TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Revisiting a form Entering info is easy but no easy way to jump to where you want to go without going through all the preceding pages.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Premier I was going on vacation and requested for funds to be withdrawn from my account on the due date. After making my payment, Turbo Tax did not file my tax return. I did not discover this until after I returned and after the deadline. Will not use this product again.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible product I had to call and go through 3 people before getting to someone who had a clue how to fix the issue of being unable to get back to my return after I had printed it. You have to click on Add A State to get back to the return. This is not intuitive at all. And now when I try to e-file it keeps rejecting because it says the AGI doesn't match even though it does match what IRS has on my transcript for 2017. So, now I have to print even though I paid for the ability to e-file. Please refund my money and cancel my account.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed 1. Have to start from the beginning to get back to a specific section 2. Can't list numbers that need to be added together and have TurboTax calculate them. For example, quarterly tax payments. 3. My spouse was reminded that this was the first year for an RMD when I should have been. 4. Very hard to find how to enter estimated tax payments. 5. Very hard to find how to make estimated tax payments. 6. Would be nice if prompted to do estimated taxes for next year if they were done for current tax year. 7. When doing state taxes, help answers are for federal questions. 8. Maybe it's just my laptop, but have to scroll up and down to see entire screen. 9. Paid for more expensive product than I turned out to need. And nearly didn't get discount because I didn't always enter program from the right website.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The return was processed with ease! Another stellar year with TurboTax doing all the leg work for me.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from some problems this year :( I had some rental income this year and the instructions were not clear and did not allow me to prorate my mortgage interest and other expenses I tried calling turbotax for help - I did get a call back but after a couple of minutes of noise turbotax hung up on me. now that tax prep is no longer deductible I will not be using turbotax
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from helped me with new 2018 guidelines Always use turbotax. This year was quite nervous due to all the changes in the tax laws. Turbotax hit it out of the park. They had the answers, made it easy, and helped me understand all the new changes. Keep up good work!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest ever Have used Turbotax for over a decade and love-love-love it! Gets easier every year because it gets to know you and anticipate your possible deductions, as well as pull information from prior years.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rejected State File I paid extra to file both state and fed taxes yet my state ones were rejected. The reason was not right--the numbers were correct. I would like to be reimbursed for the amount I paid at the end to file both fed and state taxes.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrating Experience So frustrating to have to review over and over things that I thought had been entered correctly. Finally gave up and called for support the next day. She was VERY helpful and I was able to complete filing and email. End result: I was very satisfied, but wonder if I will hit the same problems next year.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quick, easy, inexepensive Worked well, no issues
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tax tool every year This tax tool educates me on different tax situations. I use this every year and will continue to do so!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Did It Again! I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years. Every year I think I need to take my taxes - which get more complex annually - to a professional tax preparer. Surprisingly every year, Turbo Tax makes it easy for me to e-file. They have helpful tips for every possible topic. Thanks Intuit Turbo Tax for making this a less painful event. I highly recommend it to you!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Support! I had an issue and keep banging my head. Contacted support and had a call back within 60 seconds. She connected to my instance and walked me through my issue in no time and was so nice! Thank you so much!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very helpful understanding problem with return The explanations for why my return was rejected by the IRS were woefully insufficient to understand the problem and how to fix it. I didn't get any benefit from the software, I had to read all kinds of information on the web and the IRS publications. This was not what I expect from TurboTax and I am really disappointed. I am particularly disappointed that Intuit lobbies the government to keep tax law complicated so that we are dependent on theirs and CPAs' services.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service Why is premier online different from premier download? I had this resolved by discounting the state fee which is not charged on the downloadable version of the same product by name. This is a clearly mislabeled product, you should brand the product differently with a different name if it provides two different things, one online vs. one download.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Federal but not State Been using TTax for years and it is usually perfect for Fed and State. This year, it did not provide option for SC 529 deduction or spouse retirement income deduction.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Program - costly Overall I believe turbotax is the best program on the market for filing taxes. I have used others and find this to be the most helpful and informative. The only con is that at the end of the return the cost is ALWAYS higher than expected. However, it is always less than taking the return to a tax service, so I still consider this a win!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly Tax Preparation! It is nice to have all my previous information saved from the previous years. Turbotax is very user friendly. It goes through all possible deductions to maximize your return. I do like having the options of updating which program I want but it is a little expensive to update.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh Confusing edits (of worksheets) toward the end: During the Final review of Federal return, corrections appear at the top with no highlight on the worksheets or forms below AND no explanations (big booo!) Unable to update my email address: What is up with that? Email addresses change often - why isn't the option available on Turbo Tax?? and Difficult to navigate through complex returns - I have muddled through it for years with Turbo Tax-- and although its better -- still not quite convenient for multiple properties, uses and income streams. I like the ability to donate at the end - Intuit would do better by adding a more diverse selection of charities.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product but a little pricey The new modern and update turbo tax version works great. It is seamless, smooth, and quick to file taxes.The best improvement so far has to be the improvement of explanations for certain areas of uncertainty through out the tax return process. Only con is that Turbo Tax product seems to be getting more and more expensive. Although overall it is a great product and I will continue to use it and recommend it to friends.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so free Turbo tax is easy to use. I do have issues : I have yet to have it download my w2 or other tax forms on the first try, if my return is guaranteed accurate why is there an extra charge to pay with my refund? Why does turbo tax tell me my tax preparation is free when I start and almost immediately tells me I have to choose between a moderately priced plan and a more expensive plan? I would prefer my tax form to load with actual plan costs and additional fees instead of the free crap! I have been doing my taxes with turbo tax for 8 years so I know they're never free to prepare.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Credit Card Payment Issue Used TurboTax Premier Online version to file 2018 taxes. At end, credit card payment did not go thru citing authorization failure. Data entered was accurate. Tried 3 cards, 2 Browsers, no success. With deadline approaching, called Customer support, was on hold for 20 mins, spoke with patient & professional Rep for 2+hrs, demonstrated issue multiple times across different configurations. No valid reason for failure with testing at high level. Issue resolved suddenly, no explanation. Painful nuisance for 4 hours b4 filing taxes.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Premier It drive me crazy when TurboTax just gives me a number, for example AGI or itemized deductions, which my spreadsheets don't agree with and I can't see the actual tax form to see why the numbers differ UNTIL I PAY. Users should be able to access as they are doing their taxes. Also, the AZ state return needs work - you can't see how the calculations are adding up at all until you pay and see the actual return.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Thank you for being here for me last minute! I can't believe how easy you made filing taxes. This company is genius!!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bug in payment date cost me Turbotax will not allow me to choose 04/15/2019 as the payment date on tax due, as their own instructions say I should. Such a blatant bug in their system is unacceptable. I had to make a credit card payment on the IRS web site to make sure that the payment is done on time. It cost me $145.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from CRAP Experience Two big idiotic failures: 1) I tried submitting in the evening on 4/15 and got stuck in an endless loop of being forced to Fix My Return by entering a date other than 4/15. 2) The default value of Paid Family Leave for my wife is clearly and grossly wrong and all questions on the community around this are NOT ANSWERED.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from First time user. I couldn't get a clear idea what the final costs would be until right before I filed. There were upgrade options, but the initial costs were not factored into the costs till the end. Be upfront with your product! Its a good one, but I would rather not be tricked into paying more than I expect just to try it
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long-time User - Love TurboTax! Our taxes are a bit complicated, but TurboTax makes it relatively simple and straightforward. I love that they guide me through each step, and I have helpful explanations right at my fingertips if I ever have a question or I'm not sure about something. I've been using TurboTax for several years now and I'm very happy with it!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not that great My returns kept getting rejected, and TurboTax was unable to fix the problem.
Date published: 2019-04-16
  • y_2019, m_4, d_22, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4753, tr_10557
  • loc_, sid_400_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 165ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.