TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 383 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17531 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trusty Tax Tool is Loosing it's Lustre I have used Turbo Tax for more than 10 years and found it to be cost effective, easy to use and a great way to do my taxes. I was *** EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED *** to see the new tiered offering. I have basic Schedule D stock and mutual fund transactions that in previous years were handled in the mid-tier product which used to cost my $29.99 at Staples Now, you get basically a 1040EZ for10 bucks or shell out $75+ to purchase the Premier package. Sorry, I'm not interested in State tax (most states already have that for free on the web anyhow) and I don't need phone support. I think the folks at Intuit really need to rethink their product offerings because the only thing that's likely to keep me using their product next year is the 5-year history feature. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by There were only 2 aspects of the program that I thought were not as good as they could have been. The first was entering my W-2s. I had made a mistake, so I clicked on the back button. Then when I wanted to continue, thinking it would bring up the W-2 I had backed out of, it skipped that W-2 and went to the next one. I had to go to the income page, select the W-2 to "edit" before I could re-enter the information. The other was trying to print out the return for mailing to the state. I had to bring up the PDF preview copy and print my return from that because nothing printed when I clicked on the "print return" button in turbo-tax. Maybe in your opinion everyone should e-file, but in my world, paying $25 to e-file to get a $55 refund is unacceptable. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Seriously? All good again this year, I've lost track how long I've been doing my taxes this way; for sure from the time Intuit was free of Windows oversight. It's a great way to do your taxes, BUT... My company gives everybody stock stuff. Just a little, just a few RSU's. We cannot just get the bonus as cash, we cannot decline the bloody things, we get RSUs and all the tax complexities that go with them. And now Turbo Tax has decided it wants it's pound of flesh as well; in the future we'll have to pay again for the 'Turbo Tax Pro Business Stock Market Professional Guy' or some such thing; an add-on. The add-on they have included this year, but will be slicing off so we can pay an additional fee next year. I think I feel the heavy hand of Microsoft at work... February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old time user I have been using TurboTax since 2004. Since I am still using it you can see I am pretty pleased with it. I like: -ability to import from previous years, and from Quicken (I am a Quicken fan too), and ADP -the ability to both just answer questions AND go back and enter directly into forms. -save to PDF is really useful I dislike: -long startup: this seems stupid since it is just going to ask me to install updates, which will be another long wait -cost. I don't like paying $20 to file state when I could mail it for less than $1, and I don't like that you have moved investment income to premier which will cost me an extra $20 for the product next year (the free upgrade was just for this year right?) Would love: -export function (to FAFSA in particular) February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've been using TurboTax for years and love it -- very user friendly. I have just one suggestion regarding an item that came up for the first time this year for me -- I disposed of rental property. When the user marks the check-box that he/she sold the rental property in the tax year Turbotax should, somewhere in the interview dialog for that particular rental property, automatically bring the user to a series of screens which reference a 1099-S and which walk the user through the sale of the property. Currently your program treats the sale of the property as just another entry in the property's asset section and it is not all that intuitively obvious that it is here the user should handle the information regarding the property's sale. My view, anyway. April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2014 taxes Too many sections assumed and calculated normal treatment when a simple additional question or two would have divined a more accurate set of data. For example, with stock treatment, the assumption was that it was a personal simple same day buy-sell and no other questions were asked about the sale. A simple set of questions regarding the type of stock and company plan would have allowed a more in-depth treatment. This oversight of the program nearly cost me an additional $9000 in taxes due instead of the rightful $5000 back. Because of this, I will not be using this program in the future but will take my taxes to a professional. Also because of this oversight, I'm now questioning the veracity of past returns that were prepared with the help of Turbo Tax. March 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rough experience this year If your return is complicated just download the software rather than using the on-line version. Once I started with the on-line version it was very difficult to import my 2013 filing info into the return that I had started on-line. I am going to have to go back through everything and probably file an amended return. Technical support was not as good as in previous years. The on-line version steered me unnecessarily into attempting to establish a new IP PIN through IRS which was a whole extra set of problems, headaches and delays that in the end I didn't need to do. The on-line version demanded that I needed a new six digit PIN - I didn't - but it took hours to figure that out and get the information I needed to use my existing PIN. Big waste of time. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Software The software is easy to install and easy to use. I was able to get my taxes completed and e-filed in just a couple of hours. Most of that time was spent in just organizing my own paperwork. "It's Deductible" is extremely helpful because we do a considerable amount of donating items to charities. "It's Deductible" makes it easy to calculate the value of the donated items and enter them properly on the tax forms. The only criticism that I have is that there were a couple of items that I spent time looking up. After researching and entering the information, I found on a later screen that there was a large dollar amount that had to be met for the information to matter. It would have saved me some time if those dollar amounts were shown on an earlier screen. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Always TurboTax was great as always, and the step-by-step process makes it really easy without worrying about having to fill out any forms. In fact, you don't even see them until they're filled out at the end. The layout is great. You can choose to individually work in separate parts of the return on your own or be guided using the step-by-step process. I was able to go back and forth between the two. I had missed a couple items on my Federal return and was able to go back and change them, then pick up with the "guide me through the process" at the appropriate spot. Con: my income types did not change from last year, but this year, Intuit decided I needed Premiere rather than the Deluxe version of Turbotax, but I was on the verge of that, anyway. Not a big deal. April 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great in Past not so much now! TT changed the way their CD's are set up. The Deluxe version does not contain all the forms from last year and you have to upgrade to the Premier Cd to get them. Also the CD I purchased had a "bug" that when you tried to download the State forms it go caught in a "loop" and you could not continue. After about an hour I found a question and a "fix" online in TT Q & A section. TT also kept trying to sell me the State forms for $39+ over and over again but it should have been included with the CD I bought from Best Buy, as shown on the box. I did finally get the forms I needed for free but it was a hassle. I have used TT for well over 15 years and will now have to look for a different option next year unless they change and go back to their past practices. April 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by State filing broken!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Many users are having the following problem. My federal tax return uploaded immediately, as it should. However, I have tried many times to upload my MA state taxes. Repeatedly I get the irritating message "Your payment session has time out" even though no time has transpired. Clearly this is a bug. Please close this window and try your payment again. I spent a lot of money to buy TurboTax premier. I have been a customer every year since you folks started offering your software. The time that I have wasted on this is worth far more than your software, and the $25 dollar state filing fee that your software will not let me make. Yikes. I need to get this uploaded before I leave on a trip. You are messing me up. Please let me know how you are going to fix this. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problems I noticed The state portion seemed to be a lot less helpful than last year's. It invited me to file a Florida return in addition to my resident WI return, but, to my knowledge, FL does not have state income tax (even though my income rental property is in FL). Also, the interview for WI seemed to leave much more to my own knowledge than last year. I actually felt the state was not a whole lot more helpful than if I had gone and got hardcopy forms & instructions and done it myself. Now that I have filed it, I will definitely have to go back and look it over carefully. Also, the process for paying for state e-file is 80% broken. I actually had to make a phone call and talk to a sales rep who, after a long wait, did get the job done and gave me $2 off for the long wait. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 I have been using TurboTax since the 1990s (20+ years). So far, not been audited. (knock on wood) I have rentals, but not a business. Still, I need the "Investments and Rental Property" (formerly Premiere) level of the software. Outstanding software, esp. when e-filing was introduced a number of years ago. Refunds arrive in about 2 weeks on average. I will continue to use TurboTax in the future. My only complaint, and it's nitpicking, is that when I delete, say a financial institution that paid me interest, I can't undelete it. One year, I discovered the next night, that I did indeed have a statement from them. Not hard to re-enter that financial institution, but it would be nice to be able to look at a list of deleted entries and undelete it. Still 5 stars. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience TTax is as easy as going to an accountant -- and cheaper. Your accountant can do no better than the information you provide -- and if that is a shoebox full of paper you will pay dearly. And many things may not even be in the shoebox! With TTax you are prompted for the information required in each section and enter the data. You can download a LOT of things these days making even that much easier. I have challenged accountants to show me how much they can save me compared to TTax and, to date, only one found anything and that savings was FAR less than the fee he would have charged. (Wow -- he found a $15 deduction I forgot to key in.) I have been a TTax user since the first year and have been satisfied every year. I fully intend to use it again next year. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by NOS For Tax Work! Well, to tell ya the truth, I had heard of Turbo Tax before, but had never used it. MY MISTAKE! I am thrilled with the results and the ease with which I was able to glide through my tax process! No more looking at the specific page for that particular chart to find that one line you're looking for! I was impressed with the speed that I was able to finish what took me 3 hours last year to painstakingly sift through everything and make sure that I didn't miss something. The only thing that took more time than I thought it should came from waiting on the phone to get my e-filing PIN. If I had known what I know now I would have saved myself 45 more minutes! Congratulations, and many thanks to the team that put together and has run Turbo Tax! Keep up the good work! February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Different Kind of Year My guess is TurboTax has many regrets for changing its approach to the 2014 editions. It was disappointing for a company I had come to trust to change a product that wasn't broken for what appear to be a larger profit grab at the expense of its loyal customers. As for my experience this year, I did appreciate TurboTax's guidance in navigating some unusual tax events that occurred in 2014. The guided tax return process seems to leave no stone unturned, giving me confidence I handled some unusual tax events accurately. It is never fun to pay more taxes than you have already paid during the tax year, but TurboTax makes the process as painless as it can be. I didn't find the Ask a Question feature helpful - online chat with certified tax experts would be better. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Premier review I wrote this review only because of the bad reviews regarding Turbo Tax Premier. I was hesitant to get Turbo Tax Premier again. Decided to go ahead and get Turbo Tax Premier because overall it was easier to use Turbo Tax again so that all my data from 2013 taxes would be loaded into my 2014 return and speed up my preparation time. Did speed up prep time and I felt the cost of the Premier outweighed the inconvenience of starting with another product. I was pleased with how painless tax preparation was this year. I do have a relatively simple financial situation: no rentals, some investment redemptions. I'll do it again next year. The cost was worth it to me. $24.99 to efile state was irritating but worth it in the end when I clicked the efile button. I was DONE. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use, except for muni bond interest TurboTax was easy to navigate. However, a major problem for me was accounting for multiple categories of bond interest for government bonds: (1) taxable by the US and New Jersey; (2) US tax-exempt but taxable by NJ (e.g., out-of-state municipals; (3) taxable by the US but tax-exempt in NJ (i.e., NJ Build America Bonds); and (4) exempt from both US and NJ taxes. If your 1099-DIV contains multiple types of bond interest, you have to manually input a separate "1099-DIV" for each category. Then, for the New Jersey return, you have to make manual adjustments to account for the Amortized Bond Premium and Accrued Interest Paid for the bonds that were US tax-exempt. It's too laborious and error-prone. The TurboTax software should be able to account for these scenarios. March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thoughts on 2014 TT Premier I have used TT Deluxe for quite a few years and this is the first using Premier. TT isn't very difficult to use, HOWEVER, it does have some shortcomings. While performing the return reviews, it may indicate that it has found an error that needs correcting. Great! But there was little information as to exactly which form it was referring when there were multiple 1099 forms involved. That required some sleuthing to determine. Also, one 1099 hard copy contained a zero (0) in a particular field. TT would not let me proceed until I had entered a "0" in the same field. I had, erroneously, left it blank since most of the other fields were also zeros and I left them blank without any error messages. Overall, though, TT will remain my tax preparation tool for the future. April 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trouble with K-1 Overall Turbotax did a fine job. It is easy to move around and switch between forms mode and Q&A mode. It struggled when doing K-1 forms from Publicly Traded Partnerships. I was forced to override the results from the sale of one. The capital gains from the K-1 was being double counted due to a downloaded 1099-B from my broker. There was no easy way to link the two to get the correct value. Foreign Tax credit section for K-1s was also cumbersome and difficult to understand. Finally, there is a software bug in turbotax that is rather annoying. Some places in the Q&A I would enter a value, then go back and change it to zero and it wouldn't let me ('Enter a value between 1 and ...). I think I had to go to Forms mode to delete the entry. This happened more than once. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Buggier than past years (re: Mac version) I've been using TT for years now, so know more or less what to expect. Compared with past years, I had the unsettling experience of 3 complete crashes -- each time after the app was behaving oddly. And it took about 5 tries, plus a computer reboot (and another TT crash) to get e-filing to go through; I've never had a problem with that before. Found an error myself in looking over the pdf of the return, so fixed that before e-filing -- but the larger issue there was that TT seems unable to work across 2 states; I'm still worried I may have under/over-counted something, from how items are entered in DC vs NY (the states in question). Still, I'll use it again, since no worse than the options, familiar, and the app will be able to enter my past information readily ... April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2015 Review I really enjoy the ease which TurboTax affords for filing taxes. it's easy to follow and the format is laid out nicely. Imports makes the process more streamlined and efficient. However, I do not understand the nickel and diming on the filing for the state return. First I bought what I thought had everything, only to find I needed to upgrade to get the state. Then after that I need to pay again ($19.95# just to file my state. So, $39.99 for a state form and then $19.95 for simply filing. I might have to go elsewhere next year, I just think these costs are becoming too great. And then, even worse, if I wanted you to deduct from my refund #which would have been nice) you want me to pay an additional $34 for that 'convenience'? The costs are becoming simply too great. March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Multiple States Used The members of my family work in multiple states. Illinois, Iowa and Missouri. I usually buy the Deluxe Turbo Tax but had to buy the upgrade last year and bought the Premier this year so I wouldn't have to buy the upgrade again this year even though I only had a few investments to add to my filing. My biggest complaint is buying the software and getting one state free. Then having to buy two more states at 39.98 each. then having to pay 19.98 each on top to file each return. bottom line I did My taxes, My Daughters taxes, and my Sons short form. Total cost to me this season in Turbo tax Fees $ 284.87 just for your software and filing fees. And that is doing your taxes myself. I have used Turbo tax for more than 7 years. I think I may have to do different next year. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks for the Help It would be really tough to do my own taxes without TurboTax. I also take the Audit Defense every year (it lets me sleep better). Most of the way it's pretty straightforward, but once in a while there are items that are very difficult to figure out. Some screens want you to pick a choice, but none of the choices are really correct for my situation. My other main problem is that, if I can't figure out what to enter on some screens and I want to check what the next one wants, once I hit continue it won't let me go back and correct the first one. Then the erroneous info gets carried forward automatically. Once I had to start a whole new return to correct a serious error. Thanks for letting me air my main problems. I hope you will continue improving TurboTax each year. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Rocky Experience As with other long-time users, Intuit's unannounced decision to change certain functions from Deluxe to Premier was both unwelcome and unexpected. To its credit, after extended time on the telephone and with various service agents, Intuit did the right thing and provided a free upgrade. Frustration, and time left on hold, made any money saved almost irrelevant. There were two problems with the software that emerged part way through preparation: long-term investment sale was not clearly and readily computed, and partial State exclusion of pension income was much more difficult than in previous years. Inexplicably, the latter did not automatically roll forward, and the factors used were obscure. On Balance, Turbo Tax has gone from Five Stars to a (weak) Three Stars. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by CHC 2014 Tax Returns For some reason, some of my stock transactions did not have the purchase date filled in even though Charles Schwab had the information listed on the paper copy of the Composite 1099. When I initially entered the data associated with the sale of our home in 2014, it indicated that my cap gain of about $138,000 was a taxable event even though it was less than $250,000 and we had lived in the condo for the prior 24 months. I reviewed my input data 3 or 4 times and could not understand why the gain was taxable. I erased some of the data and re-input the same data and for some reason it finally accepted the fact that I had no taxable cap gain. I k now my data was correct the first time I entered but was finally happy when it finally it accepted that I had no taxable gain. March 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by My experience I used to do my own taxes for years and years. I purchased the manual every year and read through for all new laws, and also for changes. I was very careful in my preparation, as I usually itemized my deductions. I still itemize most of the time, so I still have to gather and add up all the deductions on my own, before entering them into Turbo tax. I break them down quarterly and add them quarterly now. I rented my former residence, and was forced to consult with a PROFESSIONAL tax adviser to figure out how to do the depreciation on my former residence. Turbo tax did not allow me to make changes, even when I re-did the calculations five time. Turbo was not user friendly in this area. When I sell my current residence, I think it will be faster and wiser to go directly to a professional tax adviser to get my taxes done. It will cost a bit more but well worth the peace of mind. Otherwise, I will likely to continue to use Turbo Tax for years that there are no sales, or purchases, of real estate involved. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax - Great Help The way Turbo Tax s structured helps you avoid having to spend hours researching the IRS web site/ IRS pubs. Turbo has done this for you and helps to comply with new IRS regulations even if you had not known of the changes. Two complaints: 1. Even if you have only a few dollars invested in a mutual fund, you now have to use the more expensive Turbo Tax package. 2. The ability to down the prior year data into your new year return is very helpful. However, the part that lets you review the prior year's charity deductions could would be more helpful if they could appear in alphabetical order. This would make it much easier to determine which deductions to remove. Over all I would score it a 98. By the way, I'm a retired IRS employee and have used Turbo Tax for 25 years. April 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problems with questions for deceased person See title, pros and cons above. Also, I filled in address as my home address as personal representative but no more info to look at to clarify that this should be the address of the person filing the return for the deceased person. Confusing sometimes. Your instructions say when you complete the contact info box that your name will be shown where signature goes but it did not print with my name in that box. Also, third party designee checked no. I don't recall answering a question about that - seems my name as personal representative should be printed and yes checked. I will go back and search for that question. It was helpful to be able to complete the form on behalf of my brother's estate but I will still need to have a tax preparer look at it to be sure it is correct. April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed! I was very disappointed to find out I could not e-file my state return this year. We have contributed to a WI state sponsored 529 plan (EdVest) for our children's college education for 10 years. We have always used Turbo Tax and have been able to e-file our WI state return. However after completing our return on Turbo Tax this year, a message came up saying that we could not e-file our WI state return. There is a new "CS" form for state sponsored 529 plans and Turbo Tax did not adapt their program to it. I had to either "snail mail" my state return, use a competitive program ( I heard the H&R Block program did work) or use the WI Department of Revenue site to e-file. Basically I had to start all over again!!! If this does not get corrected, I will not use Turbo Tax again. February 13, 2015
  • 2015-10-13T11:20:08.078-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-383, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17531, tr_17531
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 381 382 383 384 385 ... 399 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.