TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 383 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17764 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got 2 sets of taxes done in 3 days! I initially started using TurboTax Premier online this year. Previously I had downloaded the product. I wish I had done that again this year...I found out the hard way (after completing my parent's return) and trying to fill out the "third party designee", that you can't select that option using the online version. Thankfully, after calling the help line, a very nice person sent me the download version, which I installed and transferred the online return to the downloaded version with no issues. This is the fourth or fifth year I have used TurboTax and find it very easy to use. Even as our taxes get more complicated to do, it makes it easy to figure out what the IRS wants. I would highly recommend it! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My one peeve every year There is just something agonizing about having to scroll down each and every time to get to the next tax subject. I can understand why TT does this as it is a visual check for the User as they scroll. But as the list gets longer and longer, so does the scrolling. I'd like to see a "Continue If You Know What Your Doing Button" in the top right corner to keep from all the incessant scrolling. Doing this annual task is as much fun as root canal. How I long for a simple flat tax. But that will never happen as there is literally billions of business service tied to the stupid USA Tax Code. Anyways, how about a "Skip Button if You Know What Your Doing" rather than all the scrolling. Thank you for your time. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a dummy! When doing state taxes, TurboTax incorporates info from federal to state. However, when going through my state return to modify Federal Adjusted Gross Income, I inadvertently subtracted Soc Sec benefits from "other" deductions, not realizing that they were already being deducted. This was due to my mis-interpreting TT's explanation for these subtractions. TT reviewed and checked my return but didn't find anything wrong, but I looked up Fed and State instructions and publications and found my mistake. What rang my bell is that I usually owe the state but when I had the double deduction, I was told by TT that I had a refund and that made me double check the return before filing, and editing out my error. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product Terrific; Add on Fees Annoying I've been using TurboTax since the product came out and each year it has become easier and more helpful to use. As a past user, there are a few spots that don't carry into the following years' return, but most due; a real time saver. Because I have to file two state returns, the cost of the extra state return is prohibitively high compared to the cost of the initial fed and state program. Additionally, having to pay an additional $25 to file the second state return electronically is almost to make one file by paper. Add in the $45 cost for the Tax Defender program and one has to ask if using a tax preparer might be just as cost effective, especially when the time to complete the process is considered. May 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Please streamline the software Every time I open Turbo tax, it asks me to enter personal info, and every time I reject this. YOU ALREADY HAVE THIS INFO ON MY TAX RETURN, STOP ASKING! Also, when I want to go to a specific spot to enter a specific piece of data, I don't want you to ask me a never ending stream of questions just to co back to a spot and complete an entry. For example, I cannot go and revise a figure on my rental property without going through a series of questions that I already answered. BTW, I have been a TURBOTAX user for over a decade, but feel that you do NOT value my input, since you have failed to upgrade simple things time and again. Every year you make me consider switching to another software due to this fact. February 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by mostly fantastic There were issues with my Restricted Stock, and I tried to file electronically, which failed, but once I deleted all the restricted stock transactions imported from my eTrade account, and manually re-entered them (I then saw the vesting, not just sales) I was able to enter the sale amount of $0 to enter the vesting amounts and things worked. Problem was that then I couldn't eFile... even though it said it failed, the federal apparently actually transmitted, forcing me to do an amendment, and the state hasn't filed electronically... even though I paid for it, planning for it. Now I guess I'll send in my originals and my ammendments together. Otherwise a great experience, but that was a pretty big bummer. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite as simple as last year. Have used TurboTax for many years for both myself and my parents with very good, simple results. This year, with the necessary upgrade to Premier, the questions were very vague and even after you answered them correctly, you could see the resulting tax forms were not right so you had to go back and adjust your answer so that the correct forms would be used. Case in point.....we have farm land that we lease out with no buildings, equipment, nothing...just raw land, and TurboTax wanted us to claim depreciation on the land???...Just didn't seem right since the land itself keeps APPRECIATING??? Just a bit confusing and had no explanation along with the action being taken. Maybe it will be simpler next year. February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a little more work The military spouse relief act has caused me major problems two year in a row now using turbotax. The program doesn't seem to be fully developed to deal with the specifics of the act. Last year the form was never even included in my return, at least that's what the state of Maine told me was the issue. This year there was more confusion and issues. Also there are problems with the first time home buyers credit that was offered between 2006-2012 (I think) the program was forcing me to enter a current year date of not using residence as main home but we still owned the home and had only vacated in military orders and were renting. Anyways otherwise great program. Look forward to using next year. Thank you April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long time user Deluxe Premier I usually enter manually or download from financial site as the information becomes available between February 1st and March 25th. Very straight forward with "questions" where appropriate. Note the program automatically fills in the basic info from the previous year's digital tax return. Not only personal info; but, also inserts all asset descriptions (last year $s; no $s for current return) and deductions on the previous year's return (for comparison). Hard to forget roll-over losses, etc. I have a number of K-1s to report and these have some information hard to find the appropriate space for in the tax return. Perhaps TurboTax, in the future, could provide better guidance to the "partnership investor". April 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Loss of trust First and for most I no longer trust Turbo Tax. One example is the review. The review process did not find all the problems at any one time. It either did not recognize all the problems at once or it discarded information on various forms between reviews creating new problems. The program seem to forget entries The car travel for one of my properties was in the work sheet but was not placed in schedule E. Second the product is too rigid. For some reason it felt this was an amended return. I followed the process for stopping my federal return from being an amended return. But he state would not budge.Then since I electronically filed my federal It would neither allow me to print or E-file my state return September 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting more complicated It never let me automatically enter my rental mortgage 1098, when it did the Maid Home real estate taxes it indicates don't enter your rental here we'll get to that, but then it never did. I had to get out last years and find and compare the wksht to see what I was missing. If I left easy step, it could not find how to get it started again, and when I said go to where i left off, it just took me to a main category where I had to start all over from the beginning. The second state tax file,w as way too expensive, I have to do my mothers taxes in the nursing home, and then mine two different states which is not unusual for this era when job change and people have to move. A second state should be included. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finished on Time! I bought the Deluxe--Deductions and Homeowners--had to upgrade to premier, because of small investment. I did not need all of the other stuff. Thought is was a bit expensive, however I have never priced having the taxes done professionally, so really can't judge. Like the product and keeps me from having to read the mountains of instructions when doing the taxes without the software, still like to know more about the hows and whys, but like the ease of knowing all is in the correct place and that the arithmetic is correct. Like the more straight forward approach you are using now and not the "cute" stuff used in some of the past software. Thanks for continuing to improve your product. I will keep buying! April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sched E -- lacks % change for depreciation This version doesn't change the depreciation schedule to match your % of ownership in rentals, if it changes. If you are married and divorce, and retain 50% ownership -- the forms will calculate 50% of expenses if you enter 100% -- the depreciation is a different matter!!!!! You need to go in and alter everything, so going forward the amounts of asset value, depreciation, accumulated, etc require you override every line and cell, including totals to get the correct amount. RIDICULOUS! All they need to do is add the ability to enter the % of retainage of the beginning asset value and accumulated depreciation, with a notation to the changes it was due to an exclusion %, and the reason -- such as divorce... March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Little Disappointed The process was smooth until I had to upgrade to Premier version as I had INT Income from an investment. I had to call the toll free number to get through for the upgrade, then learned that it was "free"; a nice surprise. Then when I got to the end, there was a fee for filing the State return, which I did on my own in previous years and it was "free", now it costed me $$. Then there was a processing fee of $34.99; that was never mentioned until the time to "file your return" happened. I'm not a fan of those types of fees. I agreed as it was late in the process and it took longer that I expected, so I went with it. I was unhappy at the end when I should have been glad to have finished with my tax filings. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stop requiring the latest OS We have used TT since 2001 and like the product. But, there is too much fluff in the Easy Guide. If a page has no data entry then the page is not needed. Two family members have had to drop TT (one this year, one last year) because on the minimum OS requirements. However, there is nothing in TT that NEEDS the latest Mac OS capabilities. I have 30+ years as a SW developer and learned that the widest range of utility is achieved by using the oldest available technology that can solve the problem without undue loss of performance. TT has some critical accuracy requirements but virtually zero performance needs. You should maintain a greater degree of backwards compatibility unless Apple Inc. forces otherwise. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going backwards Seems like the program is dropping old features to make changes for Health care question. Used to handle K-1's with no problems, now a mess. Does not handle short term long term split of stock sales, was automatic before even on Deluxe. Does not handle Form 1116's well, worse then before. Always wants overrides when before either calculated itself or asked. Took Five times to get it to recognize Various, had to keep retyping. I bought Premier this time, no benefit unless you trashed Deluxe. If you want to keep to one CD, used to be 3.5 inch disk and had videoes, then make two CD or switch to DVD. I am seriously considering H&R Block TaxCut next year, Asking for answers on a user blog is not satisfactory. May 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Premier I have used TurboTax (originally MacInTax) since 1992, and overall, this year was yet another year of easy, fast filing. I had one additional issue (other than with the Form 1116). My current primary email will be changing in a couple of weeks, so I changed my Account ID to the new email address before I had finished my return. When I tried to sign back in to my return, it would not let me change the Account ID to the new one, nor would it accept the old one, which automatically appeared and could not be changed or deleted. I ended up having to change my Account ID back to the original one just to sign back into my return. Other than that, I had as good an experience as one could expect from filing taxes. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Product that makes general tax filing easy Overall, I am a big fan of TurboTax. I've been using computerized tax filing programs for about 25 years...back in the days of DOS and way before eFiling was offered. TurboTax frees me from the mundane and confusing tasks that are part of many tax forms. Generally, information is entered once and carried forward to all forms where it is needed. IRS and State instructions that can sometimes be complex or confusing are all handled by TurboTax. My two complaints are: 1. Income Annualization is difficult at the Federal level and not even offered for my home state. 2. Bugs are difficult to report. Lots of digging and discovering on the website just to get to a phone call. Not at all intuitive (pun intended). March 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not satisfied and a little perturbed with TurboTax I haven't been satisfied with TurboTax for the past few years. It has mishandled my state tax return and last year I have to complete my state tax return by hand and mail it in and this year fortunately realized that I would have to manually make changes to the state tax forms. I'm pretty sure that I followed the program's guidance correctly, so, the program probably needs some revisions to it. It also told me that since I filed using the Deluxe CD last year and the Premier this year that I was eligible to receive a $25 refund; however, even though I did this, the system at TurboTax doesn't seem to have any record of this, which is really messed up because I believe I filed my returns through its servers. February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax is one of the easiest and fastest ways to report and file federal and state returns. It is very convenient. I have used it for 12 years and have been very satisfied. However, I had a couple of issues this year. I had to return TT Deluxe and purchase Premier at additional cost in order to report Rent & Royalty income & deductions on schedule E and other required forms. This was inconvenient. Also, found that many TT users had a lot of problems in claiming the advertised Amazon gift card from Intuit. There were so many people who did not receive the gift redemption code, or are still waiting for the e-mail/card that I decided to reject the offer. That is too bad because it was a pretty good offer. April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This year was one problem after another I've always been a loyal TurboTax user. This year tried my patience, and I'm not even counting the flap about what could be done with which version. Right off the bat, the program crashed when trying to save a return. This was proven to be a programming bug and was subsequently fixed. I waited 4 or 5 weeks to start my taxes in hopes the forms would be finished and the program bugs all fixed. No such luck. There was still a problem with K-1 income being transferred to the 1040 in 2 different places, meaning it was entered twice. This problem showed up after every update (which was every time I opened the program). Intuit has become the new Microsoft. It was a good ride, but I think I'm moving on. Bye Intuit. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lead Me Through My First Multi-State Return I have been using TurboTax for 10 years, itemizing federal and state deductions. In 2014 my tax situation changed drastically and I put TurboTax to task. We moved to a new state, sold a house and bought a house. I retired but still have a consulting engagement with my employer. So, I have non-resident income from the previous state. My wife and I began collecting Social Security and I began collecting a pension. Again, my tax situation changed drastically. The amount of time of residency in each state, social security, pensions, buying and selling homes and handling multiple State Tax Returns were all handled well except for what I mentioned in "Cons" above. I expect my 2015 return to be much more simple. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 review of premier I found the tool easy to use except in a couple of situations... 1) I was on the borderline between std and itemized deductions...it took standard deductions but when I reviewed details I noticed that it had not given me my sales tax deduction even though I said to guide me thru the process. When I added my sales tax deduction, it pushed me over the threshold to itemized deductions. 2) I found it very difficult in filling out the capital gains information in turbo tax based upon the documents that I received....the references to boxes and type of gain did not match up...so I had to try several things.... 3) the difference between deluxe which I have always used in the past vs premier as very confusing... April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by As always, TurboTax is one of the best designed and easiest to use programs on the planet. By importing all of last year's information, it makes it easy to modify and complete the current year. A couple of hiccups this year; had to use the free upgrade to Premier due to a stock loss. That needs to be in the Deluxe version, and I'm thinking Intuit got the message on that. Second, after I eFiled, the returns were accepted, I went back one last time to log that into my data files. However, TT would not start due to "Could not start Update Service" or some such message. Had to uninstall/ reinstall. That solved the problem, but a 1 minute task became a 20 minute task (had to re-download everything from Amazon). April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Being retired is a tax burden. Paid thru the nose. Have used TTax for over 10 years. Ever since Tax Professionals(?), charged $2000 for doing my return (federal and two state)and then wanted another $600 for answering a question from a State which I had already given the basic answer to the Tax Preparer. Wanted so much because the person who prepared my taxes had quit and took new man a half day to familiarize himself with my return. In addition had made an $800 math error (not in my favor) which the Feds caught. I took the H & R Block tax course that fall and have always done my own since with Turbo Tax. Easy Download of data from Brokerage. Included schedules A,B,C, D, and F. No problems from audits. Retired last year and no longer have schedules C or F. April 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Let Us Down This was not a good year for TT. When Deluxe version that I had used for years did not have some of the Rental forms, I was upset. Costco advised me in a mailer that the upgrade to Premium would be free but instead I had to pay and then apply for a refund. Because I live in two states and file on two different computers, The Premium that I upgraded to would not load on my second computer without a TT call to customer service. When I did get the program working, I was advised that the depreciation module would not be available until April 14th. I use It's Deductible but the integration of the security measures was very confusing between ID and TT. Hopefully you guys will get this straightened out next year!!! April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by User friendly...What does not work! The Calculator tool did not let me multiply to insert answer in 'average miles for commute' on unreimbursed business miles###standard Excel would be =+290*40. What software over 40 years old has a calculator that can't multiply/divide/add/subtract??????????????????? Step by step "back" key does not allow you to correct prior answers when you know they were wrong? Does not take you back to each page you want to correct! You have to wait until error check and then go back to correct 10 more entries on the form#s# that your first answer generated incorrectly? My grandson, 12 years old, would not be able to follow the current logic! He would if "back" worked properly! He does more on the PC than I could ever do! March 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bugs Several bugs encountered this year. First, my CA capital loss carryover didn't transfer and I had to enter it. (It is usually, but not always, the same as federal, so you have to check. SHOULDN'T HAVE TO DO THAT MANUALLY. Why do you call out the suffix with a period "Jr." as an error in the final review when you accept in the personal entry form. Also, there's no easy way to tell TT that certain forms you generated for exploration but not using to go away other than going to view forms and deleting the forms. There should be a Q&A option that asks you if you need the form anymore. Not sure I will use TT again next year. Seems to me it's declining in quality when it should be progressively improving each year. April 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by It's Deductible not working correctly! TT's It's Deductible software was not importing to my tax return. I entered my credentials and TT just skipped right over it! Went back and noticed it wasn't there. Read another reviewers note that fir some reason it's not recognizing passwords with capital letters in them! Had to change my password before it let me do it and I know the password I had was right because I was just in it! Secondly, the WA state sales tax didn't file in, I had to track down that area (sched A line b) as TT didn't auto take me there to complete this area! NOTE I would have had to pay $143 rather than receive a refund of $361 if these 2 things I had not noticed! I would say TT can't be trusted as well as it use to be!!!! CAUTION!!! March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest thing year after year I hate to think of how many years I have used Turbo tax and have yet to have a complaint about it. This year the program changed a bit and would not let me work the sale of my house without getting the premier package. Because this was new I was able to download the upgrade for free this year. I don't know what I will need next year and if I will have to pay for an upgrade. Because I sold my house and moved, all my information including my email address changed and it was very difficult to get logged into my accuont on line. Thankfully, the customer support staff was on the ball and walked me through getting my account up to date and usuable. I will be looking forward to working with Turbo Tax again next year. March 2, 2015
  • 2015-11-24 T08:05:36.088-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-383, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17764, tr_17764
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 381 382 383 384 385 ... 405 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.