TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from VANGUARD FORM IMPORT DIDN'T WORK I TRIED TO IMPORT TAX FORMS FROM VANGUARD (-DIV, -INT, ETC.). IT DIDN'T WORK, DESPITE HAVING THE FORM IN MY VANGUARD BROKERAGE ONLINE ACCOUNT. CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE, BUT DIDN'T GET ANY HELP. DISAPPOINTING HAVING TO PAY FOR TURBOTAX AND HAVING TO ENTER STOCK TRANSACTIONS MANUALLY.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I feel like the price went up an I didn’t have much to itemize so it shouldn’t have cost me 139 not happy about that.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy as click click boom Everything went smoothly as expected when using turbo tax; however, when trying to enter my vehicle information as to what i use for work, the questions were tripping on itself and wanted me to change everything in order to submit. There isn't any tax advisors available to help with this section so I bypassed it.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bait and Switch Tactics TurboTax is a product that is not very upfront with their customers. They spend millions on advertising as free when in fact, the only thing that is free is "TurboTax Free". If you have anything other than basic wages and standard deductions, you're going to be charged. Also, watch out for the "Deduct from Refund" option. They want to charge you $39.99 to simply have the charge deducted from your refund. Just pay the "Upgraded" TurboTax fees with a card and avoid the $39.99 hidden charge.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy File I Love Turbo Tax! I love the ease of use and saved tax information from last year it made filing even easier this year.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not satisfied Never had to pay for filing taxes before using TurboTax. I was under the impression that it was free to file. If I would have known I was going to get charged almost 140 dollars I would have just went to H and R block and made someone actually just do it for me. Only reason I finished was because I was already done. Next year I will reconsider.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covered It All I appreciate the almost instant return to where I left off each time I sat down to work on my return. The updating features are fast and always function.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Tubotax is great. I have enjoyed using the interface which is intuitive and helpful. I will not use any other tax service!
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use It is always easy to use TurboTax. The guidance and helpful hints save me time and money every year!
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you so much. You saved me so much time and energy.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filed Confidently I have used TurboTax since 1999 and it just keeps improving. Since I progressively work on my taxes from two different computers, I like the web based application. The guided steps and more info features reassure me I am correctly answering the questions. The financial institution import feature performed perfectly for my income and investments tax forms and saved time compared to manual entry. The only Con is the prompts to purchase the optional features/services. I rarely change my mind and since I would progressively work on my taxes the repeated prompts were just annoying. Ask me once and remember my selection.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it was much easier to use than the last software I used. It was easy to navigate through the site as well.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps getting better My con isn't really that big a deal, given the subject matter there's only so much these guys can "dumb it down" for the non-financial minds out there. I'm not an EZ filer so with several properties and interesting tax situations, Intuit still makes it reasonably easy for me to file with confidence. I've been using it for years and they do well keeping up with the changes and improving the interface.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too many ads and prompting for upgrade. No discount for disabled veterans. Can’t remove student loan company. Selected box for vets but continually get questions about mil pay!! Only reason I use this is because my former returns on here otherwise I would not
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Excellent questions asked to process the difficult task of doing taxes.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another low stress year with TurboTax We used turbotax for years now and I actually look forward to the process. It's nice to walk through the steps and feel like I understand how the taxes are being calculated.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Catch-22 endless loop Trying to file NY state return and getting held up on form IT-203. Loss amount cannot be greater than $3000. Fed column is -3000, State column is higher but CANNOT BE CORRECTED to equal Fed! Only option is to print and file by mail? What? Fix please I paid for this. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use We have used Turbo tax for years and are always happy with the service. IT makes filing taxes easy and quick.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tool! I have been using TurboTax since it first came out, and it has only improved year after year to help me get my return filed. Thank you, TurboTax!
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Made Easy With some changes made this past year in my life, TurboTax made filing super easy and straightforward.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easily Done Return As before, using Tubotax was relatively easy with the required information listed on well designed and informative pages. Will definitively use Turbotax again next year.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Interface Is Great I use Taxact for many years and I want to give Turbotax a try this year. While both are good, Turbotax seems to be a little bit easier to use.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stress free experience! Very easy and intuitive easy to navigate instructions! Never a misstep Wish the rest of my life was this easy!
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love using turbo tax I love using Turbo Tax. I think I've used it every year for the past 7 years. Before I used to have someone do it for me but it was costing a lot of money. I started using Turbo Tax and everything has been very easy to do.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and quick Great, affordable and easy to use.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy Every year they make it easier & easier. Still cheaper than going to the tax person.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 1099B issues The 1099B input is flawed. If you have ETF's that are bought and sold by a brokerage on a weekly basis you will receive 30+ pages of shares that are bought and sold. Your 1099B will likely say "various" for date sold and TurboTax expects a sold date to be entered. What are you supposed to do? - enter 300 days worth of sold shares information :(
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't like constant charge increases The turbotax tax package was stated to be free, but soon was $39.95, then when a certain form was required on the return, it was upgraded to premier at $69.95, then a state return cost another $39.95, and then to pay out of my refund another $39.95.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Payment - Misleading Eighth year working with Turbo Tax. Will probably be my last. Completed everything only to find that using part of the federal refund to pay costs an ADDITIONAL $40. Very unclear in anything up to that point. Would have gone with credit card had I known but backing up was near impossible at that point
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forms Would like the actual Fed and State tax forms to file & save
Date published: 2019-02-16
  • y_2019, m_2, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2414, tr_4140
  • loc_, sid_400_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 176ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.