TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 382 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17769 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Downloanding From Website Frustrating I've been a turbo tax user forever. I have an account already set up. This year I simply wanted to download the 2014 version. After I logged into my account, the website kept driving me to do the return online and launched me through a series of questions to do the return. It was very difficult and frustrating to figure out navigation to avoid the marketing driving me to do the return on line and get what I needed which was download the 2014 version. This added the amount of time it usually takes for me to do the return by 1/3. At one point I was ready to go to H&R Block. My suggestion is for customers who already have an account set up, don't drive us to the latest marketing initiative. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TTax deluxe review I have used TurboTax for years and find it intuitive, helpful with tips and notes. It has made filing taxes a simple task where before it was a chore I didn't look forward to. The only thing that I would like to see changed is the way you navigate through the sections. Its fine when you go through every section automatically but as you get used to using the program, it is sometimes easier to skip around as information comes in. It would be nice if section by section it would flag what is complete rather than just having the button to visit a section or update a section. Would like to be able to check a box saying I am done with this section and having that reflected on the navigation page. March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gettin' my money I've used TurboTax for many years, and I can honestly say that it makes a multi-hour headache into a thirty to 45 minute time of refund based excitement. My only gripe is that it doesn't smoothly transfer from the e-filing system to the paper filing system if you decide to e-file with the feds and then paper file with your state. You have to crawl back through the menus to get to a place to print your state returns instead of getting there automatically after e-filing your federal return for free. This is a big deal to me, because the cost of e-filing my state return is often a decent chunk of said state return. It also doesn't help you set up a direct deposit option for that printed return. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I like TurboTax. It is easy and quick for tax return. I know it is impossible to answer all questions about tax. However Turbo Tax needs to help customer about purchase issues. I filed tax for two states, so I have free download for one state and paid to download for another state. During the time I worked on the final state, my computer scratched. I wanted to finish my work on another computer but I had no way to download the software for state I already paid. I didn't have the account with TurboTax but I have the order number. I know I have the right to re-download the software but unfortunately I have no way to contact Turbo Tax. Finally I had to pay again for the software I already paid. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, Easy and Worry Free I've been using Turbo Tax for probably 20 years. Every year it gets even better. Being able to import form directly from banks, brokers and other financial institutions is TOP NOTCH! I can't say enough about that feature. Stocks and the like can be somewhat confusing, but being able to import the actual forms takes all of the guess work away. I downloaded Turbo Tax one evening and less than an hour later I was done. I had no intention of even doing my taxes at the time, but after importing last year's information and the rest from other financial institutions before I knew it I was done. I can't say enough good about this software. I will never worry about doing my taxes ever again. So easy! February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by K-1 and State Filings still need improvemet On the Cons.... Schedule K-1's are poorly handled in Turbo Tax... I get K-1's with over 10 different "13T" lines (13T1 thru 13T10). The boxes that Turbo Tax uses to gather the information in some cases do NOT match up to the descriptions in the 13T lines on the K-1s, so I have to make the "best guess" as to what number to use. Also.... trying to file a state return and using a credit card is very frustrating... Turbo-tax tries to connect to the server to get the credit-card info and it always instantly times out... over and over... morning/noon/night doesn't matter.... I end up printing out the state return and mailing it in... I have tried over 40 times and never can connect to the server... March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier than I thought! I was gonna have a professional help me file my taxes but then a friend suggested to try Turbo Tax and so I did. Since I am filing my tax late, the tax advisors were so supportive and enthusiastic in helping me find and correct my errors as well as looking through areas that need to be entered correctly. I have learned all the tips and tricks on how to get help and correct my errors. I definitely will continue to purchase Turbo Tax software to do my taxes from now on. I could not have done it without the sincere support of Turbo Tax advisors. Also, I have rental income and it was much easier than I thought when having to fill out all the necessary information about the income and deductions. August 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Review You have tried to make this product the do all for every single person and by doing that you have made it so hard to use. You ask so many questions that are unnecessary. Give us credit for having a brain and being able to think a litle. The craziest thing this year is the statement that I do not owe any taxes on a distribution. What you really mean is I do not owe a penalty for early distribution. It took me a while to figure that one out. Last year the craziest thing was all the things you made us answer to be able to report oil royalities. It is really simple but you assumed we had a business. However I have used Turbo Tax for at least 15 maybe 20 years and I am not changing at this point. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complex Tax Return? Use TurboTax Premier! I have used TurboTax since before it was called "TurboTax" It has gotten easier to use almost every year. I was not looking forward to doing my taxes this year because I retired and had some complex things I did including changing my Financial Advisor and consequently the custodian of our funds. The auto automatic transfer of financial information when I had to sell everything and reinvest it at another firm was a snap to accomplish. I also assisted my daughter in a nasty divorce and the ability to do several "what ifs" for her was very helpful to her in making her selection of what was best for her and our grandchildren going forward. This was the easiest tax return I have done in a long time! April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Make the product better THe program should be modified as follows: 1. When viewing forms - you should be able to click thru and go to the entry in Turbotax that generated the value (and vis verse) 2. Greater tutoring on tax subjects should be available. How hard would it be to have a Stanford Professor teach about the sale of a rental property, recapturing passive activity losses and describing whether replacement of carpet to sell a rental is an expense of sale or expense of rental. The help menus are worthless. 3. Also, got a virus this year and wiped my prior tax files. Intuit should sell a service to archive returns. I'll buy again, but there is just so much more potential with your product. It could be great. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax When a company does this it means that next year they will charge for it. Why??? If this is the case I will buy the upgraded program on e-bay for less money then just the normal turbo tax. Your company should not try to nickle and dime the public just give us the program we have been buying for years before others go somewhere else to buy the program. I don't need the program mailed to me in November I need for April so even Staples offers it for less to just sell the product. Think about it. Thank you in advance. Also this year I had to mail in form 8453 for a car I donated. No big deal because I did. The program should tell you that this form is needed so other do not try to cheat the system. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few thoughts I have used TurboTax Deluxe for a number of years now and have always found it easy to navigate through. I always choose my forms rather than using the interview process, but the interview method will guide the beginner well. I like not having to reenter info that was on last year's return; it's carried over by the software. I think the $19.99 charge to e-file a state return is pretty excessive. It really ought to be included at no additional charge. Also, I was pretty disgusted this year to find out Schedules D & E had been removed from the deluxe version (with no notice) and I was forced into the premium version. Intuit did offer a free upgrade this year, but what's going to happen next year? March 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was Better Before Having used Turbotax over 7 years, I found the premier version necessary to do what the deluxe version used to do. This year some of the tax areas like college credits and self employment insurance were much less straight forward. I realize the tax laws continue to change but there should be a way to start with everything but the actual dollar figures carry over from last year. if I have filed the same form 3 years in a row this year should at least ask if I still need to file it instead of me figuring that out at the summary. I have always rated 5 stars in the past, but the software seems to be getting less user friendly. I guess this is why several of my friends have switched to a competitor. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax for Tax Year 2014 I started working on my 2014 taxes on March 23, 2015 by trying to load TurboTax from the premier CD edition V1400D which was received in the mail in December 2014. The CD glitches out at 210.1 mB of over 300+ mB. I called TurboTax-Intuit for help. After a short wait a technical assistant set up the product so I could download from the site. The technician indicated most of these CDs had this error. Download went flawlessly. Inputs were transferred correctly, and I proceeded to complete my federal and state returns in a most timely, accurate manor with full checks. Excellent product. There was only one product update which occurred after I downloaded premier edition to my mac. Excellent product! April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes We had moving expenses, sale of stocks, home office use, and rental property losses, most of the software was helpful but there are some parts like the sale of stock and office deductions that were not that clear and were confusing. Originally when the taxes were checked it came back with errors that even though I reviewed what was suppose to be wrong I could not figure out what exactly was wrong. I finally just deleted the deduction. We ended up with a standard deduction, but could I have done better if I understood what it wanted? My wife lost her job in 2013 and drew unemployment in 2014 so we had a lower income anyway. Just have an uneasy feeling about getting the most out of our deductions. April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the great value as previous years My only complaint is that you now have to use the PRO version to report capital gains. I have an Ameriprise account which, this year only, reported a capital gain on some mutual funds I cashed in to purchase precious metals. In previous years this could have been reported in the Deluxe edition. I did't have any other need to monitor and report capital gains this year. I probably will not have more than 1 capital gain to report in future years. It is ridiculous to force me to purchase an enhanced version for a single line entry on my tax return. (Yes, I realize it was a free upgrade this year, but that doesn't help next year!) Please change your policies/feature lists for us infrequent investors. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confused Printing Choices Each year I struggle with trying to determine what will happen when I select one of the options. If I elect to E-file the federal but want to file the state on paper, there is no good choice. Where is the Print to Paper option? Instead there is print to PDF and Print Preview. This section really needs work. On the Form 1040 there is a Third Party Designee section where I indicate that my disabled daughter would prefer that the IRS talk with me if there are questions. To enter data here requires an over-ride, but doing so prevents the return from being E-filed. Nothing in this section has any impact on the numbers in the return and should not disqualify the return from being filed electronically. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easier than filing on paper but needs work Very frustrating that Easy Step doesn't start up right where you left off -- forcing you through questions you've already answered even though they're now filled out. Very unhappy with the need to upgrade for Sch D filing. Didn't need this before, and will search for other software rather than pay for upgrade in future. Forms list seems random. Why aren't the forms alphabetized? They're searchable, but this wouldn't be necessary if there was an obvious ordering. Stumbled on several bugs while using the program. I think they were all innocuous, but it's worrisome none-the-less. For example, since I couldn't efile my state, I couldn't make my return error free unless I chose not to efile at all. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy Turbo Tax Premier was easy to follow. It guides you every step of the way. If you have questions, there are always help icons. It did take a bit to complete just because this was new to me, but it makes sure that all your information is accurate. I enjoyed being able to complete the taxes on my own with the help of turbo tax, plus it saved us more than half of what we usually pay for tax preparers to do. You do have to pay an additional $19.99 to file your California State Taxes electronically, its free if you mail them. We paid!....like I mentioned earlier I saved money doing them myself overall. I would recommend the Store bought program to anyone willing to take the time to do it on their own. February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not Great I've been a TurboTax user from the very first and remain one because of the quality of the software, however there continue to be functional weaknesses in the areas of user interface and general ease of use. Bluntly, the user interface is clunky. As an example, there is no way I have found to alphabetize the list of 1099-DIVs. There should be one, there isn't. Similarly, sorting charitable deductions is not possible. The supporting details feature is awkward to use and not obvious when used. I could go on, but you get the idea. Intuit has, rightly, focused on getting and keeping the tax law correct and the software generally easy to use, but year after year the same weaknesses in the GUI persist. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality Assurance could have been better Wisconsin Department of Revenue did not detect business quarterly payments on Federal return in order to force steps to include the state quarterly payments. After sending the initial/original state tax forms to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue, the department sent an invoice for the tax due for the missing state quarterly payments. Note that I will be waiting for the reconciliation by the state of the amended forms with the state tax due for the missing quarterly payments. Why would an absolutely unique nickname be required above? Just an example of some fine tuning that was neglected in this version of Turbo Tax. Having to guess at a nickname that hasn't been used tends to be unreasonable!! March 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Questioning use of turbotax next year I have used and enjoyed Turbotax for 15+ years. I have always believed the software to provide excellent value to people who want to do their own taxes. Extra forced fees (i.e. audit defense, electronic filing) have slowly been taking away the value of the product. For a few more dollars I can have a professional tax consultant do my work. I would truly like to return to Turbotax next year, but I am questioning it after having filed my taxes and had to put up with the "shake-down" or underhanded way they seek to profit. Turbotax executives... Please provide value and return to your product's previously respected status. If you do, I promise you will continue to have very loyal customers. Thank you. March 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problem with Schedule E worksheet I have used Turbotax for many many years and never had a problem until this year due to TurboTax changing Deluxe Product- so that it was difficult to use product and to complete the Schedule E for rental property. Some of the issues were lack of ease of use and the bad calculations or formulas. As an example in Schedule E Worksheet it correctly reduced the property tax, mortgage interest and insurance by % that house was a rental for the year but it should not have reduced the cleaning and maintenance amount- so I had to inflate the base number because it reduced my # in the worksheet. In addition- it kept referring in questions to my vacation home- even though I entered that it was rental property. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's done Until 2013, I was a business owner. I retired in late 2013. For 2014, even though I did not purchase the business edition, Turbo Tax (TT) kept asking me business questions about vehicle usage. It would not accept "no entry" as a response. I finally had to answer the questions as best I could w/o being misleading; otherwise TT wouldn't let me file. I found the section on foreign tax credit to be unnecessarily confusing. I downloaded my investment information from my broker so why couldn't TT use it to figure the foreign tax credit? I had to do it by hand. Not a huge problem but my purpose in using TT was to eliminate hassle. I swear every year I won't use TT again but I always do. Maybe next year.... March 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a pain Short and to the point. Using Turbo tax to get my Federal and State returns was easy. No problems. However, trying to purchase Audit Defense and electronic filing was terrible compared to earlier years. It wouldn't make the Audit Defense purchase even after I went online and verified my account and credit card info was up to date. Tried to follow the instructions for purchasing over the phone and spent over an hour trying to walk a clueless representative through the process. After 90 minutes, I gave up. Additionally, can Turbo Tax add any more charges to eFiling a State return. Think this one will be my last year or maybe just use the program and go the old fashioned way and send them in by mail. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient tax program Never had a problem using Turbo tax the last 3 years. This year I did find that if you misspell the name of a charity you can't edit the name. You have to delete it and reenter. This should be fixed. I always pick the auto mode and go through every section which takes a little longer but I know nothing gets missed. I took my return to a CPA this year to double check the results and there were no errors and no changes needed. I like some of the import functions in the income section which saved a lot of typing. It does a nice job printing out all the forms you need and makes e filing fed and state returns painless, unless you owe. I will be purchasing Turbo Tax Premiere next year to file those taxes. March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less confidence in 2014 TurboTax for Mac I updated my Mac OS to Yosemite so I could run TurboTax for 2014. TurboTax ran OK and imported my previous year's tax data, but some of it was wrong. I manually corrected some of it, and eventually found the "override" command on the Edit menu and was able to change some other fields to match the printed copy of what TurboTax filed for 2013. This is important because when I e-filed, TurboTax had filled in a wrong amount for my 2013 AGI to confirm my identity with the IRS. It was easy to manually correct this number, and I was able to e-file. The IRS just accepted my return so maybe it's all OK. I don't know if any of this mattered, but it leaves me less confident in my 2014 return. Time will tell... April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Taxes Some items were more complicated seeming than last years, and confusing. For example, my husband's pension - you asked if it were a RMD. Confused US, since it has never been an IRA or anything like it. Finally just said no, but you made it sound as if it needed to be. Some other items had the same problem - questions didn't apply, but didn't seem to offer an alternative. Also, it really would be nice if, while you were working through the items, the main screen came back to where you had last been - we did get tired of having to scroll down each time. Overall, though, we appreciate TurboTax, in spite of our little detours wondering if we have done something right! (Final K-1's are really CONFUSING). April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice improvements for 2015 Each year Turbo Tax goes more smoothly. I retired from a tax practice in 2010, so I understand how to put a return together and really appreciate that I don't need to go through lots of steps before input. Also, I appreciate having the instructional steps and questions available on new tax law or unfamiliar transactions. The problem I had this year and last is that in the review process the references are to the tax return line (fine) but a reference to the input line would help me make the change required - better yet, a link to the screen to fix the problem. I went through every screen on my state return twice and did not find where to make the change. So, I changed something else to make it work. March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrated We purchased and loaded the Deluxe CD on my computer. I tried to print my return to review it and all the forms were blank but on the screen you could see the completed information. We followed the print directions per your web page instructions to no avail. Received a print error message "to try later." This was after we sent it to the printer for our review and received blank pages. I have attempted to print the pages the for a week. We have used this programs for many years and this is the first time we have not been able to print our return. I'm not happy with the inability to print for review. Why have the print for review button if it doesn't work. Request someone notify me when we can print. February 7, 2015
  • 2016-02-04 T06:05:27.364-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-382, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17769, tr_17769
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 380 381 382 383 384 ... 405 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.