return and got to the e-filing point, Turbo tax required a $16 payment for the state return filing. I tried to back up (several times) to the point where i could e-file the federal return, but manually file the State return, but could not do that. Because I was trapped at the end of the lengthy tax filing process, I agreed to provide my credit card info. After 18 years of Turbo Tax it's time for me to go to another tax prep provider. Urazac March 18, 2015
  • 2015-11-24 T08:05:36.425-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-384, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17764, tr_17764
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 382 383 384 385 386 ... 405 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.