TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 382 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did the job fast, logically, right The interview format made it easy to input the numbers without having any special tax vocabulary. When I got to the reveiew stage it was easy to flip between the interview answers and the tax forms. This made it easy to double check the impact and accuracy of interview answers and to verify that each tax form line actually did reflect 100% of the raw data I'd gathered for input ---- e.g. that I'd not overlooked a big contribution in a list of charities. The data import feature from my investment custodians was a life saver. As a retired IRS employee I take pride in delivering a complete and accurate return. I'd be one distracted dude right now if TurboTax and they hadn't teamed up to transmit pages and pages of mind numbing numbers into dozens of highly precise boxes. Also especially welcomed the effortless data transfer to my State return and the way Turbo Tax adjusted for the State's different treatment of some credits and deductions. I signed off on the final package with satisfaction and confidence. As I have for more than 10 years of gradually increasingly complex returns. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great improvements over the last few years I have been using Turbo Tax every year for state and federal taxes since 2001. Each year they have made vast improvements. While it is a little unnerving to answer questions and not see the tax forms as you do this, it is easy to bring up these forms and then compare them with my previous year forms that I have saved. I find the current version very flexible in that I can move around and make changes quite easily. For example, the first time I went through, I did not show any contributions to and IRA. Then I got a late W-2 form and I was able to add this easily and then modify my return to show an IRA deduction as well. Using Turbo Tax along with Its Deductible makes it easy for me to track non-cash deductions during the year and then they get easily loaded into Turbo Tax as I prepare the return. I like the real-time feed back on the status of my refund or taxes owed to the federal and the state. I hope next year's version is just as easy to use, although I may have a wrinkle as I move from one state to another. I will need to file two state returns as partial year resident of each. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Observations on 2014 TAX February 7, 2015 Greetings! As in year’s past I used Intuit’s Turbo Tax Premier to prepare my 2014 taxes. I have the following observations: 1. I know this was probably done for security reasons, but isn’t it possible for the program to save the password once it is entered to obviate the need to sign-in each time the program is launched? 2. One of the first options when starting the program is to import personal information from the previous year. I was unable to import last year’s personal information. Where is my 2013 information saved? Or did I forget to save it last year? 3. In the past, maybe back in 2012 it was possible to burn a copy of the tax statement but I have not seen that options available in the past couple years. 4. On filing this year’s statement electronically I was given two options. I used the AGI from last year’s statement but the IRS denied my submission. I subsequently used the phone number provided to reach the IRS and obtained a PIN and my 2014 tax was accepted. ALL IS WELL THAT ENDS WELL! Your response is greatly appreciated, Very truly yours, Colonboy February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Friendly for the most part In general, TurboTax, which I've used for years, makes completing our return fast and is user-friendly. The Guide Me option takes you through each section step-by-step with explanations and suggestions based on your situation. As long as you've kept complete records, you should have no problem filing your federal return. On the other hand, the state return always leaves me feeling just a bit less confident. I'm never sure whether I need to complete additions/subtractions from income based on what the program tells me, and I would like to have to option to print out the Federal return for review before starting the state portion. Still, I've never had any trouble with the state return, but I always wonder whether I'm paying a bit more than necessary to the state. I love the e-filing capability and the ability to pay my taxes when due out of my bank account automatically. I also love being able to use It's Deductible to help with charitable donations. Overall, I love TurboTax and plan to continue using it. It makes our somewhat difficult return much easier (and cheaper!) to prepare. April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for the most part, but.... While answering the questions about a 1099B for myself, in the middle of the questions it asked about my wife - who had nothing similar. Some of the questions were far less than clear. If I had not been very familair with the process and the forms being built, I probably would not have answered what I needed to. TT would not allow me to enter some of the fields that it demanded -number of shares sold for a stock 'sale' of a worthless stock for example. The bad news is that once you trip over a bug, everything else is suspect. The good news is that you can usually find some way around it, often by direct entry on the tax form or worksheet itself. Not good for the faint of heart or novice though. Again this year, I was not able to view any forms that I hadn't already answered questions about. And in some cases forms that should have been partially done still did not appear in the forms view. Early in the year when you'd like to create a test return and fill in some ballpark amounts directly on tax forms to plan for that last estimated tax payment, the option is simply not available. April 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Form 8949 Problems I imported 1099-B information from my brokerage firm. Much of the cost basis information was incorrect. These were all stocks which were defined as "Long term transactions reported on Forms 1099-B showing basis reported to IRS"- thus they were in Part II, with a code (D). When I tried to make the corrections on the 1099-B worksheet, for the adjustment amount (8b), it said the amount could not be negative. For the Adjustment code, which needed to be (B), it said only C, D, or W were valid. So I ended up going to Form 8949 directly and doing overrides for the code in (f) and the adjustment in (g). This appeared to work, and gave me the final correct 8949 forms. When I ran the error check, it showed an "error" for every override I did, saying it then made it difficult to properly evaluate for errors. I couldn't find a way to make the 1099-B worksheet work, even filling in the various adjustments, correct amounts, etc in various ways. I'm sure there's a way, but you sure don't make it very easy. So I ended up with a tax return full of "errors", giving me no confidence of the final product. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Been Using TurboTax for Ten Years I've been using TurboTax and Quicken for more than ten years. The good news is that the step-by-step walk through is still the best way to make sure you picked up everything. The old "Jump to Forms" is gone; you can very easily jump to specific locations (whenever a new 1099 arrives in the mail, for example). I try and do a first run-through (using estimates) before December 31st so that I have an idea about my tax situation while I can still make changes. Putting in estimates and then changing them when you get the final information is easy, and the "Review" process will make sure you update anything you mark "estimated." I still don't like a direct import from Quicken; I want to go over the information I enter into TurboTax so I don't let it transfer/load automatically. I do an export (into an Excel file) of everything from Quicken so I can review and summarize the data, then import the numbers as I do the TurboTax walk-through. I always find things I haven't coded correctly in Quicken so this ensures I check the data before I enter it. Maybe belt and suspenders, but it works for me. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filed by a professional My wife entered our data and did a review after she had finished. I am a licensed CPA and file returns for others professionally. We have used Tuirbo Tax for some time. I did not like how the review process flips you through the Step-by-Step data-entry process. For me, I just wanted to review completed forms. Toggling back and forth took extra time and was frustrating for me and added too much time. Also we are residents of Tennessee; however only I had Virginia-source income. My wife happened to enter her data as the "taxpayer" and my data as the "spouse". The package forced us to switch the data in order for me to file a Virginia Non-Resident income tax return to correctly file in VA for my income only. There should be an option within the Virginia module to allow for the "spouse's" income to be reflected on the Non-Resident return rather than an automatic default to the "taxpayer". This needs to be clarified when either entering the data at the Federal level or an option in the VA module to allow for designating the Spouse's income for a "Married, filing separate" option in Virginia. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly Painless Tax Prep At purchase I missed that e-File is only included for FED. I missed because it never says it is included. Nor does it say it is not included and that there would be a charge for e-filing a STATE return at the end of the process. There is a world of difference in saying something is not included and omitting any mention of STATE e-filing thus allowing a potential customer to assume it is there because it is for the FED. This really left a bad taste after what was mostly an easy experience. If the consumer buys electronic software to do their taxes expecting electronic filing is included is reasonable. If you buy FED and STATE tax prep then an e-filing capability for at least the first state filing should be included at no extra charge. If you are going to charge extra for e-filing STATE it should be abundantly clear in the product literature so the consumer knows about the additional charges. This is a lesson Intuit should have learned when they tried to charge extra for FED forms that were previously free.. Bad enough I have to pay extra to the state but to have to pay twice because TTAX charges extra just sort stinks. April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed this year. I bought the 'premier' version of the program because I have rental properties in two different states. In early 2014 I sold one of the properties and I checked that box in the program. I went completely through the program putting the rquested data and when I got to the end I noticed at no time did the program ask me where the information was about the sale and I had a big tax due balance. I knew something was wrong so I went back through the steps looking for what I had missed. Nothing. I went to the IRS to see how they would deal with the situation and got my answer. Because the property had been our home for 10 of the 12 years we owned it it was considered a home sale not a rental sale. I finally found the section in Turbo that addressed this situation and filled in the data. I think Turbo should have asked the questions knowing I had sold property. I have been using Turbo Tax for many years and I have moved many many times, selling 10 homes, but I will say this was my worst experance with your product. I will think twice next year before I think about whose program to use for my tax return. March 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Obamacare Glitch I will have to file an amended return because there was nothing that stopped me from filing my original return - even though I had checked (in the Interview Mode) that I would fill in the Obamacare information later. There should have been an Error Report Stop Warning for that information not being filled in when I checked the Yes Box that we had medical insurance through Healthcare.gov., and the return should have not been able to be e-filed until those screens were completed. I still have not received my 1095-A forms from the government, but after calling them 5 times, I got the information that is needed to fill in the Obamacare screens in Turbo Tax. My amended return has to be mailed (it can't be e-filed# so this will delay my refund by "16 to 20 weeks" according to the government website. Had the programming been complete to begin with, and stopped me from e-filing my return until the Obamacare information screens were completed, my refund would probably be in the bank by next week #the first of April). Now, it will be 4 to 5 MONTHS until the refund is in the bank. I Am Not A Happy Camper! March 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Trust in Intuit is Shaken, cont'd! (I got cut-off by your software ...) Re: Removal of traditional Forms and Schedules (e.g. C, D, E, etc) from TTax Deluxe version G'Mgr Sasan Goodarzi's explanation in his "Apologies" email of 01/23/2015 was particularly lame and unsatisfactory. Further, Sasan's follow-up email(s) leave me thinking that Intuit is reneging on his offer to give $25 back. To complete my 2014 Taxes, I purchased a copy of the Premier "Investments & Rental Property" version for 2014 from CostCo. I have just completed my 2014 Federal return, which I e-Filed. I have not attempted to apply for the rebate. So, we will see how that goes? Also, was the included State return, in the Premier version, supposed to include free e-filing of the first State return? Your advertising sure seems to suggest that it does. When I had progressed to filing the State (I did my Mom's taxes on TTax this year) the program wanted to charge me $24.99, Not the $19.99 shown on the Premier's back label. IF your company now places Maximizing $$$ over product quality and customer loyalty ... I will find a new tax software. Please respond. Thank you, WYOMan April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Persistent Support Staff I am a long time user of TT with a return of medium difficulty. I used the desktop Windows Premium version of the software. I consider TT a good product, however it seems that it is released with more errors each year diminishing my trust in the product. This year on my return (1) tax exempt interest initially did not transfer to line 8b, (2) the ABT interest adjustment did not calculate correctly (and did not show how the calculation was done), and (3) the federal tax-exempt interest that was taxable in NY did not transfer net of the bond premium amortization. The 1st was updated while the other two required me to contact the support staff at TT. The support staff spent considerable time helping to make sure the return was corrected to properly reflect my taxes. This required changes in how the downloaded 1099 was recorded in TT. I will probably purchase TT again next year because it helps ensure that I haven't missed reporting anything. However, I will not blindly assume that TT has done enough testing to ensure proper recording of tax amounts. I consider it a good starting point, but you still need to do your due diligence to ensure that your return is done properly. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected More From TT Premium Like most users with 1099-B transactions, I was forced to upgrade to TT Premium after years of using Deluxe. Consequently, I expected a much more sophisticated interface, but that was not the case. New 2014 IRS regs require brokers to report bond premium amortization amounts, which are deductible from interest. However, if entered as Box 11 bond amortization, TT can't distinguish between taxable and tax-exempt bond amortization so it prorates the amount between the two. If the amortization applies only to tax-exempt bonds, it's necessary to create two separate 1099-INT forms for each brokerage so that the deduction is applied to Form 1040 line 8b--not to Schedule B. Very klugey! Also, my printed state return (DC) includes copies of a number of federal forms that have not been required to be attached for years. This makes for many unnecessary pages in the print file. On the other hand, nothing is mentioned about the 1099-R form that *is* required to be attached. I truly hope the 2015 version makes it simpler and more intuitive to enter tax-exempt bond premium amortization and accrued interest paid. March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to understand I followed the instructions to "edit" those stock trading for the employee NQSO. The calculation was correct and Turbo Tax was able to calculated the additional differences between what was traded with the broker and the FMV from the company. However an error message keep coming up at the WKS and stated that "the value reported on Part III, line 5C (reported on 1099 B from broker) should not be greater than the gross sale price (value of the FMV from the company." Of course they are different since your system already smart enough to figure those difference as the additional short term income that was NOT reported on the W2 from. Because of these error messages i was NOT able to do eFile. I had to go back and manually put in the numbers of those stock option trade and take the differences between the values from the broker and the FMV from the company. Then no more error messages and I was able to submit eFile. Turbo Tax needs to fit this bug for next year! HR Block software does not have this issue according to my friend who uses their software. Thank you! Otherwise everything is very user friendly! April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hasn't changed in years I've used Turbotax since the early 90s and have never been disappointed in the basic functionality. It just works, and over the years it's become very simple to use. You can bounce around the the forms you know you need or have it step you through the interview which is good for reminding you of forgotten opportunities or reporting. The automated importing of last years return means rollovers are seamless and minimal data entry year to year, just edits. The software hasn't really changed in the last 5ish years at least, in fact even the images and text remain largely unchanged. That makes sense, Intuit is reusing what works and has been tested over a lot of years. It's just a little aggravating then, with minimal new work year to year beyond what I suspect is a lot of QA, the price continues to increase, but in addition features consistently migrate from one sku to the next higher cost sku. I understand the revenue opportunity, I just think it's being done in what seems like a greedy, in your face, whatever the traffic will bear sort of way and it does have me considering other alternatives next time around. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost Used H&R Block Deluxe I did receive a free copy of H&R Block Deluxe 2014 software offered to unhappy TurboTax customer's due to the removal of tax forms in TurboTax Deluxe 2014. Forcing additional fees for an upgrade to Turbotax Premier just to have the same functionality that used to be included with Deluxe. However TurboTax back tracked it's original decision and offered Deluxe users a free upgrade to Premier. So the H&R software sits uninstalled. Will see about next year. I have always been a bit perturbed with TurboTax and it's pricing structure. Seems every year I'm trying to find sales or discounts for the product when comparing it to other before mentioned H&R's lower cost and similar functionality . Although I believe TurboTax is a good product and have been happy for the last 10 years of service. Pushing a few features to a substantially higher percentage in cost is counter productive. A loyalty program is what I'm wishing for. It would be nice for returning customer's to receive a discount on the following years TurboTax software. Ten bucks, ten percent, whatever to show your appreciation for the consumer. Anyone second? April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Upgrade Irritations I was very unhappy about having to upgrade to Premier this year when Schedule D has always been part of the Deluxe package. And the upgrade cost me more than the $25 reimbursement being offered. I sure hope Turbo Tax does the right thing and puts Schedule D back in the Deluxe version - if not I'll be checking out your competitor's software. It was also very frustrating that upon upgrading to Premier I ended up in an endless loop when trying to do my State return where it kept saying my software was up to date but I could go no further. I finally found an error code that indicated I had a corrupt installer file. Took my PC in to have diagnostics and repairs done, to no avail. Finally a co-worker found out that the problem could be resolved by uninstalling Turbo Tax from the Premier sub-directory and reinstalling it in the Deluxe sub-directory. That worked, but I had already done my state return by hand (so the extra cost I paid for my state return was a waste) and I had the costs of having my PC looked at and a lot of unnecessary frustration all around. This was my absolute worst experience ever with software. February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Options are sometimes unclear Turbo Tax could use a better UI design. Sometimes there are two options to handle a tax situation. Turbo Tax doesn't always help you understand which is the right path for you before leading you off into the weeds. Take the Foreign Tax Credit. There are two ways to handle it: as a deduction or as a credit. Turbo Tax says that it will help you decide which is better for you. What it tells you is that taking a credit rather than a deduction will likely reduce your tax obligation more. What it doesn't tell you up front is that taking a deduction is a single step that takes seconds, while taking a tax credit is an incredibly complex process that could literally take hours. In my case, the amount of foreign taxes I paid was so small, taking it as a deduction was the obvious choice. I discovered that only after wasting far too much time off in the weeds trying to ferret out a bunch of info that was so hard to find I finally just gave up. The UI would be vastly improved if when there are two possible paths the steps involved are summarized so that you know what you're getting yourself into before you make your choice. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Product Compared to H&R Block!!! I initially purchased the H&R Block (HRB) program for my 2014 taxes because the net cost of their product was less than half of the cost of Turbo Tax (TT), especially since I had to buy the Premier version this year instead of the Deluxe version. My experience with the H&R Block product was miserable. The HRB GUI was set up for tax preparers, not individual taxpayers. Therefore, it assumed that the user of their product had more knowledge about tax laws than should be assumed. They also failed to properly or completely import my 2013 TT file data. Finally, they had me insert data from my own calculations rather than the data from the 1098-T form, as well as answer questions which were based upon incorrect interpretations of the tax code. I immediately went online to purchase the TT Premier version since I only had 5 days to file my returns. The TT product was as easy as it always had been to completely fill out my forms and get my data calculated accurately by TT. I learned a painful lesson from this experience. Keep up the good work Intuit. Your TT product desiigners, software coders and tax experts are doing a great job!! April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated the life out of me I found the interview process inadequate and cumbersome. It asked about account information that it downloaded from the brokerage firm but did not provide the data being asked about that it had downloaded or a means to access it easily. It failed to inform me that it had applied the insurance payments to the medical deductions and I only found out by accessing the actual document. When I wanted to enter the mileage driven for unemployment searches, it wanted to know what kind of car I owned, when I bought it, how much I paid for it, total number of miles driven, and other nonessential information. It did not ask to review or display documents being filled out such as W2 forms and Unemployment income G2 forms to ensure that it had the correct information (almost cost me over two thousand dollars in taxes and lost returns). In my opinion turbotax’s interview process and form access has gotten worse over the years and the only redeeming feature of the software is that it can access my brokerage account and I shall be rectifying that. Oh and to post a picture for this, it must be an exact dimension or it will reject it. April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2015 Fed MN ILL Return When you go to edit last year's charities, then are in random order, I suspect it is as they were added and deleted over the past years. If this could be ordered alphabetically, this would greatly help! I do not understand why, after I have entered a donations to an existing charity, after you enter "Done" you are returned to the top of charities and not where you left off. I get tired of entering donations and having to page down to go to the next contribution / charity. When you have a good number of charities this is a hassle. When you choose a charity, on the next screen it has a statement "add another donation". This is misleading between adding another donation and adding a charity. I believe it would be better stated as "add another contribution form". There is no search mechanism for find and go to a charity. This would be helpful if you have several charities to ensure you go to that charity and add contribution / donation forms. Also it would prevent potential duplicate charities Please go through your help text. I noticed a couple of misspellings or incorrect words. Sorry I did not note all the ones I saw. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad presentation of IRA information As I was submitting information into TurboTax, I came to a screen whereby TurboTax said I was eligible for a traditional IRA and directed me to a page with a bunch of companies with which I could open an IRA. I suspended my TurboTax entry while I went and did that. When I returned to TurboTax to continue my return with information on how much I contributed, TurboTax told me I was not eligible for a traditional IRA because my adjusted gross income was too high. It was very stressful to then figure out what to do with that traditional IRA to avoid paying an IRS penalty on excess traditional IRA contributions (I recharacterized it to a Roth IRA). When I went back into TurboTax to see if I had missed something in TurboTax's presentation of IRA information, I saw a small link in some fine print that took me to an IRS worksheet that indicated the income limits for a traditional IRA. Since TurboTax figures out everything else for the user, TurboTax should NOT tell someone they are eligible for a traditional IRA if their AGI is too high! It should use MY information to tell me whether or not I am eligible for a traditional IRA, Roth IRA, or neither. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improves Each Year - Great Product We have a complex return due to having ownership in a small business (K-1s) and my spouse and I both having legit home offices and business vehicles. In prior years, TurboTax didn't quite handle one or two of the fields completely and I had to override the numbers. Since last year, they seem to be handled correctly, which puts my mind at ease. I do wish there was an easier way than having to do a screen capture to print or save certain non-tax form screens that appear occasionally, but that's not an option. That's not critical, though -- the application seems to be fine-tuned these days and is working great. One last comment... I haven't attempted an import from Quicken in several years since the last time I did, I realized it had no idea how the numbers should be applied for our particular situation. It would be nice if there was a way to indicate somehow in Quicken which expenses should go towards my direct business deductions, my husband's, or my corporate expense report. I realize every situation is different, though, and don't expect that functionality anytime soon. Thanks for making taxes easy, Intuit -- nice job. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good overall I am 95% happy. It really worked well just like every year. The main problem was that this year the CT (state) alternative minimum tax form 6251 had some problem with it. Turbo tax asked a very cryptic question about what portion of the income (as an out of state employee) was from CT income but with essentially zero explanations of what it means and more importantly how to calculate it and no instructions. I tried putting in something here but it caused an error during error check and then it took a long time to figure out what the problem was. The problem is about apportioning and the actual instructions do not help much either from the state, but this is **STANDARD** and **UNAVOIDABLE** when doing out of state computations: I mean this is not some super special case; anytime an out of state person earns money in a state plus money in other states, they need to apportion it. So turbotax should explain what this means and how to do it or at least take a guess based on the individual W2 forms it already has on file. I just don't understand why this error was in there to start with. Last year I didn't have this issue (I think). April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mostly good, some bad Not much to say about what works, so I'm concentrating on errors. I have 3 1099-Q from 529 plans for my children's college expenses. On 2 of them the distribution was classified as offsetting expenses; on one of the 1099-Q Turbotax added it as "excess distribution" for no apparent reason, although it should have matched up to my son's college cost. I had to edit the form itself to correct the problem. I was in a REIT that liquidated during 2014. In the K-1 section it asked for the final value of the REIT and the Gain (or loss). Since it was a loss I entered a negative number for the Gain. Turbotax made a big error and somehow added the entire initial value of the REIT as income. When I noticed this I zeroed out the values in the K-1 section, then I entered the liquidation information as a capital gain transaction. This was the only way I can get Turbotax to correctly account for the liquidation. These are significant errors; they would have cost me tens of thousands of dollars of tax due if I had not caught them by going over my return line-by-line. On both of these issues I saw several complaints on the Turbotax support website. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Great Experience I really like TurboTax and have used it for years and will continue to do so in future. Most of the process is super easy, but there are two things that always take me time to figure out. First, I earn royalty money from a textbook and having to file this as a Business seems really ridiculous, especially when TurboTax tells me I need to upgrade to the most expensive of their tax packages (when in fact, I don't need to). Second, the data transfer from the Federal return to my State return always results in any miscellaneous income I have on the Federal form not carrying over to my State form, except as a warning that there is Federal income not reported on my State form. And, in this case, TurboTax identifies only the first item in miscellaneous income rather than all of them. Plus, at the point of notification that miscellaneous income hasn't transferred, TurboTax should include a link that automatically takes me to where I need to add this additional income in the State form. Instead, I have to wander thru many parts of the State form until I can figure out how to add the miscellaneous income. It would be great to have this fixed. March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use but help center could be improved As a long time Turbo Tax user, I have come to trust the Intuit brand and the product. It's a nice benefit that when you install the federal product, it immediately installs the state product as well. I enjoy how you can either have the software walk you through the entire process, step-by-step, or you can choose the topic you'd like to work via an itemized list. Another great feature is the live update feature on the left hand side of the software. It tells you your federal and state refund and live-updates as you enter your information. The not-so-great is when you want context sensitive help, you are redirected to Intuit's website, where the help is anything but context-sensitive. Instead, you are prompted to type your question into a text box, and "search." The questions are often asked by other Turbo Tax users, and the answers are given by either Turbo Tax employees, but more often, it's an answer from another Turbo Tax user. The answers provided may or may not help you, and often it appears that you won't be able find the answer you are looking for. To improve, Intuit should truly provide context-sensitive help since the software knows which topic you are working on. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Idaho State Tax problem This is my second year with Turbo Tax. I don't remember having a problem with my filing last year- I used electronic filing for both federal and state taxes. This year, I went through the process as usual (as an aside, I was forced to upgrade this year because, even though I don't own a business or rental property, there were changes in Turbo Tax this year). As I was saying, this year I attempted to e-file my taxes as last year but then Turbo Tax wanted to charge $19.99 for e-filing my state taxes "together" with my federal taxes as well as some extra $34-ish charge for some kind of first time filing thing. So I said "no" I would file it myself, because the wording sounded like I could e-file the state tax return on my own. However, after filing the federal taxes, I tried to go back in to see how to file the state, and instead of giving me an option for e-filing the state separately or directing me how to mail in my state tax return,Turbo Tax lead me into e-filing both the federal and the state again. Obviously I don't want to file my federal taxes twice, so now I have to figure out how to file my Idaho state taxes. Thanks Turbo Tax! February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Change header from: Federal Tax Due to Federal Tax Payment "Due" ...due to you?...due to the Govt? And, make the color representative: Green (back to you) Red (you pay) With a dependent(s) return, their returns may required values from the parents return. To simplify the effort, (1) ask to link the parents and dependents returns so the required information can be automatically transferred or (2) allow multiple returns to be open at the same time rather than determine the data needed, close the return, open the parents return...get the data...close the return, open the dependent return...input the data (and probably determine you need more)...and repeat the process. This was probably the most frustrating process for I had to write down the forms and line numbers I needed to find...write down the amount...go back and enter the data. The link would be from the parent to multiple dependents and also dependent linkage for the 8606 form. The automated "data-fill" could require an acknowledgement by the parent to allow the return(s) to be linked or by highlighting/selecting the forms to link rather than assuming all are automatically linked. April 11, 2015
  • 2015-04-24T13:00:28.677-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-382, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_16991, tr_16991
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 380 381 382 383 384 ... 387 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.