TurboTax Self-Employed Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Self-Employed Online tax software enables you to prepare both self employed income taxes and business taxes. File self-employment and personal taxes with ease.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Small Business Internet Version - Not So Good Ok, at the beginning, I updated all of my personal info. 2017 was the first year that I needed to switch from filing as head of household to single. Thought I took care of all that when I updated my personal info. Got through the whole process and was finishing up around 8:00pm on 4/17. After all the TT reviews, it asks me for my <former> dependent's name, which I type in. I didn't understand why I was being asked for this, and I had already spent hours and hours on taxes, so I just typed in the name and continued with the filing process. Around 1:30AM, yes AM, on 4/18, I received emails saying that both my federal and state returns were rejected -- because of the dependent issue. It seems to me that one last TT question is to blame, because it certainly was not clear to me that it was attempting to add my former dependent back in. Plus, this former dependent also used TT online to file taxes this year -- shouldn't TT be smart enough to recognize that? Finally, I did not find this version of TT as easy to use as in years past. Will definitely re-think my tax prep in 2018.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from problems After filing I received a strange request stating that the returns were rejected by the government since I entered the wrong birthdate of one day off (I'd been filing so many times with turbotax I don't believe I entered it manually this year anyway, since the data was largely unchanged from last year). Then it was resubmitted and subsequently rejected a second time, this time due to an incorrect entry of my wife's birthdate (also coincidentally one day off). Now I have resubmitted twice and am concerned that the birthdate issue is a symptom of a system problem with turbotax and/or a breach.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from screwed me over After being bilked for $120 simply to itemize a few deductions for my schedule C, I have had my refund rejected several days in a row and now will likely have to print and file by mail and face late fees. Turbotax instructed me that if I am e-filing I need to set the direct debit date for one day after the day I file my return. Each time I get an error message it says it is because the IRS requires me to submit payment on the same day as I am e-filing. Turbotax software will not allow me to set the date as the same day I am attempting to e-file, for the third day in a row. This is an abject contradiction. What gives? I want a full refund for my $120 as your software as failed to meet IRS compliance. Boo.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way easier than I thought H&R Block wanted to charge me $450 to file 2 W2s and one 1099. I looked at Turbo Tax and it was only $119 total plus $39 to file my state tax for CA. It was so easy, they know youre not an accountant so they built it so all the questions are fool proof. Never using anything else again! Just saved so much freaking money!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My refund Makes it easy to walk through.Works good.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did it! The guided advice is spot on. Plus if you need help, they are always available.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs some work I've been using TurboTax for years and always appreciated its ease to use. This year I felt like it would keep going around without fully explaining why forms were required. When trying to get help, it looked like others had the same problem and even though I followed the directions successfully, it kept coming back, again with no further explanation.
Date published: 2018-04-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6175, tr_9855
  • loc_, sid_500_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 73ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.